Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
The Waterside Marriott puts you on the river and next to the ship. Nauticus is 0.3 miles away by Marriott's count, the rooms look over the river or the city, and Capo Capo serves steak until 11.
By our routing it's about 0.2 road miles to the terminal, a walk for most. Parking is what holds it back. Valet is $33 a day, and since October 1 self-parking has moved to the city's own garages, paid in the garage at a rate Marriott doesn't print.
Visit Norfolk listed a 2024 package with seven days of valet for one car and breakfast for two. We couldn't find it on the hotel's own site, so it's a question for the front desk.
Book it for the river and the dinner — and get the parking terms in writing before you drive.
Book it if
- A river view the night before
- A steak dinner without a cab
- Early risers — STEAM opens at 6:30 on weekdays
Look elsewhere if
- You want a parking price in print.
- You want breakfast included.
- You need EV charging.
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what Waterside Marriott publishes.
Capo Capo, an Italian steakhouse open 11 AM to 11 PM, the START breakfast buffet, STEAM for Starbucks with a 24-hour market, an indoor pool and a 24-hour fitness center, with river or city views.
Marriott lists no shuttle. Nauticus, next to the terminal, is 0.3 miles away by Marriott's own count — most guests will walk or take a very short cab.
Breakfast is "available for a fee" — the START buffet, 7 to 10 AM on weekdays and 7 to 11 AM at weekends.
Marriott names the Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center as a nearby landmark but gives no distance; Nauticus is 0.3 miles away by its count. Our routing puts the terminal about 0.2 road miles off. From Waterside Marriott it’s about 0.2 road miles by our routing — a walk if your bags roll, and Visit Norfolk asks you not to arrive before your check-in time.
Valet is $33 a day, and from October 1, Marriott says, "self-parking will be available by the City of Norfolk's owned and operated garages", paid in the garage at a rate it doesn't print. A 2024 package paired one night with valet for one car for up to seven days, breakfast for two and Wi-Fi. Visit Norfolk listed it in 2024; we couldn't find it on the hotel's own site.
Night-Before Score: 36 of 100
Scored only from what the hotel publishes. See how the Night-Before Score works.
Getting here, and on to the ship
From ORF it’s about 7.6 road miles to Waterside Marriott, and from the hotel about 0.2 to the terminal — our routing, with no traffic. Question marks are rides you arrange.
No hotel shuttle. Marriott puts ORF 9.0 miles away and lists Orange Peel Transportation at $30 one way; for PHF, 28 miles, Carey/VIP Limousines at $45.
Orange Peel Transportation
Marriott lists no shuttle. Nauticus, next to the terminal, is 0.3 miles away by Marriott's own count — most guests will walk or take a very short cab.
Marriott names the Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center as a nearby landmark but gives no distance; Nauticus is 0.3 miles away by its count. Our routing puts the terminal about 0.2 road miles off.
Valet is $33 a day, and from October 1, Marriott says, "self-parking will be available by the City of Norfolk's owned and operated garages", paid in the garage at a rate it doesn't print. A 2024 package paired one night with valet for one car for up to seven days, breakfast for two and Wi-Fi. Visit Norfolk listed it in 2024; we couldn't find it on the hotel's own site.
Parking for your stay: None: off-site valet, $33 a day; city-owned garages.
Marriott lists no shuttle. Nauticus, next to the terminal, is 0.3 miles away by Marriott's own count — most guests will walk or take a very short cab.
Marriott names the Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center as a nearby landmark but gives no distance; Nauticus is 0.3 miles away by its count. Our routing puts the terminal about 0.2 road miles off.
Landing on sail morning instead? Skip Waterside Marriott and ride straight from ORF to Half Moone — the airport page covers it.
Which terminal
Half Moone Cruise CenterNorfolk sails from one building, the Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center at 1 Waterside Drive — about 0.2 road miles from Waterside Marriott by our routing, a road distance, not a straight line. More in the terminal, explained.
Source: visitnorfolk.comDistance
No mileage statedMarriott names the Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center as a nearby landmark but gives no distance; Nauticus is 0.3 miles away by its count. Our routing puts the terminal about 0.2 road miles off.
Source: marriott.comShuttle departures
No shuttleNo shuttle to time from Waterside Marriott — the terminal is about 0.2 road miles away by our routing, so walk or take a short cab at your check-in time, not before it.
Source: marriott.comParking while you sail
Cruise parking
Cruise parking unconfirmedValet is $33 a day, and from October 1, Marriott says, "self-parking will be available by the City of Norfolk's owned and operated garages", paid in the garage at a rate it doesn't print. A 2024 package paired one night with valet for one car for up to seven days, breakfast for two and Wi-Fi. Visit Norfolk listed it in 2024; we couldn't find it on the hotel's own site.
Source: visitnorfolk.comThe city cruise lot
$15 a day, per the cityThe city’s Cedar Grove lot at 1000 Monticello Avenue is about 1.3 road miles from Waterside Marriott by our routing: $15 a day, cash or card on entry, no reservations, with a free shuttle to the terminal and bags checked at the lot — a city rate, not a hotel deal, against $33 a day valet, or a city garage at the city's rate here.
Where the car goes while you sail · Norfolk cruise parking, compared.
Source: norfolk.govThe evening and the morning
The evening
Pool · Food or bar on siteCapo Capo, an Italian steakhouse open 11 AM to 11 PM, the START breakfast buffet, STEAM for Starbucks with a 24-hour market, an indoor pool and a 24-hour fitness center, with river or city views.
Breakfast
Not freeBreakfast is "available for a fee" — the START buffet, 7 to 10 AM on weekdays and 7 to 11 AM at weekends.
Address
Main Street, on the river235 East Main Street, Norfolk, VA 23510
Hotel website
The fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as Waterside Marriott publishes it. The gaps here are whether the 2024 seven-day valet deal still runs and minimum check-in age — a call to Waterside Marriott settles both.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
Not stated by the hotel.
Resort fee
None stated
Wi-Fi
Complimentary for Marriott Bonvoy members
Parking for your stay
None: off-site valet, $33 a day; city-owned garages
Breakfast
START buffet, for a fee: 7–10 AM weekdays, 7–11 AM weekends
Pool
Indoor pool
Pets
Pets aren't allowed; service animals are welcome without a fee.
Food and drink on site
- Capo CapoItalian steakhouse, 11 AM–11 PM
- STARTBreakfast buffet
- STEAMStarbucks; 24-hour market
- The Great RoomPop-up dining
Rooms
River-view and city-view rooms.
Accessibility
Service animals welcome without a fee.
On site
- EV chargingNo
- Guest laundryNot stated
- Fitness centerYes
- Pets allowedNo
Nearby, by the hotel’s count
- Nauticus0.3 miles
- Main Street Garage0.1 miles
- Children's Museum of Virginia2.7 miles
- Virginia Zoo3.1 miles
Distances as Waterside Marriott or its brand lists them, on a square-root scale so short walks stay visible.
Also worth knowing
- 24-hour fitness center
- Visit Norfolk, April 2024: one night with valet for up to seven days and breakfast for two — not on the hotel’s own site
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Check-in 4 PM, check-out 11 AM.
- Valet $33 a day; self-parking in the city's garages from October 1, rate not printed.
- No EV charging, per Marriott.
- Marriott puts ORF 9.0 miles away and lists Orange Peel Transportation at $30 one way; PHF 28 miles, Carey/VIP Limousines $45.
What we couldn’t confirm
- Whether the 2024 seven-day valet deal still runs
- Minimum check-in age
Every hotel fact here comes from Waterside Marriott’s own pages, read October 3, 2026, unless we name another source — so before you book, confirm the valet terms if you plan to leave the car.
Worth a look alongside it
Around Waterside Marriott: the Norfolk cruise guide, Norfolk cruise parking and the splurge list.
Wake up on the river, Nauticus 0.3 miles off.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check Waterside Marriott for the night before. No payment on the form.
Waterside Marriott FAQ
Does the Norfolk Waterside Marriott have self-parking?
Not its own. From October 1, Marriott says, "self-parking will be available by the City of Norfolk's owned and operated garages", paid in the garage; it doesn't print the rate. Valet is $33 a day.
Is there a cruise package at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott?
Not on Marriott's pages. Visit Norfolk's April 2024 list had one night with valet for one car for up to seven days, breakfast for two and Wi-Fi — ask whether it still runs.
How close is the Norfolk Waterside Marriott to the cruise terminal?
Marriott lists the terminal as a nearby landmark and puts Nauticus 0.3 miles away. Our routing gives about 0.2 road miles to 1 Waterside Drive.
What time does breakfast start at the Norfolk Waterside Marriott?
The START buffet runs 7 to 10 AM on weekdays and 7 to 11 AM at weekends, for a fee; STEAM pours Starbucks from 6:30 AM on weekdays.
How far is the Norfolk Waterside Marriott from the airport?
9.0 miles to ORF, per Marriott — it runs no shuttle and lists Orange Peel Transportation at $30 one way.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
