Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
Dover Marina Hotel is the one the Port of Dover names first, and it earns the top spot on position. It's on Waterloo Crescent on the seafront, about 1.0 mile of road from Cruise Terminals 1 and 2 by our routing, with £5 (about US$7) parking and Mr White's Chophouse in the building.
Read the distances with care. Hilton's 0.50 miles is to the Ferry Terminal at the Eastern Docks, not the cruise berths, which sit the other way along the front at the Western Docks.
Breakfast is £17.95 (about US$25) a person, and the pet policy depends on whose page you read — Hilton says no, the hotel's rooms page says some Standard rooms take pets. No page offers to keep your car for the cruise.
Book it for the sea view and dinner in the building, then take a short taxi along the front in the morning.
Book it if
- You want the sea outside the window on your last night ashore
- You'd rather eat at Mr White's Chophouse than taxi into town for dinner
- You're driving and want the night's parking cheap — £5 a day, per Hilton
Look elsewhere if
- You want breakfast in the rate — it's £17.95 a person here.
- You're bringing a dog and need one clear answer on pets.
- You've set your heart on a pool, since only the rooms page mentions one.
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what Dover Marina Hotel publishes.
Mr White's Chophouse for British and French dishes and premium cuts, the Churchill Bar & Lounge for cocktails, and the all-day Waterfront Cafe, with a spa, a gym and afternoon tea.
Neither the hotel's site nor Hilton mentions a cruise shuttle. The blog Cruise Mummy reported a hotel-and-parking option with a transfer "at extra charge" in April 2025 — a blog, not the hotel, so ask before you count on it. Book a taxi ahead — there’s no Uber in Dover.
The buffet is £17.95 a person, per the hotel's breakfast page, and in-room breakfast is offered; hours aren't printed.
The hotel says it's "just minutes from Dover Ferry Port and the Dover Cruise Terminal" without a figure. Hilton's 0.50 miles is to the Ferry Terminal at the Eastern Docks, the other way from the cruise berths. Our routing puts CT1 and CT2 about 1.0 mile by road. Book the taxi for your check-in slot, not earlier — the port says there’s nowhere to wait at the terminal.
Self-parking is £5 a day on site, per Hilton, with no valet. The hotel's offers page lists spa deals and nothing for cruisers, and no page says you can leave the car while you sail. Cruise Mummy lists it among hotels with parking packages, without a price.
Night-Before Score: 33 of 100
Scored only from what the hotel publishes. See how the Night-Before Score works.
Getting here, and on to the ship
Dover Marina Hotel is about 81.9 road miles from Gatwick, 101.5 from Heathrow and 1.0 from CT1 and CT2 — our routing, not the hotel’s. Question marks are rides you arrange.
No airport shuttle is mentioned — the hotel's find-us page puts Heathrow about 2 hours by car.
Neither the hotel's site nor Hilton mentions a cruise shuttle. The blog Cruise Mummy reported a hotel-and-parking option with a transfer "at extra charge" in April 2025 — a blog, not the hotel, so ask before you count on it.
The hotel says it's "just minutes from Dover Ferry Port and the Dover Cruise Terminal" without a figure. Hilton's 0.50 miles is to the Ferry Terminal at the Eastern Docks, the other way from the cruise berths. Our routing puts CT1 and CT2 about 1.0 mile by road.
From LHR without a hotel shuttle
By our routing, Heathrow to Dover Marina Hotel is about 101.5 road miles, roughly 116 minutes with no traffic; Gatwick is about 81.9 miles and 92 minutes. The train via St Pancras is the usual way, and fixed-fare taxis publish £146.60 to £275 (about US$195–365) a car. More: the airport page.
No airport shuttle is mentioned — the hotel's find-us page puts Gatwick about 90 minutes by car.
Neither the hotel's site nor Hilton mentions a cruise shuttle. The blog Cruise Mummy reported a hotel-and-parking option with a transfer "at extra charge" in April 2025 — a blog, not the hotel, so ask before you count on it.
The hotel says it's "just minutes from Dover Ferry Port and the Dover Cruise Terminal" without a figure. Hilton's 0.50 miles is to the Ferry Terminal at the Eastern Docks, the other way from the cruise berths. Our routing puts CT1 and CT2 about 1.0 mile by road.
From LGW without a hotel shuttle
By our routing, Heathrow to Dover Marina Hotel is about 101.5 road miles, roughly 116 minutes with no traffic; Gatwick is about 81.9 miles and 92 minutes. The train via St Pancras is the usual way, and fixed-fare taxis publish £146.60 to £275 a car. More: the airport page.
Self-parking is £5 a day on site, per Hilton, with no valet. The hotel's offers page lists spa deals and nothing for cruisers, and no page says you can leave the car while you sail. Cruise Mummy lists it among hotels with parking packages, without a price.
Parking for your stay: £5 a day on site; no valet.
Neither the hotel's site nor Hilton mentions a cruise shuttle. The blog Cruise Mummy reported a hotel-and-parking option with a transfer "at extra charge" in April 2025 — a blog, not the hotel, so ask before you count on it.
The hotel says it's "just minutes from Dover Ferry Port and the Dover Cruise Terminal" without a figure. Hilton's 0.50 miles is to the Ferry Terminal at the Eastern Docks, the other way from the cruise berths. Our routing puts CT1 and CT2 about 1.0 mile by road.
Landing on sail morning instead? Skip Dover Marina Hotel and go straight to the terminals — the airport page covers Carnival’s transfer and the trains.
Which terminal
CT1 and CT2, Western DocksFrom Dover Marina Hotel, our routing puts Cruise Terminals 1 and 2 about 1.0 miles away by road, at the Western Docks, not the ferry port. See the Dover cruise guide.
Source: portofdover.comDistance
~1.0 mi, our routingThe hotel says it's "just minutes from Dover Ferry Port and the Dover Cruise Terminal" without a figure. Hilton's 0.50 miles is to the Ferry Terminal at the Eastern Docks, the other way from the cruise berths. Our routing puts CT1 and CT2 about 1.0 mile by road.
Source: dovermarinahotel.co.ukShuttle departures
No shuttle statedNo shuttle to time from Dover Marina Hotel — the terminals are about 1.0 road miles away by our routing, so book a taxi for your check-in time, not before it. There’s no Uber in Dover.
Source: dovermarinahotel.co.ukParking while you sail
Cruise parking
Cruise parking unconfirmedSelf-parking is £5 a day on site, per Hilton, with no valet. The hotel's offers page lists spa deals and nothing for cruisers, and no page says you can leave the car while you sail. Cruise Mummy lists it among hotels with parking packages, without a price.
Source: hilton.comOff-site park-and-ride
£9 (about US$12) a day, per RelyonAgainst £5 a day to self-park on site, Relyon sits about 2.2 road miles from Dover Marina Hotel, by our routing — £9 a day, £30 (about US$40) minimum, with its shuttle taking you and your bags to the terminal.
Where the car goes while you sail · Dover cruise parking, compared.
Source: relyongroup.co.ukThe evening and the morning
The evening
Food or bar on siteMr White's Chophouse for British and French dishes and premium cuts, the Churchill Bar & Lounge for cocktails, and the all-day Waterfront Cafe, with a spa, a gym and afternoon tea.
Breakfast
Not freeThe buffet is £17.95 a person, per the hotel's breakfast page, and in-room breakfast is offered; hours aren't printed.
Address
Waterloo Crescent, on the seafrontWaterloo Crescent, Dover CT17 9BP
Hotel website
The fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as Dover Marina Hotel publishes it. We couldn’t confirm whether the hotel will hold your car while you cruise, and the price and whether the rooms page's infinity pool exists — the spa page doesn't describe one, so ask Dover Marina Hotel when you book.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
Not stated by the hotel.
Extra fees
None stated
Wi-Fi
Free
Parking for your stay
£5 a day on site; no valet
Breakfast
Buffet £17.95 a person; in-room breakfast available
Pool
The rooms page mentions an infinity pool; the spa page doesn’t describe one
Pets
Hilton says pets aren't allowed; the hotel's own rooms page lists pet-friendly rooms in some Standard categories.
Food and drink on site
- Mr White's ChophouseBritish and French-inspired, premium cuts
- Churchill Bar & LoungeCocktails, wines, light bites
- Waterfront CafeAll day, Starbucks coffee
Rooms
122 rooms and suites: twins, sea-view doubles, sea-view rooms with balconies, a Triple for up to three, and junior suites.
Accessibility
Dover Marina Hotel’s pages we read don’t detail accessible rooms, so call before you book one.
On site
- EV chargingNot stated
- Guest laundryNot stated
- GymYes
- Pets allowedSources disagree
Nearby, by the hotel’s count
- Dover Marina0.20 mi
- Ferry Terminal (Eastern Docks)0.50 mi
- Dover Priory station0.90 mi
- Dover Castle1.50 mi
Distances as Dover Marina Hotel or its brand lists them, on a square-root scale so short walks stay visible.
Also worth knowing
- Spa, gym and a Vogue hair and beauty salon
- EV charging "nearby, 100 yards away"
- Dover Priory about a 10-minute taxi ride, per the hotel
- On the Port of Dover’s pre- and post-stay list
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Check-in 3 pm, check-out 12 pm, per Hilton.
- Self-parking £5 a day on site; EV charging "nearby, 100 yards away".
- Breakfast £17.95 a person.
- Hilton and the hotel disagree on pets.
- The 0.50 miles Hilton prints is to the ferry terminal, not the cruise terminals.
What we couldn’t confirm
- Whether the hotel will hold your car while you cruise, and the price
- Whether the rooms page's infinity pool exists — the spa page doesn't describe one
- Air conditioning
Every hotel fact here comes from Dover Marina Hotel’s own pages, read October 3, 2026, unless we name another source — so before you book, confirm whether they'll hold your car for the cruise, and at what price.
Worth a look alongside it
Around Dover Marina Hotel: the Dover cruise guide, Dover cruise parking and the splurge list.
Wake up on the seafront, a mile of road from CT1 and CT2.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check Dover Marina Hotel for the night before. No payment on the form.
Dover Marina Hotel FAQ
How far is Dover Marina Hotel from the cruise terminal?
The hotel says "just minutes" without a figure. Hilton's 0.50 miles is to the ferry terminal at the Eastern Docks. Our routing gives about 1.0 mile by road to CT1 and CT2, roughly 3 minutes with no traffic.
Can I park at Dover Marina Hotel while I'm on my cruise?
The hotel doesn't offer it on its own site. Self-parking is £5 a day for guests, and a 2025 blog lists the hotel among parking-package options without a price — ask before you plan on it. Relyon's park-and-ride, about 2.2 road miles away, publishes £9 a day.
Is breakfast included at Dover Marina Hotel & Spa?
No — the buffet is £17.95 a person, per the hotel's breakfast page, and in-room breakfast is offered. Hilton's page doesn't mention it.
Does Dover Marina Hotel allow dogs?
The two pages disagree — Hilton says pets aren't allowed; the hotel's rooms page lists pet-friendly rooms in some Standard categories. Get it in writing when you book.
Is Dover Marina Hotel the old Churchill Hotel?
Yes — the hotel's history page runs from the White Cliffs Hotel to The Churchill, then the Dover Marina Hotel & Spa from 2010, and it joined Hilton's Tapestry Collection in 2025. Cruise Mummy's 2025 guide still calls it a Best Western.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
