Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
The Royal Tahitien is the quiet beach night. A pool, a restaurant terrace over black sand and nearly 3 hectares of garden, per Tahiti Tourisme’s entry.
It’s about 2.5 km from Te Anuanua by our pins, east of town, so the morning is a taxi. The hotel arranges paid airport transfers; Hotels.com adds a paid ferry-terminal shuttle, which isn’t the cruise berth and doesn’t score.
Watch the calendar, too. Hotels.com reports a closure from 7 to 20 January 2027 and a pool closure from 2 to 14 February, neither confirmed by the hotel. Email before you book those weeks.
Book it if
- You want a beach and a garden, not a city street
- You don’t mind a taxi to the ship
- You’re arriving the afternoon before
Look elsewhere if
- You need a confirmed late-night arrival
- You want to walk to the terminal
- You’re sailing 7–20 January 2027, when a listing reports it closed
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what Royal Tahitien publishes and our own map estimates.
A restaurant with a terrace over the black-sand beach, and a bar Tahiti Tourisme’s entry calls busy on Friday and Saturday evenings.
Hotels.com lists a paid shuttle to the ferry terminal on 48 hours’ notice. The ferry terminal isn’t the cruise berth, and the hotel hasn’t confirmed the service to us, so it doesn’t score. Ask about a Te Anuanua drop, or book a taxi.
The hotel gives breakfast hours but no price. Hotels.com, rechecked in October 2026, lists the buffet as a surcharge at about XPF 5,200 adult and 3,640 child — a listing estimate, not the hotel’s.
Call a cab, or confirm the shuttle Hotels.com lists. Te Anuanua is about 2.5 km from our pin — too far with bags.
Hotels.com lists free on-site parking for guests; confirm with the hotel. Leaving a car while you sail isn’t on offer.
Night-Before Score: 26 of 100
Points come only from Tahiti Tourisme’s directory entry (a tourism-board source) for what scores; the hotel’s own site (royaltahitien.com) for arranging paid airport transfers and for breakfast hours; prices, times, fees and the listed closures are from Hotels.com, a booking platform, so confirm them with the hotel; the hub explains how the Night-Before Score works.
Getting here, and on to the ship
The Royal Tahitien is east of town on the Pirae shore. By our pins it’s about 7.8 km from Faa’a and about 2.5 km from Te Anuanua.
The hotel arranges paid airport transfers, per its own site. Hotels.com prices them at XPF 2,100 a person one way, on 48 hours’ notice — confirm the price when you book.
Hotels.com lists a paid shuttle to the ferry terminal on 48 hours’ notice. The ferry terminal isn’t the cruise berth, and the hotel hasn’t confirmed the service to us, so it doesn’t score. Ask about a Te Anuanua drop, or book a taxi.
From PPT without a hotel shuttle
Taxis wait at arrivals, capped by the DTT at 1,000 XPF to start plus 160 XPF a km by day or 260 XPF a km from 20:00 to 06:00; the airport page works out the fare.
Hotels.com lists free on-site parking for guests; confirm with the hotel. Leaving a car while you sail isn’t on offer.
Parking for your stay: Hotels.com lists free on-site parking; confirm.
Hotels.com lists a paid shuttle to the ferry terminal on 48 hours’ notice. The ferry terminal isn’t the cruise berth, and the hotel hasn’t confirmed the service to us, so it doesn’t score. Ask about a Te Anuanua drop, or book a taxi.
Flying in the morning you sail? Not from the 04:10 red-eye; the airport page has the landing check.
Which quay
Te AnuanuaFrom Pirae, Te Anuanua is about 2.5 km west in a straight line, on the downtown Front de mer; the Gare Maritime is about 2.6 km. Motu Uta is the wrong side of the harbour.
Source: tahititourisme.pfDistance
~2.5 km, straight lineAbout 2.5 km from our Te Anuanua pin in a straight line. Tahiti Tourisme puts downtown about 3 km away. Ride, don’t walk.
Airport bus
Not statedNo bus stop is published for the hotel. Take a taxi, or confirm the airport shuttle Hotels.com lists.
Parking while you sail
Cruise parking
Cruise parking unconfirmedHotels.com lists free on-site parking for guests; confirm with the hotel. Leaving a car while you sail isn’t on offer.
In town
Terminal car park, closes nightlyThe terminal’s 205 covered spaces close every night, per our parking page, so nobody in Papeete parks a car for the voyage.
The evening and the morning
The evening
Food or bar on siteA restaurant with a terrace over the black-sand beach, and a bar Tahiti Tourisme’s entry calls busy on Friday and Saturday evenings.
Breakfast
Breakfast: confirmThe hotel gives breakfast hours but no price. Hotels.com, rechecked in October 2026, lists the buffet as a surcharge at about XPF 5,200 adult and 3,640 child — a listing estimate, not the hotel’s.
Address
Pirae, on the black-sand beachPirae, 98716 (no street address published)
Hotel website
The fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, from Royal Tahitien and the sources named under each fact. We couldn’t confirm the ferry-terminal shuttle, the airport-transfer price, breakfast price, check-in hours, the resort fee, parking, the listed january 2027 closure and february pool closure, so ask when you book.
Check-in and check-out
Breakfast
The hotel gives breakfast hours but no price. Hotels.com, rechecked in October 2026, lists the buffet as a surcharge at about XPF 5,200 adult and 3,640 child — a listing estimate, not the hotel’s.
Parking for your stay
Hotels.com lists free on-site parking; confirm
Pool
A pool, per Tahiti Tourisme’s entry.
Pets
Hotels.com lists no pets and service animals welcome. It’s a listing line, not the hotel’s written policy; ask the hotel if you need it.
Food and drink on site
- RestaurantTerrace over the beach
- BarBusy Fri–Sat evenings
Rooms
Rooms in a garden of nearly 3 hectares by the beach, per Tahiti Tourisme’s entry; Hotels.com lists 40 units.
Accessibility
Two rooms for guests with reduced mobility, with step-free access, per Tahiti Tourisme.
On site
- GymNot stated
- Sauna or spaNot stated
- Family roomsNot stated
- Pets allowedNot stated
Also worth knowing
- Hotels.com reports a closure from 7 to 20 January 2027 and a pool closure from 2 to 14 February; the hotel hasn’t confirmed either, so check before booking those dates
- A black-sand beach and a nearly 3-hectare garden, per Tahiti Tourisme’s entry
- Hotels.com lists the desk Sunday to Wednesday 06:30–20:00 and to 22:00 Thursday to Saturday; check-in after 20:00 needs arranging ahead
- Hotels.com lists a resort fee of XPF 200 a person a night; confirm
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Breakfast about XPF 5,200 adult on Hotels.com; the hotel gives only hours.
- Shuttle prices, times and the XPF 200 resort fee are Hotels.com’s; confirm.
- The bar is busy on Friday and Saturday evenings, per Tahiti Tourisme’s entry.
What we couldn’t confirm
- The ferry-terminal shuttle
- The airport-transfer price
- Breakfast price
- Check-in hours
- The resort fee
- Parking
- The listed January 2027 closure and February pool closure
Sources for this page: Tahiti Tourisme’s directory entry (a tourism-board source) for what scores; the hotel’s own site (royaltahitien.com) for arranging paid airport transfers and for breakfast hours; prices, times, fees and the listed closures are from Hotels.com, a booking platform, so confirm them with the hotel. All read October 2026; each fact names its own source.
Worth a look alongside it
Before you book Royal Tahitien: the Papeete cruise guide and Papeete as a port of call.
Black sand at dusk, a taxi to the ship.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check Royal Tahitien for the night before. No payment on the form.
Royal Tahitien FAQ
Does Le Royal Tahitien have an airport shuttle?
The hotel arranges paid airport transfers, per its own site. Hotels.com lists XPF 2,100 a person one way, on 48 hours’ notice; confirm the price.
Can the Royal Tahitien take me to my cruise ship?
Hotels.com lists a paid shuttle to the ferry terminal, a short walk from Te Anuanua, with no price. The ferry terminal isn’t the cruise berth and the hotel hasn’t confirmed it to us; ask, or take a taxi.
What time is check-in at the Royal Tahitien?
Hotels.com lists 14:00 to 20:00; after 20:00 you need to arrange it ahead. Confirm with the hotel, especially if you land late.
Is Le Royal Tahitien open in January 2027?
Hotels.com reports a closure from 7 to 20 January 2027, and a pool closure from 2 to 14 February. The hotel hasn’t confirmed either; email it before you book.
How far is the Royal Tahitien from the Papeete cruise terminal?
About 2.5 km in a straight line from our Te Anuanua pin. Tahiti Tourisme puts downtown about 3 km away.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us the sailing and we’ll line up Royal Tahitien, the ride to the ship and the cruise itself. No fee, no obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
