Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
The Main is the one hotel in Norfolk that tells you how close the ship is — and it's close. Its own location page puts the Half Moone Cruise Center 0.1 miles away, with an indoor pool, a fifth-floor rooftop lounge over the river, and self-parking at $18 a day in a covered garage.
You roll your bags to check-in. No cab, no shuttle timetable. Our routing makes it about 0.2 miles of road, which squares with the hotel's number.
Breakfast costs extra and pets aren't allowed. The offers page lists Park, Stay & Go, "parking plus shuttle service to and from select airports and cruise ports", with no price and no word on whether Half Moone is one of them — ask before you leave a car for the week.
Book it if walking aboard matters most, and ask the front desk about Park, Stay & Go before you drive in.
Book it if
- You want to walk your bags to the ship
- Dinner and a drink on the river the night before
- Driving in and parking in a covered garage
Look elsewhere if
- You want breakfast in the rate.
- You're bringing a pet.
- You need an airport shuttle.
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what The Main publishes.
Saltine for seafood at street level, VARIA's Italian trattoria and wine studio with more than 100 bottles, and Grain, the fifth-floor rooftop lounge over the Elizabeth River, plus an indoor pool and a fitness center.
The Main lists the Half Moone Cruise Center 0.1 miles away, so you walk to check-in with your bags. Hilton runs no shuttle — the airport shuttle is listed as "Not available".
Breakfast is a buffet, "available for a fee", per Hilton.
The hotel's own location page puts the "Half Moone Cruise Center" 0.1 miles away, and Nauticus 0.1 miles too. By our routing it's about 0.2 miles of road to 1 Waterside Drive — a walk, not a ride. From The Main it’s about 0.2 road miles by our routing — a walk if your bags roll, and Visit Norfolk asks you not to arrive before your check-in time.
Self-parking is $18 a day, on site, secured and covered, with in and out; valet is $33. Its own offers page lists Hilton's Park, Stay & Go, one night booked with parking for up to 7 nights and one vehicle a room, without a price. Hilton adds that "Some hotels may also offer service to nearby cruise ports. Check with your hotel for cruise port availability."
Night-Before Score: 65 of 100
Scored only from what the hotel publishes. See how the Night-Before Score works.
Getting here, and on to the ship
The Main is about 7.5 road miles from ORF and about 0.2 from Half Moone — our routing, not the hotel’s. Question marks are rides you arrange.
"Norfolk International Airport: Not available" for a shuttle; the hotel says it's "Only nine miles from Norfolk International Airport".
The Main lists the Half Moone Cruise Center 0.1 miles away, so you walk to check-in with your bags. Hilton runs no shuttle — the airport shuttle is listed as "Not available".
The hotel's own location page puts the "Half Moone Cruise Center" 0.1 miles away, and Nauticus 0.1 miles too. By our routing it's about 0.2 miles of road to 1 Waterside Drive — a walk, not a ride.
From ORF without a hotel shuttle
By our routing, ORF to The Main is about 7.5 road miles — roughly 15 minutes with no traffic, not counting the wait at the curb. CruiseHive puts an airport cab at about $25; rideshares pick up outside Arrivals near Door 3. More: the airport page.
Self-parking is $18 a day, on site, secured and covered, with in and out; valet is $33. Its own offers page lists Hilton's Park, Stay & Go, one night booked with parking for up to 7 nights and one vehicle a room, without a price. Hilton adds that "Some hotels may also offer service to nearby cruise ports. Check with your hotel for cruise port availability."
Parking for your stay: $18 a day on site, secured and covered, in and out; valet $33.
The Main lists the Half Moone Cruise Center 0.1 miles away, so you walk to check-in with your bags. Hilton runs no shuttle — the airport shuttle is listed as "Not available".
The hotel's own location page puts the "Half Moone Cruise Center" 0.1 miles away, and Nauticus 0.1 miles too. By our routing it's about 0.2 miles of road to 1 Waterside Drive — a walk, not a ride.
Landing on sail morning instead? Skip The Main and ride straight from ORF to Half Moone — the airport page covers it.
Which terminal
Half Moone Cruise CenterFrom The Main, our routing puts the Half Moone terminal about 0.2 miles away by road, beside Nauticus — one building, not a choice of piers. See the terminal, explained.
Source: visitnorfolk.comDistance
0.1 mi, per the hotelThe hotel's own location page puts the "Half Moone Cruise Center" 0.1 miles away, and Nauticus 0.1 miles too. By our routing it's about 0.2 miles of road to 1 Waterside Drive — a walk, not a ride.
Source: hilton.comShuttle departures
No shuttleYou leave when you’re ready: it’s a walk or a short cab.
Source: hilton.comParking while you sail
Cruise parking
Cruise parking: ask priceSelf-parking is $18 a day, on site, secured and covered, with in and out; valet is $33. Its own offers page lists Hilton's Park, Stay & Go, one night booked with parking for up to 7 nights and one vehicle a room, without a price. Hilton adds that "Some hotels may also offer service to nearby cruise ports. Check with your hotel for cruise port availability."
Source: hilton.comThe city cruise lot
$15 a day, per the cityAgainst $18 a day to self-park in the hotel's covered garage, the Cedar Grove cruise lot sits about 1.2 road miles from The Main, by our routing — $15 a day per the City of Norfolk, with a free shuttle to the ship and your bags taken at the gate, not carried.
Where the car goes while you sail · Norfolk cruise parking, compared.
Source: norfolk.govThe evening and the morning
The evening
Pool · Food or bar on siteSaltine for seafood at street level, VARIA's Italian trattoria and wine studio with more than 100 bottles, and Grain, the fifth-floor rooftop lounge over the Elizabeth River, plus an indoor pool and a fitness center.
Breakfast
Not freeBreakfast is a buffet, "available for a fee", per Hilton.
Address
Main and Granby Streets, downtown100 East Main Street, Norfolk, VA 23510
Hotel website
The fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as The Main publishes it. We couldn’t confirm whether Park, Stay & Go here covers the cruise terminal, and its price and minimum check-in age, so ask The Main when you book.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
Not stated by the hotel.
Resort fee
None stated
Wi-Fi
$10.95 on one Hilton page, free on another
Parking for your stay
$18 a day on site, secured and covered, in and out; valet $33
Breakfast
Buffet, for a fee
Pool
Indoor pool
Pets
Pets aren't allowed, per Hilton.
Food and drink on site
- SaltineSeafood, craft beer and cocktails, street level
- VARIAItalian trattoria and wine studio
- GrainFifth-floor rooftop garden lounge
Rooms
300 guest rooms and 11 suites, per Visit Norfolk.
Accessibility
Accessible features are listed; Hilton gives no detail on the page we read.
On site
- EV chargingYes
- Guest laundryNot stated
- Fitness centerYes
- Pets allowedNo
Nearby, by the hotel’s count
- Half Moone Cruise Center0.1 miles
- Nauticus0.1 miles
- Norfolk International Airport9 miles
Distances as The Main or its brand lists them, on a square-root scale so short walks stay visible.
Also worth knowing
- EV chargers on the top floor of the garage
- Park, Stay & Go and Park & Stay listed on the offers page, no terms printed
- Pets not allowed
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Check-in 4 PM, check-out 11 AM.
- Self-parking $18 a day, secured and covered, in and out; valet $33.
- Hilton prints Wi-Fi at $10.95 on one page and calls it free on another.
- EV chargers on the top floor of the garage.
- No airport shuttle; the hotel puts ORF 9 miles away.
What we couldn’t confirm
- Whether Park, Stay & Go here covers the cruise terminal, and its price
- Minimum check-in age
- Whether the $18 rate runs while you're at sea
Every hotel fact here comes from The Main’s own pages, read October 3, 2026, unless we name another source — so before you book, confirm whether Park, Stay & Go here covers your cruise, and what it costs.
Worth a look alongside it
Around The Main: the Norfolk cruise guide, Norfolk cruise parking and the splurge list.
Wake up 0.1 miles from the terminal, by the hotel's count.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check The Main for the night before. No payment on the form.
The Main FAQ
How far is Hilton Norfolk The Main from the cruise terminal?
0.1 miles, by the hotel's own location page, which names the Half Moone Cruise Center. Our road routing makes it about 0.2 miles — close enough to walk your bags to check-in.
Does Hilton Norfolk The Main have parking for cruisers?
It has a secured, covered garage at $18 a day with in and out, and valet at $33. Its offers page lists Hilton's Park, Stay & Go without a price, so ask whether it covers a car left while you sail before you count on it.
Is breakfast free at The Main in Norfolk?
No. The buffet is "available for a fee", per Hilton. Saltine, VARIA and the Grain rooftop lounge are all in the building for dinner the night before.
What restaurants are at Hilton Norfolk The Main?
Three: Saltine for seafood and cocktails at street level, VARIA, an Italian trattoria and wine studio with more than 100 bottles, and Grain, a roof garden and lounge on the fifth floor with Elizabeth River views.
Does Hilton Norfolk The Main allow pets?
No — Hilton says pets aren't allowed. If the dog's coming, Residence Inn Downtown and the Sheraton Waterside both take pets.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
