Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
The Safari Camp tops the list, and the package is why. All meals are included, and inside its cruise extension a guide meets you at the airport and drives you back for the next leg, per the camp.
The highlands help too. They sit on the road between Puerto Ayora and the Itabaca Channel, so you’re closer to Baltra than anyone sleeping on the waterfront.
It’s not a one-night bed, though. The camp sells a 3-day, 2-night extension from about US$1,915 per person. Book it as part of the trip, not a stopover.
Book it if
- You want two nights on land with every ride and meal handled
- You’re a family and want a family tent or the suite
- You’d rather wake up in the highlands than in town
Look elsewhere if
- You only want one night
- You want to walk to dinner in Puerto Ayora
- Price matters more than the setting
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what Safari Camp publishes and our own map estimates.
Breakfast and dinner at the camp; dinner is a fixed four-course tasting menu with two main-course choices, per the camp.
Inside its cruise-extension package, your guide drives you to the airport or the dock for the next leg, per the camp. That package is how the camp sells a stay before or after a cruise.
All meals are included in its pre- and post-cruise stays, per the camp; drinks are extra.
Your guide drives you to the airport or the dock, per the camp. Your line’s documents set the time you need to be at Baltra.
No parking is mentioned, and you won’t need it. Everyone flies in.
Night-Before Score: 66 of 100
Every point comes from Galapagos Safari Camp’s own site; the hub explains how the Night-Before Score works.
Getting here, and on to the ship
By our map estimate Safari Camp is about 28 km from Baltra Airport in a straight line, and about 28.4 km from the Baltra dock. Every question mark below is a ride you book yourself.
In the cruise-extension package a guide meets you at the airport or the ship’s drop-off point and takes you to the camp, per the camp.
Inside its cruise-extension package, your guide drives you to the airport or the dock for the next leg, per the camp. That package is how the camp sells a stay before or after a cruise.
From GPS without a hotel shuttle
From the airport it’s three legs: a bus to the Itabaca Channel, a ferry across (US$1, per the national park), then a bus (about US$2) or a pickup taxi (US$25 for up to four) to Puerto Ayora. The park calls the airport bus free; Quasar and Galapatours put it at about US$5. The airport page has the fares, the fees and the timing.
No parking is mentioned, and you won’t need it. Everyone flies in.
Parking for your stay: Not mentioned.
Inside its cruise-extension package, your guide drives you to the airport or the dock for the next leg, per the camp. That package is how the camp sells a stay before or after a cruise.
Flying in the morning you sail? The lines we checked are built for it: they meet the morning flights at the airport. the airport page has the landing check.
Which quay
the Baltra dockMeasured to the Baltra dock, where Celebrity and Lindblad bus you from the airport to board, Safari Camp is about 28.4 km away in a straight line, and about 14.6 km from the Puerto Ayora pier. Between Santa Cruz and Baltra sits the Itabaca Channel, crossed by ferry, so every trip to the ship includes a boat. Celebrity says its ships don’t come pier-side; you board by tender. The Baltra cruise guide has the rest.
Source: celebritycruises.comDistance
~28.4 km, straight lineAbout 28.4 km from the Baltra dock in a straight line between our map pins. That’s a ride, not a walk.
Airport bus
Not statedNo bus runs to the door. The airport bus goes only as far as the Itabaca Channel; then it’s the ferry and a bus or a pickup taxi on Santa Cruz, per the national park.
Parking while you sail
Cruise parking
Cruise parking unconfirmedNo parking is mentioned, and you won’t need it. Everyone flies in.
In town
No car to parkParking isn’t a question here. You can’t drive to Baltra: you fly in from Guayaquil or Quito, and your line’s guide meets you at the airport. No cruise parking is published anywhere on Santa Cruz.
The evening and the morning
The evening
Food or bar on siteBreakfast and dinner at the camp; dinner is a fixed four-course tasting menu with two main-course choices, per the camp.
Breakfast
IncludedAll meals are included in its pre- and post-cruise stays, per the camp; drinks are extra.
Address
The highlands of Santa CruzThe highlands of Santa Cruz Island, on a ridge about 400 m up (no street address published)
Hotel website
The fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, from Safari Camp and the sources named under each fact. We couldn’t confirm check-in and check-out times, street address, whether it sells a single night, so ask when you book.
Check-in and check-out
Breakfast
All meals are included in its pre- and post-cruise stays, per the camp; drinks are extra.
Parking for your stay
Not mentioned
Pool
A small pool, kept small on purpose because fresh water is scarce, heated by solar panels and a heat pump, per the camp.
Pets
Not stated on the pages we read.
Food and drink on site
- DinnerFour-course tasting menu
- BreakfastAt the camp
Rooms
Nine Safari Tents (seven standard, two family) and a three-bedroom Family Suite, per the camp.
Accessibility
Safari Camp’s pages we read don’t detail accessible rooms, so ask before you book one.
On site
- GymNot stated
- Sauna or spaNot stated
- Family roomsYes
- Pets allowedNot stated
Also worth knowing
- Sold as a 3-day, 2-night extension; 2026 relaxing tented double US$1,915 per person for the two nights, per the camp
- The park fee and transit card aren’t included
- Kids Club in the late afternoons during school holidays
- No street address published; our pin is a rough estimate
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Sold as a 2-night extension, not a single night.
- The park fee and the transit card aren’t in the price.
- Drinks are extra.
What we couldn’t confirm
- Check-in and check-out times
- Street address
- Whether it sells a single night
Every hotel fact here comes from Galapagos Safari Camp’s own site, read October 2026, unless we name another source. Distances are straight lines between our own map pins, and almost every pin is our estimate from a street address or less.
Worth a look alongside it
Before you book Safari Camp: the Baltra (Santa Cruz) cruise guide and our Galápagos cruise guide.
Two nights in the highlands, then a guide drives you to the ship.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check Safari Camp for the night before. No payment on the form.
Safari Camp FAQ
Does Galapagos Safari Camp include meals?
Yes. Its pre- and post-cruise stays include all meals, per the camp; drinks are extra.
Does Galapagos Safari Camp transfer you to your cruise?
Inside its cruise-extension package, yes: a guide meets you at the airport or the ship’s drop-off point and drives you to the airport or the dock at the end, per the camp.
How many nights is the Safari Camp cruise extension?
It’s sold as 3 days and 2 nights, and you can add days, per the camp.
Where is Galapagos Safari Camp?
In the highlands of Santa Cruz, on a ridge about 400 m up, per the camp. It doesn’t publish a street address.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us the sailing and we’ll line up Safari Camp, the ride to the ship and the cruise itself. No fee, no obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
