Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
Glass Light is the hotel AAA rates highest in Norfolk, and it's a short walk from the ship. It's the only Norfolk hotel on AAA's 2026 Four Diamond list, on Granby Street about 0.3 road miles from the terminal by our routing, with its own New American restaurant and bar.
It misses our top twenty on two things. Breakfast isn't stated as included, and its one cruise-parking offer, $20 a day valet, is Visit Norfolk's 2024 listing, which we couldn't find on the hotel's own site.
Parking comes in three prices. Marriott says off-site valet at $33 a day; the hotel's own site says $19 self and $29 valet. There's no pool, and you must be 21.
Book it for the room and the dinner, then take the very short cab with your bags in the morning.
Book it if
- A AAA Four Diamond room downtown
- Dinner in the building
- Tesla drivers — there's a charger
Look elsewhere if
- You want a pool.
- You're under 21.
- You want one parking price you can rely on.
What Glass Light charges for, and what it leaves out
What Glass Light gives you for the money: green is on offer, gold costs extra or comes with a catch, grey isn't stated.
Your night before, from here
A Glass Light night before the ship, from Marriott's page and the hotel's own.
The Glass Light restaurant and bar, New American and seasonal, and a fitness center open 7 AM to 10 PM; there's no pool.
Take a cab or walk the 0.3 miles; the hotel runs no shuttle.
Neither Marriott nor the hotel says breakfast is included.
About 0.3 road miles to the terminal by our routing — a minute's drive.
$33 valet per Marriott, or $19 self per the hotel's site; nothing on the cruise week.
Getting here, and on to the ship
Pick where you start. A question mark is a ride you book — from Granby Street, that's a minute's cab or a short walk.
No hotel shuttle. Marriott puts ORF 11.3 miles away and lists Orange Peel transportation at $30 to $80 one way; PHF is 34.2 miles.
Orange Peel transportation
"This hotel does not provide shuttle service," per Marriott — at about 0.3 road miles by our routing, a cab is a formality.
About 0.3 mi to the terminal — our routing.
Marriott lists off-site valet at the Boush Street Garage, $33 a day; the hotel's own site says self-parking $19 and valet $29. A 2024 cruise rate was valet only, $20 a day. Visit Norfolk listed it in 2024; we couldn't find it on the hotel's own site.
Parking for your stay: Marriott: off-site valet only, $33 a day at the Boush Street Garage. Hotel site: self-parking $19, valet $29.
"This hotel does not provide shuttle service," per Marriott — at about 0.3 road miles by our routing, a cab is a formality.
About 0.3 mi to the terminal — our routing.
Flying in on sail day? Check your landing time first.
Distance
No distance statedMarriott lists the "Half Moone Cruise Center - 1 Waterside Dr" without a distance, and the hotel's own site talks of "the short walk to the Norfolk waterfront". Our routing puts the terminal about 0.3 road miles away.
Source: glasslighthotel.comCruise shuttle
No shuttle stated"This hotel does not provide shuttle service," per Marriott — at about 0.3 road miles by our routing, a cab is a formality.
Source: marriott.comParking while you sail
At the hotel
Cruise parking unconfirmedMarriott lists off-site valet at the Boush Street Garage, $33 a day; the hotel's own site says self-parking $19 and valet $29. A 2024 cruise rate was valet only, $20 a day. Visit Norfolk listed it in 2024; we couldn't find it on the hotel's own site.
Source: marriott.comParking for the cruise
Cedar Grove lot, $15 a dayLeaving the car for the week? The city's Cedar Grove lot is $15 a day with a free shuttle to the ship — Norfolk cruise parking has the details.
Source: norfolk.govDriving in? Norfolk cruise parking compares the city lot with the hotels that hold a car, and our Norfolk cruise guide covers the terminal.
The night you’re paying for
The evening
Food or drinks on siteThe Glass Light restaurant and bar, New American and seasonal, and a fitness center open 7 AM to 10 PM; there's no pool.
Breakfast
Not statedNeither Marriott nor the hotel says breakfast is included.
Address
Granby Street, downtown201 Granby Street, Norfolk, VA 23510
Hotel website
Ratings
AAA Four DiamondAAA rates it Four Diamond. We found no Forbes rating for it.
Source: newsroom.aaa.comThe fine print, in one place
Times, parking and house rules from Marriott and the hotel's own site. A blank means neither says.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
To check in, per the hotel.
Resort fee
None stated
Wi-Fi
Complimentary for Marriott Bonvoy members booking direct
Parking for your stay
Marriott: off-site valet only, $33 a day at the Boush Street Garage. Hotel site: self-parking $19, valet $29
For the cruise itself, see Parking.
Breakfast
Not stated
Pool
No pool mentioned on the pages we read
Pets
Pets aren't allowed, per Marriott.
Food and drink on site
- Glass LightNew American restaurant and bar
Rooms
113 rooms and suites with city views.
Accessibility
Mobility-accessible rooms are listed.
On site
- EV chargingYes
- Guest laundryNot stated
- Fitness centerYes
- Pets allowedNo
Nearby, by the hotel’s count
- Half Moone Cruise Centerlisted, no distance
- Virginia Zoo2.4 miles
Glass Light’s own figures, plus our road routing to the terminal. Bars are square-root scaled.
Also worth knowing
- AAA Four Diamond since 2020 — the only Norfolk hotel on AAA’s 2026 list
- Tesla charging station, per the hotel
- Fitness center 7 AM–10 PM
- Visit Norfolk, April 2024: valet only, $20 a day for cruise guests — confirm
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Check-in 4 PM, check-out noon. Minimum check-in age 21.
- AAA Four Diamond since 2020, the only one in Norfolk on AAA's 2026 list.
- Three parking prices in print: $33 valet (Marriott), $19 self and $29 valet (hotel site), $20 cruise valet (Visit Norfolk, 2024).
- Marriott puts ORF 11.3 miles away and lists Orange Peel transportation at $30 to $80 one way.
What we couldn’t confirm
- Which parking rate applies on your dates
- Whether breakfast is included
- Whether the cruise valet rate still runs
Glass Light's details as Marriott and the hotel printed them on October 3, 2026 — the parking rate is the one to recheck.
The other splurges near the ship
Four Diamonds tonight, the ship in the morning.
Send us your sail date and we'll price Glass Light for the night before. No payment on the form.
Glass Light FAQ
Is Glass Light Hotel AAA Four Diamond?
Yes — it's been Four Diamond since 2020 and is the only Norfolk hotel on AAA's 2026 Four Diamond list.
How much is parking at Glass Light Hotel in Norfolk?
It depends on whose page you read: Marriott lists off-site valet at the Boush Street Garage for $33 a day, and the hotel's own site lists self-parking at $19 and valet at $29. Ask which applies.
Does Glass Light Hotel have a cruise parking rate?
Visit Norfolk's April 2024 page listed valet only, $20 a day, for cruise guests. We couldn't find it on the hotel's own site or Marriott's, so ask before you plan on it.
Why isn't Glass Light in your top 20?
It scores 33: the downtown distance points and the restaurant, but no free breakfast stated and no parking offer on its own pages. Nine hotels finish on 33, and the four with free breakfast and free parking take the last places.
What time is checkout at Glass Light Hotel?
Noon, with check-in at 4 PM, per Marriott — and you must be 21 to check in.
Booking the cruise too?
Sailing from Norfolk? Send your dates and we'll pair Glass Light with the cruise and the ride to the terminal. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
