Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
Hythe Imperial is the spa night of the fourteen. It's AA 4-Star on its own site, on Princes Parade with an indoor pool, an ESPA spa that residents use free and a golf course — about 12.2 road miles from the terminals by our routing.
It's seventh because the score is about the morning, not the evening. Breakfast runs to 10 on weekdays, but the hotel doesn't say whether it's included, and parking is free with nothing on leaving a car.
Two rules catch people out. There's no early check-in, and the FAQ still says it can't store luggage — pandemic wording, so ask.
Book it to unwind before the ship, and allow about 18 minutes along the A20 on a clear road.
Book it if
- You want a spa evening — residents use it free from 1 pm
- You play golf and want a round before the cruise
- You're driving and want parking that costs nothing
Look elsewhere if
- You'd hoped to check in early — the hotel says it doesn't do early check-in.
- You need to leave bags with the desk after check-out.
- You're travelling with a pet that isn't a registered service dog.
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what Hythe Imperial publishes.
The Coast Restaurant, the Martello Bar, a Moët & Chandon bar, The Snug and an Afternoon Tea Parlour, with an indoor pool, ESPA spa, sauna, steam room, gym and a golf course.
The hotel mentions no transfer to Dover; you'd drive or book a taxi.
Breakfast runs 6:30 to 10 am on weekdays and 7 to 11 am at weekends and bank holidays; the hotel doesn't say whether it's included.
The hotel says it's minutes from Le Shuttle, not Dover. Our routing puts the cruise terminals about 12.2 miles by road along the A20. Our no-traffic figure from Hythe Imperial to the terminals is about 18 minutes — your check-in time decides when to leave, not the hotel.
"Yes, we offer free parking to our guests and customers," per the hotel's FAQ — but nothing about leaving a car while you cruise, and no EV charging.
Night-Before Score: 26 of 100
Scored only from what the hotel publishes. See how the Night-Before Score works.
Getting here, and on to the ship
Hythe Imperial is about 72.5 road miles from Gatwick, 92.1 from Heathrow and 12.2 from CT1 and CT2 — our routing, not the hotel’s. Question marks are rides you arrange.
The hotel mentions no airport transport and gives no Heathrow figure.
The hotel mentions no transfer to Dover; you'd drive or book a taxi.
The hotel says it's minutes from Le Shuttle, not Dover. Our routing puts the cruise terminals about 12.2 miles by road along the A20.
From LHR without a hotel shuttle
By our routing, Heathrow to Hythe Imperial is about 92.1 road miles, roughly 109 minutes with no traffic; Gatwick is about 72.5 miles and 85 minutes. The train via St Pancras is the usual way, and fixed-fare taxis publish £146.60 to £275 (about US$195–365) a car. More: the airport page.
The hotel puts Gatwick roughly 72 miles away and mentions no airport transport.
The hotel mentions no transfer to Dover; you'd drive or book a taxi.
The hotel says it's minutes from Le Shuttle, not Dover. Our routing puts the cruise terminals about 12.2 miles by road along the A20.
From LGW without a hotel shuttle
By our routing, Heathrow to Hythe Imperial is about 92.1 road miles, roughly 109 minutes with no traffic; Gatwick is about 72.5 miles and 85 minutes. The train via St Pancras is the usual way, and fixed-fare taxis publish £146.60 to £275 a car. More: the airport page.
"Yes, we offer free parking to our guests and customers," per the hotel's FAQ — but nothing about leaving a car while you cruise, and no EV charging.
Parking for your stay: Free.
The hotel mentions no transfer to Dover; you'd drive or book a taxi.
The hotel says it's minutes from Le Shuttle, not Dover. Our routing puts the cruise terminals about 12.2 miles by road along the A20.
Landing on sail morning instead? Skip Hythe Imperial and go straight to the terminals — the airport page covers Carnival’s transfer and the trains.
Which terminal
CT1 and CT2, Western DocksFrom Hythe Imperial, our routing puts Cruise Terminals 1 and 2 about 12.2 miles away by road, at the Western Docks, not the ferry port. See the Dover cruise guide.
Source: portofdover.comDistance
~12.2 mi, our routingThe hotel says it's minutes from Le Shuttle, not Dover. Our routing puts the cruise terminals about 12.2 miles by road along the A20.
Source: hytheimperial.co.ukShuttle departures
No shuttle statedWith no Hythe Imperial shuttle, your check-in time sets the clock, not a timetable — our no-traffic routing is about 18 minutes, and Dover has no Uber, so book the cab.
Source: hytheimperial.co.ukParking while you sail
Cruise parking
Cruise parking unconfirmed"Yes, we offer free parking to our guests and customers," per the hotel's FAQ — but nothing about leaving a car while you cruise, and no EV charging.
Source: hytheimperial.co.ukOff-site park-and-ride
£9 (about US$12) a day, per RelyonAgainst free parking for guests, Relyon sits about 12.4 road miles from Hythe Imperial, by our routing — £9 a day, £30 (about US$40) minimum, with its shuttle taking you and your bags to the terminal.
Where the car goes while you sail · Dover cruise parking, compared.
Source: relyongroup.co.ukThe evening and the morning
The evening
Pool · Food or bar on siteThe Coast Restaurant, the Martello Bar, a Moët & Chandon bar, The Snug and an Afternoon Tea Parlour, with an indoor pool, ESPA spa, sauna, steam room, gym and a golf course.
Breakfast
Not statedBreakfast runs 6:30 to 10 am on weekdays and 7 to 11 am at weekends and bank holidays; the hotel doesn't say whether it's included.
Address
Princes Parade, the Hythe seafrontPrinces Parade, Hythe, Kent CT21 6AE
Hotel website
The fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as Hythe Imperial publishes it. We couldn’t confirm whether breakfast is in your rate and whether a car can stay while you cruise, so ask Hythe Imperial when you book.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
Not stated by the hotel.
Extra fees
None stated
Wi-Fi
Not stated
Parking for your stay
Free
Breakfast
6:30–10 am weekdays, 7–11 am weekends and bank holidays; inclusion not stated
Pool
Indoor pool, with an ESPA spa, sauna and steam room
Pets
Registered service dogs only, per the hotel.
Food and drink on site
- Coast RestaurantAA Rosette, per Visit Kent
- Martello BarBar
- Moët & Chandon BarBar
- The SnugLounge
- Afternoon Tea ParlourAfternoon tea
Rooms
92 bedrooms, per Visit Kent: Classic, Accessible, Executive, Executive Family, Deluxe, Junior Suite and the Belcourt Suite.
Accessibility
A lift to the upper floors.
On site
- EV chargingNo
- Guest laundryNot stated
- GymYes
- Pets allowedNo
Nearby, by the hotel’s count
- Folkestone Central station~4 mi
- Gatwick~72 mi
Distances as Hythe Imperial or its brand lists them, on a square-root scale so short walks stay visible.
Also worth knowing
- AA 4-Star Hotel and AA Rosette, per its own site
- Spa free for residents, 1 pm on arrival to midday on departure
- Golf course
- Ashford International station about 30 minutes away, per the hotel
- No early check-in
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Check-in from 4 pm, out by 11 am; no early check-in.
- Free parking; no EV charging.
- The spa is free for residents from 1 pm on arrival to midday on departure.
- Its FAQ says it can't store luggage — wording that dates from the pandemic, so ask.
What we couldn’t confirm
- Whether breakfast is in your rate
- Whether a car can stay while you cruise
- Air conditioning
Every hotel fact here comes from Hythe Imperial’s own pages, read October 3, 2026, unless we name another source — so before you book, confirm whether breakfast is in your rate, and whether the desk will hold bags.
Worth a look alongside it
Around Hythe Imperial: the Dover cruise guide, Dover cruise parking and the splurge list.
Wake up on the Hythe seafront.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check Hythe Imperial for the night before. No payment on the form.
Hythe Imperial FAQ
Is Hythe Imperial AA rated?
Its own site says AA 4-Star Hotel and an AA Rosette, and Visit Kent credits the Coast Restaurant with the Rosette.
Can I use the spa at Hythe Imperial before a cruise?
Yes — residents use the spa and leisure facilities free from 1 pm on arrival to midday on departure, per the hotel's FAQ.
Does Hythe Imperial allow early check-in?
No. Check-in is from 4 pm, and the FAQ says there's no early check-in. Check-out is by 11 am.
How far is Hythe Imperial from Dover?
About 12.2 miles by road to the cruise terminals, around 18 minutes on empty roads, by our routing. The hotel itself only mentions Le Shuttle and Gatwick, roughly 72 miles.
Is there EV charging at Hythe Imperial?
No, per the hotel's FAQ. Parking is free.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
