Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
Kon Tiki is the one you can walk from. It faces the ferry quay, about 100 m from our Te Anuanua pin, and the desk is open 24 hours, per Tahiti Tourisme.
That desk matters at 04:10 — someone is there when you walk in. Hotels.com lists paid early check-in and luggage storage; confirm both with the hotel.
It scores low because little else scores — no pool, and no breakfast terms from the hotel. Off the red-eye, buy the night before.
Book it if
- You want to roll your bags to the terminal
- You land at 04:10 and need a desk that’s staffed
- A rooftop drink is your last evening ashore
Look elsewhere if
- You want breakfast confirmed in the rate
- A pool is part of the plan
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what Kon Tiki publishes and our own map estimates.
A restaurant and a rooftop lounge, per Tahiti Tourisme’s entry; Hotels.com names them Surfhouse and Reeftop and says Reeftop opens select days.
You won’t need a ride. Te Anuanua is about 100 m from our pin, the closest of our ten, and Tahiti Tourisme puts the hotel in front of the ferry quay.
Hotels.com lists the buffet as a surcharge, 06:30 to 09:30, about XPF 3,650 adult and 2,400 child when we rechecked in October 2026. That’s a listing estimate; confirm with the hotel.
Cross the boulevard. Te Anuanua is about 100 m from our pin, a couple of minutes with bags by our estimate.
Hotels.com lists a lot about 200 m away at XPF 2,000 a day; confirm with the hotel. It’s for your stay, not your cruise.
Night-Before Score: 33 of 100
Points come only from Tahiti Tourisme’s directory entry (a tourism-board source) for what scores; times, fees, breakfast and parking are from Hotels.com, a booking platform, so confirm them with the hotel; studio occupancy is from the hotel’s own site (kontikitahiti.com); the hub explains how the Night-Before Score works.
Getting here, and on to the ship
Kon Tiki faces the ferry quay on the boulevard. By our pins it’s about 5.3 km from Faa’a and about 100 m from Te Anuanua — the shortest walk on this list.
No airport shuttle is listed. Hotels.com puts the airport a 10-minute drive away, and the 24-hour desk means someone is there when you land.
You won’t need a ride. Te Anuanua is about 100 m from our pin, the closest of our ten, and Tahiti Tourisme puts the hotel in front of the ferry quay.
From PPT without a hotel shuttle
Taxis wait at arrivals, capped by the DTT at 1,000 XPF to start plus 160 XPF a km by day or 260 XPF a km from 20:00 to 06:00; the airport page works out the fare.
Hotels.com lists a lot about 200 m away at XPF 2,000 a day; confirm with the hotel. It’s for your stay, not your cruise.
Parking for your stay: Hotels.com lists a lot about 200 m away at XPF 2,000 a day; confirm.
You won’t need a ride. Te Anuanua is about 100 m from our pin, the closest of our ten, and Tahiti Tourisme puts the hotel in front of the ferry quay.
Flying in the morning you sail? Not from the 04:10 red-eye; the airport page has the landing check.
Which quay
Te AnuanuaKon Tiki faces the ferry quay, and Te Anuanua is about 100 m from it in a straight line, on the Front de mer. Motu Uta, across the harbour, is the wrong address.
Source: tahititourisme.pfDistance
~100 m, straight lineAbout 100 m from our Te Anuanua pin, a two-minute walk by our estimate. Hotels.com’s editions put the port 0.2 to 0.4 km away by foot.
Airport bus
Not statedNo bus stop is named. From here the bus isn’t worth the bother with bags; the cab rank at the Gare Maritime is next door.
Parking while you sail
Cruise parking
Cruise parking unconfirmedHotels.com lists a lot about 200 m away at XPF 2,000 a day; confirm with the hotel. It’s for your stay, not your cruise.
In town
Terminal car park, closes nightlyThe terminal’s 205 covered spaces close every night, per our parking page, so nobody in Papeete parks a car for the voyage.
The evening and the morning
The evening
Food or bar on siteA restaurant and a rooftop lounge, per Tahiti Tourisme’s entry; Hotels.com names them Surfhouse and Reeftop and says Reeftop opens select days.
Breakfast
Breakfast: confirmHotels.com lists the buffet as a surcharge, 06:30 to 09:30, about XPF 3,650 adult and 2,400 child when we rechecked in October 2026. That’s a listing estimate; confirm with the hotel.
Address
Bd de la Reine Pomare IV, facing the ferry quay23 Bd de la Reine Pomare IV, 98714 Papeete
Hotel website
The fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, from Kon Tiki and the sources named under each fact. We couldn’t confirm breakfast and its price, check-in and check-out times, early check-in and its fee, parking, the deposit and city tax, ages and capacity in the tahitian homes studios, a day-use rate, so ask when you book.
Check-in and check-out
Breakfast
Hotels.com lists the buffet as a surcharge, 06:30 to 09:30, about XPF 3,650 adult and 2,400 child when we rechecked in October 2026. That’s a listing estimate; confirm with the hotel.
Parking for your stay
Hotels.com lists a lot about 200 m away at XPF 2,000 a day; confirm
Pool
Hotels.com’s amenity list shows no pool; the rooftop is a bar.
Pets
Hotels.com lists no pets and says service animals are welcome. Take that as the listing’s word, not the hotel’s policy; confirm direct if you’re bringing one.
Food and drink on site
- SurfhouseOcean view, by reservation
- ReeftopRooftop bar, select days
Rooms
Hotels.com lists 40 rooms. On its own site, the hotel says its Tahitian Homes studios have a sofa bed for two more people — the category to ask about for four, not every room. Confirm ages and capacity for your booking.
Accessibility
Three rooms for guests with reduced mobility, per Tahiti Tourisme.
On site
- GymNot stated
- Sauna or spaNot stated
- Family roomsNot stated
- Pets allowedNot stated
Also worth knowing
- Reception open 24 hours, per Tahiti Tourisme’s entry
- Hotels.com lists a refundable XPF 10,000 deposit per stay — held, not charged; confirm how it’s taken
- Hotels.com listed a XPF 150 city tax a person a night in October 2026 — a 2026 figure; the amount for 2027 stays isn’t set for each hotel yet, so confirm it with the hotel
- Hotels.com lists luggage storage and paid early check-in; confirm
Before you book
Worth knowing
- 24-hour reception, per Tahiti Tourisme’s entry.
- Breakfast price and early check-in are Hotels.com’s; confirm.
- Hotels.com lists a refundable XPF 10,000 deposit, not a fee; confirm.
What we couldn’t confirm
- Breakfast and its price
- Check-in and check-out times
- Early check-in and its fee
- Parking
- The deposit and city tax
- Ages and capacity in the Tahitian Homes studios
- A day-use rate
Sources for this page: Tahiti Tourisme’s directory entry (a tourism-board source) for what scores; times, fees, breakfast and parking are from Hotels.com, a booking platform, so confirm them with the hotel; studio occupancy is from the hotel’s own site (kontikitahiti.com). All read October 2026; each fact names its own source.
Worth a look alongside it
Before you book Kon Tiki: the Papeete cruise guide and Papeete as a port of call.
Walk to the gangway from the ferry quay.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check Kon Tiki for the night before. No payment on the form.
Kon Tiki FAQ
How far is Kon Tiki from the Papeete cruise terminal?
About 100 m in a straight line from our Te Anuanua pin, the closest of the ten we ranked. Tahiti Tourisme puts it in front of the ferry quay.
Is the Kon Tiki front desk open at night?
Tahiti Tourisme’s entry lists reception open 24 hours a day.
Can I check in early at Kon Tiki?
Hotels.com lists early check-in for a fee, subject to availability, after a 15:00 standard. Confirm with the hotel.
Is breakfast included at Kon Tiki Tahiti?
Hotels.com lists it as a surcharge, about XPF 3,650 adult and 2,400 child as of October 2026. Check your rate with the hotel.
Can four people share a room at Kon Tiki?
Ask about the Tahitian Homes studios. The hotel says they have a sofa bed for two more people; other rooms aren’t described that way. Confirm ages and capacity before you book.
Does Kon Tiki charge XPF 10,000 at check-in?
Hotels.com lists a XPF 10,000 deposit per stay, and calls it refundable. It’s a hold, not a charge; ask the hotel how and when it’s released.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us the sailing and we’ll line up Kon Tiki, the ride to the ship and the cruise itself. No fee, no obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
