Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
The Founders Inn is the quiet splurge between Norfolk and the beach. It has the Flowering Almond Spa, an indoor pool and a seasonal outdoor one, free self-parking and a $15-a-rider shuttle to ORF.
It isn't AAA-rated, and the breakfast buffet costs extra. What it gives you is space, with two dog parks and connecting rooms, and a drive of about 9.3 road miles to the terminal by our routing, closer than the oceanfront by half.
Hilton prints no shuttle to the ship, and the airport shuttle's hours aren't on the page.
Book it for a spa evening with the dog, and plan a 20-minute drive to Half Moone in the morning.
Book it if
- A spa evening before the cruise
- A dog that needs room to run
- Drivers who want parking included
Look elsewhere if
- You want a rated luxury hotel.
- You want breakfast in the rate.
- You want to walk to the ship.
What The Founders Inn charges for, and what it leaves out
What the Founders Inn gives and what it charges for: green is on offer, gold costs extra or has a catch, grey isn't stated.
Your night before, from here
A Founders Inn night before the ship, from Hilton's own pages.
The Commonwealth Dining Area and Commonwealth Bar, the Swan Terrace Grill, an indoor pool and a seasonal outdoor one, the Flowering Almond Spa and two dog parks.
Order a cab, or drive yourself to the city lot; the hotel's shuttle runs to the airport only.
A buffet, "Available for an additional charge", per Hilton.
About 9.3 road miles to the terminal by our routing, 15 minutes on empty roads.
Free while you stay; Hilton doesn't cover the cruise week.
Getting here, and on to the ship
Pick a starting point. A solid line is a ride the Founders Inn publishes — here, the paid airport shuttle; question marks are rides you arrange.
An airport shuttle is available for $15 a rider, hours not printed; Hilton puts ORF 10 miles away.
Hotel shuttle (paid)
Hilton prints no shuttle to the ship (the paid shuttle it lists is for ORF) — so book a cab or drive the 9 or so miles to the terminal.
About 9.3 mi to the terminal — our routing, no traffic.
Self-parking is complimentary on site, and there's no valet. Hilton says nothing about a car staying while you sail.
Parking for your stay: Complimentary on site; no valet.
Hilton prints no shuttle to the ship (the paid shuttle it lists is for ORF) — so book a cab or drive the 9 or so miles to the terminal.
About 9.3 mi to the terminal — our routing, no traffic.
Flying in on sail day? Check your landing time first.
Distance
No distance statedHilton doesn't mention cruises. By our routing the terminal is about 9.3 road miles and 15 minutes from Indian River Road; Hilton's Norfolk search lists the hotel 5.97 miles from Norfolk.
Source: hilton.comCruise shuttle
No shuttle statedHilton prints no shuttle to the ship (the paid shuttle it lists is for ORF) — so book a cab or drive the 9 or so miles to the terminal.
Source: hilton.comParking while you sail
At the hotel
Cruise parking unconfirmedSelf-parking is complimentary on site, and there's no valet. Hilton says nothing about a car staying while you sail.
Source: hilton.comParking for the cruise
Cedar Grove lot, $15 a dayLeaving the car for the cruise? The city's Cedar Grove lot downtown is $15 a day, with a free shuttle to the ship — Norfolk cruise parking covers it.
Source: norfolk.govDriving in? Norfolk cruise parking weighs the city lot against hotels that hold a car, and the Norfolk cruise guide has the terminal.
The night you’re paying for
The evening
Pool · Food or drinks on siteThe Commonwealth Dining Area and Commonwealth Bar, the Swan Terrace Grill, an indoor pool and a seasonal outdoor one, the Flowering Almond Spa and two dog parks.
Breakfast
Not freeA buffet, "Available for an additional charge", per Hilton.
Address
Indian River Road, inland Virginia Beach5641 Indian River Road, Virginia Beach, VA 23464
Hotel website
Ratings
Not ratedIt isn't on AAA's 2026 Four or Five Diamond lists, and we found no Forbes rating for it.
Source: hilton.comThe fine print, in one place
Times, fees and policies from Hilton's pages; a blank means Hilton doesn't say.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
Not stated by the hotel.
Resort fee
None mentioned
Wi-Fi
Not stated
Parking for your stay
Complimentary on site; no valet
For the cruise itself, see Parking.
Breakfast
Buffet, for an additional charge
Pool
Indoor pool and a seasonal outdoor pool
Pets
Pets allowed, up to large size, $75 non-refundable; two dog parks on site.
Food and drink on site
- Commonwealth Dining AreaRestaurant
- Swan Terrace GrillGrill
- Commonwealth BarBar
Rooms
Queen Double rooms, with connecting rooms available.
Accessibility
The Founders Inn’s pages we read say nothing on accessible rooms — ask before you book.
On site
- EV chargingYes
- Guest laundryNot stated
- Fitness centerYes
- Pets allowedYes
Nearby, by the hotel’s count
- Virginia Beach waterfront16 miles
The Founders Inn’s own figures, plus our road routing to the terminal. Bars are square-root scaled.
Also worth knowing
- Flowering Almond Spa
- Two dog parks; pets $75
- Not on AAA’s 2026 lists
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Check-in 4 PM, check-out 11 AM.
- Free self-parking; no valet.
- ORF shuttle $15 a rider; hours not printed.
- Breakfast buffet for an additional charge.
- Not on AAA's 2026 lists.
What we couldn’t confirm
- The airport shuttle's hours
- Minimum check-in age
- Whether you can leave the car while you sail
The Founders Inn's details as Hilton printed them on October 3, 2026 — the shuttle fare is the one to confirm.
The other splurges near the ship
Spa tonight, ship tomorrow.
Send your sail date and we'll check the Founders Inn and the ride to Half Moone. No payment on the form.
The Founders Inn FAQ
Does the Founders Inn have an airport shuttle?
Yes, for $15 a rider, per Hilton, which doesn't print the hours. ORF is 10 miles away by Hilton's count.
Is parking free at the Founders Inn and Spa?
Yes — complimentary self-parking on site, and there's no valet.
Does the Founders Inn allow dogs?
Yes: pets up to large size, $75 non-refundable, and there are two dog parks.
What spa is at the Founders Inn?
The Flowering Almond Spa, per Hilton, alongside an indoor pool and a seasonal outdoor one.
How far is the Founders Inn from the Norfolk cruise terminal?
About 9.3 road miles and 15 minutes with no traffic, by our routing. Hilton gives no cruise distance.
Booking the cruise too?
Sailing from Norfolk? Send your dates and we'll pair The Founders Inn with the cruise and the ride to the terminal. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
