Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
Tenth, level on 36 with the Hyatt Centric and Hotel Caza, and last of the three on the alphabet — a tiebreak, not a judgment. A big Wharf hotel near Pier 39, with a pool heated in winter, a buffet restaurant and the Northpoint bar.
RIU lists a buffet breakfast but doesn't say it's in the rate — so it scores nothing there.
There's no shuttle to Pier 27, no printed parking rate, and nothing on leaving the car.
Book it for the Wharf and the pool, and take the F-line or a cab to the ship.
Book it if
- A pool night at the Wharf
- Families who want the sea lions and Pier 39 the night before
Look elsewhere if
- You need to leave the car.
- You travel with a pet and want it in writing.
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what Riu Plaza publishes.
A big Wharf hotel near Pier 39, with an outdoor pool heated in winter, a buffet restaurant, a grab-and-go counter and the Northpoint bar.
The hotel publishes no shuttle to Pier 27 and no distance to it. It's a cab or a rideshare along the Embarcadero, or the F-line streetcar. A taxi or rideshare covers the trip.
RIU lists a buffet breakfast, with hot and cold stations and vegetarian and gluten-free options, but doesn't say it's included in the rate.
RIU gives no distance to Pier 27. The hotel is on Mason Street at Fisherman's Wharf, near Pier 39 in RIU's words; the cruise terminal is along the Embarcadero toward the Ferry Building. Your cruise line’s documents name your terminal and check-in window.
RIU's pages don't give a parking rate or say whether you can leave the car while you cruise. A third-party park-and-cruise site sells a package here; the hotel's own pages don't, so it isn't scored.
Night-Before Score: 36 of 100
Scored only from what the hotel publishes. Here’s how the Night-Before Score works.
Getting here, and on to the ship
Pick where you’re coming from. Solid lines are rides the hotel publishes; a question mark is a leg you’ll arrange yourself.
RIU doesn't mention an airport shuttle.
The hotel publishes no shuttle to Pier 27 and no distance to it. It's a cab or a rideshare along the Embarcadero, or the F-line streetcar.
RIU gives no distance to Pier 27. The hotel is on Mason Street at Fisherman's Wharf, near Pier 39 in RIU's words; the cruise terminal is along the Embarcadero toward the Ferry Building.
From SFO without a hotel shuttle
BART runs from the International Terminal to downtown in about 30 minutes for $11.15. A cab is metered, with a $6 SFO pickup fee; Princess puts it at $50 to $60 to the pier. Rideshare picks up on Level 5 of the Domestic Garage. Carnival's transfer is $34.99 a person if you land by noon.
RIU doesn't mention an airport shuttle.
The hotel publishes no shuttle to Pier 27 and no distance to it. It's a cab or a rideshare along the Embarcadero, or the F-line streetcar.
RIU gives no distance to Pier 27. The hotel is on Mason Street at Fisherman's Wharf, near Pier 39 in RIU's words; the cruise terminal is along the Embarcadero toward the Ferry Building.
From OAK without a hotel shuttle
The BART connector runs 9 minutes to Coliseum, then it's 21 minutes to downtown San Francisco; the fare is $12.65. A cab or a rideshare crosses the Bay Bridge instead; no fare from OAK to the pier is published.
RIU's pages don't give a parking rate or say whether you can leave the car while you cruise. A third-party park-and-cruise site sells a package here; the hotel's own pages don't, so it isn't scored.
Parking for your stay: Not stated.
The hotel publishes no shuttle to Pier 27 and no distance to it. It's a cab or a rideshare along the Embarcadero, or the F-line streetcar.
RIU gives no distance to Pier 27. The hotel is on Mason Street at Fisherman's Wharf, near Pier 39 in RIU's words; the cruise terminal is along the Embarcadero toward the Ferry Building.
Landing on sail morning instead? Some cruise lines and shuttle companies run straight to the terminals; compare the airports and the landing guidelines.
Which terminal
Pier 27Princess and Carnival both sail from the James R. Herman Cruise Terminal at Pier 27, on the northern Embarcadero. On a busy day a ship can berth at Pier 35, a 6- to 8-minute walk north by the port’s count; your cruise documents name the pier.
Source: sfport.comDistance
No mileage statedRIU gives no distance to Pier 27. The hotel is on Mason Street at Fisherman's Wharf, near Pier 39 in RIU's words; the cruise terminal is along the Embarcadero toward the Ferry Building.
Source: riu.comShuttle departures
No shuttleThere’s no hotel shuttle to time, so a taxi or rideshare leaves when you’re ready. Your cruise documents give your terminal check-in window.
Source: riu.comParking while you sail
Cruise parking
Cruise parking unconfirmedRIU's pages don't give a parking rate or say whether you can leave the car while you cruise. A third-party park-and-cruise site sells a package here; the hotel's own pages don't, so it isn't scored.
Source: riu.comParking by the pier
From $20 a dayThere’s no parking at the terminal, overnight or temporary, per the port. It sends cruisers to Metropolis at 55 and 80 Francisco Street, which publishes no rate. Ace Parking at 1348 The Embarcadero, about an 18-minute walk, lists $20 a day for a compact car and $25 for a full-size one, plus a $2 fee, and calls itself a Princess partner.
Source: sfcruiseshipparking.comThe evening and the morning
The evening
Pool · Food or bar on siteA big Wharf hotel near Pier 39, with an outdoor pool heated in winter, a buffet restaurant, a grab-and-go counter and the Northpoint bar.
Breakfast
Not statedRIU lists a buffet breakfast, with hot and cold stations and vegetarian and gluten-free options, but doesn't say it's included in the rate.
Address
Mason Street, Fisherman's Wharf2500 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94133
Hotel website
The fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as Riu Plaza publishes it. Where it says “not stated”, the hotel doesn’t say, and a quick call will settle it.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
Not stated by the hotel.
Resort fee
None stated
Wi-Fi
Free, two devices a person
Parking for your stay
Not stated
Cruise parking is in the parking section above.
Breakfast
A buffet breakfast with hot and cold stations and vegetarian and gluten-free options; RIU doesn’t say it’s in the rate
Pool
Outdoor pool, heated in winter
Pets
RIU's pages don't mention pets.
Food and drink on site
- Main restaurantThe breakfast buffet
- Grab & GoSnacks and drinks
- NorthpointThe bar
Rooms
Deluxe King, Deluxe Two Queen, Deluxe Superior and suites.
Accessibility
The hotel’s pages don’t detail accessible rooms. Call before you book if you need one.
On site
- EV chargingNot stated
- Guest laundryNot stated
- Fitness centerYes
- Pets allowedNot stated
Nearby, by the hotel’s count
- Pier 39nearby, per RIU
Distances as the hotel or its brand lists them. Bars use a square-root scale so short walks stay visible.
Also worth knowing
- It occupies the former Sheraton Fisherman’s Wharf address, 2500 Mason Street, per a third-party listing
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Check-in 3 PM, check-out noon.
- Wi-Fi is free, two devices a person.
- The pool is heated in winter, per RIU.
- It's at the former Sheraton Fisherman's Wharf address, per a third-party listing; RIU's pages don't name the old brand.
What we couldn’t confirm
- Whether breakfast is included
- Parking rates
- Whether you can leave the car while you cruise
- Pets
- The distance to Pier 27
Rates and policies are as the hotel published them on September 26, 2026. Confirm anything you’re counting on when you book.
Worth a look alongside it
Wake up at Fisherman's Wharf, a short cab or streetcar from the ship.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check Riu Plaza for the night before. No payment on the form.
Riu Plaza FAQ
Does Riu Plaza have a cruise shuttle?
Not that it publishes. The hotel publishes no shuttle to Pier 27 and no distance to it. It's a cab or a rideshare along the Embarcadero, or the F-line streetcar.
Does Riu Plaza have an airport shuttle?
Not that it publishes. From San Francisco International: RIU doesn't mention an airport shuttle. From Oakland International: RIU doesn't mention an airport shuttle.
Can I park at Riu Plaza while I cruise?
The hotel doesn't say. RIU's pages don't give a parking rate or say whether you can leave the car while you cruise. A third-party park-and-cruise site sells a package here; the hotel's own pages don't, so it isn't scored.
How far is Riu Plaza from the cruise terminal?
RIU gives no distance to Pier 27. The hotel is on Mason Street at Fisherman's Wharf, near Pier 39 in RIU's words; the cruise terminal is along the Embarcadero toward the Ferry Building. It sits in our by the waterfront band. Princess and Carnival both sail from the James R. Herman Cruise Terminal at Pier 27, on the northern Embarcadero. On a busy day a ship can berth at Pier 35, a 6- to 8-minute walk north by the port's count; your cruise documents name the pier.
Can I check in early or check out late on cruise days?
Check-in is 3:00 PM and check-out 12:00 PM. The hotel doesn't publish early or late terms, so ask when you book, not on the day.
Will the hotel hold my bags?
The hotel doesn't say. Most hotels will hold bags between check-out and a late shuttle, but that's a call to make, not an assumption.
Does the port shuttle come back for me after the cruise?
There's no hotel shuttle to the port. Carnival's transfer runs back to SFO for $34.99 a person. Otherwise it's a cab or a rideshare from the pier, or the F-line to Embarcadero and BART to either airport.
What's the breakfast timing on sail morning?
A buffet breakfast with hot and cold stations and vegetarian and gluten-free options; RIU doesn’t say it’s in the rate. Plan coffee on the way if you're leaving early.
Can I park an oversized vehicle or charge an EV?
EV charging: not stated. Clearance and oversized parking aren't published. Ace charges $25 a day for a full-size car, SUV or van, 16 feet long or 6.5 feet tall and up. Metropolis publishes no rate or size limit.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
