Splurge Hotels · Baltimore

The Nicest Night Near the Ship

Baltimore’s best-rated rooms are across the water or uptown from the ship. AAA’s 2026 list names three Four Diamonds here, the Four Seasons, the Pendry and The Ivy, and none of them is in Locust Point, where the terminal is. Here’s what each one costs you on sail morning.

3AAA Four Diamonds in our six
0Five Diamonds in Maryland
1of the six in our top 20
Pick Yours

What kind of splurge is it?

We looked for the nicest places to stay before a cruise from Baltimore. One of the six also makes our top 20: The Ivy, in Mount Vernon. The Four Seasons is in Harbor East, the Pendry on Fells Point’s Recreation Pier and the Royal Sonesta on the Inner Harbor; Hotel Revival and Hotel Ulysses are in Mount Vernon. All are a cab from the ship. Tap the night you’re after and the pick lights up.

Three of the six are on AAA’s 2026 Four Diamond list, and Maryland has no Five Diamond hotel. The other three aren’t on AAA’s Four Diamond list or Forbes’s Baltimore page, and we say so rather than stretch. Live! Casino Hotel & Spa in Hanover, by BWI, is Four Diamond too; we haven’t reviewed it yet.

The Six

Six splurges, and what each one costs you

AAA Four DiamondNot on Forbes’s Baltimore page · AAA list
No distance to the port stated

The Ivy Hotel

AAA Four Diamond since 2025, in Mount Vernon, with breakfast, afternoon tea, the bar's cocktails and valet parking in the room rate.

You’re paying for

  • Magdalena, A Maryland Bistro
  • Spa at The Ivy; treatments extra
  • Mansion Bar; cocktails in the rate

The catch

  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
AAA Four DiamondForbes Four-Star · AAA list
No distance to the port stated

Four Seasons Hotel Baltimore

AAA Four Diamond since 2012 and Baltimore's only Forbes Four-Star hotel, with a rooftop infinity-edge pool and a Forbes Four-Star spa in Harbor East.

You’re paying for

  • Maximón
  • 10,000 sq ft spa; rooftop infinity-edge pool
  • The Bygone, 29th floor

The catch

  • No free breakfast
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
AAA Four DiamondForbes Recommended · AAA list
No distance to the port stated

Pendry Baltimore

AAA Four Diamond since 2019 and Forbes Recommended, on Fells Point's Recreation Pier, with a waterfront pool and Rec Pier Chop House.

You’re paying for

  • Rec Pier Chop House
  • Waterfront pool, seasonal; spa not stated
  • The Cannon Room

The catch

  • No free breakfast
  • A destination fee it doesn’t price
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
Not on AAA’s Four Diamond listNot on Forbes’s Baltimore page · AAA list
No distance to the port stated

The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore

The former InterContinental Harbor Court on the Inner Harbor, with an indoor lap pool, racquet courts and parking prices printed with tax included.

You’re paying for

  • Explorers Restaurant & Lounge
  • Massage by appointment; indoor lap pool and sauna
  • Explorers lounge

The catch

  • No free breakfast
  • A $25 daily destination fee
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
Not on AAA’s Four Diamond listNot on Forbes’s Baltimore page · AAA list
No distance to the port stated

Hotel Ulysses

An Ash-run boutique in Mount Vernon with 116 rooms and suites and four bars on Ash's list, bookable through Marriott — and no parking.

You’re paying for

  • Ash—Bar
  • Bar Dalí; Bloom’s; The Coral Wig

The catch

  • Breakfast not stated
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
On the Map

Where the six sit

Tap a pin for the hotel’s card, then open the review. The numbers follow the list above.

Middle Branch Locust Point Federal Hill Canton Downtown Cruise Maryland Terminal 6 5 4 3 2 1 1 km · 0.6 mi N
Splurge pick, numbered as belowCruise terminalReal geography: neighbourhood boundaries from Baltimore City and NOAA’s GSHHG shoreline. Pins from the hotel’s own map data, the hotel’s or a map listing’s pin, the US Census Bureau’s address geocoder and Wikipedia; address-geocoded pins can sit up to a block off.
Side by Side

The six, side by side

Hover or tap a hotel to light its column. Green is on offer, gold comes with a cost or a catch, grey isn’t there or isn’t stated.

FeatureThe IvyFour Seasons BaltimorePendry BaltimoreRoyal Sonesta Harbor CourtHotel RevivalHotel Ulysses
AAA ratingFour Diamond, since 2025Four Diamond, since 2012Four Diamond, since 2019———
Forbes Travel Guide—Four-Star; Four-Star spaRecommended———
RestaurantMagdalena, A Maryland BistroMaximónRec Pier Chop HouseExplorers Restaurant & LoungeTopside, on the roofAsh—Bar
Bar or drinksMansion Bar; cocktails in the rateThe Bygone, 29th floorThe Cannon RoomExplorers loungeB-SideBar Dalí; Bloom’s; The Coral Wig
SpaSpa at The Ivy; treatments extra10,000 sq ft spa; rooftop infinity-edge poolWaterfront pool, seasonal; spa not statedMassage by appointment; indoor lap pool and sauna——
BreakfastIncludedPaidPaidPaidPaidNot stated
Kitchen——————
Resort feeNone printed; all in the rate but dinner and spaNone statedDestination fee; amount not printed$25 a day plus taxNone statedNone stated
ParkingIncluded in the rate, by valetValet; price not stated$65 valet a night$28 self; $42 valet, tax included$49 valet, tax includedNo; no parking at the hotel
Shuttle to the port——————
Distance to the portNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
The Trade

Splurge the night, and plan the morning

None of the six runs a shuttle to the ship, and none says how far the terminal is. The Four Seasons’ house car covers a two-mile radius on weekday mornings and The Ivy’s 3 miles, and neither says whether the Cruise Maryland Terminal is inside it. The MPA puts the Inner Harbor about 2.5 miles from the terminal.

Breakfast is in the rate at The Ivy and extra at the Four Seasons, the Pendry, the Royal Sonesta and Hotel Revival; Hotel Ulysses doesn’t say.

Fees add up: the Royal Sonesta charges a $25 daily destination fee plus tax, and the Pendry lists one without the amount. Parking, where it’s printed, runs $28 to $65 a night, and Hotel Ulysses has none. None of the six says you can leave the car while you cruise; the terminal lot is $25 a day, per Cruise Maryland.

Airport taxis
Need a ride from the airport?

Booking.com lists airport taxis you can book ahead. Check the pickup point, the price and the cancellation terms before you book.

Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.

Also Considered

Five that didn’t make the six

HotelWhy it isn’t in the six
Live! Casino Hotel & Spa, HanoverAAA Four Diamond since 2019, and the one Four Diamond by BWI, in Hanover. We haven't checked its cruise details.
Baltimore Marriott WaterfrontOn the water in Harbor East, with redesigned harbor- and skyline-view rooms and a Club Lounge, but $54 valet, no pool listed, no pets, and it's on neither AAA's Four Diamond list nor Forbes's Baltimore page.
Canopy by Hilton Baltimore Harbor PointAt Harbor Point, with harbor-view suites, EV charging and pets up to 75 lb, but $55 valet, no pool listed, and it's on neither AAA's Four Diamond list nor Forbes's Baltimore page.
Hyatt Regency Baltimore Inner HarborOn Light Street, with a seasonal sixth-floor rooftop pool and the 'More Rooftop Pool Bar, but Hyatt's parking prices didn't load for us, and it's on neither AAA's Four Diamond list nor Forbes's Baltimore page.
Merriweather Lakehouse, Autograph CollectionAAA Four Diamond since 2022, in Columbia, Howard County. We haven't checked its cruise details.
A day out before you sail? Washington is a MARC train ride from Baltimore ($9 each way, a 2021 fare chart the state still posts), and Annapolis and Gettysburg suit a car better. Annapolis, Gettysburg and Lancaster by car · Baltimore rental cars
Names You’ll Hear

Six names you’ll hear, and where they stand

Renamed
Sagamore Pendry Baltimore
Now Pendry Baltimore, at 1715 Thames Street, per the hotel's own pages; AAA's 2026 list still uses the old name. It's one of our splurge picks.
Renamed
InterContinental Harbor Court
Now The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court Baltimore, at 550 Light Street; a Booking.com listing still has a link that reads inter-continental-harbor-court. It's one of our splurge picks.
Leaving the brand
Sheraton Inner Harbor Hotel
At 300 South Charles Street. The Banner reported on November 5, 2025 that it would "cease operations with the brand by Dec. 31", without naming a new identity; we haven't checked it since.
Sources: thebanner.com
Under court management
Renaissance Baltimore Harborplace Hotel
Run under court-appointed third-party management after a loan default and foreclosure, per The Banner on January 23, 2026, with "a third party company in control to operate the Renaissance Baltimore temporarily"; a Hotel Online headline says it's "To Be Auctioned Off". Marriott's page for it still loads, and it scores 31 on our scale.
Rebranded
Delta Hotels Baltimore Inner Harbor
Sonesta Hotel Baltimore Inner Harbor opened at 1 East Redwood Street on August 12, 2024, per Sonesta's newsroom, which doesn't name the earlier brand; its Booking.com link still reads delta-hotels-by-marriott-baltimore-inner-harbor. It scores 28 on our scale.
Renamed
Hilton Baltimore
Now Hilton Baltimore Inner Harbor on Hilton's site, the same hotel at 401 West Pratt Street by Camden Yards. It scores 31 on our scale.
Sources: hilton.com
FAQ

Splurge hotels FAQ

What is the nicest hotel near the Baltimore cruise terminal?

By the ratings, the Four Seasons in Harbor East: AAA Four Diamond and the only Forbes Four-Star hotel in Baltimore. The Pendry on Fells Point's Recreation Pier and The Ivy in Mount Vernon are the other AAA Four Diamonds, and The Ivy is No. 13 in our top 20. None of them is in Locust Point, where the terminal is; all are a cab from the ship.

Are there Five Diamond hotels in Baltimore?

No. AAA's 2026 Five Diamond list has no hotel in Maryland, and Forbes rates no Baltimore hotel Five-Star. Its highest here is the Four Seasons, at Four-Star.

Do luxury hotels in Baltimore have a cruise shuttle?

None of our six says it runs one. The Four Seasons' house car covers a two-mile radius on weekday mornings and The Ivy's covers 3 miles, and neither says whether the Cruise Maryland Terminal is inside that. American Cruise Lines sells a night at the Four Seasons with transportation to the ship, but that's for its own Chesapeake Bay cruises from the Inner Harbor, not the Cruise Maryland Terminal.

Can I leave my car at a luxury hotel while I cruise?

None of the six says so. The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court prints $28 to self-park and $42 for valet, tax included, the Pendry $65 for valet and Hotel Revival $49; The Ivy's valet is in the room rate, and Hotel Ulysses has no parking. At the terminal, Cruise Maryland charges $25 a day per vehicle, paid by card on arrival.

Do Baltimore's splurge hotels charge resort fees?

Some do. The Royal Sonesta Harbor Court charges a $25 daily destination fee plus tax, and the Pendry lists a destination fee without printing the amount. The Ivy puts nearly everything in the room rate but dinner and spa treatments. Check what any fee covers when you book.

Want us to book the splurge?

Tell us your sail date and the kind of night you want. A real advisor checks rates and lines up the ride. No obligation.

No obligation — a real advisor reviews every request.

Prefer to talk? Book a free 30-minute call or call (407) 312-0306.

Compare 0 of 3