Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
Seventh, on the strength of one page. The Mercantile sells a Stay, Park & Cruise Package: a suite for the night, breakfast, and parking "up to 8 days" while you sail.
It doesn't print the price. It also doesn't say how you get to the ship, only that it's "just minutes" away — a phrase, not a distance.
The suites give you room to spread out, and the bar downstairs does food until 10.
Call for the package price, and ask how far the car is parked.
Book it if
- Drivers who want one booking for the night and the car
- Families who want a suite
- Anyone who wants a boutique hotel over a tower
Look elsewhere if
- You're bringing a pet.
- You want a pool.
- You want the price before you call.
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what The Mercantile publishes.
An all-suite boutique hotel, every room with separate sleeping and living space. The Confectionary, the bar on the first floor, serves food from 4 to 10 PM.
The hotel publishes no shuttle. A third-party cruise site says one comes with the package; the hotel's own page doesn't, so we don't count it. A taxi or rideshare covers the trip.
The hotel says it serves a hot continental breakfast; it's included in the cruise package, but the hotel doesn't say it's free on every rate.
The hotel says it's "just minutes from the terminal" but gives no distance. Your cruise line’s documents name your terminal and check-in window.
The hotel's Stay, Park & Cruise Package holds the car "up to 8 days", with a suite for the night and breakfast. It publishes no price.
Night-Before Score: 47 of 100
Scored only from what the hotel publishes. Here’s how the Night-Before Score works.
Getting here, and on to the ship
Pick where you’re coming from. Solid lines are rides the hotel publishes; a question mark is a leg you’ll arrange yourself.
The hotel doesn't mention an airport shuttle.
The hotel publishes no shuttle. A third-party cruise site says one comes with the package; the hotel's own page doesn't, so we don't count it.
The hotel says it's "just minutes from the terminal" but gives no distance.
From MSY without a hotel shuttle
The city sets a flat taxi fare from the airport to the CBD and French Quarter: $36 for one or two people, $15 a person for three or more. Taxis load outside Baggage Claim Door 7. Uber picks up at Doors 9 to 11 on the middle curb, Lyft at Doors 7 to 9.
The hotel's Stay, Park & Cruise Package holds the car "up to 8 days", with a suite for the night and breakfast. It publishes no price.
Parking for your stay: Valet at a rate the hotel doesn’t publish; it points self-parkers to Fulton Place Parking Center.
The hotel publishes no shuttle. A third-party cruise site says one comes with the package; the hotel's own page doesn't, so we don't count it.
The hotel says it's "just minutes from the terminal" but gives no distance.
Landing on sail morning instead? Some cruise lines and shuttle companies run straight to the terminals; see the airport page and the landing check.
Distance
No mileage statedThe hotel says it's "just minutes from the terminal" but gives no distance.
Source: themercantilehotelneworleans.comShuttle departures
No shuttleThere’s no hotel shuttle to time, so a taxi or rideshare leaves when you’re ready. Your cruise documents give your terminal check-in window.
Source: themercantilehotelneworleans.comParking while you sail
Cruise parking
Stay, Park & Cruise: ask priceThe hotel's Stay, Park & Cruise Package holds the car "up to 8 days", with a suite for the night and breakfast. It publishes no price.
Source: themercantilehotelneworleans.comThe port’s own garages
$120–$350 by cruise lengthThe port runs two garages and charges by cruise length, not by the day: $120 for a 4-night cruise, $135 for 5, $160 for 6, $180 for 7, $200 for 8 and $350 for 14. Carnival parks in the Erato Street garage, on top of its terminal; Norwegian and Royal Caribbean at 100 Poydras, with a shuttle to Julia Street, which publishes only the 4-, 5- and 7-night rates.
Both open at 9 AM and take cards only. Reserving adds $1 a day; driving up doesn’t. The port’s FAQ still quotes $25 a day, which matches only its 8- and 14-night rates. Compare every parking option.
Source: portnola.comThe evening and the morning
The evening
Food or bar on siteAn all-suite boutique hotel, every room with separate sleeping and living space. The Confectionary, the bar on the first floor, serves food from 4 to 10 PM.
Breakfast
Not freeThe hotel says it serves a hot continental breakfast; it's included in the cruise package, but the hotel doesn't say it's free on every rate.
Address
South Peters Street, Warehouse District727 South Peters Street, New Orleans, LA 70130
Hotel website
The fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as The Mercantile publishes it. Where it says “not stated”, the hotel doesn’t say, and a quick call will settle it.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
Not stated by the hotel.
Resort fee
None stated
Wi-Fi
Not stated
Parking for your stay
Valet at a rate the hotel doesn’t publish; it points self-parkers to Fulton Place Parking Center
Cruise parking is in the parking section above.
Breakfast
Hot continental breakfast; included in the cruise package
Pool
No pool mentioned on the pages we read
Pets
No pets.
Food and drink on site
- The ConfectionaryFirst-floor bar; food daily 4–10 PM
Rooms
All suites, each with separate sleeping and living space: kings, two queens, doubles and accessible suites.
Accessibility
Accessible suites with an ADA tub or shower.
On site
- EV chargingNot stated
- Guest laundryNot stated
- Fitness centerNot stated
- Pets allowedNo
Also worth knowing
- Stay, Park & Cruise Package: a suite for the night, parking up to 8 days, breakfast, late checkout if available
- 72-hour cancellation
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Valet is available at a rate the hotel doesn't publish; it points self-parkers to Fulton Place Parking Center.
- Check-in 3 PM, check-out 11 AM.
- Late checkout in the package is subject to availability.
What we couldn’t confirm
- The package price
- A distance to the terminals
- Whether breakfast is free outside the package
Rates and policies are as the hotel published them on September 25, 2026. Confirm anything you’re counting on when you book.
Worth a look alongside it
Wake up a few blocks from the ship.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check The Mercantile for the night before. No payment on the form.
The Mercantile FAQ
Does The Mercantile have a cruise shuttle?
Not that it publishes. The hotel publishes no shuttle. A third-party cruise site says one comes with the package; the hotel's own page doesn't, so we don't count it.
Does The Mercantile have an airport shuttle?
Not that it publishes. The hotel doesn't mention an airport shuttle.
Can I park at The Mercantile while I cruise?
Yes, but the price isn't published. The hotel's Stay, Park & Cruise Package holds the car "up to 8 days", with a suite for the night and breakfast. It publishes no price.
How far is The Mercantile from the New Orleans cruise terminals?
The hotel says it's "just minutes from the terminal" but gives no distance. It sits in our Warehouse District & the riverfront band.
Can I check in early or check out late on cruise days?
Stay, Park & Cruise Package: a suite for the night, parking up to 8 days, breakfast, late checkout if available.
Will the hotel hold my bags?
The hotel doesn't say. Most hotels will hold bags between check-out and a late shuttle, but that's a call to make, not an assumption.
Does the port shuttle come back for me after the cruise?
There's no hotel shuttle to the port. The city's flat taxi fare from downtown to MSY is $36 for one or two people.
What's the breakfast timing on sail morning?
Hot continental breakfast; included in the cruise package. Plan coffee on the way if you're leaving early.
Can I park an oversized vehicle or charge an EV?
EV charging: not stated. Clearance and oversized parking aren't published. Both of the port's garages cap vehicles at 22 feet. Clearance is 6'6" at 100 Poydras and 7'6" on Erato Street's upper floors, with limited 8'4" space on its third; anything bigger goes through the port's parking contact.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
