Kai Tak calls its car park limited, and Ocean Terminal charges by the half hour, overnight too
Start with where the car would sleep. In Hong Kong that answer decides most of the rest.
| Where and when | Rate | Note | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kai Tak, Monday to Friday | HK$20 an hour | Rates rose from HK$17 on Aug 15, 2026 | Terminal announcement |
| Kai Tak, Saturday, Sunday, public holidays | HK$24 an hour | Rose from HK$20 the same day | Terminal announcement |
| Kai Tak, space and hours | 112 hourly spaces, 07:00–23:00 | No overnight fee printed | Terminal getting-here page |
| Ocean Terminal P5, 07:00–22:59 | HK$17 per 30 minutes | No daily maximum printed | Harbour City, read Oct 2026 |
| Ocean Terminal P5, overnight | HK$6 per 30 minutes | 23:00–06:59; 30 EV spaces; no cruise rate confirmed | Harbour City, read Oct 2026 |
Kai Tak rates from the terminal’s announcements and getting-here pages; Ocean Terminal from Harbour City’s parking page. Checked Oct 5, 2026
Royal Caribbean’s directions page says “Long term parking is not available”, and Holland America’s port page says the terminal has no public parking; both read Oct 5.
So there’s no week of parking at Kai Tak to price, and we won’t invent one.
A two-hour stop for a drop-off and a coffee runs HK$40 on a weekday and HK$48 at a weekend — about US$5 and US$6.
Ocean Terminal’s P5 is where a car could sit, if Harbour City lets it. We found no rule either way.
Our arithmetic for a full day, 16 daytime hours at HK$17 per half hour plus 8 overnight hours at HK$6, comes to HK$640 — about US$80.
Seven of those days is HK$4,480, about US$570 — and only if no daily maximum applies. Harbour City’s page prints none, so ask before you count on a cap.
That sum buys more than 14 airport cabs at HK$310 — a hotel and a taxi win on price. Our parking guide covers both car parks in more depth.
Kowloon Bay or Tsim Sha Tsui: which pier your ship uses
Both piers are in Kowloon, and each has its own car-park story.
The terminal’s own line is blunt: “Parking in the Kai Tak Cruise Terminal is limited.” It recommends a taxi or public transport.
Kai Tak sits at 33 Shing Fung Road in Kowloon Bay and is run by Worldwide Cruise Terminals.
Its 2026-27 schedules show turnarounds for eleven lines: Royal Caribbean’s Spectrum of the Seas, Celebrity, Holland America, Norwegian, Costa, Oceania, Cunard, Adora and TUI Cruises, plus Carnival and Explora Journeys in 2027 — a long guest list for a small car park.
Ocean Terminal is the other pier. Ocean Terminal sits on the waterfront at the tip of Tsim Sha Tsui, inside Harbour City on Canton Road; its Deck, a free public viewing platform, is on the roof of the extension; StarCruises’ Star Voyager sails from it between Sept 30 and Nov 13, 2026, per Cruise Industry News, and we found no other published 2026–27 line-up, so check your booking for which terminal your ship uses.
Neither pier has an MTR station of its own.
From Kai Tak you take the 86 green minibus to Kowloon Bay MTR for HK$7.1. Ocean Terminal is about five minutes on foot from Tsim Sha Tsui MTR Exit A1 — a time Harbour City measures to the mall, not to the berth.
The piers are about 6.2 miles (10.0 km) apart by road, roughly 14 minutes on empty streets by our routing. Book the one on your cruise documents, not the one that suits a car.
Royal Caribbean also warns that security and immigration at the pier can slow arrivals. Leave time for the drop-off.
Two branches with hours, and a long list of things nobody printed
We started with the brands’ own pages. Most of what a renter needs wasn’t on them.
| Item | What we read, Oct 5, 2026 | The gap | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| Avis, Kowloon Downtown (East Ocean Centre) | Mon–Fri 9:00–17:00, weekends 9:00–16:00 | A city branch; no airport counter or terminal delivery found | Brand page |
| Hertz, MTR Hong Kong Station | Mon–Fri 9:30–17:30, weekends 9:30–17:00 | A city branch. Its MTR Kowloon Station page shows closed every day, so don’t count on that one | Brand page |
| Airport rental page | Not confirmed | We can’t say which brands, if any, have an airport counter | Not read |
| Delivery to a cruise terminal | None found | No brand says it delivers to or collects from either terminal | Not stated |
| One-way or other-branch drop | None found | No rule or fee for any Hong Kong brand | Not stated |
| Deposit, age, excess, tax, automatics, English sat-nav | None found | We read no Hong Kong brand’s wording on any of them | Not stated |
Avis names cross-border service, the one offer a cruiser might care about.
The page gives no terms, no price and no word on whether a visitor qualifies — so we wouldn’t plan a drive over the boundary on it.
Hours matter most on disembark day. Both branches close by 5:30 PM on weekdays and earlier at weekends — get the hours for your return day in writing. The one-way page explains what a different drop-off usually adds elsewhere.
Disneyland is the one day out where a car is plausible
One trip could justify keys. We priced the road and had to leave the rest blank.
Hong Kong Disneyland is 17.7 miles (28.6 km) and about 31 minutes from Kai Tak, 14.4 miles (23.1 km) and about 25 minutes from Ocean Terminal, on OSRM’s free-flow routing; we couldn’t read a ticket price or a parking rate.
We found no ticket price and no parking rate at the park, so there’s nothing to total.
The road is measured, not the cost.
Kai Tak Sports Park is the shorter hop — 2.7 miles (4.4 km) and about 9 minutes from the terminal by the same routing.
Ocean Terminal Deck is free from 07:00 to 24:00 and has a 270-degree harbour view. The Peak Tram’s Central terminus runs 07:30 to 23:00, and we read no fare.
Every trip we researched has an operator-published MTR, bus, ferry or taxi option; we found none that needs a rental car.
That’s our reading of the operators’ pages — not a rule. The fares we did read are on the decision page.
Bags are easy on the last morning. A rental car isn’t
The piers sell locker time by the hour, so luggage has an answer — the car still needs one.
Kai Tak has lockers on the ground floor near the Exit Hall at HK$12, HK$18 and HK$24 for small, large and jumbo bags per four hours, and an SF Express luggage counter on 1/F that opens during debarkation of selected ships, with no price printed.
Ocean Terminal has lockers on Level 3 and in Gateway Arcade at HK$20 (small) and HK$40 (large) per two hours.
Holland America says the terminal has no luggage storage, while the terminal lists lockers. We went with the terminal’s own page and flagged the conflict.
The terminal’s free call-day shuttles to nearby MTR stations don’t run on turnaround days.
If you’re handing a car back, do it before the ship, not after. We found no branch hours or after-hours drop for Hong Kong, so confirm that step first.
The airports page covers the trip to HKG afterwards.
Still want a car? Book it for the driving days only
For the traveler who has read the parking rates and still wants one.
Rent for the days you’ll drive, not the sailing week. Kai Tak doesn’t offer the parking, and a week at Ocean Terminal may run about HK$4,480.
Carry a licence the Transport Department accepts. The permit section has its wording and what we couldn’t read.
Our Discover Cars review covers deposits and coverage, which no Hong Kong brand we read printed.
- Pick-up: a branch you choose
- We have no Hong Kong price to quote
- Companies compared in one place
- Cancel free up to 48 hrs before pickup
Dollar conversions use the European Central Bank’s Oct 5, 2026 reference rate, roughly 12.7 US cents to the Hong Kong dollar. Expect your card’s rate to differ.
Hong Kong rentals and parking: what people ask
Is there parking at Kai Tak for the length of a cruise?
Not for the week, as far as we can tell. The terminal calls its parking limited, Royal Caribbean says long-term parking isn’t available, and Holland America says there’s no public parking. Hourly rates are HK$20 on weekdays and HK$24 at weekends. Plan on a taxi.
What does Ocean Terminal charge to park?
Harbour City’s parking page prints HK$17 per 30 minutes from 07:00 to 22:59 and HK$6 per 30 minutes overnight at P5. It prints no daily maximum, so ask before you leave a car.
Who rents cars near the two cruise piers?
No brand advertises a desk at either one. Avis and Hertz both operate in Hong Kong, and each has a city branch that publishes weekday and weekend hours: Avis in Kowloon Downtown, Hertz at MTR Hong Kong Station. Get the branch and its hours in writing before you rely on either.
Does my ship use Kai Tak or Ocean Terminal?
Kai Tak’s 2026-27 schedules show turnarounds for eleven lines: Royal Caribbean, Celebrity, Holland America, Norwegian, Costa, Oceania, Cunard, Adora and TUI Cruises, plus Carnival and Explora in 2027. StarCruises’ Star Voyager sails from Ocean Terminal from Sept 30 to Nov 13, 2026, per Cruise Industry News. We found no other published line-up for Ocean Terminal, so use your booking.
Where do I leave my bags on disembark day?
Both piers have lockers, by our reading. Kai Tak’s cost HK$12 to HK$24 per four hours, and Ocean Terminal’s HK$20 or HK$40 per two hours. Holland America says Kai Tak has none, a conflict we flagged on the page.
Can a Hong Kong rental go across the boundary into mainland China?
We couldn’t confirm it. Avis Hong Kong lists cross-border services, but the page gives no terms, price or eligibility. Ask in writing before you plan on it.
More on renting around a Hong Kong cruise
Want the Hong Kong transfers sorted for you?
Name the ship and the week. An advisor plans the flight, the hotel and the ride to the pier, at no extra cost.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
