Splurge Hotels · Norfolk

The Nicest Night Before the Ship

Norfolk makes the splurge easy and close. The city’s only AAA Four Diamond, Glass Light, is about 0.3 road miles from the terminal by our routing, and The Main says 0.1 miles by its own count — the beach resorts are 20 miles out, and the Forbes Four-Star is an hour away. Each card below says what the hotel adds and what it leaves you to arrange on sail morning.

3AAA Four Diamonds in our seven
1Forbes Four-Star, in Williamsburg
2of the seven in our top 20
Pick Yours

What kind of splurge is it?

Seven hotels made this list. Two also make our top 20 — The Main and the Waterside Marriott, both downtown by the terminal. Glass Light is downtown too but just misses it. The Cavalier and the Marriott sit on the Virginia Beach oceanfront, the Founders Inn inland, and the Williamsburg Inn about an hour’s drive away. Pick the kind of night below and the matching hotel lights up.

Three of the seven are on AAA’s 2026 Four Diamond list: Glass Light, The Cavalier and the Williamsburg Inn. The Williamsburg Inn is Forbes Four-Star too. The other four aren’t rated by either, and we say so — unrated, not lesser.

The Seven

Seven splurges, and what each one costs you

AAA Four DiamondNo Forbes rating · AAA list
~0.3 mi to the terminal, our routing

Glass Light Hotel & Gallery, Autograph Collection

Norfolk's only AAA Four Diamond, on Granby Street about 0.3 road miles from the terminal by our routing. It just misses our top 20 on breakfast and parking, not on location. The splurge list is its home.

You’re paying for

  • Glass Light, New American
  • Glass Light bar

Watch for

  • Breakfast not stated
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
AAA Four DiamondNo Forbes rating · AAA list
~19.8 mi to the terminal, our routing

The Historic Cavalier Hotel and Beach Club, Autograph Collection

The region's beach splurge: Four Diamond, a Beach Club with a seaside infinity pool and a distillery on site. Our routing puts the terminal about 19.8 miles and 30 minutes away.

You’re paying for

  • Becca; Hunt Room; Raleigh Room
  • SeaHill Spa
  • Tarnished Truth Distilling Co.

Watch for

  • Breakfast not stated
  • Resort fee: Not stated
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
Not AAA ratedNo Forbes rating · AAA list
~20 mi to the terminal, our routing

Marriott Virginia Beach Oceanfront Resort

Across Atlantic Avenue from the Cavalier, with Orion's Roof and a self-park rate in print — $27 a day. Unrated by AAA, and about 20 road miles from the terminal by our routing.

You’re paying for

  • Orion's Roof; Tulu; The Deck
  • SeaHill Spa
  • Beach Bar

Watch for

  • Breakfast not stated
  • Resort fee: Not stated
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
Not AAA ratedNo Forbes rating · AAA list
~9.3 mi to the terminal, our routing

The Founders Inn and Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton

The calm one, with the Flowering Almond Spa, indoor and outdoor pools, free parking and an ORF shuttle at $15 a rider. About 9.3 road miles to the terminal by our routing.

You’re paying for

  • Commonwealth; Swan Terrace Grill
  • Flowering Almond Spa
  • Commonwealth Bar

Watch for

  • No free breakfast
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
AAA Four DiamondForbes Four-Star · AAA list
~43.5 mi to the terminal, our routing

Williamsburg Inn, an official Colonial Williamsburg Hotel

The region's only hotel with both AAA Four Diamond and Forbes Four-Star — and the furthest of our seven: about 43.5 road miles, an hour with no traffic.

You’re paying for

  • Rockefeller Room
  • Spa of Colonial Williamsburg
  • Terrace Room tea

Watch for

  • Breakfast not stated
  • Resort fee: Not stated
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
On the Map

Where the seven sit

Tap a pin for the hotel’s card, then open the review. The numbers follow the list above.

Elizabeth River Half Moone Cruise and Celebration Center 6 5 4 3 2 1 5 km · 3.1 mi N
Splurge pick, numbered as belowCruise terminalReal geography: NOAA’s GSHHG shoreline, generalised, so piers and quays aren’t drawn. Pins from the hotel’s or a map listing’s pin, the US Census Bureau’s address geocoder and the Esri World Geocoder; address-geocoded pins can sit up to a block off.
Side by Side

The seven, side by side

Point at a hotel’s name and its column lights up — green means it’s there, gold that it costs extra or comes with a catch, grey that nobody says.

FeatureGlass LightThe MainWaterside MarriottThe CavalierMarriott VB OceanfrontThe Founders InnWilliamsburg Inn
AAA ratingFour Diamond——Four Diamond——Four Diamond
Forbes Travel Guide——————Four-Star
RestaurantGlass Light, New AmericanSaltine; VARIACapo Capo steakhouseBecca; Hunt Room; Raleigh RoomOrion's Roof; Tulu; The DeckCommonwealth; Swan Terrace GrillRockefeller Room
Bar or drinksGlass Light barGrain rooftop loungeSTEAM caféTarnished Truth Distilling Co.Beach BarCommonwealth BarTerrace Room tea
Spa—Indoor poolIndoor poolSeaHill SpaSeaHill SpaFlowering Almond SpaSpa of Colonial Williamsburg
BreakfastNot statedPaidPaidNot statedNot statedPaidNot stated
Kitchen———————
Resort feeNone statedNone statedNone statedNot statedNot statedNone mentionedNot stated
Parking$33 valet (Marriott) or $19 self (hotel site)$18 self; $33 valet$33 off-site valet$34 valet; no self-parking$27 self; $32 valetFree self-parkingNot stated
Shuttle to the port—Walk: 0.1 mi, per the hotel—————
Distance to the port~0.3 mi to the terminal, our routing0.1 mi, per the hotel~0.2 mi to the terminal, our routing~19.8 mi to the terminal, our routing~20 mi to the terminal, our routing~9.3 mi to the terminal, our routing~43.5 mi to the terminal, our routing
The Trade

Splurge the night, and plan the morning

None of the seven runs a shuttle to the ship. Only The Main prints a distance — 0.1 miles. The rest of the numbers are ours, road routes with no traffic, not straight lines: the Waterside Marriott about 0.2 miles and Glass Light about 0.3, the Founders Inn about 9.3, the oceanfront pair about 20, and the Williamsburg Inn about 43.5.

We found no free breakfast at any of the seven. The Main, the Waterside Marriott and the Founders Inn charge for it. The rest don’t mention it.

Parking runs from free at the Founders Inn and $18 a day at The Main to $34 valet at the Cavalier. None of the seven says a car can stay while you cruise. The city’s Cedar Grove lot is $15 a day, with a free shuttle to the terminal.

Carnival, the terminal and where the ships go are in our Norfolk cruise guide — the hotel is the easy part once you know your sail day.

Airport taxis
Need a ride from the airport?

Booking.com lists airport taxis you can book ahead. Check the pickup point, the price and the cancellation terms before you book.

Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.

Also Considered

Four that didn’t make the seven

HotelWhy it isn’t in the seven
Sheraton Norfolk Waterside HotelOn the river with a cruise package on its own brand page — breakfast for two and $15 off valet — but not a splurge, and unrated. No. 17 in our top 20.
Four Eleven YorkFour suites in Freemason with a fine-dining restaurant, under a mile from the terminal by our routing — but its site publishes almost nothing else we could check.
Hilton Virginia Beach OceanfrontA big oceanfront Hilton we didn't research in time to review — not a judgment on the hotel.
The Tides Inn, IrvingtonForbes Recommended, but on the Northern Neck, far from Norfolk for a cruise night.
Williamsburg or the Outer Banks before you sail? Colonial Williamsburg tickets were $37.50 when we checked, and the Chesapeake Bay Bridge-Tunnel is $16 off-peak. Day trips by car · Norfolk rental cars
Names You’ll Hear

Old names, and what they’re called now

Renamed
The Cavalier Virginia Beach
Marriott now calls it The Historic Cavalier Hotel and Beach Club, Autograph Collection; AAA's 2026 Four Diamond list and Booking.com still use "The Cavalier".
Now Wyndham Garden
Crowne Plaza Norfolk
Booking.com files the Wyndham Garden Norfolk Downtown under a crown-plaza-norfolk link, which suggests the old name; Wyndham's page doesn't mention it. It's No. 2 in our top 20.
Renamed
Best Western Plus Holiday Sands Inn & Suites
Best Western now lists the same Ocean View hotel as the Best Western Plus Chesapeake Bay - Norfolk; it's on our just-missed list.
FAQ

Splurge hotels FAQ

What is the nicest hotel near the Norfolk cruise terminal?

Glass Light Hotel & Gallery, on Granby Street — the only Norfolk hotel on AAA's 2026 Four Diamond list, about 0.3 road miles from the terminal by our routing. It just misses our top 20 on breakfast and parking. If closeness matters more than the rating, Hilton Norfolk The Main puts the terminal 0.1 miles away by its own count, and it's No. 1.

Is there a Five Diamond or Forbes Five-Star hotel near Norfolk?

No. AAA's 2026 Five Diamond list has no hotel in Hampton Roads, and we found no Forbes-rated hotel in Norfolk or Virginia Beach. The nearest Forbes Four-Star is the Williamsburg Inn, about 43.5 road miles away by our routing.

Do luxury hotels near Norfolk have a cruise shuttle?

None of our seven publishes one. Downtown you won't need it — The Main, the Waterside Marriott and Glass Light are all under half a mile of road from the terminal, by our routing. From the oceanfront it's about 20 miles, and you book the ride.

Can I park at a Norfolk luxury hotel for the length of my cruise?

None of the seven prints a rate for it. Parking runs from free at the Founders Inn to $34 valet at The Cavalier. Visit Norfolk's 2024 list had Glass Light at $20 a day valet for cruise guests, which the hotel no longer shows. The city's Cedar Grove lot is $15 a day.

Is The Cavalier worth it before a Norfolk cruise?

For a beach night, yes — it's AAA Four Diamond with a beach club, a spa and a distillery. For the last night before you sail, it's about 19.8 road miles and 30 minutes from the terminal by our routing, so we'd move downtown for that one.

Want us to book the splurge?

Say which of the seven appeals and when you sail. We'll price the room and sort out the cab to the terminal. No obligation.

No obligation — a real advisor reviews every request.

Prefer to talk? Book a free 30-minute call or call (407) 312-0306.

Compare 0 of 3