Pre-Cruise Hotels · San Francisco

11Eleventh of 20 · Downtown

Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown/Convention Center

Free breakfast downtown, 13 miles from SFO by Hilton's count. The ship is a cab across town.

No shuttle statedCruise parking unconfirmedFree breakfast
Booking.com rates

No payment on the form. We check rates for your night and reply within one business day.

35of 100
Night-Before Score
The verdict

Eleventh. Free hot breakfast downtown, by the Moscone Center, with SFMOMA half a mile off.

It's 13 miles from SFO by Hilton's count — a downtown night, not an airport one.

There's no pool, no restaurant and nothing for cruisers. Valet is $65.

Book it for a downtown night, and a cab to Pier 27.

Book it if

  • Flyers who want a cheap breakfast night downtown

Look elsewhere if

  • You need to leave the car.
  • You want a pool.
Sail Morning

Your night before, from here

From check-in to the gangway, using only what Hampton Downtown publishes.

Evening
Check in and settle

A plain downtown Hampton by the Moscone Center, with SFMOMA 0.5 miles away by Hilton's count. No pool or restaurant is listed.

Before bed
Line up your ride

The hotel publishes no shuttle to Pier 27 and no distance to it. A taxi or rideshare covers the trip.

Sail morning
Breakfast

Free hot breakfast daily.

Heading out
To the terminal

Hilton gives no distance to Pier 27. The hotel is on Mission Street by the Moscone Center, across downtown from the waterfront. Your cruise line’s documents name your terminal and check-in window.

While you sail
Your car

Valet only, $65 with in and out. Hilton says nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.

Score

Night-Before Score: 35 of 100

35No. 11 of 20

Scored only from what the hotel publishes. Here’s how the Night-Before Score works.

To the Ship

Getting here, and on to the ship

SoMa 3 Piers 30/32 · Secondary berth, Embarcadero at Bryant StP30 11 500 m · 0.3 mi N
This hotelOther ranked hotels, tap one to open itCruise terminalStraight line to the ship, not a routeReal geography: neighbourhood boundaries from San Francisco, Oakland and Alameda and NOAA’s GSHHG shoreline. Pins from the hotel’s or a map listing’s pin, the US Census Bureau’s address geocoder and Wikipedia; address-geocoded pins can sit up to a block off.

Pick where you’re coming from. Solid lines are rides the hotel publishes; a question mark is a leg you’ll arrange yourself.

?? 13 mi no mileage stated SFONo. 11The ship
Leg 1 · San Francisco International to the hotel
No shuttle

Hilton lists no airport shuttle. It puts SFO 13 miles away.

Leg 2 · Hotel to the ship
No shuttle stated

The hotel publishes no shuttle to Pier 27 and no distance to it.

Hilton gives no distance to Pier 27. The hotel is on Mission Street by the Moscone Center, across downtown from the waterfront.

From SFO without a hotel shuttle

BART runs from the International Terminal to downtown in about 30 minutes for $11.15. A cab is metered, with a $6 SFO pickup fee; Princess puts it at $50 to $60 to the pier. Rideshare picks up on Level 5 of the Domestic Garage. Carnival's transfer is $34.99 a person if you land by noon.

?? 19 mi no mileage stated OAKNo. 11The ship
Leg 1 · Oakland International to the hotel
No shuttle

Hilton lists no airport shuttle. It puts Oakland Airport 19 miles away.

Leg 2 · Hotel to the ship
No shuttle stated

The hotel publishes no shuttle to Pier 27 and no distance to it.

Hilton gives no distance to Pier 27. The hotel is on Mission Street by the Moscone Center, across downtown from the waterfront.

From OAK without a hotel shuttle

The BART connector runs 9 minutes to Coliseum, then it's 21 minutes to downtown San Francisco; the fare is $12.65. A cab or a rideshare crosses the Bay Bridge instead; no fare from OAK to the pier is published.

?? your drive no mileage stated Your carNo. 11The ship
Leg 1 · Drive in and park
Cruise parking unconfirmed

Valet only, $65 with in and out. Hilton says nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.

Parking for your stay: Valet only, $65, in and out.

Leg 2 · Hotel to the ship
No shuttle stated

The hotel publishes no shuttle to Pier 27 and no distance to it.

Hilton gives no distance to Pier 27. The hotel is on Mission Street by the Moscone Center, across downtown from the waterfront.

Landing on sail morning instead? Some cruise lines and shuttle companies run straight to the terminals; compare the airports and the landing guidelines.

Which terminal

Pier 27

Princess and Carnival both sail from the James R. Herman Cruise Terminal at Pier 27, on the northern Embarcadero. On a busy day a ship can berth at Pier 35, a 6- to 8-minute walk north by the port’s count; your cruise documents name the pier.

Source: sfport.com

Distance

No mileage stated

Hilton gives no distance to Pier 27. The hotel is on Mission Street by the Moscone Center, across downtown from the waterfront.

Source: hilton.com

Shuttle departures

No shuttle

There’s no hotel shuttle to time, so a taxi or rideshare leaves when you’re ready. Your cruise documents give your terminal check-in window.

Source: hilton.com
Parking

Parking while you sail

Cruise parking

Cruise parking unconfirmed

Valet only, $65 with in and out. Hilton says nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.

Source: hilton.com

Parking by the pier

From $20 a day

There’s no parking at the terminal, overnight or temporary, per the port. It sends cruisers to Metropolis at 55 and 80 Francisco Street, which publishes no rate. Ace Parking at 1348 The Embarcadero, about an 18-minute walk, lists $20 a day for a compact car and $25 for a full-size one, plus a $2 fee, and calls itself a Princess partner.

Compare every parking option.

Source: sfcruiseshipparking.com
The Night Before

The evening and the morning

The evening

Not stated

A plain downtown Hampton by the Moscone Center, with SFMOMA 0.5 miles away by Hilton's count. No pool or restaurant is listed.

Breakfast

Free

Free hot breakfast daily.

Address

Mission Street, SoMa

942 Mission Street, San Francisco, CA 94103
Hotel website

Fact Sheet

The fine print, in one place

Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as Hampton Downtown publishes it. Where it says “not stated”, the hotel doesn’t say, and a quick call will settle it.

Check-in and check-out

Check-in3:00 PM
Check-out11:00 AM

Minimum age

—

Not stated by the hotel.

Resort fee

None stated

Wi-Fi

Free

Parking for your stay

Valet only, $65, in and out

Cruise parking is in the parking section above.

Breakfast

Free hot breakfast daily

Pool

None listed

Pets

Dogs or cats, two at most, up to 30 lb: $75 to $125 a stay.

Rooms

Room types aren’t published on the pages we could read.

Accessibility

The hotel’s pages don’t detail accessible rooms. Call before you book if you need one.

On site

  • EV chargingNo
  • Guest laundryNot stated
  • Fitness centerYes
  • Pets allowedYes

Nearby, by the hotel’s count

  • San Francisco Mint0.05 mi
  • Westfield San Francisco Centre0.2 mi
  • SFMOMA0.5 mi

Distances as the hotel or its brand lists them. Bars use a square-root scale so short walks stay visible.

Also worth knowing

  • EV charging about a mile away, per Hilton
Worth Knowing

Before you book

Worth knowing

  • Check-in 3 PM, check-out 11 AM.
  • No airport shuttle.

What we couldn’t confirm

  • The distance to Pier 27
  • Whether you can park while you cruise

Rates and policies are as the hotel published them on September 26, 2026. Confirm anything you’re counting on when you book.

Compare

Worth a look alongside it

Ready when you are

Wake up downtown, a cab across town from the ship.

Tell us your sail date and we’ll check Hampton Downtown for the night before. No payment on the form.

Booking.com rates
FAQ

Hampton Downtown FAQ

Does Hampton Downtown have a cruise shuttle?

Not that it publishes. The hotel publishes no shuttle to Pier 27 and no distance to it.

Does Hampton Downtown have an airport shuttle?

Not that it publishes. From San Francisco International: Hilton lists no airport shuttle. It puts SFO 13 miles away. From Oakland International: Hilton lists no airport shuttle. It puts Oakland Airport 19 miles away.

Can I park at Hampton Downtown while I cruise?

The hotel doesn't say. Valet only, $65 with in and out. Hilton says nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.

How far is Hampton Downtown from the cruise terminal?

Hilton gives no distance to Pier 27. The hotel is on Mission Street by the Moscone Center, across downtown from the waterfront. It sits in our downtown band. Princess and Carnival both sail from the James R. Herman Cruise Terminal at Pier 27, on the northern Embarcadero. On a busy day a ship can berth at Pier 35, a 6- to 8-minute walk north by the port's count; your cruise documents name the pier.

Can I check in early or check out late on cruise days?

Check-in is 3:00 PM and check-out 11:00 AM. The hotel doesn't publish early or late terms, so ask when you book, not on the day.

Will the hotel hold my bags?

The hotel doesn't say. Most hotels will hold bags between check-out and a late shuttle, but that's a call to make, not an assumption.

Does the port shuttle come back for me after the cruise?

There's no hotel shuttle to the port. Carnival's transfer runs back to SFO for $34.99 a person. Otherwise it's a cab or a rideshare from the pier, or the F-line to Embarcadero and BART to either airport.

What's the breakfast timing on sail morning?

Free hot breakfast daily. Your terminal check-in window is in your cruise documents, and the port asks you not to arrive before it.

Can I park an oversized vehicle or charge an EV?

EV charging about a mile away, per Hilton.

Booking the cruise too?

Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.

No obligation — a real advisor reviews every request.

Prefer to talk? Book a free 30-minute call or call (407) 312-0306.

Hampton DowntownNo. 11 of 20 · night before your cruise
Booking.com rates