Hilton Norfolk The Main
The only hotel that prints a distance to the terminal, 0.1 miles, with a rooftop lounge, three places to eat and $18 self-parking.
Pre-Cruise Hotels · Norfolk
We ranked twenty hotels for a Norfolk cruise — downtown, up Hampton Boulevard, by ORF and off I-264. They’re scored on what gets you to the ship, not on reviews. Pick yours, and let the trip start the night before.
Three taps and we’ll show your best three hotels.
Change any answer and the picks change with it. They’re built from the same published facts as the ranking below. Nobody pays to be here.
Matching weighs your answers against each hotel’s published shuttle, parking, breakfast, pool, beach, kitchen and pet policies.
Five answers, and the page builds the whole thing: the hotel, the ride in, the ride to the ship, what happens to the car, what time to leave, and how you get home. Every figure is one the hotel, the port or the company publishes. Where nobody publishes a number, you’ll see that instead of a guess.
Who’s coming and the mood come from Your Match; the plan uses the same answers.
Partner links (rental cars) may earn Seabound Journeys a commission at no extra cost to you. They don't change the plan, which is built only from what each company publishes.
No hotel we checked runs a shuttle to the terminal. So the podium comes down to distance and a parking offer in print. The Main is the only one that prints its distance — 0.1 miles. Wyndham Garden has the lowest downtown parking rate, $15, plus an airport parking package on its own page. The Comfort Inn & Suites by ORF sells 14 nights of parking with the room.
Narrow the twenty by what your night needs. Save the ones you like. Tick up to three to compare side by side — the order is ours, the shortlist is yours.
Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
All 20 hotels
The only hotel that prints a distance to the terminal, 0.1 miles, with a rooftop lounge, three places to eat and $18 self-parking.
$15 self-parking, a seasonal pool and 700 Bistro, on the same avenue as the city's cruise lot.
A Park and Fly Package with 14 nights of parking, the longest we found, plus a free hot breakfast and an indoor heated pool by ORF.
A free ORF shuttle from 4 AM to midnight, free parking and a hot breakfast, with Park, Stay & Go on its offers page.
A free hot breakfast, an indoor pool and Park and Fly rates on request, about 6 road miles from the terminal by our routing.
A kitchen in every suite and a free hot breakfast, about 0.6 road miles from the terminal by our routing.
A free breakfast, Recovery Sports Grill and $13 parking, in all suites on Hampton Boulevard by ODU.
A complimentary ORF shuttle, free parking, The Landing Bar & Bistro and Park, Stay & Go on its offers page.
The only hotel we read whose own page says "Park and Cruise packages" — with two pools and two bars, terms by phone.
A kitchen in every suite, a free hot breakfast, an indoor pool and free parking, off I-264.
Full kitchens, a saltwater pool, free laundry and a hot breakfast, with parking included, by the Premium Outlets.
Kitchens in every suite, a free hot breakfast and an indoor pool, about 5.9 road miles from the terminal by our routing.
Suites with full kitchens and separate living areas, a free hot breakfast and an indoor heated pool, 2.4 road miles from ORF by our routing.
A $150 weekly parking rate, The Bistro and an indoor pool, a block from MacArthur Center.
River-view rooms, Capo Capo's steakhouse and an indoor pool on Main Street, with Nauticus 0.3 miles away by Marriott's count.
The one downtown hotel with a cruise package on its own brand page: breakfast for two and $15 off valet, on the river.
Free parking, a free light breakfast and a seasonal pool, "just three miles" from ORF by Wyndham's count.
A free ORF shuttle from 5 AM, a 6 AM breakfast and free parking, next door to the Comfort Inn.
A free Bright Side Breakfast, a heated indoor pool and free parking, two miles from ORF by Wyndham's count.
A free hot buffet from 7 AM, free parking and an indoor heated pool, in suites with a pull-out trundle bed off I-264.
No hotel on the list has all of those. Try dropping one filter.
Booking.com lists airport taxis you can book ahead. Check the pickup point, the price and the cancellation terms before you book.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.
Pick how you’re arriving. The board counts what each hotel publishes, the table lights up that column, and the companies below run from the airport to the port.
ORF is close — 10.8 miles by Visit Norfolk's count, about 7.4 road miles by ours. Six of the twenty are downtown, under a mile from the ship. Ten are by the airport.
Norfolk International · 10.8 miles to the cruise terminal, per Visit Norfolk
ORF lists seven cab companies with phone numbers and no fares: City Wide, zTrip, Duke's, East Side, Eden, Oceanside and Waterside Taxi. We found no official Norfolk meter rate. A third-party fare calculator lists a $6.00 base and $2.11 a mile on a January 2025 tariff, and CruiseHive puts an airport cab at about $25.
Rideshare pick-up is curbside outside Arrivals near Door 3, per the airport. At the terminal, taxi and Uber drop-offs use Waterside Drive just past the building, in front of Town Point Park, per Visit Norfolk.
Nine companies rent at ORF, per the airport: Alamo, Avis, Budget, Dollar, Enterprise, Hertz, National, Sixt and Thrifty. Desks are in Arrivals on Level 1, cars on Level G of Garage A. There are no agencies at the terminal, Visit Norfolk says. If you rent, drop the car in town or park it at the city's Cedar Grove lot for $15 a day.
No HRT bus enters the airport terminal. VisaVerge reports that routes 2, 25, 45 and 6 stop outside the airport's perimeter, and The Tide light rail doesn't serve ORF. HRT's fare is $2.00 a ride, or $4.50 for a 1-Day GoPass, per HRT.
We found no shuttle company with a published fare from ORF to the terminal. An aggregator lists SuperShuttle, GO Airport Shuttle and James River Transportation without prices. Carnival's airport-transfer page lists no Norfolk price, and Cruise Norfolk's pages name no shuttle partner.
Driving? The column to watch is “While you sail”. Compare hotel parking with the options on Norfolk cruise parking, or price it out in the parking math below.
| Hotel | To the ship | While you sail | From ORF |
|---|---|---|---|
| Walk to the ship | Cruise parking: ask price | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
ORF airport"Norfolk International Airport: Not available" for a shuttle; the hotel says it's "Only nine miles from Norfolk International Airport". To the shipThe Main lists the Half Moone Cruise Center 0.1 miles away, so you walk to check-in with your bags. Hilton runs no shuttle — the airport shuttle is listed as "Not available". | |||
| Shuttle unconfirmed | Cruise parking: ask price | Not stated | |
ORF airportWyndham doesn't mention an airport shuttle; it puts ORF "within an eight-mile radius" and sells "Park Then Fly" packages. To the shipWyndham's page doesn't mention a shuttle. The city's Cedar Grove cruise lot at 1000 Monticello Avenue is about 0.3 road miles up the same avenue, and its free shuttle also takes taxi and Uber drop-offs. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking: ask price | Ask the hotel | |
ORF airport"Make sure to ask about our hotel shuttle service!" — Choice doesn't say where it goes, when or for how much. To the shipChoice says "Make sure to ask about our hotel shuttle service!" without saying where it goes; it doesn't name the cruise terminal, so we don't count it. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking: ask price | Freehotel shuttle | |
ORF airportA free shuttle from 4 AM to midnight, per Hilton, which puts ORF 3 miles away; its airport-hotels page says 4.69. To the shipHilton lists no ride to the ship. The free shuttle runs to ORF, not the terminal, so it's a cab or rideshare of about 6 miles downtown. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking: ask price | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
ORF airportThe hotel "does not offer free airport shuttle service", per IHG, which puts ORF about 3.5 miles away; its airport list says 2.28. To the ship"There is no local area shuttle available at this hotel," per IHG — so it's a cab or rideshare of about 6 miles to the terminal. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
ORF airport"This hotel does not provide shuttle service," per Marriott, which puts ORF 6.6 miles away and PHF 30. To the ship"This hotel does not provide shuttle service," per Marriott — the terminal is about 0.6 road miles off, so it's a short cab, or a walk if your bags roll. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Ask the hotel | |
ORF airport"This hotel does not provide shuttle service." Marriott puts ORF about 9.8 miles away and names James River Transportation, with no fare. To the ship"This hotel does not provide shuttle service," per Marriott; Hampton Boulevard runs you about 4 miles south to the terminal by cab. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking: ask price | Freehotel shuttle | |
ORF airportA complimentary airport shuttle, per Hilton, which puts ORF 2 miles away; its airport-hotels page says 4.63. No shuttle to PHF or RIC. To the shipHilton's hotel-info page doesn't list a cruise shuttle. The complimentary shuttle is to ORF; Park, Stay & Go may add "service to nearby cruise ports", but only if the hotel says so — ask. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking: ask price | Not stated | |
ORF airportIHG doesn't mention an airport shuttle; its airport list puts ORF 3.55 miles away. To the shipIHG doesn't mention a shuttle, so the ride to the terminal is yours to book — about 7.5 miles by our routing. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
ORF airportHilton lists the airport shuttle as not available and puts ORF 6 miles away; PHF is 32 miles. To the shipHilton lists no shuttle of any kind here, airport included, so the morning ride downtown is a cab or rideshare. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
ORF airport"No complimentary local area shuttle available," per IHG, which puts ORF "about 3 miles" away; its airport list says 0.97. To the ship"No complimentary local area shuttle available," per IHG, the airport included — so you book the ride downtown yourself. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
ORF airport"Airport shuttle: Not available," per Hilton, which puts ORF 1 mile away; its airport-hotels page says 4.52. To the shipThere's no cruise shuttle, and "Airport shuttle: Not available", per Hilton. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
ORF airportMarriott lists no hotel shuttle and puts ORF 2.0 miles away. To the shipMarriott lists no hotel shuttle, to the airport or the ship. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | $28 one wayOrange Peel Transportation | |
ORF airportNo hotel shuttle. Marriott puts ORF about 9.9 miles away and lists Orange Peel Transportation at $28 one way. To the ship"This hotel does not provide shuttle service," per Marriott. With Nauticus half a mile away by Marriott's count, it's a short cab or a walk with light bags. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | $30 one wayOrange Peel Transportation | |
ORF airportNo hotel shuttle. Marriott puts ORF 9.0 miles away and lists Orange Peel Transportation at $30 one way; for PHF, 28 miles, Carey/VIP Limousines at $45. To the shipMarriott lists no shuttle. Nauticus, next to the terminal, is 0.3 miles away by Marriott's own count — most guests will walk or take a very short cab. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Ask the hotel | |
ORF airport"This hotel does not provide shuttle service." Marriott puts ORF 7.0 miles away and names James River Transportation, by reservation. To the ship"This hotel does not provide shuttle service," per Marriott, which names James River Transportation, by reservation, as the alternative. | |||
| Shuttle unconfirmed | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | |
ORF airportWyndham doesn't mention a shuttle; it puts ORF "just three miles" away. To the shipWyndham's page doesn't mention a shuttle to the ship or the airport. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Freehotel shuttle | |
ORF airportA complimentary shuttle to ORF from 5 AM to 10 PM, on request only, per Marriott, which puts the airport 3.8 miles away. To the shipThe complimentary shuttle runs to ORF on request, 5 AM to 10 PM; Marriott doesn't mention the cruise terminal. | |||
| Shuttle unconfirmed | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | |
ORF airportWyndham doesn't mention a shuttle; it puts ORF "just two miles" away. To the shipWyndham's page doesn't mention a shuttle, to the airport or the ship. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Ask the hotel | |
ORF airportNo shuttle is provided, per Marriott, which puts ORF about 5.0 miles away and names Airport Connection at $21 one way. To the shipMarriott says no shuttle is provided, so the ride downtown is a cab or rideshare you book yourself. | |||
These twenty are ranked for an easy sail morning, not for the room. Norfolk’s highest AAA rating is downtown: Glass Light is the city’s only AAA Four Diamond, about 0.3 road miles from the terminal by our routing — it just misses our twenty, so it has its own page here. The Cavalier on the oceanfront is Four Diamond too, about 20 miles out, and the Williamsburg Inn adds Forbes Four-Star an hour away.
Every distance here starts at the Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center, 1 Waterside Drive, beside Nauticus. The bands are road miles by our routing, not straight lines. Downtown and Freemason are under a mile. Olde Towne Portsmouth and Hampton Boulevard by ODU sit at 3.5 to 4. The airport hotels are at 6 to 9, Newtown and Greenwich Roads off I-264 at about 7, and Town Center and the Bay at 9 to 10.
Six of the twenty are downtown, one is up Hampton Boulevard, ten are by ORF and three are on Newtown Road, Greenwich Road and Cleveland Street. The Newtown Road hotels score the same as the airport ones because they're no further from the ship — about 7 road miles, by our routing.
Numbers are the ranking. Each pin sits where the hotel is — the bands group them by distance, the way we score it.
Five things make a Norfolk night before easy or hard. We score each one only from what the hotel publishes on its own site or its brand’s.
If a hotel doesn't say it, it scores zero there. Travel sites, tourism listings and review sites don't count — Visit Norfolk’s 2024 deals included. When a hotel’s own pages contradict each other, we score the claim as unconfirmed and say so. Each page lists exactly what we couldn't confirm.
By band, from the terminal: downtown and Waterside 30; Portsmouth and Hampton Boulevard 25; by ORF 20; Newtown and Greenwich Roads 20; Town Center and the Bay 15.
Hotel-run shuttle, free or with a published price, 25. A ride only inside a package or offer 20. The hotel’s own ride with no published fare 15. The hotel says you can walk: across the street, a few blocks, or half a mile or less, 15. A ride the hotel arranges through someone else, or a shuttle company it names, 10. A shuttle that doesn’t name the terminal doesn’t count.
Published rate to leave the car 20, including a package with a published price. Offered, price unpublished 14.
Sail mornings start early. A free breakfast on site scores 10, including one inside a mandatory nightly fee.
On the beach 6 (none of the twenty is), pool 3, food or a bar on site 3, a kitchen in the room 3.
Ties are broken in order: the lower published parking rate, any stated way to the ship, free breakfast, parking on site, the closer stated mileage, the lower guest parking price, then the alphabet. Three airport hotels tie on 47 with free breakfast and a parking offer. The Comfort Inn and the Hampton both park free, so the alphabet splits them. The Holiday Inn Express charges $10 and comes fifth. On 36, four suite hotels with breakfast and kitchens fall in order of what they charge to park, then the alphabet. Three downtown hotels without free breakfast follow. The Courtyard parks on site, and the Waterside Marriott’s $33 valet beats the Sheraton’s $35. Nine hotels finish on 33. The four that close our twenty have free breakfast and park free — Glass Light, with no breakfast stated, misses on that, not on location.
What's left out is deliberate. Room rates change daily, so they aren't scored. Neither are guest-review scores — they measure a stay in general, not a sail morning.
The ranking says which hotel makes a Half Moone morning easiest. Your dates and budget decide the rest. Price your own night before you book the winner.
None of the twenty prints a rate to leave the car while you sail. What they do offer comes first, then what’s only in Visit Norfolk’s 2024 list, then the city lot that’s certain.
At the hotels. Seven of the twenty put an offer on their own pages. Hilton lists Park, Stay & Go at three — The Main, the DoubleTree and the Hampton Inn & Suites by ORF. The Holiday Inn Express has “Park and Fly rates.” Wyndham Garden has “Park Then Fly packages.” Neither prints a price. The Comfort Inn & Suites sells a 14-night Park and Fly Package — $154 a night on the rate we saw October 3, 2026. And the Holiday Inn on Greenwich Road advertises “specially designed Park and Cruise packages”, with terms by phone, not online.
From 2024. Visit Norfolk’s April 2024 cruise-deals page listed park-and-cruise nights downtown. There were the Residence Inn’s seven nights free, the Waterside Marriott’s seven days of valet, the Courtyard’s seven nights, Wyndham Garden’s seven days and Glass Light’s $20 cruise valet. We couldn’t find any of them on the hotels’ own sites. None of them scores — a 2024 tourism listing is a lead, not proof. Each hotel’s page still names its old offer. That tells you what to ask for.
The sure thing. The city’s Cedar Grove lot, 1000 Monticello Avenue, is $15 a day. You pay on entry, cash or most cards, and can’t reserve. It’s fenced and monitored. The shuttle to the terminal is free, and your bags are checked at the lot.
For the options in town, see Norfolk cruise parking, compared.
We checked 36 hotels downtown, in Portsmouth, by ODU, around ORF, off I-264, at Town Center and on the Bay. These came closest. Each row gives the score and why it fell short. The Cavalier, the Marriott on the oceanfront, the Founders Inn and the Williamsburg Inn are on the splurge list. Glass Light, Norfolk’s only Four Diamond, is there too. So are two from these twenty — The Main and the Waterside Marriott.
| Hotel | Score | Why it missed |
|---|---|---|
| Glass Light Hotel & Gallery | 33 | Norfolk's only AAA Four Diamond, about 0.3 road miles from the ship, but its one cruise-parking offer is Visit Norfolk's 2024 listing and breakfast isn't stated as free — so it sits behind the 33s with breakfast. It has its own page on the splurge list. |
| Hampton Inn Norfolk/Virginia Beach | 33 | A free hot breakfast, an outdoor pool and Tesla chargers, but $5 parking puts it behind the 33s that park free. |
| Quality Suites Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport | 33 | A free hot breakfast and an indoor pool, but Choice prints no parking at all, and its airport shuttle is by appointment with no fare. |
| Sleep Inn Lake Wright - Norfolk Airport | 33 | The Quality Suites' twin on the same lot — same breakfast, pool and unpriced shuttle, same silence on parking. |
| Four Eleven York | 33 | Four suites in Freemason, under a mile from the terminal, with a fine-dining restaurant; breakfast appears only in a guest review on its site, which we don't score. |
| Renaissance Portsmouth-Norfolk Waterfront Hotel | 31 | Across the river with "Direct ferry access to downtown Norfolk", an indoor pool and $15 parking, but no breakfast — the restaurant is closed for it. |
| Hyatt Place Virginia Beach Town Center | 31 | A free breakfast buffet, The Placery and free parking, but about 10 road miles from the ship by our routing. |
| Best Western Plus Chesapeake Bay - Norfolk | 31 | Free breakfast, kitchens in many rooms and Bay-view balconies in Ocean View, about 10 road miles out; formerly the Holiday Sands. |
| Tru by Hilton Norfolk Airport | 30 | A free hot breakfast and free parking, but no pool, restaurant or shuttle listed. |
| Courtyard by Marriott Virginia Beach Norfolk | 26 | An outdoor pool and The Bistro, but no free breakfast, and its guest laundry is closed for renovation. |
| Delta Hotels by Marriott Norfolk Airport | 26 | A complimentary ORF shuttle on request and the Anchor Bar & Lounge, but no free breakfast and $10 parking. |
| Spark by Hilton Norfolk | 25 | A free breakfast near Oceanview Beach on Shore Drive, but no pool, and 9 road miles from the ship. |
Not ranked: Quality Inn & Suites Olde Town, Portsmouth. Choice lists it as open. Its own hotel page wouldn't load, though, so we had nothing of the hotel's to score. Tazewell Hotel & Suites. Its website doesn't resolve and it's off Choice's and Visit Norfolk's lists — we couldn't confirm it's open. B&B at Historic Page House Inn. No official site found — directory listings only. Governor Dinwiddie Hotel, Portsmouth. No longer on Choice's Portsmouth listing — seen only on an aggregator.
Three of the twenty run a free ORF shuttle. The Hampton Inn & Suites runs from 4 AM to midnight. The Fairfield runs 5 AM to 10 PM on request. The DoubleTree doesn’t print hours. None of them goes on to the ship — that leg is yours to book.
Visit Norfolk calls it about a 20-minute car ride. A cab is about $25, per CruiseHive. ORF prints no fares. The Getting There table shows what every hotel publishes.
Tours, tickets and things to do are on Booking.com. Book the day before, not sail day.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.
On our scoring it's Hilton Norfolk The Main. It's the only hotel we read that prints its distance to the terminal, 0.1 miles to the Half Moone Cruise Center by its own location page. It has three places to eat, an indoor pool and $18 self-parking. Wyndham Garden is second — $15 self-parking and a Park Then Fly offer on its own page. The Comfort Inn & Suites by ORF is third, with a free hot breakfast and a 14-night Park and Fly Package.
Norfolk has one cruise terminal: the Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center, 1 Waterside Drive, downtown beside Nauticus and the battleship Wisconsin, operated by Nauticus. Visit Norfolk asks you not to arrive before your scheduled check-in time.
From the downtown ones, yes. Visit Norfolk says the terminal is "within walking distance of downtown hotels", and by our routing six of our twenty are under a mile of road away. Only The Main puts a number on it — 0.1 miles. The Waterside Marriott is about 0.2 road miles out by our routing, and Glass Light, on our splurge list, about 0.3.
Downtown if you want to walk or take a very short cab to the ship. By ORF if you land late. Three of our twenty run a free airport shuttle. Parking out there is often free — though the terminal is then 6 to 9 road miles away by our routing. Either way the airport is close — Visit Norfolk calls it about a 20-minute car ride.
None of our twenty prints a rate for it. Seven put an offer to ask about on their own pages, like Hilton's Park, Stay & Go, Park and Fly rates or a Park and Cruise package on Greenwich Road. The downtown deals on Visit Norfolk's April 2024 list aren't on the hotels' own sites, so we don't score them. Failing that, the city's Cedar Grove lot is certain — $15 a day, cash or card on entry, with your bags checked at the gate.
Three of our twenty run a free shuttle from ORF: Hampton Inn & Suites Airport, DoubleTree Airport and Fairfield Inn & Suites. Otherwise it's a cab, about $25 per CruiseHive, or Uber or Lyft from outside Arrivals near Door 3. No city bus enters the airport.
A cab or rideshare. CruiseHive puts an airport cab at about $25 — ORF lists seven cab companies but no fares, and rideshares pick up outside Arrivals near Door 3. No city bus enters the airport and The Tide light rail doesn't reach it. The drive is short — 10.8 miles per Visit Norfolk, about 7.4 road miles by our routing.
Carnival, year-round. Carnival Sunshine sails from Norfolk now, and Carnival Freedom takes over in May 2027. Carnival and Visit Norfolk say Freedom arrives May 23 — though Visit Norfolk's own schedule still lists Sunshine that day. Norwegian Pearl's 2027 visits are port calls on Bermuda cruises from Philadelphia, not Norfolk departures.
Hotel rates move every day and spike on busy sailing days — any number we printed would be wrong by the time you read it. We rank on what holds still, like shuttles, parking policies and breakfast. The live rate belongs to the booking site — your date, not ours.
Tell us your sail date and we'll match the hotel, the ride and the cruise itself. A real advisor does the legwork. No obligation.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
Tell us the sailing and who’s coming. A real advisor checks rates for that night and replies within one business day.
We’ll check rates for your night and reply within one business day.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.