Pre-Galápagos Hotels · Quito

7Seventh of 12 · Tababela and Puembo

Hostería San Carlos Tababela

A 17-room hostería in Tababela with a pool, quad rooms and a US$5 shuttle on its listing; only distance scores.

US$5 a head, per a listingLong-stay parking unconfirmedFree, per a listing
Booking.com rates

No payment on the form. We check rates for your night and reply within one business day.

22of 100
Night-Before Score
The verdict

San Carlos is the family-room pick in the village, on its listing’s word. Hotels.com lists quadruple rooms, an outdoor pool, free continental breakfast and a shuttle at about US$5 a head.

We couldn’t find the hotel’s own site, so it scores 22 on distance and nothing else.

Four of you? Compare the per-person shuttle with a taxi before you book it.

Book it if

  • You’re four and want one room
  • You land early and want a noon check-in
  • One pet is coming

Look elsewhere if

  • You need an elevator
  • You want facts from the hotel itself
Flight Morning

Your night before, from here

From check-in to the departure gate, using only what San Carlos publishes and our own map estimates.

Evening
Check in and settle

Hotels.com lists an outdoor pool, a gym and a bar, unconfirmed by the hotel.

Before bed
Line up your morning

Hotels.com lists an airport shuttle at about US$5 per person each way, booked ahead, and puts UIO about 14 minutes away. It’s a listing, so it doesn’t score.

Flight morning
Breakfast

Hotels.com lists a free continental breakfast from 7:00 to 9:30 — a listing’s word, so it doesn’t score.

Heading out
To the airport

About 6 km from UIO by our estimated pin; Hotels.com says about 14 minutes by car. Book the shuttle when you check in.

While you’re away
Your car

Hotels.com lists free parking for your stay; nothing says a car can stay while you’re in the islands.

Score

Night-Before Score: 22 of 100

22No. 7 of 12

Every point comes from our map pins and, for the facts shown, its Hotels.com listing, which earns no points (we couldn’t find the hotel’s own site); the hub explains how the Night-Before Score works.

To the Airport

Getting here, and on to your flight

By our map estimate San Carlos is about 6.7 km from Quito Airport in a straight line, and about 6.7 km from UIO domestic departures. Every question mark below is a ride you book yourself.

✓? ~6.7 km ~6.7 km, straight line UIONo. 7UIO flight
Leg 1 · Quito Airport to the hotel
US$5 a head, per a listing

Hotels.com lists an airport shuttle at about US$5 per person one way, requested in advance.

Leg 2 · Hotel to the airport
US$5 a head, per a listing

Hotels.com lists an airport shuttle at about US$5 per person each way, booked ahead, and puts UIO about 14 minutes away. It’s a listing, so it doesn’t score.

From UIO without a hotel shuttle

Diario Expreso (June 2025) puts an airport taxi at US$25 to 30 and a private car at US$15 to 20; buses to the Río Coca and Quitumbe terminals cost US$2. The old Aeroservicios shuttle has stopped running, per the same report. The airport page has the taxi, the bus and the timing.

?? park ~6.7 km, straight line Your carNo. 7UIO flight
Leg 1 · Drive in and park
Long-stay parking unconfirmed

Hotels.com lists free parking for your stay; nothing says a car can stay while you’re in the islands.

Parking for your stay: Free on site, per Hotels.com.

Leg 2 · Hotel to the airport
US$5 a head, per a listing

Hotels.com lists an airport shuttle at about US$5 per person each way, booked ahead, and puts UIO about 14 minutes away. It’s a listing, so it doesn’t score.

Landing the morning you fly to the islands? The TCT counter and the bag check come before airline check-in, and Quasar suggests at least two hours if you buy the card at the airport; the airport page has the landing check.

Which terminal

UIO domestic departures

The morning job here is a flight, not a gangway: the Galápagos Transit Control Card counter, the ABG bag check, then airline check-in, all at UIO before you fly. San Carlos is about 6.7 km from the airport in a straight line, measured to Wikipedia’s airport coordinate, not the terminal door. The Quito departure guide has the order of the counters.

Source: galapagos.gob.ec

Distance

~6.7 km, straight line

About 6.7 km from UIO domestic departures in a straight line between our map pins. That’s a ride, not a walk.

Airport bus

Not stated

The hotel doesn’t mention the airport bus. Diario Expreso lists US$2 buses to the Río Coca and Quitumbe terminals.

Parking

Parking while you’re away

Long-stay parking

Long-stay parking unconfirmed

Hotels.com lists free parking for your stay; nothing says a car can stay while you’re in the islands.

In town

One weekly rate, unconfirmed for the trip

JW Marriott prints a US$35 weekly self-parking rate, but it doesn’t say it covers a car left while you’re in the islands. Most people fly into Quito anyway, so this rarely matters — ask the hotel if you’re driving.

The Night Before

The evening and the morning

The evening

Not stated

Hotels.com lists a restaurant, a bar and a coffee shop — none of it scores, because it’s a listing.

Breakfast

Free, per a listing

Hotels.com lists a free continental breakfast from 7:00 to 9:30 — a listing’s word, so it doesn’t score.

Address

Tababela village

Justo Cuello s/n y Pedro Vicente Maldonado, Tababela (Hotels.com)

Fact Sheet

The fine print, in one place

Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, from San Carlos and the sources named under each fact. We couldn’t confirm the hotel’s own website, breakfast, from the hotel itself, the pool, from the hotel itself, so ask when you book.

Check-in and check-out

Check-inFrom 12:00 (listing)
Check-out12:00 (listing)

Breakfast

Hotels.com lists a free continental breakfast from 7:00 to 9:30 — a listing’s word, so it doesn’t score.

Parking for your stay

Free on site, per Hotels.com

Pool

No pool mentioned on the pages we read

Pets

Dogs and cats stay free, one pet in total, per Hotels.com.

Food and drink on site

  • Restaurant
  • Bar and lounge

Rooms

17 rooms, singles to quadruples, per Hotels.com.

Accessibility

Hotels.com lists braille signage and a grab bar but no elevator.

On site

  • GymNot stated
  • Sauna or spaNot stated
  • Family roomsYes
  • Pets allowedYes

Also worth knowing

  • Quadruple rooms, per the listing
  • Noon check-in, per the listing
  • No elevator
  • Booking.com slug seen: hosteria-san-carlos-tababela
Worth Knowing

Before you book

Worth knowing

  • Every fact here is from Hotels.com.
  • The shuttle is per person.
  • No elevator.

What we couldn’t confirm

  • The hotel’s own website
  • Breakfast, from the hotel itself
  • The pool, from the hotel itself

Every hotel fact here comes from our map pins and, for the facts shown, its Hotels.com listing, which earns no points (we couldn’t find the hotel’s own site), read October 2026, unless we name another source. Distances are straight lines between our own map pins, measured to Wikipedia’s airport coordinate rather than the terminal door; most hotel pins are our estimates from the street address.

Compare

Worth a look alongside it

Before you book San Carlos: the Quito gateway guide and our Galápagos cruise guide.

Ready when you are

A quad room in Tababela and a short ride to UIO.

Tell us your flight date and we’ll check San Carlos for the night before. No payment on the form.

Booking.com rates
FAQ

San Carlos FAQ

Does Hostería San Carlos Tababela have an airport shuttle?

Hotels.com lists one at about US$5 per person each way, booked ahead.

Does Hostería San Carlos have family rooms?

Hotels.com lists triple and quadruple rooms.

Booking the cruise too?

Tell us the flight date and we’ll line up San Carlos, the ride to the airport and the cruise itself. No fee, no obligation.

No fee, no obligation. A real advisor reviews every request.

Prefer to talk? Book a free 30-minute call or call (407) 312-0306.