Fins Dining
The lower level of the main dining room serves island-inspired menus, and a 2024 guest report describes open seating at breakfast and dinner.
Most of the week is included. One steak dinner is worth buying. And the suite dinner menu reaches further than its name suggests.
Eat included, buy one steak, read your cabin page.
Islander feeds you well without a single upcharge: Fins, the buffet, tacos, burgers and pizza are all in the fare — that’s most of your week.
Pay for one JWB dinner, not three. At $55 with the gratuity already inside, it’s the clearest money on the menu.
The surprise: suites and two balcony categories get a suite-exclusive dinner menu — and that changes the cabin math more than most people realize.
the chalkboard
7.0 out of 10, up from the 6.8 we first published — we had missed the suite dinner menu, and fixing that one category moved the total. Nothing else changed.
Eight weighted categories. Tap any one for the reason behind the number.
Weighted total 7.02 · displayed 7.0 / 10 · weights sum to 100
Same eight categories and weights as every Seabound dining guide. How we score · Paradise scores 6.7
Tap a filter. The number on each card is the Seabound venue score, and cards without one aren’t scored on their own.
The lower level of the main dining room serves island-inspired menus, and a 2024 guest report describes open seating at breakfast and dinner.
The upper floor of the main dining room serves Fins favorites plus chef-crafted seasonal specials, the suite-exclusive dinner menu and Sparkling Brunch. Corner and Signature suite pages describe nightly dinners here; other guests get one visit through a dining package.
Breakfast, lunch and dinner with chef-attended stations up on the pool deck, and the everyday workhorse. High Tide Market is announced for Islander in 2027; the line hasn’t said whether it replaces this buffet.
Street tacos and breakfast burritos beside the 5 o’Clock Somewhere Pool.
Build-your-own burgers and fries at the pool, under the name everybody expects, and it’s free.
Hand-tossed slices near the buffet are included, while a whole 14″ pie delivered to your cabin is $12.99 on the line’s fleetwide in-room menu.
A two-story steakhouse and lounge, where $55 pre-booked buys an appetizer, entrée, side and dessert — 12 oz ribeye, NY strip, rack of lamb or the fresh catch — with the 20% gratuity already inside that price.
An Asian-fusion sushi bar and lounge doing rolls, “sea-cuterie” boards and crunchy volcano rolls. It’s priced per item, and the line doesn’t publish the menu prices.
A seafood shack inside The Tiki Bar — peel-and-eat shrimp, tuna nachos — that’s adults only and paid by the item.
The other half of The Tiki Bar, also adults only and paid by the item: crispy smothered wings, fire-grilled filet skewers and piña colada crème brûlée.
Lattes, frappés and pastries, all paid. Drip coffee at the buffet is free, the coffee-shop drinks are not, and the drink package doesn’t cover them.
From the line’s fleetwide menu: 5 p.m. to 3 a.m., everything priced — $3 pastries up to a $14 salmon burger — with a service gratuity added. A breakfast door-hanger runs $5–$7 a plate.
Brunch in the Islander Dining Room (sea days, per a 2024 guest report): one made-to-order dish and a mimosa, bellini or glass of bubbly for guests 21+, at $19.90 with gratuity included.
The line’s food hall is coming to Islander in 2027 — until it actually opens, the Port of Indecision Buffet is what you’ll eat at.
Eleven places to eat, plus room service, a brunch event and one planned food hall. Fins and the Islander Dining Room are two rooms on two levels, so they count as two, while Sparkling Brunch is an event, not a room, and room service is a service. Pearls Private Dining shows up on the deck plan, but the line publishes nothing about what it is or what it costs — so it isn’t scored or counted.
corrected
The perk runs wider than the word “suite” suggests — and narrower than “free nightly dinner.”
Every suite category lists a “Suite-Exclusive Dinner Menu in Main Dining Rooms.” So do two balcony categories, Premium Extended Balcony and Wake View Balcony, while standard Breezy, Extended and Partial View balconies don’t get it.
Where it’s served matters: the Grand Terrace Corner Suite page spells out “complimentary nightly dining in the Islander Dining Room,” and the line’s 2024 launch release says the same for Signature Grand Suites. The other pages just say “main dining rooms” — plural — without naming the room or saying nightly.
It’s an upgraded menu and a nicer room, not a private suite restaurant like a Yacht Club or Luminae. Price it that way.
| Cabin category | Suite-exclusive dinner menu | Nightly Islander Dining Room named | Other perks |
|---|---|---|---|
| Breezy Balcony, Extended Balcony, Partial View Balcony | No | — | — |
| Premium Extended Balcony | Yes | Not stated | No |
| Wake View Balcony | Yes | Not stated | No |
| Serene Junior Suite | Yes | Not stated | Concierge services, priority boarding |
| Grand Terrace Suite | Yes | Not stated | Concierge services, priority boarding |
| Grand Terrace Corner Suite | Yes | Yes — “complimentary nightly dining” | Concierge services, priority boarding |
| Signature Grand Suite | Yes | Yes — per the 2024 launch release | Concierge services, Concierge Lounge, priority boarding |
If you’re booking a Premium Extended or Wake View balcony for the dinner menu, have us confirm in writing whether it’s every night or once, because the pages don’t say. At the $20 a 2024 guest report quoted for an Islander Dining Room dinner, nightly versus once is over $100 a person on a week.
Short version: if you want JWB and the brunch, the $89 package only wins if you also value that upstairs dinner.
Islander sells three dining bundles, and the names don’t tell you what’s actually inside, so here it is.
Prime Dining Package, $89. One JWB dinner, one Sparkling Brunch, and one suite-exclusive dinner in the Islander Dining Room, service charge included, for ages 13 and up.
Far Side Sampler, $75. Three $25 credits — Tiki Grill, Island Eats and Far Side Sushi — all used in a single visit, which makes it a sampler, not a sushi dinner. Adults only, and unused credit is gone.
Ultimate Dining Chill, $159. Both of the above, which bought separately would be $164, so the bundle trims $5.
Tick what you’d actually book. The third line has no official price — it’s off by default.
Islander sails four to ten nights. Pick yours.
Embarkation night is for learning the ship, not spending money, so eat included.
If you bought the brunch, this is its moment, and if you didn’t, the buffet does breakfast fine.
One paid dinner is plenty on a four-night trip. Book it before you sail — the $55 is the pre-cruise price.
Suite guests should use the suite menu, because nobody refunds the nights you skip.
Same rule: included first.
It’s adults only, and two or three small plates make a lighter treat than a second steak dinner.
The anchor dinner.
Order a few rolls and see — it’s priced per item, so it scales to your appetite.
Back to included.
Let the included program carry you while you get your bearings.
Seven-night sailings give you more sea days; one brunch is enough.
If two of you each want JWB and the brunch, price the Prime Dining Package before buying separately.
The adults-only shack is the most ‘Margaritaville’ meal aboard. Go at golden hour.
A lighter paid night.
Included, unhurried, and the right call for the last night’s early bags.
The fare covers more than you’d guess and less than an all-inclusive, so here’s the line between them.
| Item | Included? | What it costs |
|---|---|---|
| Fins, buffet, Mexican Cutie, Cheeseburger in Paradise, pizza slices | Yes | — |
| Drip coffee, tea, milk, juice, lemonade, water | Yes | — |
| Coffee-shop specialty drinks | No | Not published by the line; a 2024 report had lattes about $5.25 |
| Soda | No | $12.00 per person, per night (Unlimited Soda) |
| Room service | No | Priced menu, 5 p.m.–3 a.m., service gratuity added |
| Whole pizza to your cabin | No | $12.99 for a 14″ pie |
| JWB Prime Steakhouse | No | $55 per person, gratuity included |
| Island Eats, Tiki Grill, Far Side Sushi | No | À la carte; item prices not published |
| Ultimate Beverage Chill | No | From $49.99 per person, per night + 20%; every 21+ guest in the cabin must buy |
Kids 12 and under pay child-menu pricing at JWB, while teens 13 to 17 can buy the Prime Dining Package and pay adult pricing at Far Side Sushi.
Island Eats and Tiki Grill are 18 and over because they sit inside the adults-only Tiki Bar, so families should plan their casual lunches around Mexican Cutie and Cheeseburger in Paradise instead.
The Parrots, Pirates and Pancakes character breakfast is sold before you sail; the line doesn’t post the price.
Dietary needs: put them on your booking, then tell your Fins server on night one, and don’t assume the food hall counters coming in 2027 will work the same way.
Casual chic, which means no tank tops or swimsuits in the dining rooms, and some restaurants want collared shirts or blouses and pants, dresses or skirts.
Islander and Paradise share many venue names, but Islander scores 7.0 to Paradise’s 6.7. The gap sits in three categories: Included Dining (7.4 against 7.2), Value (7.2 against 6.8) and Suite & Restricted, where Islander’s suite dinner menu earns 5.0 and Paradise, with no suite dining at all, sits at 1.0.
Against bigger-line ships of a similar age, the included food holds up and the specialty side is thinner. That’s the honest trade.
| Category (weight) | Islander | Paradise | Norwegian Sky | Carnival Paradise / Elation | MSC Divina | MSC Seashore |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Included Dining (25%) | 7.4 | 7.2 | 7.8 | 7.7 | 6.5 | 6.4 |
| Specialty Dining (20%) | 7.0 | 7.0 | 7.6 | 6.5 | 6.5 | 7.5 |
| Variety (15%) | 7.2 | 7.2 | 7.2 | 7.1 | 7.0 | 8.0 |
| Quality Ceiling (10%) | 7.3 | 7.3 | 7.6 | 7.7 | 7.1 | 7.1 |
| Value (10%) | 7.2 | 6.8 | 7.8 | 7.3 | 7.0 | 7.4 |
| Casual & Quick (10%) | 7.4 | 7.4 | 7.8 | 7.6 | 6.6 | 6.5 |
| Special Experiences (5%) | 5.0 | 5.0 | 1.0 | 8.3 | 6.6 | 7.1 |
| Suite & Restricted (5%) | 5.0 | 1.0 | 1.0 | 1.0 | 7.4 | 8.3 |
Tell us your dates, your cabin and who’s coming. We’ll tell you whether a package beats buying piece by piece, and whether your cabin gets the suite menu.
A Seabound Journeys advisor checks your question against the line’s current prices for your date.
Seabound scores Islander’s dining 7.0 out of 10 (weighted total 7.02). It’s an editorial rating across eight weighted categories, not a guest review average.
For most people, yes, as the one paid dinner of the trip. The $55 pre-cruise price includes an appetizer, entrée, side and dessert plus the 20% gratuity, and it’s 10% below the onboard price.
Yes. Every Islander suite category lists a suite-exclusive dinner menu in the main dining rooms, and so do Premium Extended Balcony and Wake View Balcony cabins. Grand Terrace Corner and Signature Grand Suites are described with complimentary nightly dining in the Islander Dining Room. There is no private suite-only restaurant.
It’s the upper floor of Islander’s main dining room, separate from Fins below. It serves Fins favorites plus seasonal specials, hosts the suite-exclusive dinner menu and holds Sparkling Brunch. Non-suite guests can get one dinner there through the Prime Dining Package or Ultimate Dining Chill.
No. Both are à la carte and adults only (18+), because they sit inside The Tiki Bar. The line doesn’t publish item prices; the Far Side Sampler package gives a $25 credit at each.
Three $25 à la carte credits, one each at Tiki Grill, Island Eats and Far Side Sushi, used in a single dining visit, for $75. It’s for guests 18 and over, excludes alcohol, and unused credit is forfeited. It isn’t a full sushi dinner.
No. In-room dining runs 5 p.m. to 3 a.m. with every item priced, roughly $3 to $14, and a service gratuity is added to each order. A whole 14-inch pizza delivered to your cabin is $12.99. Prices are from the line’s fleetwide in-room menu.
Drip coffee, tea, milk, juice and lemonade are included. Specialty drinks from the Margaritaville Coffee Shop cost extra and aren’t covered by the Ultimate Beverage Chill drink package.
Not yet. The line has announced a version of High Tide Market for Islander in 2027. Until then, Islander’s casual hub is the Port of Indecision Buffet.
No. The line lists Islander’s fuel supplement at $0 per person per night as of June 1, 2024. Paradise charges $15 per person per night.