04
North Cape excursions, from the free town to the ticketed monument that isn't first
Ordered by the question that matters here: does this get you to North Cape, or does it explain what you're paying for once you arrive?
Honningsvåg answers itself — free, and on foot. Everything else is one decision (how to reach North Cape) wearing several price tags.
Berth detail and the full geography correction live on our North Cape cruise port guide. Weighing this stop against the rest of an Arctic week? See our Arctic & Norwegian Fjords cruises guide.
This part of the call needs no decision at all. Worth saying before the North Cape logistics take over.
Berth North, Berth 3 and Berth South all sit in or right beside Honningsvåg.
The port authority publishes no exact metre distance from any of them to the centre.
Its own description and Havila's both point to direct access, though — shops, the church and the harbourfront are on foot from wherever you tie up.
It's a small town. Still, it's a free way to spend the part of your call that isn't spent on the North Cape trip.
- Time commitment
- As long or short as you like — an hour comfortably covers the walkable centre.
- Getting there
- Walk off at whichever of the three berths you're given.
- Suits
- First-time visitors on a budget, and anyone waiting for a North Cape excursion slot to depart.
- Ship or independent
- Independent, entirely — a tour has nothing to add to a town this size.
Why it's worth considering
It's free, it's on your way whatever your North Cape plans, and it gives the call a second dimension beyond the monument.
The catch
It's small. Treat it as a complement to the North Cape trip — an hour covers it.
Verify before you book
- Opening hours for the church, if you want to go inside, on your specific call date
Most passengers on this call book this one. Outside summer, it's close to the only realistic way to reach North Cape at all.
It's 34 km by road, per Hurtigruten. There's no shortcut on that exposed highway.
Cruise lines and the Coastal Voyage sell a standard round-trip bus excursion of roughly 3 hours, including entrance to North Cape Hall. That covers the exhibition, panoramic cinema, gift shop, the Aurora Restaurant and a small chapel.
Outside the short summer window when the public 'Line 406' bus runs, the only independent alternatives are a taxi or a rental car. North Cape Hall itself notes that winter visits need advance notice, with escorted convoy driving when conditions require it.
Remoteness, one exposed road and a short independent-transport season — that combination makes this one of the more ship-favoring stops on the route. It isn't about price; it's about whether an independent option exists on your call date at all.
- Time commitment
- Roughly 3 hours round trip, per the standard bus excursion, including time at North Cape Hall.
- Getting there
- By ship excursion coach, the summer-only Line 406 public bus, or a taxi or rental car in any season.
- Suits
- First-time visitors, travellers with limited mobility, and almost everyone outside the summer public-bus season.
- Ship or independent
- Ship, outside summer. In summer, the independent Line 406 bus is a fair, cheaper alternative if you're comfortable with public transport.
Why it's worth considering
It removes this call's biggest risk: being stuck 34 km out on an exposed road with no way back, where winter conditions do close roads.
The roughly 3-hour figure includes the site itself, so you know what you're buying — not just how you're getting there.
The catch
We found no published price for a specific cruise line's own North Cape excursion, so there's no comparison figure here. Get the number from your line.
Check whether the Hall admission sits inside the coach fare. Most bundled excursions include it; ask rather than assume.
Verify before you book
- What your line charges for the North Cape trip, and what's in it
- Whether North Cape Hall admission is bundled into the coach fare or charged separately
- Weather and road conditions on the day, especially outside summer
North Cape Hall (Nordkapphallen) is the visitor centre built around the Globe Monument and the plateau. Its pricing page is specific: 360 NOK adult, 100 NOK child aged 6 to 16, 820 NOK for a family of two adults and two children, and 200 NOK student or military.
Hurtigruten's page separately cites a roughly 100 NOK parking fee. Coach passengers normally have it bundled into a booked excursion rather than paying on top.
The ticket buys the exhibition, a panoramic cinema, the gift shop, the Aurora Restaurant and a small chapel. It doesn't, strictly, buy the plateau or the monument, which sit within the same fenced grounds.
The Hall opens every day of the year. In winter, reaching it may take advance notice and an escorted convoy.
With your own transport, it's a simple ticket to buy on arrival or in advance on the Hall's site. In practice that means a rental car — a taxi at this distance is expensive, and the public bus is seasonal.
- Time commitment
- Not specified by the venue; most visitors allow an hour or more for the exhibition, cinema and the plateau itself.
- Getting there
- 34 km from Honningsvåg, by ship excursion, the summer Line 406 bus, or your own transport.
- Suits
- Families who can use the family rate, and anyone with their own transport who'd rather set their own pace than follow a coach.
- Ship or independent
- Independent if you have your own transport; otherwise this admission is normally bundled into the ship or coach excursion fare.
Why it's worth considering
The family rate — 820 NOK for two adults and two children — is fair for the exhibition and cinema together, split four ways.
Open every day of the year, polar night included — unusual for a site this remote.
The catch
The ticket doesn't get you there. The 34 km transfer is the harder, pricier part of this excursion, not the admission.
Winter access can need advance notice and convoy driving — a planning constraint, not a formality.
Verify before you book
- Whether your coach excursion already includes this admission, before buying it separately
- The Hall's opening hours on your call date, especially in winter
This is the fact that undercuts the ticketed monument's whole premise.
Worth knowing even if you never set foot on the trail.
Knivskjellodden is a headland on the same island as North Cape. A free, unguided marked trail of roughly 9 km one-way reaches it from a car park near the North Cape road.
It extends about 1,450 m further north than North Cape's plateau, per Wikipedia's geographic entry, corroborated by Hurtigruten's own page. So the free hike, not the 360 NOK monument, is the northernmost point most passengers on this call could reach.
It's a serious undertaking: roughly 18 km round trip on exposed, high-Arctic terrain. You still need the 34 km transfer from Honningsvåg to reach the trailhead area.
It won't fit most port-call schedules alongside the Hall. Treat it as an alternative to the ticketed site, not an addition, unless your call is unusually long.
- Time commitment
- Not specified officially; budget the better part of a day for the roughly 18 km round trip, plus the 34 km transfer to the trailhead area.
- Getting there
- A car park near the North Cape road, reached the same way as North Cape itself — by your own transport, since this is not a stop on the standard ship excursion route.
- Suits
- Fit, prepared hikers with a long call, who want the actual geographic distinction rather than the marketed one.
- Ship or independent
- Independent, and only practical with your own transport or a specially arranged trip — not a standard ship-excursion stop.
Why it's worth considering
It's simply further north than the thing everyone photographs, and it costs nothing beyond the effort.
If the North Cape marketing irritates rather than charms you, this is the rebuttal — on foot.
The catch
It's a proper hike on exposed terrain, not a paved path to a monument. Check conditions and your own fitness honestly first.
It needs the same 34 km transfer as North Cape, plus an approach on foot the standard coach doesn't include — a poor fit for a short call.
Verify before you book
- Trail conditions and weather before you commit — this is exposed high-Arctic terrain
- Whether your call length actually allows an 18 km round-trip hike plus the transfer, honestly assessed against your all-aboard
On a summer call, this is the one independent way to reach North Cape without a ship excursion, a taxi or your own car.
Marketed as the North Cape Summer Tour and run as 'Line 406,' it covers the 34 km each way in roughly 40 minutes.
You book online through the operator, North Cape Tours.
We didn't find a current single fare published for the route. Check the operator's booking page before you plan around a cost.
The trade-off is simple. You save whatever your line charges for a coach seat — and give up the guaranteed return timing a ship's own vehicle provides.
It doesn't exist outside summer, so don't plan around it for a shoulder-season or winter call.
- Time commitment
- Roughly 40 minutes each way, plus whatever time you allow at North Cape Hall or the plateau itself.
- Getting there
- Booked online in advance through North Cape Tours; departs from Honningsvåg.
- Suits
- Budget-minded couples and solo travellers on a summer call, comfortable managing their own return against the all-aboard.
- Ship or independent
- Independent — this is the whole point of the service.
Why it's worth considering
It's the only independent public-transport option to North Cape we found, and roughly 40 minutes each way is a manageable ride.
For solo travellers or couples happy to self-guide, it likely costs less than a ship's coach seat.
The catch
No current fare is published, so you're booking blind on price until you reach the operator's page.
Your return timing is your problem, not the ship's — miss the bus back and the risk is all yours.
Verify before you book
- Current fare and schedule directly with North Cape Tours before you rely on this option
- When the last bus back leaves, compared with all-aboard — leave a margin
Nothing to book here. Read it before you photograph the Globe Monument and repeat the claim on the sign.
North Cape isn't the northernmost point in Europe, on three separate counts. Knivskjellodden, on the same island, reaches about 1,450 m further north.
Mainland Europe's actual northernmost point is Cape Nordkinn, a different headland roughly 70 km east. North Cape itself sits on the island of Magerøya, not the mainland — reached only by a 6.9 km subsea tunnel opened in 1999.
So even 'mainland Europe's northernmost point' was never quite right. None of this changes what you'll see at the plateau — only what you should call it.
- Time commitment
- Zero — it's geography, not an activity.
- Getting there
- N/A.
- Suits
- Anyone who wants the accurate story to bring home, rather than the one on the sign.
- Ship or independent
- N/A.
Why it's worth considering
It's a good corrective, and it costs nothing to know before you take the photo.
The catch
None the site isn't already honest about in its own fine print — the marketing headline is just simpler than the geography.
Verify before you book
- Nothing to book — just worth knowing before the photo
Honningsvåg sells itself as the world's northernmost town. The claim rests on a legal technicality, not a geographic one.
Honningsvåg got formal Norwegian town status in 1996. A year later, a 1997 law required 5,000 residents for any new town designation — so the door shut right behind it.
Ordinary usage points somewhere else. Visit Svalbard calls Longyearbyen, up at 78°N, the northernmost settlement anywhere with over 1,000 permanent residents — and it lies about 800 km beyond Honningsvåg.
- Time commitment
- Nothing to schedule — it's context.
- Getting there
- N/A
- Suits
- Anyone who wants the full ranking, not just the part Honningsvåg puts on its sign.
- Ship or independent
- N/A
Why it's worth considering
It costs nothing to know before you pose by the town-limit sign, and it's a sharper story than the one printed on it.
The catch
None the town isn't already honest about, in its own carefully narrowed way.
Verify before you book
- No booking involved — it's background for the town-limit sign
05
Ship or independent: the whole call turns on one 34 km road
North Cape has one real decision, and it isn't which sight to see. It's how to reach the only sight that matters — and when.
In town, keep your wallet shut
It's a small, walkable town, and every cruise berth sits in or beside it. A paid tour has nothing to add.
For North Cape, the season decides it, not the price
In summer, the independent Line 406 bus is a fair option — roughly 40 minutes each way, booked online. We couldn't find its fare, but it's likely cheaper than a ship's coach seat.
Outside summer, a ship or Coastal Voyage excursion is close to the only realistic way to North Cape. The alternative is a taxi or rental car on an exposed high-Arctic road that can need convoy driving or close outright in bad weather.
That makes this one of the more ship-favoring stops on the route. Not because independent travel is expensive — because outside a short summer window, it may not be reliably possible.
The ticket is a separate decision from the transfer
North Cape Hall's admission — 360 NOK adult, 100 NOK child, 820 NOK family, 200 NOK student or military — buys the exhibition, cinema and facilities. Most coach excursions bundle it in; confirm rather than assume.
The free alternative that actually goes further north
Knivskjellodden, a free 9 km unguided hike from a car park near the North Cape road, reaches about 1,450 m further north than the ticketed monument. It needs the same 34 km transfer and a long day on foot — an alternative for a long call, not an add-on for a short one.
The price we couldn't find
None of the lines publish a North Cape excursion price we could find, so this comparison stays general rather than line-by-line. Get your own line's number before you decide.
How each option compares in North Cape
| Excursion | Lean ship excursion when… | Independent works when… |
| Reaching North Cape (outside summer) | Close to essential — the practical option most of the year, given road and season constraints | Only with a taxi or rental car, and only if road conditions allow it |
| Reaching North Cape (in summer) | Convenient, but the Line 406 bus is a real independent alternative | Yes, via Line 406, roughly 40 minutes each way, if you're comfortable managing your own return |
| North Cape Hall admission | Usually bundled into the coach excursion — confirm rather than assume | Buy directly at 360 NOK adult if you have your own transport |
| Honningsvåg town | Never — it's small enough to see on foot in an hour | Always. Free, walkable, on the way regardless of your North Cape plan |
| Knivskjellodden hike | Not a standard ship-excursion stop | Only with your own transport, real time, and honest fitness — a long call's alternative to North Cape, not an addition to it |
Short answer
Walk Honningsvåg for free, then let the season make the North Cape call. Outside the short summer window, book the ship's coach — the alternative is a taxi or rental car on a road that can close in bad weather, and the roughly 3-hour excursion already absorbs that risk. In summer, price the Line 406 bus against your line's fare; it may be cheaper if you're happy managing the logistics. Either way, the 360 NOK ticket buys an exhibition and a cinema, not the northernmost point in Europe — that's a free hike away on the same island.
07
North Cape port logistics: berths, fares and the season
Three short berths, all in town
Honningsvåg has three cruise berths, all in or right beside the town: Berth North (100 m, 12.0 m depth), Berth 3 (125 m, 10.0 m depth) and Berth South (80 m, 5.9 m depth).
Berth South is used by Havila Coastal Voyage ships — northbound arrival 10:55, depart 14:30; southbound arrival 05:45, depart 06:00, per Havila's own published schedule.
None has a published exact metre distance to the centre. The port authority and Havila both describe direct access to shops, the church and the harbourfront, so this is a walk-off arrival whatever your berth.
Full berth detail and the geography correction in full are on our North Cape cruise port guide.
Getting out to the cape, and the fares
- 34 km each way by road, Hurtigruten's own figure — not a walk, and not close to town
- Ship and Coastal Voyage excursions: a standard round-trip bus of roughly 3 hours, including North Cape Hall entrance — check your line's own current price
- Summer public bus 'Line 406' (North Cape Summer Tour): roughly 40 minutes each way, booked online, no current fare found published, does not run in winter
- Taxi or rental car: the only options outside summer; no typical fare found published for either
- North Cape Hall admission: 360 NOK adult, 100 NOK child (6-16), 820 NOK family (2 adults + 2 children), 200 NOK student/military
- Parking: roughly 100 NOK, per Hurtigruten's own figure, typically bundled into a booked excursion
Kroner and tipping
You'll pay in NOK, nearly always by card, and English gets you everywhere. Tips are optional and modest, as elsewhere in Norway — 5 to 15 percent at a restaurant or bar, if you leave one.
The season, and why it decides more than the price does
Coastal Voyage ships from Hurtigruten and Havila stop at Honningsvåg every day of the year, polar night included. Conventional and expedition ships mostly come between May and September.
North Cape Hall is open every day of the year, with winter access run as escorted convoys when conditions require it. Per Visit Norway, midnight sun at North Cape runs from 14 May to 29 July — one of the longest windows on this route, at roughly 71°10′N.
Polar night runs 21 November to 21 January. The official Nordkapp destination site frames its seasons as 'Aurora Autumn,' 'Polar Night' and 'Arctic Light' — together, September through April for aurora viewing.
Weather, and why it changes the plateau more than the town
The plateau is exposed high-Arctic terrain — often windy, and foggy at times even in midnight-sun season. No day comes with a guaranteed clear view, whatever the brochure photo promises.
Honningsvåg is a more ordinary coastal-town day, weather-wise. That mismatch is why the North Cape leg gets its own section here and the town doesn't.