Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
Check your date first. Yellow Bird closed for renovation on May 11, 2026, per the hotel, and is taking reservations from November 2026 onward. Make sure your night is on or after the reopening; we can’t promise the date holds.
Before the works it was the small one in the Gap: kitchenettes in the studios, a pool and On The Bay, with the Gap’s bars outside the door. The port is about 7.2 km away in a straight line.
Breakfast isn’t free. Booking direct now gets a food-and-beverage credit, with conditions.
Book it if
- Your stay is after the November 2026 reopening and the hotel confirms it
- You want an evening in St. Lawrence Gap
- You want a kitchenette
Look elsewhere if
- Your night falls before the reopening
- You need the post-renovation facilities confirmed in writing
- You’d rather be within 5 km of the harbour
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what Yellow Bird publishes and our own map estimates.
On The Bay, the in-house restaurant, and a poolside bar, per the hotel and Visit Barbados — check both are running after the renovation.
No ride to the ship is listed. The port is about 7.2 km by our map, and the government schedule has the harbour to St. Lawrence/Dover at BDS$40, the reverse of your ride.
No free breakfast is promised. The hotel’s current direct-booking offer is a food-and-beverage credit with conditions, so read the terms for your dates.
Once it reopens, ask reception to call a taxi for the morning. The port is about 7.2 km by our map.
The Yellow Bird pages we have give no parking line. Assume you’ll arrive by taxi.
Night-Before Score: 29 of 100
Every point comes from the hotel’s own pages (yellowbirdbarbados.com: home, room equipment, restaurants), with Visit Barbados, the tourism board, named where used; the hub explains how the Night-Before Score works.
Getting here, and on to the ship
Closed for renovation from May 11, 2026, per the hotel, which takes reservations from November 2026 onward. Visit Barbados puts it 9 km from the airport and 5.9 km from Bridgetown; our straight line to the port is about 7.2 km.
No airport transfer is listed. Visit Barbados puts the airport 9 km away; the gazetted taxi fare to St. Lawrence/Dover is BDS$53.
No ride to the ship is listed. The port is about 7.2 km by our map, and the government schedule has the harbour to St. Lawrence/Dover at BDS$40, the reverse of your ride.
From BGI without a hotel shuttle
The government fare schedule has the airport to Bridgetown at BDS$74 and the harbour back to the airport at BDS$77 — unmetered, so agree it first. The airport page has the full table.
The Yellow Bird pages we have give no parking line. Assume you’ll arrive by taxi.
Parking for your stay: Not stated.
No ride to the ship is listed. The port is about 7.2 km by our map, and the government schedule has the harbour to St. Lawrence/Dover at BDS$40, the reverse of your ride.
Flying in the morning you sail? A same-day landing is a gamble here; the airport page has the landing check.
Which quay
the Port of BridgetownYellow Bird is in St. Lawrence Gap, about 7.2 km from our port pin. The fare schedule has St. Lawrence/Dover at BDS$40 from the harbour.
Source: barbadosport.comDistance
~7.2 km, straight lineAbout 7.2 km to the port pin. Book the taxi the night before.
Airport bus
Not statedNo shuttle is listed. The airport to St. Lawrence/Dover is BDS$53 on the 2023 government schedule.
Parking while you sail
Cruise parking
Cruise parking unconfirmedThe Yellow Bird pages we have give no parking line. Assume you’ll arrive by taxi.
In town
No cruise parking publishedBarbados Port Inc allows no extended waiting or parking in the port, and drop-offs need an online entry request first.
The evening and the morning
The evening
Food or bar on siteOn The Bay, the in-house restaurant, and a poolside bar, per the hotel and Visit Barbados — check both are running after the renovation.
Breakfast
Not included as standardNo free breakfast is promised. The hotel’s current direct-booking offer is a food-and-beverage credit with conditions, so read the terms for your dates.
Address
St. Lawrence GapSt. Lawrence Gap, Christ Church
Hotel website
The fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, from Yellow Bird and the sources named under each fact. We couldn’t confirm the actual reopening date, the room count after renovation, whether on the bay and the pool are open after renovation, check-in and check-out times, parking, so ask when you book.
Check-in and check-out
Breakfast
No free breakfast is promised. The hotel’s current direct-booking offer is a food-and-beverage credit with conditions, so read the terms for your dates.
Parking for your stay
Not stated
Pool
A pool, per the hotel
Pets
Visit Barbados doesn’t list a pet policy for Yellow Bird.
Food and drink on site
- On The BayRestaurant; confirm after reopening
- Pool barOn site
Rooms
22 rooms, per Visit Barbados, before the renovation; the post-renovation count isn’t confirmed. The described studios have kitchenettes, per the hotel. Visit Barbados lists 24-hour reception.
Accessibility
Yellow Bird’s pages we read don’t detail accessible rooms, so ask before you book one.
On site
- GymNot stated
- Sauna or spaNot stated
- Family roomsNot stated
- Pets allowedNot stated
Also worth knowing
- Renovation: closed from May 11, 2026, taking reservations from November 2026 onward, per the hotel
- Kitchenettes in the described studios, per the hotel
- Direct bookings get a food-and-beverage credit, with conditions
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Closed from May 11, 2026; reservations from November 2026, per the hotel.
- The direct offer is a food-and-beverage credit with conditions, not free breakfast.
- Harbour to St. Lawrence BDS$40 on the government schedule.
What we couldn’t confirm
- The actual reopening date
- The room count after renovation
- Whether On The Bay and the pool are open after renovation
- Check-in and check-out times
- Parking
Every hotel fact here comes from the hotel’s own pages (yellowbirdbarbados.com: home, room equipment, restaurants), with Visit Barbados, the tourism board, named where used, read October 2026, unless we name another source. Straight lines between our map pins, not driving routes.
Worth a look alongside it
Before you book Yellow Bird: the Barbados cruise guide and Barbados as a port of call.
After the reopening: a night in the Gap, a taxi to the port.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check Yellow Bird for the night before. No payment on the form.
Yellow Bird FAQ
Is Yellow Bird Hotel open?
It closed for renovation from May 11, 2026, per the hotel, and is taking reservations from November 2026 onward. Check that your stay is on or after the reopening.
Is breakfast included at Yellow Bird Hotel?
Not as a promise. The hotel’s direct-booking offer is now a food-and-beverage credit with conditions.
Does Yellow Bird Hotel have kitchens?
The studios the hotel describes have kitchenettes. Check the equipment for your room after the renovation.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us the sailing and we’ll line up Yellow Bird, the ride to the ship and the cruise itself. No fee, no obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
