Galapagos Safari Camp
Nine safari tents on a highland ridge, all meals in, and a guide who drives you to the airport or the dock inside the package.
Pre-Cruise Hotels · Baltra (Santa Cruz)
Nine places on Santa Cruz, scored on what they publish, not on reviews. Every one is a bus, a ferry and a road away from Baltra, so the ride matters more than the walk. The highland lodges sit closest to the airport; Puerto Ayora has the restaurants.
Three taps and we’ll show your three picks.
Change any answer and the picks change with it. They’re built from the same published facts as the ranking below. No hotel pays for a place here. Booking.com links earn us a commission, and they don’t change the order.
Matching weighs your answers against each hotel’s published shuttle, parking, breakfast, pool, kitchen and pet policies.
Five answers, and the page builds the whole thing: the hotel, the ride in, the ride to the ship, what happens to the car, what time to leave, and how you get home. Every figure is one the hotel, its brand, a named listing, the park or the line publishes, or a straight-line distance between our own map pins. Where nobody publishes a number, you’ll see that instead of a guess.
There’s no cruise parking to price here, so the plan assumes you fly in.
Who’s coming and the mood come from Your Match; the plan uses the same answers.
There are no partner links inside this planner. It’s built only from what the national park, the lines and each hotel or its named listing publish.
Galapagos Safari Camp wins on its package: all meals in, and a guide drives you to the airport or the dock. Royal Palm is second, with airport rides in its packages and a pool. Pikaia Lodge is third on full board and the evening, per Relais & Châteaux.
Narrow the nine by what your night needs. Save the ones you like. Tick up to three to compare side by side — the order is ours, the shortlist is yours.
Why nine? We checked eleven and left out two; they’re at the bottom of the page.
Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
All 9 hotels
Nine safari tents on a highland ridge, all meals in, and a guide who drives you to the airport or the dock inside the package.
A Hilton Curio resort in the highlands, with a pool, two hot tubs and two places to eat, about 45 minutes from Baltra airport.
Fourteen rooms in the highlands on full board, with an infinity pool, a spa and Evolution Restaurant.
A waterfront inn at Punta Estrada with breakfast included, a patio grill, a bar and its own airport transfer, from about US$339 a night.
A beach hotel across the bay from town, with a heated pool, a spa, a restaurant and its own airport transfer.
A 22-room hotel minutes from the passenger pier, with a pool, a pool bar, La Terraza restaurant and free bikes.
A 31-room waterfront hotel on Av. Charles Darwin with a pool, a jacuzzi and the Pelican Bar, from about US$166 a night before tax and service (rates vary).
A bayside hotel in Puerto Ayora with breakfast on a deck over the water; most of its own pages wouldn’t load for us.
A town hotel with breakfast, a pool and an airport pickup on a tour agency’s listing, which sells it only inside land tours; only distance scores.
Booking.com lists airport taxis you can book ahead. Check the pickup point, the price and the cancellation terms before you book.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.
Pick how you’re arriving. The board counts what each hotel publishes, the table lights up that column, and the cards below are the rides from the airport.
Nobody runs a bus to the door. Five of the nine arrange an airport transfer or pickup, though only inside a package or with no fare published.
Baltra Airport · bus, US$1 ferry, then bus or taxi to Puerto Ayora
Bus to the Itabaca Channel about 10 minutes, ferry about 10. The park calls the bus free; Quasar and Galapatours say about US$5.
The bus takes about 45 minutes; the taxi is a little faster, per the national park.
Celebrity, Lindblad and Metropolitan Touring meet you at the airport. Celebrity says guests who stay in Puerto Ayora pay their own way back.
Driving? It doesn’t apply. See the parking note below.
| Hotel | To the ship | While you sail | From GPS |
|---|---|---|---|
| Guide drives you, in the package | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Guide meets you, in the package | |
Seymour Airport, Baltra (GPS)In the cruise-extension package a guide meets you at the airport or the ship’s drop-off point and takes you to the camp, per the camp. To the shipInside its cruise-extension package, your guide drives you to the airport or the dock for the next leg, per the camp. That package is how the camp sells a stay before or after a cruise. | |||
| Airport rides, in the packages | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Shuttle extra, or in packages | |
Seymour Airport, Baltra (GPS)Hilton says to take the airport bus to the Itabaca Channel and the 10-minute ferry, then the hotel shuttle (extra, arranged ahead) or a taxi from the canal. Its inclusive packages include return airport transfers. To the shipHilton’s inclusive packages include return airport transfers, and Baltra airport is where the lines we checked meet you. Outside a package, the hotel arranges a shuttle at extra cost, with no fare published. | |||
| Shuttle not stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | |
Seymour Airport, Baltra (GPS)No airport transfer appears on the Relais & Châteaux page. Ask the lodge, or take the bus, the ferry and a taxi. To the shipNo ride to the ship or the airport appears on the Relais & Châteaux page. Ask the lodge before you book. | |||
| Hotel transfer, no fare published | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Inn’s transfer, ask | |
Seymour Airport, Baltra (GPS)The inn lists an airport transfer service, with no fare. Its FAQ also lays out the public route: bus to the Itabaca Channel, ferry, taxi to the Puerto Ayora passenger dock, then a water taxi. To the shipThe inn lists an airport transfer service and says staff guide you through arrival and departure. No fare is published. Ask it to get you back to Baltra airport, where your line meets you. | |||
| Hotel transfer, no fare published | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Hotel transfer, ask | |
Seymour Airport, Baltra (GPS)Finch Bay recommends its own transfer service, which it says handles the logistics of getting you to the hotel. No fare is published. On your own, it’s the bus, the ferry and a bus or taxi to the Puerto Ayora dock, then a water taxi. To the shipFinch Bay offers its own transfer service, which it says handles the logistics of arrival. No fare is published. Ask it to take you back to Baltra airport, where your line’s guide meets you. | |||
| Shuttle not stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | |
Seymour Airport, Baltra (GPS)No airport ride is mentioned. Take the bus to the Itabaca Channel, the ferry, then a bus or a pickup taxi into town. To the shipNo ride to the ship or the airport is listed. Your line meets the flight at Baltra airport, not at the hotel. From here that means the bus or a taxi to the Itabaca Channel, the ferry, then the bus to the airport, and Celebrity says guests who stay in Puerto Ayora pay for that ride themselves. | |||
| Shuttle not stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | |
Seymour Airport, Baltra (GPS)No airport ride is mentioned. Take the bus to the Itabaca Channel, the ferry, then a bus or a pickup taxi into town. To the shipNo ride to the ship or the airport is listed. Your line meets the flight at Baltra airport, not at the hotel. From here that means the bus or a taxi to the Itabaca Channel, the ferry, then the bus to the airport, and Celebrity says guests who stay in Puerto Ayora pay for that ride themselves. | |||
| Shuttle not stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | |
Seymour Airport, Baltra (GPS)No airport ride appeared on the pages we could read. Take the bus to the Itabaca Channel, the ferry, then a bus or a pickup taxi into town. To the shipNo ride to the ship or the airport appeared on the pages we could read. Your line meets the flight at Baltra airport, not at the hotel. From here that means the bus or a taxi to the Itabaca Channel, the ferry, then the bus to the airport, and Celebrity says guests who stay in Puerto Ayora pay for that ride themselves. | |||
| Shuttle not stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Pickup, per its listing | |
Seymour Airport, Baltra (GPS)The hotel provides an airport pickup, per its GalapagosIslands.com listing. No fare is given; confirm it when you book. To the shipThe listing mentions an airport pickup but no ride back. Your line meets the flight at Baltra airport, not at the hotel. From here that means the bus or a taxi to the Itabaca Channel, the ferry, then the bus to the airport, and Celebrity says guests who stay in Puerto Ayora pay for that ride themselves. | |||
Every distance ends at the Baltra dock, where the lines bus you to board, and every one is a straight line between our own map pins, almost all of them estimates. The road crosses Santa Cruz and the Itabaca Channel, so treat these as a rough guide.
Nobody walks to Baltra: there’s a channel in the way. The highland lodges sit on the road between Puerto Ayora and the channel, which is why they read closer.
Five things make a night before easy or hard. On Santa Cruz the ride does most of the work, because Baltra is a bus, a ferry and a road away. Points come only from the hotel’s own site or its brand’s (Hilton for Royal Palm, Relais & Châteaux for Pikaia). A tour agency’s or booking site’s listing is shown and attributed but scores zero.
Silence scores zero, not a guess. Points come only from a hotel’s own site or its brand’s; what a tour agency or booking site says is shown, attributed, and scores zero, the same rule as our San Cristóbal ranking.
By band, from what the hotel says about where it is: the highlands, on the road to Baltra, 30; Puerto Ayora, 26; across the bay at Punta Estrada, a water taxi first, 22.
A transfer the hotel runs or arranges, with a published price, 25. A ride only inside a package 20. The hotel’s own ride with no published fare 15. A walk the hotel itself prints at half a mile or less 15. Baltra airport is where your line meets you, so a hotel’s airport transfer counts as a ride to the ship. Safari Camp and Royal Palm include it in packages, 20; Both of those come only with multi-night packages, so a one-night stay won’t get them. Finch Bay and Angermeyer run their own with no fare published, 15. Hotel Fiesta’s listing mentions a pickup only, so it doesn’t score here.
A published rate to leave the car at the hotel while you cruise 20; offered, but unpriced or not guaranteed, 14. Day rates in a public garage don’t count. Nobody scores here. No cruise parking is published on Baltra or Santa Cruz, and you arrive by air.
A breakfast the hotel says is included scores 10. Galapagos Safari Camp includes all meals; Pikaia Lodge is full board, per Relais & Châteaux; and Angermeyer’s own FAQ says breakfast is included (its second site is silent, which isn’t a contradiction). Hotel Fiesta’s breakfast is on a tour-agency listing, so it doesn’t score.
Pool 3, food or a bar on site 3, a kitchen in the room 3, a sauna or spa 3, a gym 3. A jacuzzi or hot tub isn’t a spa. Royal Palm’s spa is under refurbishment, so it doesn’t count this year. Hotel Fiesta’s pool and restaurant are on its listing only, so they don’t count.
Ties are broken in order: any published parking for your cruise, any stated ride to the ship, free breakfast, then the shorter straight-line distance to the Baltra dock. Ikala and Solymar both score 32 and fall in that order of straight-line distance to the Baltra dock, about 34.5 km against 34.6 km between our estimated pins — a coin toss, really. Galapagos Habitat and Hotel Fiesta both score 26 and both sit about 34.3 km out; Habitat’s pin is a few dozen metres nearer, which is well inside the error of our pins.
What’s left out is deliberate. Room rates move by the day, so they aren’t scored, and review scores neither. Distances are straight lines between our own map pins, not routed walks or drives, and we say so wherever they appear.
There’s nothing to add up. A Galápagos cruise starts with a flight, not a drive.
Why there’s no calculator. You fly to Baltra from Guayaquil or Quito, and no cruise parking is published on Baltra or Santa Cruz.
What to plan instead. The fees and the bags: US$20 for the transit card on the mainland, US$200 for the park on landing, and Celebrity’s package flights allow one 23 kg checked bag and one 10 kg carry-on.
We checked eleven and ranked nine. The two we left out:
| Hotel | Why it isn’t ranked |
|---|---|
| Casa Natura | Its GalapagosIslands.com listing gives no address and puts it about 8.5 km from the centre, and we couldn’t find its own site, so we couldn’t place it. |
| Hotel Silberstein | Its own site failed to load for us, so we left it out rather than score it on guesswork. |
Seymour Airport is on Baltra, across the Itabaca Channel from Santa Cruz. A bus takes you to the channel, a US$1 ferry crosses it, and a bus or a pickup taxi runs into Puerto Ayora, per the national park.
The lines we checked meet you at the airport on sail day, so a Santa Cruz night is usually an add-on. The Getting There table shows what each hotel publishes, and the airport page has the fees and the timing.
Tours, tickets and things to do are on Booking.com. Book the day before, not sail day.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.
On our scoring, Galapagos Safari Camp: all meals included and, inside its 2-night extension, a guide who drives you to the airport or the dock, per the camp.
The highland lodges sit on the road to Baltra, so the ride is shorter; Hilton puts Royal Palm about 45 minutes from the airport. Puerto Ayora has the restaurants and the waterfront.
Usually not on Santa Cruz. The lines we checked meet the morning flight at Baltra; the night before is normally on the mainland.
Galapagos Safari Camp (all meals), Pikaia Lodge (full board, per Relais & Châteaux) and Angermeyer Waterfront Inn (per its own FAQ). Hotel Fiesta’s tour-agency listing says it does too, unconfirmed by the hotel. The rest don’t say.
Finch Bay and Angermeyer run their own, with no fare published; Safari Camp and Royal Palm include it in packages; Hotel Fiesta’s listing mentions an airport pickup.
Tell us the sailing and who’s coming. A real advisor checks the hotels and the ride to the ship. No fee, no obligation.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
Tell us the sailing and who’s coming. A real advisor checks rates for that night and replies within one business day.
We’ll check rates for your night and reply within one business day.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.