The Peninsula Hong Kong
Opened in 1928, per its own page, on Salisbury Road.
You’re paying for
- Not named on the page
Watch for
- Breakfast not stated
- No ride to the ship printed
- About 4.9 road miles to Kai Tak
- One thin page read
Splurge Hotels · Hong Kong
Hong Kong’s grand hotels sit on the Tsim Sha Tsui waterfront, at West Kowloon and on the Island, a taxi from either terminal. Seven of the ten print a rating or an award on their own pages, and we haven’t checked any of them — and every one of the ten starts sail morning with a taxi. Each card sets what the hotel includes against what you’ll sort out yourself.
Ten hotels made this list, and none is ranked — our twenty score the ride to the ship, not the room, so a grand hotel earns nothing for that. Tap the kind of night you’re after and its hotel lights up.
Where a hotel prints a rating, we repeat it and say we haven’t checked it. A blank means the page we read prints none, not that the hotel has none.
Opened in 1928, per its own page, on Salisbury Road.
Ninety-one suites with butler service, two one-star restaurants as the hotel prints them, and an Asaya Pool.
Forbes Five-Star for 2026 and two MICHELIN stars for Tin Lung Heen, per its own page, in the International Commerce Centre, West Kowloon.
Attached to the IFC complex and Central Station, with seven MICHELIN stars across its restaurants by the hotel's own count.
544 rooms at Pacific Place with seven restaurants, themed family suites and Admiralty MTR 0.60 km away.
688 rooms with family-size options, seven restaurants and Tsim Sha Tsui East Station 0.12 km away.
A Regent Club with breakfast, afternoon tea and evening cocktails, on the waterfront next to Rosewood.
A 50-metre heated pool on the 11th floor, 542 rooms and One Harbour Road, listed as Selected in the MICHELIN Guide 2025.
Directly connected to Admiralty MTR, with Golden Leaf, Brasserie on the Eighth, a lobby lounge and Pacific Bar.
Two minutes' walk from the East TST station, with taxi, bus and limousine prices to the airport printed.
Point at a hotel’s name and its column lights up. Green means the page says it’s there, gold means an extra cost or a catch, and grey means the page is silent.
| Feature | The Peninsula | Rosewood | Ritz-Carlton | Four Seasons | Island Shangri-La | Kowloon Shangri-La | Regent Hong Kong | Grand Hyatt | Conrad | The Langham |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ratings as printed | Michelin-starred dining mentioned; no count | Two one-star restaurants, per the hotel | Forbes Five-Star 2026, per the hotel | Seven MICHELIN stars in all, per the hotel | Petrus, Michelin-starred per the hotel | 5 Crescent Rating, per the hotel | None printed | Restaurant Selected in MICHELIN 2025 | None printed | None printed |
| Restaurant | Not named on the page | The Legacy House; CHAAT | Tin Lung Heen; Tosca di Angelo | Lung King Heen | Petrus; Summer Palace; Nadaman | Angelini; Shang Palace; Nadaman | — | One Harbour Road | Golden Leaf; Brasserie on the Eighth | — |
| Bar or drinks | — | — | The Lounge & Bar | — | Lobster Bar and Grill | Bar and lounge | Regent Club evening cocktails | — | Pacific Bar; Lobby Lounge | — |
| Spa or pool | — | Asaya Spa by Guerlain; Asaya Pool | Indoor pool with hot tub; spa | — | YUN WELLNESS Spa | — | — | 50 m heated pool; Plateau Spa | — | — |
| Breakfast | Not stated | Not stated | Buffet; not stated if included | In a Bed & Breakfast offer | Not stated | With select rooms and memberships | In the Regent Club | In Grand Club | Not stated | Not stated |
| Airport or ship transfer | — | — | Luxury car to the airport | — | — | — | Airport Express and a taxi, per the hotel | — | — | Taxi and limousine prices printed |
| Parking | Not stated | Not stated | $90 an hour, $800 a day; currency not named | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Valet; price not read | Not stated | Not stated |
| Distance to Kai Tak | ~4.9 road mi to Kai Tak, our routing | ~5.4 road mi to Kai Tak, our routing | ~5.5 road mi to Kai Tak, our routing | ~7.5 road mi to Kai Tak, our routing | ~6.8 road mi to Kai Tak, our routing | ~4.6 road mi to Kai Tak, our routing | ~5.4 road mi to Kai Tak, our routing | ~6.5 road mi to Kai Tak, our routing | ~7.6 road mi to Kai Tak, our routing | ~5.3 road mi to Kai Tak, our routing |
Tap a pin for the hotel’s card, then open the review. The numbers match the cards above.
Six hotels are on the Kowloon side and four are on the Island — the harbour sits between you and whichever terminal you sail from.
None of the ten prints a ride to the ship — and none sits at a terminal.
By our routing the Tsim Sha Tsui and West Kowloon hotels are about 0.6 to 1.4 road miles from Ocean Terminal and 4.6 to 5.5 from Kai Tak. Kowloon Shangri-La, at 4.6, is nearest to Kai Tak.
Four are on the Island: the Four Seasons, Island Shangri-La, Grand Hyatt and Conrad. A taxi from the Island crosses the harbour, where the Transport Department’s tariff adds a tunnel toll that our arithmetic leaves out.
Our map pins for the Island Shangri-La and Conrad are approximate, so their distances are indicative.
Parking is where prices are thin — the Ritz-Carlton prints $90 an hour and $800 a day and names no currency, and Grand Hyatt offers valet by the night without a price we could read. For the cruise itself, Kai Tak lists 112 hourly spaces at HK$20 (about US$3) an hour on weekdays and HK$24 (about US$3) at weekends from 15 August 2026.
The 3% Hotel Accommodation Tax has applied since 1 January 2025, per the Inland Revenue Department, and a 10% service charge is commonly added. Check whether a rate includes them.
Booking.com lists airport taxis you can book ahead. Check the pickup point, the price and the cancellation terms before you book.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.
Mandarin Oriental, The Upper House, W Hong Kong and The Murray aren’t here yet — we add a hotel only after reading its own page.
None sits at a terminal. The Peninsula, Rosewood, Regent and the Langham are on the Tsim Sha Tsui waterfront, about 0.6 to 1.4 road miles from Ocean Terminal by our routing.
Kowloon Shangri-La is the closest of the ten to Kai Tak, at about 4.6 — we haven't ranked them.
These are the hotels' claims, not ours — we haven't checked any of it against MICHELIN or Forbes.
The Ritz-Carlton prints a 2026 Forbes Five-Star line and stars for Tin Lung Heen and Tosca di Angelo. Rosewood prints one star each for The Legacy House and CHAAT, the Four Seasons a count of seven stars, Island Shangri-La a Michelin-starred Petrus, and Grand Hyatt a Selected listing.
None of the ten prints a transfer to a cruise terminal. Book a taxi the night before.
Our routing puts Kai Tak 11 to 16 minutes from them with no traffic, and the four on the Island side cross the harbour, where the tariff adds a tunnel toll.
The 3% Hotel Accommodation Tax has been in force since 1 January 2025, per the Inland Revenue Department, and a 10% service charge is commonly added. Check whether a printed rate includes them before you compare hotels.
Not at a cruise rate. The Ritz-Carlton prints $90 an hour and $800 a day without naming a currency, and Grand Hyatt offers valet by the night without a price we could read.
Kai Tak's own car park lists HK$20 an hour on weekdays and HK$24 at weekends from 15 August 2026.
Tell us the hotel you have in mind and your sail date. We'll price the night and line up the taxi to the terminal. No obligation.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
Tell us the sailing and who’s coming. A real advisor checks rates for that night and replies within one business day.
We’ll check rates for your night and reply within one business day.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.