Hostal Akainij
Thirty rooms on Austral, in town, with free breakfast on its Hotels.com listing and an early 9:30 check-out; only distance scores.
Pre-Cruise Hotels · Puerto Williams
Six places for the night before, in a town of under 2,000 people. None has a website we could read (we tried lakutaia.cl, the only own site we found, and it didn’t load for us), so their listings’ facts are shown but earn no points — the order comes from distance alone. Three sit in town, within about 150 m of our town-centre point.
Three taps and we’ll show your three picks.
Change any answer and the picks change with it. They’re built from the same published facts as the ranking below. No hotel pays for a place here. Booking.com links earn us a commission, and they don’t change the order.
Matching weighs your answers against each hotel’s published shuttle, parking, breakfast, pool, kitchen and pet policies.
Five answers, and the page builds the whole thing: the hotel, the ride in, the ride to the ship, what happens to the car, what time to leave, and how you get home. Every figure is one a line, DAP, a named listing or a booking site publishes, or a straight-line distance between our own estimated map pins. Where nobody publishes a number, you’ll see that instead of a guess.
There’s no cruise parking to price here, so the plan assumes you fly in.
Who’s coming and the mood come from Your Match; the plan uses the same answers.
There are no partner links inside this planner. It’s built only from what Silversea, DAP, Chile’s tourism board and the named hotel listings publish, plus our own map estimates. The crossing fares are a booking site’s, in US dollars.
The top three are the three in town, and they tie on 30 points: distance is all any of them can score. Their order comes from our estimated pins, about 100 to 150 m apart, so treat it as a tie.
Narrow the six by what your night needs. Save the ones you like. Tick up to three to compare side by side — the order is ours, the shortlist is yours.
Why six? It’s a small town. We checked seven and left one out — Silversea’s own hotel, explained at the bottom of the page.
Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
All 6 hotels
Thirty rooms on Austral, in town, with free breakfast on its Hotels.com listing and an early 9:30 check-out; only distance scores.
In town on Arturo Prat, with family studio suites and a late-running breakfast on its Expedia listing; only distance scores.
Five rooms in town on Cabo de Hornos street; its listing contradicts itself on breakfast, and only distance scores.
A lodge on the Seno Lauta shore by the airstrip, with a restaurant, a bar and a free airport pick-up on its Expedia listing; only distance scores.
A refugio out on the Navarino road with a kitchen and pets allowed on its listing; about 4 km from town, and only distance scores.
An ecolodge about 5 km out on the Navarino road, with a free airport shuttle and a restaurant on its listing; closed from late February.
Booking.com lists airport taxis you can book ahead. Check the pickup point, the price and the cancellation terms before you book.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.
Pick how you’re arriving. The board counts what each hotel publishes, the table lights up that column, and the cards below are the rides from the airport.
No taxi or bus fare is published for the airstrip. Silversea’s flight package includes transfers, and Lakutaia and Errante describe a free shuttle on Expedia.
Puerto Williams airstrip · about 10 minutes from town, per Silversea; no fare published
Monday to Saturday in season, leaving at 8:00; 10 kg hold plus 5 kg cabin, per DAP.
Airport transfers come with Silversea’s flight package, per its voyage pages; Fly Cruise guests ride about 10 minutes to The Cormorant.
Speedboat to Puerto Navarino and a minibus to town, about three hours, per Civitatis.
Driving? There’s no road from the mainland and no cruise parking published, so see the parking note below.
| Hotel | To the ship | While you sail | From WPU |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ship shuttle not stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | |
Guardiamarina Zañartu Airport (WPU)No airport shuttle is listed. Hotels.com puts the airstrip about a 9-minute drive away; arrange the ride before you land. To the shipNo ride to the ship is listed. If you bought Silversea’s flight package, airport transfers are included, per Silversea; otherwise ask Silversea where and when to report, because the pier’s position isn’t published and Zodiacs are sometimes the only way on board. | |||
| Ship shuttle not stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | |
Guardiamarina Zañartu Airport (WPU)No airport shuttle is listed. Expedia puts the airstrip about a 12-minute drive away; arrange the ride before you land. To the shipNo ride to the ship is listed. If you bought Silversea’s flight package, airport transfers are included, per Silversea; otherwise ask Silversea where and when to report, because the pier’s position isn’t published and Zodiacs are sometimes the only way on board. | |||
| Ship shuttle not stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | |
Guardiamarina Zañartu Airport (WPU)No airport shuttle is listed. Trip.com puts the airstrip about 3.4 km away (a road figure, not ours; our pins read about 1.2 km); arrange the ride before you land. To the shipNo ride to the ship is listed. If you bought Silversea’s flight package, airport transfers are included, per Silversea; otherwise ask Silversea where and when to report, because the pier’s position isn’t published and Zodiacs are sometimes the only way on board. | |||
| Ship shuttle not stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Free pick-up, per Expedia | |
Guardiamarina Zañartu Airport (WPU)Expedia lists a free airport pick-up at scheduled times; the airstrip is about a 3-minute drive away, per the listing. Tell the lodge your flight. To the shipNo ride to the ship is listed. If you bought Silversea’s flight package, airport transfers are included, per Silversea; otherwise ask Silversea where and when to report, because the pier’s position isn’t published and Zodiacs are sometimes the only way on board. | |||
| Ship shuttle not stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | |
Guardiamarina Zañartu Airport (WPU)No airport ride is listed. InterPatagonia puts the airstrip about 3 km from the property; arrange a pick-up before you land. To the shipNo ride to the ship is listed, and town is about 4 km away by road. Arrange a ride the day before; Silversea’s flight package includes airport transfers, not pick-ups from here. | |||
| Ship shuttle not stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Free shuttle, per Expedia | |
Guardiamarina Zañartu Airport (WPU)Expedia lists a free round-trip airport shuttle at scheduled times and on request, and puts the airstrip about a 14-minute drive away. Contact the lodge with your arrival details first. To the shipNo ride to the ship is listed. Expedia lists a free airport shuttle, so ask whether it will run you to Silversea’s reporting point instead; Silversea’s flight package covers airport transfers, not pick-ups here. | |||
Every distance ends at our estimated town-centre point, not a quay, because no source prints where the new pier sits. Every one is a straight line between our own map pins, and the hotel pins are estimates too, so the order inside a few hundred meters means nothing.
Walking times assume an easy pace on streets about a third longer than the straight line. Where you actually board is in your Silversea documents, and on a Fly Cruise you leave from the airstrip.
Five things make a night before easy or hard. In Puerto Williams only one of them can score, because none of the six has a website of its own we could read (we tried lakutaia.cl, the only own site we found, and it didn’t load for us). Points come only from the hotel’s own site or its brand’s; what Expedia, Hotels.com, Trip.com or InterPatagonia says is shown, attributed, and scores zero.
Silence scores zero, not a guess. Listings don’t count toward the score, even where we show what they say — and in Puerto Williams, none of the six has a website of its own we could read — we tried lakutaia.cl, the only own site we found, and it didn’t load for us.
By band, from our estimated town-centre point: in town, to about 1 km in a straight line, 30; Seno Lauta by the airstrip, to about 2.5 km, 24; out on the Navarino road, to about 8 km, 15.
A transfer the hotel runs or arranges, with a published price, 25. A ride only inside a package 20. The hotel’s own ride with no published fare 15. A walk the hotel itself prints at half a mile or less 15. No hotel scores here. None publishes a ride to the ship on a site we could read, and Silversea’s transfers are the line’s, not the hotel’s.
A published rate to leave the car at the hotel while you cruise 20; offered, but unpriced or not guaranteed, 14. Day rates in a public garage don’t count. No hotel scores here — four list parking for the stay on booking sites, but none says it covers the voyage.
A breakfast the hotel says is included scores 10. None scores. Forjadores, Akainij, Lakutaia and Errante list free breakfast on booking sites, which don’t count; FioFio’s listing contradicts itself.
Pool 3, food or a bar on site 3, a kitchen in the room 3, a sauna or spa 3, a gym 3. None scores. Lakutaia and Errante list a restaurant and a bar, and El Cauque a kitchen, all on listings.
Ties are broken in order: any published parking for your cruise, any stated ride to the ship, free breakfast, then the shorter straight-line distance to the town centre. Akainij, Forjadores and FioFio all score 30, and the tie falls to the shorter straight line on our estimated pins — about 100, 100 and 150 m. That’s inside the error of our pins, so call it a three-way tie.
What’s left out is deliberate. Room rates move by the day, so they aren’t scored, and review scores neither. Distances are straight lines between our own map pins, not routed walks or drives, and we say so wherever they appear.
No hotel we checked publishes parking for the voyage, and almost nobody drives here — there’s no road from the mainland.
Why there’s no calculator. No cruise parking is published in Puerto Williams, so there’s no rate to feed one.
What to plan instead. The bags. DAP allows 10 kg in the hold and 5 kg in the cabin, so sort out what an expedition needs before you book the flight, or check what Silversea’s charter allows.
We checked seven and ranked six. The one we left out:
| Hotel | Why it isn’t ranked |
|---|---|
| The Cormorant at 55 South | Silversea’s own 150-room hotel, which Silversea said would welcome its first guests in October 2026 (Cruise Critic, December 2025) — we couldn’t confirm it has opened — operating seasonally, with Latitude 55 restaurant and Bar Sur, per Silversea’s release. It’s where Fly Cruise guests sleep, and Silversea lists it as a pre- and post-cruise hotel. No source gives its address — The Points Guy says it’s “just south of Puerto Williams” — or says non-Silversea guests can book, so we can’t pin or score it. If you’re on Silversea, ask the line whether it’s in your package. |
WPU is a short ride from town: about 10 minutes, per Silversea. There’s no bus and no published taxi fare, so arrange the ride before you land — or use Silversea’s transfer or a lodge’s shuttle.
On the Fly Cruise? Silversea says your Puerto Williams night is at The Cormorant, so you may not need this list at all. That’s Silversea’s plan for voyages from 2026, per the line — confirm the routing and the hotel night in your documents. The Getting There table shows what each listing says, and the airport page has the landing check.
Tours, tickets and things to do are on Booking.com. Book the day before, not sail day.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.
On our scoring, Hostal Akainij, in a three-way tie on distance with Forjadores and FioFio; our estimated pins break it. None of the six has a website we could read (we tried lakutaia.cl, the only own site we found, and it didn’t load for us), so only distance scores.
It’s where Silversea’s Fly Cruise guests stay, per the line. We found no source saying non-Silversea guests can book it, so ask Silversea.
Lodge Lakutaia and Errante Ecolodge, per their Expedia listings, both free. Confirm before you fly.
Forjadores, Akainij, Lakutaia and Errante list a free breakfast on booking sites, unconfirmed by the hotels. FioFio’s listing contradicts itself.
Refugio El Cauque, per InterPatagonia. The other five say no.
No, per Expedia: it’s closed from February 22 to October 1.
Tell us the sailing and who’s coming. A real advisor checks the hotels and the ride to the ship. No fee, no obligation.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
Tell us the sailing and who’s coming. A real advisor checks rates for that night and replies within one business day.
We’ll check rates for your night and reply within one business day.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.