Cozy Interior
The entry fare comes on eight decks, with no window, no sofa on the line’s list and no mini fridge — the only category besides Picturesque Ocean View without one. Pick the deck for where you’ll spend your days.
Twelve categories, more than 700 balconies, and a dinner perk that reaches past the suites. Here’s where to spend the upgrade money.
Book a Breezy Balcony. Upgrade to Premium Extended.
On Islander a balcony is the normal room, not the treat — more than 700 of her 1,105 staterooms have one.
The smart upgrade is Premium Extended Balcony: an extra-large balcony, four berths and the suite-exclusive dinner menu, without suite prices.
There are two catches: the line publishes no square footage for any Islander cabin, and four categories cap at three guests.
the spec sheet
Sizes are missing for every row, so read occupancy, view and bathroom instead — those the line does publish.
The accommodations page lists twelve categories, the ship page says eleven types, and the deck-plan legend shows fourteen because it splits out interior and balcony quads. We use the twelve the line sells.
Swipe the table sideways on a phone.
| Category | Interior area | Balcony area | Max guests | Beds | Decks | View | Bathroom | Stands out for | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cozy Interior | Not published | No balcony | 1–4 | Deluxe bed; no sofa listed | 1, 4–10 | None | Shower | Widest deck spread aboard | Category page |
| Picturesque Ocean View | Not published | No balcony | 1–4 | Bed + sleeper sofa* | 1 | Picture window | Shower | “Extra lounge space” | Category page |
| Partial Ocean View | Not published | No balcony | 1–4 | Bed + sleeper sofa* | 4 | Window, “partially or fully obstructed” | Shower | Same deck as the younger kids’ clubs | Category page |
| Partial View Balcony | Not published | Not published | 1–4 | Bed + sleeper sofa* | 5 | Balcony, “partial or fully obstructed” | Shower | A balcony, with an obstruction warning | Category page |
| Breezy Balcony | Not published | Not published | 1–4 | Bed + sleeper sofa* | 4–9 | Private balcony | Shower | The standard balcony, on six decks | Category page |
| Extended Balcony | Not published | Not published | 1–4 | Bed + sleeper sofa* | 5–8, 10 | Larger balcony | Shower | “Additional balcony space” | Category page |
| Premium Extended Balcony | Not published | Not published | 1–4 | Bed + sleeper sofa* | 5–10 | “Extra-large” balcony + lounge furniture | Shower | Suite-exclusive dinner menu | Category page |
| Wake View Balcony | Not published | Not published | 1–3 | Bed + sleeper sofa* | 4–8 | Aft, open ocean view | Shower | Suite-exclusive dinner menu | Category page |
| Serene Junior Suite | Not published | Not published | 1–3 | Bed + lounge sleeper sofa | 5–8, 10 | Balcony with chairs | Shower | Dinner menu, concierge, priority boarding | Category page |
| Grand Terrace Suite | Not published | Not published | 1–4 | Bed + lounge sleeper sofa | 4–8 | Balcony with loungers | Shower | Separate seating area, upgraded linens | Category page |
| Grand Terrace Corner Suite | Not published | Not published | 1–3 | Bed + lounge sleeper sofa | 4–8 | Wraparound balcony with loungers | Double sinks, tub and shower | Nightly Islander Dining Room named | Category page |
| Signature Grand Suite | Not published | Not published | 3 | Bed + lounge sleeper sofa | 7 only | Extra-spacious balcony, private sun loungers | Walk-in shower | Concierge Lounge + mini bar | Category page; Apr 2024 release |
Filter by what matters. “Suite dinner menu” shows the six categories that get it — two of them aren’t suites.
The entry fare comes on eight decks, with no window, no sofa on the line’s list and no mini fridge — the only category besides Picturesque Ocean View without one. Pick the deck for where you’ll spend your days.
A real picture window low on Deck 1, plus what the line calls extra lounge space — daylight without a balcony fare, though there’s no mini fridge on its list.
The line’s own words: the window may be partly or fully blocked. It sits on the same deck as Jolly Mon and Parakeets, which is handy with small kids and less so without them.
A private balcony with chairs beside the open promenade — you’re buying fresh air, not a guaranteed view.
Islander’s default room — the line counts more than 700 balcony staterooms, so this is the price every upgrade has to beat.
More outdoor room to stretch out, though the line gives no size, and this category does not include the suite dinner menu.
Extra-large balcony with outdoor lounge furniture, and the line lists the suite-exclusive dinner menu in the main dining rooms. There’s no concierge or priority boarding, but it still sleeps four.
At the stern, looking down the wake, with extra outdoor furniture and the suite dinner menu too. Maximum three guests, not four.
The first rung of real suite perks: dinner menu, concierge services, priority check-in, boarding and debarkation, robes, slippers and two bottles of water. Sleeps three.
A separate seating area, upgraded linens and pillows, loungers on the balcony and the same suite perks as the Junior Suite — the top suite category that still sleeps four.
A wraparound corner balcony and the only bathroom on the list with double sinks and a tub. Its page names complimentary nightly dining in the Islander Dining Room, and it sleeps three.
Six named suites on Deck 7, each with upgraded furnishings, a mini bar and a walk-in shower, make up the only category that lists Concierge Lounge access. Accommodates three.
Each step up, and what you actually gain. We don’t print fare gaps here because they move by sailing — we’ll quote yours.
Picturesque sits only on Deck 1, adds a sleeper sofa and what the line calls extra lounge space — though neither category lists a mini fridge.
A door, not a view: the line says it can be partly or fully obstructed, beside the promenade. Worth it if you want to sit outside with coffee, not if you want sunset photos.
This is the step most people should take — more than 700 balconies means plenty of choice on Decks 4 to 9.
Plain Extended adds balcony room only, while Premium Extended adds extra-large balconies, lounge furniture and the suite menu, and still sleeps four. If the two are close in price, jump straight to Premium.
Concierge, priority check-in, boarding and debarkation, robes and slippers, at the cost of a bed — it sleeps three, and gratuities rise to $25 a night.
Grand Terrace adds a separate seating area and still sleeps four, while the Corner adds a wraparound balcony and tub but caps at three.
Six suites, Deck 7 only — and Concierge Lounge access is the perk no other category lists.
For most couples it’s Breezy or Wake View, and for most families of four it’s Premium Extended or Grand Terrace. Skip plain Extended Balcony unless it’s the same price as Breezy — it adds balcony room but none of the dining.
Tell it who’s coming and what you care about.
A preference tool, not a rating. Four questions, one suggestion, and a link to the detail.
Deck numbers come from the line’s category pages, and public-room locations are noted where we can support them.
Category decks from the line’s accommodation pages; deck names from the official deck plan. Decks 2, 3, 11 and 12 list no staterooms. The pool-deck and Deck 4 club notes are explained below.
Deck 9 is the pool deck, so cabins there share it with the LandShark and 5 o’Clock Somewhere pools (deck number from secondary deck guides, consistent with the line’s FAQ). Ask for one well away from the pools if you nap.
Deck 10 holds the smoking area, overlooking the LandShark Pool, per the line’s FAQ. Cabins on 10 are fine — just ask where yours sits relative to it.
Deck 4 puts you near Jolly Mon and Parakeets, the younger kids’ clubs — the line says so on the Partial Ocean View page.
Deck 1: secondary deck guides put the lower level of Hot, Hot, Hot nightclub here, so if you book a Deck 1 cabin, ask for one away from it.
We don’t rate cabins for noise or walking distance beyond that, because nobody has published reliable cabin-by-cabin evidence. We won’t guess.
dinner perk
The dining perk reaches past the suites while the lounge doesn’t — it’s part of why Islander’s dining scores 7.0.
Six categories share one dining perk: a suite-exclusive dinner menu in the main dining rooms, and that includes two balconies, Premium Extended and Wake View.
Only two pages go further: Grand Terrace Corner names complimentary nightly dining in the Islander Dining Room, and the line’s April 2024 launch release says the same for Signature Grand. The rest say “main dining rooms” without saying nightly.
Treat it as an upgraded menu in a nicer room, not a private suite restaurant.
| Benefit | Premium Ext. Balcony | Wake View Balcony | Serene Junior | Grand Terrace | GT Corner | Signature Grand |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Suite-exclusive dinner menu | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Nightly Islander Dining Room named | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Yes | Yes (Apr 2024 release) |
| Exclusive concierge services | — | — | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Priority check-in, boarding, debarkation | — | — | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Concierge Lounge access | — | — | Not listed | Not listed* | Not listed | Yes |
| Robes, slippers, 2 bottled waters | — | — | Yes | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Bathroom | Shower | Shower | Shower | Shower | Double sinks, tub + shower | Walk-in shower |
| Extras | Lounge furniture | Extra outdoor furniture | Lounge sofa | Separate seating, upgraded linens | Wraparound balcony | Mini bar, premium furnishings |
| Max guests | 4 | 3 | 3 | 4 | 3 | 3 |
Each one is named, and all six are on Deck 7, split three to a side.
| Suite | Number | Side |
|---|---|---|
| Come Monday | 7223 | Starboard |
| Everlasting Moon | 7229 | Starboard |
| Lovely Cruise | 7231 | Starboard |
| Son Of A Sailor | 7196 | Port |
| Taste For The Good Life | 7198 | Port |
| Floridays | 7200 | Port |
If you’re choosing Premium Extended or Wake View for the dinner menu, ask us to confirm with the line whether it’s nightly or occasional on your sailing, because the pages don’t say.
Don’t assume a cabin sleeps four. Pick your party size.
Every category works — including the four that cap at three: Wake View, Serene Junior, Grand Terrace Corner and Signature Grand.
If the third guest is a child, the Serene Junior Suite is the first category with a lounge sleeper sofa plus priority boarding.
Gratuities apply to children too: $22 per person per night in staterooms, $25 in suites.
Rule out Wake View, Serene Junior, GT Corner and Signature Grand — they cap at three.
That leaves Cozy Interior, both ocean views, every other balcony and the Grand Terrace Suite. Fourth berths come from a sleeper sofa or Pullman beds, and the line says the sofa isn’t in every stateroom.
Ask for the exact cabin’s bed layout before you pay, since the deck plan’s legend shows king + sofa bed, king + one or two Pullmans, and king + sofa + Pullman.
No category sleeps five, so you need two cabins.
The deck plan marks connecting staterooms, but the line doesn’t publish how many there are or which categories have them — we check that against the plan for your sailing.
Two Breezy Balconies side by side give you two bathrooms and two balconies. Price them against one suite.
The line’s FAQ sets a 6-month infant minimum for Paradise only. It publishes no Islander rule — confirm before you book a baby’s first cruise.
There’s no published nursery or under-3 club, and Jolly Mon starts at 3.
A cabin on Deck 4 puts you on the same deck as Jolly Mon and Parakeets, per the line, which is a real convenience at pickup time.
The official deck plan says every king bed can be separated into two twins on request. Ask when you book, not at the cabin door.
What the line publishes, and what you still need to ask.
Margaritaville at Sea’s Access Desk, (800) 374-4311, Monday to Friday, 9 to 5 Eastern. The line also has an online accessibility questionnaire.
Standard Islander cabin doors are 21.7 to 24 inches, against 35.4 inches for accessible cabins. Mobility devices must be under 26 inches wide to come aboard.
The line mentions grab bars and raised toilet seats. It doesn’t mention roll-in showers, and it publishes no count beyond “a limited number” of wheelchair-accessible staterooms.
Give 45 days’ notice (90 for ASL, 30 for pier help). Belize, Grand Cayman and Roatán are tender ports, where scooters are “not guaranteed”, and the line allows service dogs only.
The deck plan marks accessible staterooms but nobody publishes how many each category has. Before you pay, get the specific cabin, its bathroom layout and its door width confirmed in writing — we’ll do that call for you.
Tell us your dates and who’s sailing. We’ll compare categories on your sailing, check bed layouts and connecting rooms, and hold the one that fits.
Ask about occupancy, a specific deck, the suite dinner menu or accessible rooms. We’ll check it against the line for your date.
A Seabound Journeys advisor checks your question against the line’s current prices for your date.
The line doesn’t publish square footage or balcony size for any of Islander’s twelve categories. It describes size in words instead, such as “additional balcony space” for Extended Balcony and “extra-large balconies” for Premium Extended. Third-party sizes online date from her Costa years.
Cozy Interior, Picturesque Ocean View, Partial Ocean View, Partial View Balcony, Breezy Balcony, Extended Balcony, Premium Extended Balcony and the Grand Terrace Suite sleep one to four. Wake View Balcony, Serene Junior Suite and Grand Terrace Corner Suite sleep one to three, and the Signature Grand Suite accommodates three.
Yes. Premium Extended Balcony and Wake View Balcony both list the suite-exclusive dinner menu in the main dining rooms, alongside all four suite categories. The pages don’t say whether it’s nightly, so confirm that for your sailing.
Six named suites on Deck 7 with extra-spacious balconies and private sun loungers, a walk-in shower, mini bar and upgraded furnishings. Benefits are concierge services, Concierge Lounge access, priority check-in, boarding and debarkation, and the suite-exclusive dinner menu. They accommodate three guests.
The Grand Terrace Corner Suite. Its page lists double sinks, a tub and a shower. The Signature Grand Suite lists a walk-in shower, and the other categories list a shower.
Only if you want outdoor air more than a view. The line says the view can be partially or fully obstructed, and these cabins sit beside the open promenade on Deck 5.
Yes. The official deck plan marks connecting staterooms, but the line doesn’t publish how many there are or in which categories. Ask an advisor to check the plan for your sailing.
The line lists 35.4 inches for accessible staterooms and 21.7 to 24 inches for standard ones. Contact the Access Desk at (800) 374-4311, Monday to Friday 9 to 5 Eastern, before booking.
Yes. Gratuities are $25 per person per night in suites and $22 in staterooms, added automatically, and they apply to children too.
Yes. The official deck plan says all king beds can be separated into two twin beds on request.