Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
Tenth, tied on 57 with Gaido's, Hotel Lucine and the DoubleTree, and placed on parking price. Hilton prints long-term parking at $100 for 7 days, and it's a proper resort: a bistro, a lounge and a swim-up pool bar, with the beach across the street.
The week is the limit. Hilton doesn't publish a rate past 7 days, or say when the week starts.
There's no shuttle on Hilton's pages, and breakfast is extra.
A good pick for a week-long cruise. Ask about the Stay, Park & Go package at booking.
Book it if
- Drivers on a cruise of a week or less
- Anyone who wants a resort evening: bistro, lounge, pool bar
- Dog owners
Look elsewhere if
- You're on a cruise longer than 7 nights.
- You want breakfast included.
- You need a shuttle.
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what Hilton Island Resort publishes.
Galveston's beaches are across the street, says Hilton, and the outdoor pool has a seasonal swim-up bar. The 5400 Bistro does Gulf Coast seafood, the 5400 Lounge has cocktails and local beer, and dogs get a fenced walking area.
Hilton's pages list no cruise shuttle. The tourism bureau's listing mentions a Stay, Park & Go package with a port shuttle; Hilton's own pages don't, so it isn't scored. A taxi or rideshare covers the trip.
Paid, at the 5400 Bistro.
Hilton gives no distance to the terminals. It lists the city center 2.5 miles away. Your cruise line’s documents name your terminal and check-in window.
"Long term parking available for $100 for 7-days," per Hilton. Self-parking while you stay is $25 a day; valet $40.
Night-Before Score: 57 of 100
Scored only from what the hotel publishes. Here’s how the Night-Before Score works.
Getting here, and on to the ship
Pick where you’re coming from. Solid lines are rides the hotel publishes; a question mark is a leg you’ll arrange yourself.
Hilton lists no airport shuttle. It puts Hobby 50 miles away.
Hilton's pages list no cruise shuttle. The tourism bureau's listing mentions a Stay, Park & Go package with a port shuttle; Hilton's own pages don't, so it isn't scored.
Hilton gives no distance to the terminals. It lists the city center 2.5 miles away.
From HOU without a hotel shuttle
The Galveston Shuttle (Galveston Limousine Service) is $28 a person one way when you book online, from Curb Zone 4; Royal Galveston Shuttle is $35 a person shared. Neither Hobby nor the port publishes a taxi fare to the island. Rideshare picks up at Curb Zone 5.
Hilton lists no airport shuttle. It puts IAH 75 miles away.
Hilton's pages list no cruise shuttle. The tourism bureau's listing mentions a Stay, Park & Go package with a port shuttle; Hilton's own pages don't, so it isn't scored.
Hilton gives no distance to the terminals. It lists the city center 2.5 miles away.
From IAH without a hotel shuttle
IAH is about 1.5 hours from the port, the port says. The Galveston Shuttle charges the same $28 a person online as from Hobby; Royal Galveston Shuttle is $35 shared. No taxi fare to Galveston is published. The rental cars are at the Consolidated Rental Car Center, a five-minute shuttle ride.
"Long term parking available for $100 for 7-days," per Hilton. Self-parking while you stay is $25 a day; valet $40.
Parking for your stay: $25 a day; valet $40; long-term parking $100 for 7 days.
Hilton's pages list no cruise shuttle. The tourism bureau's listing mentions a Stay, Park & Go package with a port shuttle; Hilton's own pages don't, so it isn't scored.
Hilton gives no distance to the terminals. It lists the city center 2.5 miles away.
Landing on sail morning instead? Some cruise lines and shuttle companies run straight to the terminals; compare the airports and the landing guidelines.
Distance
No mileage statedHilton gives no distance to the terminals. It lists the city center 2.5 miles away.
Source: hilton.comShuttle departures
No shuttleThere’s no hotel shuttle to time, so a taxi or rideshare leaves when you’re ready. Your cruise documents give your terminal check-in window.
Source: hilton.comParking while you sail
Cruise parking
Long-term parking $100/week"Long term parking available for $100 for 7-days," per Hilton. Self-parking while you stay is $25 a day; valet $40.
Source: hilton.comThe port’s own lots
No rate publishedThe port doesn’t publish a rate. Its reservation page says prices depend on the lot, covered or uncovered, and how close it is to your terminal, and shows a number only once you enter your ship and date. MSC’s own Galveston FAQ quotes the port’s surface lots at $23 a day and its covered garage at $28.
Lots open at 9 AM on most sailing days and take cards only. Some are a walk to the terminal; the economy lots run a free shuttle every 5 to 7 minutes. Compare every parking option.
Source: portofgalveston.com| Hilton Island Resort | — |
| The port’s lots at MSC’s quoted $23 a day | — |
This hotel’s published rates before tax, against driving straight to the port’s own lots on sail morning, at the $23 a day MSC quotes. Hotel parking counts your hotel night plus every cruise night. This hotel publishes no shuttle, so add whatever your ride to the terminal costs.
The evening and the morning
The evening
Pool · Food or bar on siteGalveston's beaches are across the street, says Hilton, and the outdoor pool has a seasonal swim-up bar. The 5400 Bistro does Gulf Coast seafood, the 5400 Lounge has cocktails and local beer, and dogs get a fenced walking area.
Breakfast
Not freePaid, at the 5400 Bistro.
Address
5400 Seawall, across from the beach5400 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551
Hotel website
The fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as Hilton Island Resort publishes it. Where it says “not stated”, the hotel doesn’t say, and a quick call will settle it.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
Not stated by the hotel.
Resort fee
None stated
Wi-Fi
Free
Parking for your stay
$25 a day; valet $40; long-term parking $100 for 7 days
Cruise parking is in the parking section above.
Breakfast
Paid, at the 5400 Bistro
Pool
Outdoor pool with a seasonal swim-up bar
Pets
Dogs up to 50 lb, $125 non-refundable.
Food and drink on site
- 5400 BistroGulf Coast American with seafood; breakfast, lunch and dinner
- 5400 LoungeCocktails, wine and local craft beer
- Pool barSeasonal swim-up bar
Rooms
Standard rooms, a premium two-queen suite, a Chairman suite and connecting rooms.
Accessibility
An accessible premium king room with a sofa bed.
On site
- EV chargingYes
- Guest laundryNot stated
- Fitness centerYes
- Pets allowedYes
Nearby, by the hotel’s count
- City center2.5 mi
- Moody Gardens3 mi
Distances as the hotel or its brand lists them. Bars use a square-root scale so short walks stay visible.
Also worth knowing
- Long-term parking: $100 for 7 days
- Fenced dog-walking area
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Long-term parking $100 for 7 days; no rate is published beyond that.
- Self-parking $25 a day while you stay; valet $40.
- Hilton's offers page shows its generic Park, Stay & Go tile with no Galveston terms.
- Check-in 4 PM, check-out 11 AM. EV charging on site.
What we couldn’t confirm
- Whether the 7 days start at check-in or check-out
- Whether a port shuttle exists
Rates and policies are as the hotel published them on September 25, 2026. Confirm anything you’re counting on when you book.
Worth a look alongside it
Wake up on the mid-island Seawall, a few miles from the ship.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check Hilton Island Resort for the night before. No payment on the form.
Hilton Island Resort FAQ
Does Hilton Island Resort have a cruise shuttle?
Not that it publishes. Hilton's pages list no cruise shuttle. The tourism bureau's listing mentions a Stay, Park & Go package with a port shuttle; Hilton's own pages don't, so it isn't scored.
Does Hilton Island Resort have an airport shuttle?
Not that it publishes. From William P. Hobby: Hilton lists no airport shuttle. It puts Hobby 50 miles away. From George Bush Intercontinental: Hilton lists no airport shuttle. It puts IAH 75 miles away.
Can I park at Hilton Island Resort while I cruise?
Yes. "Long term parking available for $100 for 7-days," per Hilton. Self-parking while you stay is $25 a day; valet $40.
How far is Hilton Island Resort from the Galveston cruise terminals?
Hilton gives no distance to the terminals. It lists the city center 2.5 miles away. It sits in our Mid-island, 36th to 69th Street band.
Can I check in early or check out late on cruise days?
Check-in is 4:00 PM and check-out 11:00 AM. The hotel doesn't publish early or late terms, so ask when you book, not on the day.
Will the hotel hold my bags?
The hotel doesn't say. Most hotels will hold bags between check-out and a late shuttle, but that's a call to make, not an assumption.
Does the port shuttle come back for me after the cruise?
There's no hotel shuttle to the port. The Galveston Shuttle runs back to either Houston airport for $28 a person one way, booked online.
What's the breakfast timing on sail morning?
Paid, at the 5400 Bistro. Plan coffee on the way if you're leaving early.
Can I park an oversized vehicle or charge an EV?
EV charging: on site, per the hotel. Clearance and oversized parking aren't published. The port's two garages, the SMP garage and the Terminal 16 garage, have 6'8" clearance. RVs park in the economy lots, sometimes across two spaces.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
