Dover Marina Hotel & Spa, Tapestry Collection by Hilton
First on the Port of Dover's own pre-cruise list: a seafront hotel about a mile of road from CT1 and CT2, with £5 parking and Mr White's Chophouse.
Pre-Cruise Hotels · Dover
Fourteen hotels for a Dover cruise, from the seafront to Canterbury and Ashford, scored on what gets you to the ship, not on reviews. Fourteen is all that qualified — we say why below.
Three taps and we’ll show your best three hotels.
Change any answer and the picks change with it. They’re built from the same published facts as the ranking below. Nobody pays to be here.
Matching weighs your answers against each hotel’s published shuttle, parking, breakfast, pool, beach, kitchen and pet policies.
Five answers, and the page builds the whole thing: the hotel, the ride in, the ride to the ship, what happens to the car, what time to leave, and how you get home. Every figure is one the hotel, the port or the company publishes. Where nobody publishes a number, you’ll see that instead of a guess.
Who’s coming and the mood come from Your Match; the plan uses the same answers.
Partner links (transfers, rental cars) may earn Seabound Journeys a commission at no extra cost to you. They don't change the plan, which is built only from what each company publishes.
No hotel we checked runs a shuttle to the cruise terminals or prints a rate to leave your car. So the podium is distance and the evening. The Dover Marina Hotel and Travelodge Dover tie on 33, about a mile of road from CT1 and CT2, and the Marina wins on its £5 (about US$7) parking. Premier Inn Dover Central is third, by the ferry terminal, with nothing on site we could count for dinner.
Narrow the fourteen by what your night needs. Save the ones you like. Tick up to three to compare side by side — the order is ours, the shortlist is yours.
Why fourteen, not twenty? Dover is a small town. We checked 25 hotels from Dover out to Folkestone, Hythe, Deal, Sandwich, Canterbury and Ashford, and fourteen were open and published enough to score. The rest are in the not-ranked list, each with the reason.
Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
All 14 hotels
First on the Port of Dover's own pre-cruise list: a seafront hotel about a mile of road from CT1 and CT2, with £5 parking and Mr White's Chophouse.
A Travelodge in the middle of town on the port's own pre-cruise list, about 1.1 road miles from the terminals, with air conditioning and a lift.
The one with ferry in its name: beside the Eastern Docks, about 1.1 road miles from the cruise terminals, with £5 parking and king-size beds.
Free breakfast and £3 (about US$4) parking on the A2 west of Canterbury, about 21 road miles from the terminals by our routing.
A night inside Canterbury Cathedral's precincts, with breakfast included and free Cathedral entry, about 18 road miles from the ship.
Free parking, air conditioning and four places to eat and drink on the edge of Dover, the former Ramada, about 5 road miles from the terminals.
A Hythe seafront hotel that states AA 4-Star on its own site, with a pool, a spa residents use free and a golf course, about 12 road miles from the ship.
Free parking in the countryside off the A20, about 4.4 road miles from the terminals, with family rooms and a sat-nav warning worth reading.
Free parking and a Cookhouse & Pub by the Channel Tunnel, about 8.3 road miles from the cruise terminals.
Rooms from £189 (about US$250) a night as printed, a 25-mile menu and treatment rooms in the garden sheds, about 15 road miles from the ship.
A central Canterbury Travelodge with £7.50 (about US$10) parking and a Bar Café, about 18 road miles from the cruise terminals.
Air conditioning in every room and a 10-minute walk to the Cathedral, on the Dover side of Canterbury, about 17.6 road miles from the ship.
A Champneys manor with a spa and an outdoor pool off the M20, named Hotel of the Year at the 2026 Kent and Medway Food and Drink Awards, about 25 road miles from Dover.
Free guest parking, family rooms with sofa beds and the Bybrook Tavern, 2 miles from Ashford International, about 23.5 road miles from the ship.
No hotel on the list has all of those. Try dropping one filter.
Booking.com lists airport taxis you can book ahead. Check the pickup point, the price and the cancellation terms before you book.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.
Pick how you’re arriving. The board counts what each hotel publishes, the table lights up that column, and the companies below run from the airport to the port.
Heathrow · about 101 road miles to CT1 and CT2, our routing from the airport’s reference point
Heathrow to St Pancras is just over an hour on the Piccadilly line, per Heathrow; Gatwick has Thameslink trains straight to St Pancras. Southeastern's high-speed trains then reach Dover Priory in 1h03 to 1h07, around 42 a day. The terminals are a 30 to 40 minute walk from Priory, per the port, so take a taxi from the station rank.
City Airport Taxis lists a saloon at £146.60 from Gatwick and £183.82 (about US$245) from Heathrow; Licensed London Taxi charges £275 from any London airport to the docks. Holland America quotes £225 (about US$295) from Heathrow and £275 from Gatwick. Fares are per car, agreed ahead — Dover's meter rule stops at the district line. Uber isn't available in Dover, per Holland America.
Carnival sells Heathrow and Gatwick transfers at US$109.99 a person; your flight must land before 11:00 AM, and the ride home needs a flight no earlier than 1:00 PM. Holland America runs a coach from Victoria Coach Station at about 10:30 am, with no price on its page.
Route 007 runs from London Victoria Coach Station to Dover's Pencester Road bus station in about 3.5 hours — the 09:30 arrives at 13:00. It stops in town, not at the terminals, and Dover isn't a destination on National Express's Heathrow page.
Our routing gives about 101 road miles from Heathrow and 82 from Gatwick, both by the M25, M26 and M20, with no Dartford Crossing. Discover Cars also lists Dover town pick-ups on Snargate Street and Townwall Street, so you can drop the car before you board.
Driving? The column to watch is “While you sail”. Compare hotel parking with the options on Dover cruise parking, or price it out in the parking math below.
| Hotel | To the ship | While you sail | From LHR | From LGW |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shuttle not stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)No airport shuttle is mentioned — the hotel's find-us page puts Heathrow about 2 hours by car. Gatwick (LGW)No airport shuttle is mentioned — the hotel's find-us page puts Gatwick about 90 minutes by car. To the shipNeither the hotel's site nor Hilton mentions a cruise shuttle. The blog Cruise Mummy reported a hotel-and-parking option with a transfer "at extra charge" in April 2025 — a blog, not the hotel, so ask before you count on it. | ||||
| Shuttle not stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)Travelodge doesn't mention airport transport, so from Heathrow or Gatwick it's the train via St Pancras to Dover Priory, then a short taxi. Gatwick (LGW)Travelodge doesn't mention airport transport — from Gatwick our routing gives about 82 road miles, roughly 92 minutes with no traffic. To the shipTravelodge's page doesn't mention a cruise shuttle — it's a short taxi to the Western Docks. | ||||
| Shuttle not stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)Premier Inn doesn't mention airport transport — Southeastern's trains from St Pancras stop at Dover Priory, and there's a taxi rank at the station. Gatwick (LGW)Premier Inn doesn't mention airport transport — from Gatwick our routing gives about 82 road miles, roughly 92 minutes with no traffic. To the shipPremier Inn calls it "right on hand for the ferry or cruise ships" but names no shuttle. Plan on a taxi along the seafront to the Western Docks. | ||||
| Shuttle not stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)IHG doesn't mention airport transport — the hotel sits on the A2, 7 minutes by car from Canterbury West station, per IHG. Gatwick (LGW)IHG doesn't mention airport transport — from Gatwick our routing gives about 66.4 road miles, roughly 76 minutes with no traffic. To the shipIHG mentions no shuttle to Dover — it's a drive or a taxi down the A2. | ||||
| Shuttle not stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)The Lodge doesn't mention airport transport — from Heathrow our routing gives about 88.3 road miles, roughly 106 minutes with no traffic. Gatwick (LGW)The Lodge doesn't mention airport transport. From Gatwick it's about 69 road miles by our routing — then 18 more to the ship in the morning. To the shipThe Lodge doesn't mention any transport to Dover. | ||||
| Shuttle not stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)The hotel doesn't mention airport transport — from Heathrow our routing gives about 100.8 road miles, roughly 116 minutes with no traffic. Gatwick (LGW)The hotel doesn't mention airport transport — from Gatwick our routing gives about 81 road miles, most of it on the M20. To the shipThe hotel's own pages don't mention a cruise transfer. The reseller Airparks still sells it under the old Ramada name, with "6 minute taxi transfers (included in the price)", and Cruise Mummy's April 2025 blog lists a transfer as included. A reseller lists it; confirm with the hotel. | ||||
| Shuttle not stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)The hotel mentions no airport transport and gives no Heathrow figure. Gatwick (LGW)The hotel puts Gatwick roughly 72 miles away and mentions no airport transport. To the shipThe hotel mentions no transfer to Dover; you'd drive or book a taxi. | ||||
| Shuttle not stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)Premier Inn doesn't mention airport transport — from Heathrow our routing gives about 98.6 road miles, roughly 112 minutes with no traffic. Gatwick (LGW)Premier Inn doesn't mention airport transport — it's just off the A20, about 79 road miles from Gatwick by our routing. To the shipNo shuttle on Premier Inn's page. You'll drive, or book a taxi ahead — the hotel sits in "a rural, countryside setting". | ||||
| Shuttle not stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)Premier Inn doesn't mention airport transport — by our routing Gatwick is about 74 road miles away and Heathrow about 94. Gatwick (LGW)Premier Inn doesn't mention airport transport — from Gatwick our routing gives about 74 road miles, roughly 83 minutes with no traffic. To the shipPremier Inn names no transfer to Dover; it's a drive or a taxi east on the A20. | ||||
| Shuttle not stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)The pages we read don't mention airport transport — from Heathrow our routing gives about 90.7 road miles, roughly 105 minutes with no traffic. Gatwick (LGW)The pages we read don't mention airport transport — Gatwick is about 71 road miles away by our routing, roughly 81 minutes on clear roads. To the shipNo transfer is mentioned on the pages we read. | ||||
| Shuttle not stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)Travelodge doesn't mention airport transport — from Heathrow our routing gives about 88 road miles, roughly 105 minutes with no traffic. Gatwick (LGW)Travelodge doesn't mention airport transport — from Gatwick our routing gives about 68.8 road miles, roughly 80 minutes with no traffic. To the shipNo transfer to Dover is mentioned. | ||||
| Shuttle not stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)Premier Inn doesn't mention airport transport — from Heathrow our routing gives about 88.2 road miles, roughly 104 minutes with no traffic. Gatwick (LGW)Premier Inn doesn't mention airport transport — our routing puts Gatwick about 69 road miles away, roughly 80 minutes on clear roads. To the shipNo transfer to Dover is mentioned. | ||||
| Shuttle not stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)Champneys doesn't mention airport transport — from Heathrow our routing gives about 81.9 road miles, roughly 99 minutes with no traffic. Gatwick (LGW)Champneys doesn't mention airport transport. Gatwick is about 62 road miles away by our routing — only the Holiday Inn Ashford is nearer. To the shipNo transfer to Dover is mentioned; Champneys calls Ashford International station "a short taxi ride away". | ||||
| Shuttle not stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | Not stated | |
Heathrow (LHR)IHG doesn't mention airport transport — of the fourteen it's the shortest drive from Heathrow, about 80 road miles by our routing. Gatwick (LGW)IHG doesn't mention airport transport — from Gatwick our routing gives about 60.8 road miles, roughly 70 minutes with no traffic. To the shipNo transfer to Dover is mentioned. | ||||
These fourteen are ranked for an easy sail morning, not for the room. The nicer nights are further out. Hythe Imperial is the only hotel in our set whose own site states an AA 4-Star rating, about 12 road miles from the ship by our routing. THE PIG cooks from 25 miles around, Eastwell Manor is a Champneys spa, and the Marquis of Granby is an AA Rosette inn in the Alkham Valley.
Every distance here ends at the postcode point for Cruise Terminals 1 and 2, CT17 9DQ, at the Western Docks — the port publishes no exact coordinates, so treat the figures as approximate. They're road miles by our routing, not straight lines. The town hotels are about a mile. Whitfield and Folkestone Road are at 4.5 to 5, Folkestone, Hythe and Bridge at 8 to 15, Canterbury at 17.5 to 21, and Ashford at about 24.
Three of the fourteen are in Dover town, two on its edge, three along the coast or at Bridge, four in Canterbury and two around Ashford. The outer bands are there for a reason, not to fill space: Dover’s own stock is small, and Ashford International is 2 miles from the Holiday Inn there, per IHG.
Numbers are the ranking. Each pin sits where the hotel is — the bands group them by distance, the way we score it.
Five things make a Dover night before easy or hard. We score each one only from what the hotel publishes on its own site or its brand’s.
If a hotel doesn’t say it, it scores zero there. Resellers, blogs and travel sites don’t count, so the Airparks package and Cruise Mummy’s reports are information, not points. A distance to the ferry port isn’t a distance to the cruise terminals, so it doesn’t count as a walk.
By band, from the cruise terminals: Dover town and seafront 30; the edge of Dover 25; Folkestone, Hythe and Bridge 20; Canterbury 15; Ashford 10.
Hotel-run shuttle, free or with a published price, 25. A ride only inside a package 20. The hotel’s own ride with no published fare 15. The hotel says you can walk to the cruise terminal, or prints half a mile or less, 15. A ride through a named partner 10. None of the fourteen scores here.
Published rate to leave the car 20. Offered, price unpublished 14. None of the fourteen scores here either.
A breakfast the hotel says is included scores 10. Only two of the fourteen say so, so read the breakfast line on each page.
Pool 3, food or a bar on site 3, a kitchen in the room 3. Beach points (6 at our US ports) don’t apply: no hotel here publishes beach access.
Ties are broken in order: the lower published parking rate, any stated way to the ship, free breakfast, parking on site, the closer stated mileage, the lower guest parking price, then the alphabet. Two pairs of town hotels show how the ties fall. The Dover Marina Hotel and Travelodge Dover both score 33, and the Marina’s £5 parking beats the Travelodge’s £10 (about US$13). Three hotels finish on 28: the two Canterbury hotels with free breakfast come before the Holiday Inn Dover, and the Holiday Inn Express’s £3 parking beats the Lodge’s £10. On 23, Premier Inn Folkestone prints free parking and THE PIG prints none, and on 18 the Travelodge in Canterbury has a car park of its own and the Premier Inn doesn’t.
What’s left out is deliberate. Room rates change daily, so they aren’t scored, and neither are review scores.
Two British things to check yourself: air conditioning, which British hotels don’t always have, and a lift (an elevator), which some older buildings lack. Each page says what the hotel prints on both.
None of the fourteen sells a way to leave the car while you sail on its own site. Here’s what’s out there, from the least certain to the most.
At the hotels. Nothing on their own sites. The Dover Marina Hotel’s offers page lists spa deals; Premier Inn, Travelodge and IHG print nightly parking only. The reseller Airparks sells the Holiday Inn Dover, under its old Ramada name, with 15 days’ parking and taxi transfers “included in the price”, price on request — a reseller’s listing, not the hotel’s, so confirm with the hotel.
The blog Cruise Mummy (April 2025) names the Dover Marina Hotel among hotels with parking packages, without a price.
At the port. The port names one provider, CPS, a valet that takes your car at the terminal. CPS quotes online only, so we can’t print a price; a blog reported £16 (about US$20) a day in April 2025.
The published rate. Relyon, on Poulton Close on the edge of Dover, publishes £9 (about US$12) a day with a £30 (about US$40) minimum on its own site, and runs a complimentary door-to-door shuttle to the cruise terminal, round the clock. That’s the figure in the calculator below.
| Relyon park-and-ride, £9 a day per Relyon (£30 minimum) | — |
Relyon’s ferry-parking page prints the £9 daily rate; its cruise page quotes online, and it doesn’t say whether it charges by the day or the night. Our total counts each cruise night plus one day.
Every option side by side: Dover cruise parking, compared.
We checked 25 hotels. One more is worth knowing: The Marquis of Granby, Alkham. An inn in the Alkham Valley about 6.8 road miles from the ship, with an AA Rosette restaurant on AA's listing — but no website of its own that we could find, so too little to score. It's on the splurge list. The Marquis of Granby in Alkham is on the splurge list, with four of these fourteen: the Dover Marina Hotel, Hythe Imperial, THE PIG and Eastwell Manor.
| Hotel | Why it isn’t ranked |
|---|---|
| Premier Inn Dover East | On Premier Inn's Dover list, but its own page wouldn't load, so we had nothing to score. |
| Premier Inn Ashford Central | Open on Premier Inn's site, but the page prints no address, and three Ashford Premier Inns show on the map — we couldn't tell which it is, so we couldn't measure it. |
| Hubert House Guesthouse, Dover | Bookable on Hotels.com, but we found no site of its own; everything we have is third-party. |
| Wallett's Court, St Margaret's at Cliffe | Its old web address now shows a gambling site and we found no current official site, so we couldn't confirm it's open. |
| The Falstaff, Canterbury | Listed by Visit Kent, undated; we found no site of its own to confirm it's open. |
| Royal Hotel, Deal | Seen only on an aggregator listing, undated; no site of its own found. |
| Ashford International Hotel & Spa | Listed by Visit Kent, undated; its own site wasn't reached. |
| The Grand Burstin, Folkestone | Destroyed by fire in September 2026 and won't reopen. |
| White Cliffs Hotel, St Margaret's at Cliffe | Closed since March 2020, per CAMRA, with a change of use to housing pending. |
| The Salutation, Sandwich | Went into liquidation in 2020, per Wikipedia, though an undated Visit Kent listing still says it's open. |
No hotel we ranked runs an airport ride, and none could sensibly: Heathrow is about 101 road miles from the terminals by our routing, Gatwick about 82. Both routes run M25, M26 and M20, with no Dartford Crossing.
The usual way is the train. Heathrow’s Piccadilly line reaches St Pancras in just over an hour, and Southeastern’s high-speed trains run St Pancras to Dover Priory in 1h03 to 1h07. The Getting There table shows what every hotel publishes; the airport page has the taxis and transfers.
Tours, tickets and things to do are on Booking.com. Book the day before, not sail day.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.
On our scoring it's the Dover Marina Hotel & Spa on Waterloo Crescent. It's about 1.0 mile of road from Cruise Terminals 1 and 2 by our routing, with £5 parking and Mr White's Chophouse. Travelodge Dover ties it on 33 and comes second on its higher parking rate. Premier Inn Dover Central, by the ferry terminal, is third.
Because that's how many open hotels publish enough to score. Dover is a small town, and its hotels are mostly a handful of chains. We wouldn't pad the list with places whose open status we couldn't confirm, like Wallett's Court, or ones known only from third-party listings. Canterbury, Folkestone, Hythe and Ashford fill it out, and they're real options — Ashford International station is 2 miles from the Holiday Inn there.
Dover's cruise ships board at Cruise Terminal 1 and Cruise Terminal 2 at the Western Docks, CT17 9DQ — not the ferry port at the Eastern Docks. WD4 at Marina Curve takes ships calling in, not ships starting a cruise. Your line's documents name your terminal.
Not easily with luggage. No hotel prints a walking distance to the cruise terminals; the figures hotels give are to the ferry port at the Eastern Docks. The three town hotels are about a mile of road from CT1 and CT2 by our routing, so take a taxi. The port says Dover Priory station is a 30 to 40 minute walk from the terminals.
None of the fourteen sells it on its own site. A reseller, Airparks, lists a parking-and-taxi package at the Holiday Inn Dover under its old Ramada name, price on request — confirm with the hotel. The parking that's certain is off-site: Relyon publishes £9 a day with a £30 minimum and a door-to-door shuttle to the terminal.
Dover if you want the shortest morning: the town hotels are about a mile of road from the terminals. Canterbury if you want an evening in the old city — it's about 18 to 21 road miles, roughly 25 minutes on clear roads by our routing. Two Canterbury hotels include breakfast, which no Dover hotel says it does.
None of our fourteen. Heathrow and Gatwick are 80 to 100 road miles from Dover, and no hotel we checked mentions an airport ride. From Heathrow it's about 101 road miles by our routing, from Gatwick about 82. Carnival sells a transfer at US$109.99 a person; otherwise it's the train via St Pancras or a fixed-fare taxi.
Holland America, Carnival, Saga and HX started cruises in Dover in 2026, per their own pages and the port. Nieuw Statendam is Holland America's ship here; Carnival Legend's 2026 Dover season ran June to late August. Viking calls at Dover but embarks at London Greenwich.
Hotel rates move every day and spike on busy sailing days — any number we printed would be wrong by the time you read it. We rank on what holds still: distance, parking, breakfast and the evening. THE PIG and Eastwell Manor print 'from' prices, and we quote those with the date.
Tell us your sail date and we'll match the hotel, the ride and the cruise itself. A real advisor does the legwork. No obligation.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
Tell us the sailing and who’s coming. A real advisor checks rates for that night and replies within one business day.
We’ll check rates for your night and reply within one business day.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.