Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
Orsett Hall comes first because it does the evening best of the hotels near the river. There’s a spa with a sauna and a steam room, a restaurant and two bars, and the terminal is about 6.6 km away in a straight line.
That’s a taxi, not a walk. RoL Cruise, a UK cruise seller’s blog, puts it about 10 minutes by car.
Breakfast is about £16 extra and check-out is 11:00. Neither hurts if your check-in slot is late morning.
Book it if
- You want a spa evening before you sail
- You want dinner on site
- You want the shortest taxi in the morning
Look elsewhere if
- You’re bringing a pet
- You need a crib
- You want breakfast in the rate
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what Orsett Hall publishes and our own map estimates.
The Garden Restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, by reservation, plus Sartoria Cafe, two bars and 24-hour room service, per Hotels.com.
No ride to the ship is listed. The terminal is about 6.6 km in a straight line; a blog for cruisers, RoL Cruise, puts it about 5.3 miles and 10 minutes by car. Book a taxi.
Not in the rate: an English breakfast is about £16 a person, 07:00 to 09:30 on weekdays and 08:00 to 10:00 at weekends, per Hotels.com.
The Tilbury terminal is about 6.6 km away in a straight line, so it’s a ride, not a walk. Your boarding documents set the check-in time, not the hotel.
Hotels.com lists paid on-site parking with no price, and nothing about leaving the car for a cruise. The terminal’s own long stay is £11 a night, booked ahead.
Night-Before Score: 36 of 100
Every point comes from Hotels.com’s listing (we couldn’t reach the hotel’s own site); the hub explains how the Night-Before Score works.
Getting here, and on to the ship
By our map estimate Orsett Hall is about 57 km from Heathrow in a straight line, and about 6.6 km from the Tilbury terminal. Every question mark below is a ride you book yourself.
No airport shuttle is listed. Hotels.com gives drive times of about 26 minutes to London City Airport and 39 to Stansted.
No ride to the ship is listed. The terminal is about 6.6 km in a straight line; a blog for cruisers, RoL Cruise, puts it about 5.3 miles and 10 minutes by car. Book a taxi.
From LHR without a hotel shuttle
A booked car from Tilbury to Heathrow is listed from £156.91 for a saloon, about 1 hour 15 minutes, by City Airport Taxis. By rail it’s the Elizabeth line from £13.90, per Heathrow, then c2c from West Ham to Tilbury Town from £5.80 off-peak, per c2c, then about a mile to the terminal. The airport page has the fares and the timing.
Hotels.com lists paid on-site parking with no price, and nothing about leaving the car for a cruise. The terminal’s own long stay is £11 a night, booked ahead.
Parking for your stay: On-site, for a fee; no price published (Hotels.com).
No ride to the ship is listed. The terminal is about 6.6 km in a straight line; a blog for cruisers, RoL Cruise, puts it about 5.3 miles and 10 minutes by car. Book a taxi.
Flying in the morning you sail? Heathrow is about 1 hour 15 minutes from the terminal by car on a transfer company’s estimate, and you’ll be coming off an overnight flight, so we’d land the day before; the airport page has the landing check.
Which quay
the Tilbury terminalShips turn around at the London International Cruise Terminal at Tilbury, 22 nautical miles down the Thames from Tower Bridge, per Capital Cruising. Orsett Hall is about 6.6 km from our pin for it in a straight line. Some lines use the Greenwich mooring instead, so check your documents; the London (Tilbury) cruise guide has the rest.
Source: capitalcruising.co.ukDistance
~6.6 km, straight lineAbout 6.6 km from the Tilbury terminal in a straight line between our map pins. That’s a ride, not a walk.
Airport bus
Not statedThere’s no airport bus to Tilbury. From Heathrow it’s the Elizabeth line, a change for West Ham and the c2c train, or a booked car.
Parking while you sail
Cruise parking
Cruise parking unconfirmedHotels.com lists paid on-site parking with no price, and nothing about leaving the car for a cruise. The terminal’s own long stay is £11 a night, booked ahead.
In town
Terminal long stay, £11 a nightCapital Cruising runs long-stay parking at the terminal: £11.00 a night including VAT, booked in advance, with a lower rate for cruises of 30 nights or more. When it’s busy you’re sent to an overflow area with a free shuttle bus. None of our hotels prices parking for a cruise.
The evening and the morning
The evening
Food or bar on siteThe Garden Restaurant for breakfast, lunch and dinner, by reservation, plus Sartoria Cafe, two bars and 24-hour room service, per Hotels.com.
Breakfast
ExtraNot in the rate: an English breakfast is about £16 a person, 07:00 to 09:30 on weekdays and 08:00 to 10:00 at weekends, per Hotels.com.
Address
Prince Charles Avenue, OrsettPrince Charles Avenue, Orsett, Grays RM16 3HS
Hotel website
The fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, from Orsett Hall and the sources named under each fact. We couldn’t confirm the hotel’s own pages, the parking price, whether there’s a pool, so ask when you book.
Check-in and check-out
Breakfast
Not in the rate: an English breakfast is about £16 a person, 07:00 to 09:30 on weekdays and 08:00 to 10:00 at weekends, per Hotels.com.
Parking for your stay
On-site, for a fee; no price published (Hotels.com)
Pool
No pool mentioned on the pages we read
Pets
Not allowed; service animals welcome, per Hotels.com.
Food and drink on site
- Garden RestaurantBritish brasserie, reserve
- Two bars
- Room service24 hours
Rooms
56 rooms over two floors, up to a 646 sq ft suite, per Hotels.com.
Accessibility
Wheelchair accessible with a lift, grab bars and an emergency cord in the bathroom, per Hotels.com.
On site
- GymNot stated
- Sauna or spaYes
- Family roomsNot stated
- Pets allowedNo
Also worth knowing
- Spa with six treatment rooms, a sauna and a steam room; no under-16s, per Hotels.com
- Late check-out £20
- No cribs, per Hotels.com
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Breakfast about £16 extra, per Hotels.com.
- Check-out 11:00.
- Parking is paid; no price published.
What we couldn’t confirm
- The hotel’s own pages
- The parking price
- Whether there’s a pool
Every hotel fact here comes from Hotels.com’s listing (we couldn’t reach the hotel’s own site), read October 2026, unless we name another source. Distances are straight lines between our own map pins; the terminal pin and the hotel pins are our estimates.
Worth a look alongside it
Before you book Orsett Hall: the London (Tilbury) cruise guide and London (Tilbury) as a port of call.
A spa, a dinner, a ten-minute taxi.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check Orsett Hall for the night before. No payment on the form.
Orsett Hall FAQ
How far is Orsett Hall from the Tilbury cruise terminal?
About 6.6 km in a straight line by our map. RoL Cruise, a cruise seller’s blog, puts it about 5.3 miles and 10 minutes by car.
Does Orsett Hall have a spa?
Yes, with six treatment rooms, a sauna and a steam room, per Hotels.com. Guests under 16 aren’t allowed.
Is breakfast included at Orsett Hall?
No. Hotels.com lists an English breakfast at about £16 a person.
Can I leave my car at Orsett Hall while I cruise?
Nothing we read says so. The terminal’s own long-stay parking is £11 a night, booked ahead.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us the sailing and we’ll line up Orsett Hall, the ride to the ship and the cruise itself. No fee, no obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
