Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
It's an Embassy Suites next to the convention center, and it ranks first. Not because it does one thing brilliantly — because it does the whole night.
Hilton puts the port half a mile away, every room is a two-room suite, breakfast is made to order and free, the evening reception is free, and Park, Stay & Go holds the car for up to seven nights.
Two things aren't on the page. Hilton doesn't print the Park, Stay & Go price, and it says only that some hotels add a cruise-port ride — check with the hotel.
Valet is $55 and there's a daily destination charge whose amount didn't load for us.
Call for the parking price before you book, then plan to walk to the ship.
Book it if
- Anyone who wants to wake up a short walk from the terminals
- Families who want two rooms and a free breakfast
- Drivers who'll call for the Park, Stay & Go price
Look elsewhere if
- You want the parking rate in writing before you call.
- You want a hotel-run shuttle. There isn't one.
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what Embassy Suites Downtown publishes.
Every room is a two-room suite. There's a free evening reception, TASTE does modern American with local Tampa touches, and the outdoor pool is up on the roof. The convention center is next door.
Hilton lists no port shuttle, and at half a mile by its own count you don't need one: roll the bags over, or take a five-minute cab. Hilton's Park, Stay & Go page says some hotels offer a cruise-port ride and to check with the hotel.
Free made-to-order breakfast, and a free evening reception.
Hilton puts the Port of Tampa half a mile away, and the Florida Aquarium the same. Your cruise line’s documents name your terminal and check-in window.
Hilton lists its Park, Stay & Go offer here: a one-night stay with parking for up to 7 nights, one car per room. The price isn't shown, and Hilton only promises a shuttle to select airports; for a cruise-port ride it says to check with the hotel.
Night-Before Score: 75 of 100
Scored only from what the hotel publishes. Here’s how the Night-Before Score works.
Getting here, and on to the ship
Pick where you’re coming from. Solid lines are rides the hotel publishes; a question mark is a leg you’ll arrange yourself.
Hilton lists no airport shuttle. It puts TPA 7 miles away.
Hilton lists no port shuttle, and at half a mile by its own count you don't need one: roll the bags over, or take a five-minute cab. Hilton's Park, Stay & Go page says some hotels offer a cruise-port ride and to check with the hotel.
Hilton puts the Port of Tampa half a mile away, and the Florida Aquarium the same.
From TPA without a hotel shuttle
The airport says a taxi is a flat $40 to downtown and the cruise terminal on one page and a $35 maximum on another; the port calls it a 15-minute drive. Uber’s own estimate is about $28 for UberX, plus the airport’s $5 rideshare fee. Rideshare picks up at the Red and Blue Express curbsides.
No shuttle. Hilton puts St. Pete-Clearwater 17 miles away.
Hilton lists no port shuttle, and at half a mile by its own count you don't need one: roll the bags over, or take a five-minute cab. Hilton's Park, Stay & Go page says some hotels offer a cruise-port ride and to check with the hotel.
Hilton puts the Port of Tampa half a mile away, and the Florida Aquarium the same.
From PIE without a hotel shuttle
St. Pete-Clearwater is across the bay, about 17 miles from Tampa by Uber’s count. No official source gives a distance to the port. Uber estimated $36 for UberX to Tampa; Tampa Cruise Ship Shuttle charges $85 for the vehicle from St. Pete or Clearwater.
Hilton lists its Park, Stay & Go offer here: a one-night stay with parking for up to 7 nights, one car per room. The price isn't shown, and Hilton only promises a shuttle to select airports; for a cruise-port ride it says to check with the hotel.
Parking for your stay: None; valet $55 a day, $60 oversized, with in-and-out.
Hilton lists no port shuttle, and at half a mile by its own count you don't need one: roll the bags over, or take a five-minute cab. Hilton's Park, Stay & Go page says some hotels offer a cruise-port ride and to check with the hotel.
Hilton puts the Port of Tampa half a mile away, and the Florida Aquarium the same.
Landing on sail morning instead? Some cruise lines and shuttle companies run straight to the terminals; compare the airports and the landing guidelines.
Distance
0.5 milesHilton puts the Port of Tampa half a mile away, and the Florida Aquarium the same.
Source: hilton.comShuttle departures
No shuttleYou leave when you’re ready: it’s a walk or a five-minute cab. Your cruise documents give your terminal check-in window.
Source: hilton.comParking while you sail
Cruise parking
Park, Stay & Go: ask priceHilton lists its Park, Stay & Go offer here: a one-night stay with parking for up to 7 nights, one car per room. The price isn't shown, and Hilton only promises a shuttle to select airports; for a cruise-port ride it says to check with the hotel.
Source: hilton.comThe port’s own garage
About $15/dayThe port’s garage is at 810 Channelside Drive, across the street from Terminal 3, with overflow lots at 810 Channelside and 1331 McKay when a ship is in. Port Tampa Bay doesn’t print a daily rate on its pages; Royal Caribbean and Celebrity put it at about $15 a day, subject to change, and Norwegian says $14. Pay on entry by cash or card, or pre-pay online with a full refund before your cruise date; valet is a $20 upgrade. There’s no shuttle leg. Compare every parking option.
Source: royalcaribbean.comThe evening and the morning
The evening
Pool · Food or bar on siteEvery room is a two-room suite. There's a free evening reception, TASTE does modern American with local Tampa touches, and the outdoor pool is up on the roof. The convention center is next door.
Breakfast
FreeFree made-to-order breakfast, and a free evening reception.
Address
Downtown, by the convention center513 South Florida Avenue, Tampa, FL 33602
Hotel website
The fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as Embassy Suites Downtown publishes it. Where it says “not stated”, the hotel doesn’t say, and a quick call will settle it.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
Not stated by the hotel.
Resort fee
A daily mandatory destination charge; the amount didn’t load for us
Wi-Fi
Premium Wi-Fi in the destination charge; standard listed at $9.95
Parking for your stay
None; valet $55 a day, $60 oversized, with in-and-out
Cruise parking is in the parking section above.
Breakfast
Free made-to-order breakfast; hours not stated
Pool
Outdoor rooftop pool
Pets
Up to two dogs or cats, 75 lb, $75 for 1 to 4 nights and $125 for 5 or more.
Food and drink on site
- TASTEModern American with local Tampa influences
- Evening receptionFree drinks and snacks
Rooms
Two-room suites, with accessible units.
Accessibility
Accessible units are listed; details aren’t.
On site
- EV chargingNot stated
- Guest laundryNot stated
- Fitness centerYes
- Pets allowedYes
Nearby, by the hotel’s count
- Port of Tampa0.5 mi
- The Florida Aquarium0.5 mi
- Tampa Convention Centeradjacent
Distances as the hotel or its brand lists them. Bars use a square-root scale so short walks stay visible.
Also worth knowing
- EV charging nearby, 200 feet from the hotel
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Valet only, $55 a day ($60 oversized), with in-and-out privileges.
- A daily mandatory destination charge covers premium Wi-Fi, a $15 food credit, e-bikes, a $22 dry-cleaning credit and two waters. The amount didn't show on Hilton's page for us.
- Check-in is 4 PM, check-out 11 AM.
What we couldn’t confirm
- The destination charge amount
- The Park, Stay & Go price, and whether it covers your nights at sea
- Which terminal the half-mile figure is measured to
Rates and policies are as the hotel published them on September 25, 2026. Confirm anything you’re counting on when you book.
Worth a look alongside it
Wake up a short walk from the ship.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check Embassy Suites Downtown for the night before. No payment on the form.
Embassy Suites Downtown FAQ
Does Embassy Suites Downtown have a cruise shuttle?
No, and you may not need one. Hilton lists no port shuttle, and at half a mile by its own count you don't need one: roll the bags over, or take a five-minute cab. Hilton's Park, Stay & Go page says some hotels offer a cruise-port ride and to check with the hotel.
Does Embassy Suites Downtown have an airport shuttle?
Not that it publishes. From Tampa International: Hilton lists no airport shuttle. It puts TPA 7 miles away. From St. Pete-Clearwater: No shuttle. Hilton puts St. Pete-Clearwater 17 miles away.
Can I park at Embassy Suites Downtown while I cruise?
Yes, but the price isn't published. Hilton lists its Park, Stay & Go offer here: a one-night stay with parking for up to 7 nights, one car per room. The price isn't shown, and Hilton only promises a shuttle to select airports; for a cruise-port ride it says to check with the hotel.
How far is Embassy Suites Downtown from Port Tampa Bay?
Hilton puts the Port of Tampa half a mile away, and the Florida Aquarium the same. It sits in our Channel District & Water Street band.
Can I check in early or check out late on cruise days?
Check-in is 4:00 PM and check-out 11:00 AM. The hotel doesn't publish early or late terms, so ask when you book, not on the day.
Will the hotel hold my bags?
The hotel doesn't say. Most hotels will hold bags between check-out and a late shuttle, but that's a call to make, not an assumption.
Does the port shuttle come back for me after the cruise?
You can walk to the terminals from here, and there's no hotel shuttle back. a taxi from the terminals runs on the meter, Uber's own estimate to TPA is about $24, and Carnival's transfer is $24.99 a person for its guests.
What's the breakfast timing on sail morning?
Free made-to-order breakfast; hours not stated. Your terminal check-in window is in your cruise documents, and the port asks you not to arrive before it.
Can I park an oversized vehicle or charge an EV?
EV charging nearby, 200 feet from the hotel.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
