Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach
The one hotel here that spells out how cruisers do it: book the cruise package, and the shuttle for four and your car are handled. It just won't print the price.
Pre-Cruise Hotels · Port of Galveston
Twenty hotels for a Port of Galveston cruise, scored on what gets you to the ship, not on reviews. Pick yours, and let the trip start the night before.
Three taps and we’ll show your best three hotels.
Change any answer and the picks change with it. They’re built from the same published facts as the ranking below. Nobody pays to be here.
Matching weighs your answers against each hotel’s published shuttle, parking, breakfast, pool, beach, kitchen and pet policies.
Five answers, and the page builds the whole thing: the hotel, the ride in, the ride to the ship, what happens to the car, what time to leave, and how you get home. Every figure is one the hotel, the port or the company publishes. Where nobody publishes a number, you’ll see that instead of a guess.
Who’s coming and the mood come from Your Match; the plan uses the same answers.
Partner links (transfers, rental cars, luggage storage) may earn Seabound Journeys a commission at no extra cost to you. They don't change the plan, which is built only from what each company publishes.
All three are by the beach. The Holiday Inn Resort and The San Luis sell cruise packages that handle the ride and the car; the Hyatt Select prints $10 a day to leave the car.
Filter by what matters for your night. Save the ones you like, or tick up to three to compare side by side — the order is ours, the shortlist is yours.
Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
All 20 hotels
The one hotel here that spells out how cruisers do it: book the cruise package, and the shuttle for four and your car are handled. It just won't print the price.
AAA Four Diamond on the beach, a Gulf-view balcony on every room, and a Stay, Park & Cruise package that covers the ride to the terminal and back. No price on the page.
The cheapest printed way to leave the car on the island: $10 a day, free while you stay, with free breakfast and the beach across the street.
A full kitchen, free breakfast, the beach, and a flat $80 to leave the car for a week. The only catch is the drive: it's at the far west end.
The same $10 a day as the Hyatt next door, printed in the hotel's own FAQ, with free breakfast and the beach at the door.
The only hotel in the twenty that runs its own cruise vans, with a sign-up sheet and a call-back system for the ride home. Choice can't decide if it's free.
The one hotel in the twenty you can walk from: 0.2 miles to the port by its own count, from a Victorian landmark on the Strand with a rooftop bar.
AAA Four Diamond, with a spa, two pools and a Stay, Park and Sail package that covers the night, the car and a ride for four. The price is the missing piece.
Stay one night, park free for the whole cruise, and eat at a Galveston seafood institution. You arrange your own ride, 2.8 miles.
A full-service beach resort with a printed $100 week of long-term parking. Hilton just doesn't say whether the week starts at check-in or check-out.
A 61-room boutique on the East End with a rooftop bar, a fine-dining restaurant, free parking, and a port ride you add when you book.
An East End beach hotel with a cruise shuttle you book by phone. Hilton won't say what it costs or where your car goes.
Galveston's grand old beach hotel, restored, with a swim-up pool bar and free chairs on the beach across the street. For the cruise, there's only an unpriced long-term parking listing.
A suite with a kitchen at the east end of the Seawall, close to the terminals, with free breakfast. Nothing on Hilton's pages about the cruise itself.
Free parking, free hot breakfast and a heated indoor pool, a few blocks from the beach. Nothing about the cruise.
Free breakfast on the beach, a heated pool, and IHG pitching it to Carnival, Disney and Royal Caribbean cruisers. It stops short of a shuttle or cruise parking.
Across from Stewart Beach, a hot breakfast buffet, and a line on its own site about cruisers staying before and after. That's as far as the cruise help goes.
The old La Quinta East Beach, now a Wingate: free breakfast across from the beach at the east end. No word on cruisers.
The same $80 week of cruise parking as the TownePlace next door, with a real pool scene and a bar. Breakfast costs extra.
The one mainland hotel that advertises free cruise parking. The terms aren't printed anywhere.
No hotel on the list has all of those. Try dropping one filter.
Booking.com lists airport taxis you can book ahead. Check the pickup point, the price and the cancellation terms before you book.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.
Pick how you’re arriving. The board counts what each hotel publishes, the table lights up that column, and the companies below run from the airport to the port.
Both Houston airports are 40-plus miles from the island, and none of the twenty runs a free airport shuttle. A few list a paid car or limo; for everyone else it’s a shared shuttle, your cruise line’s transfer, a rideshare or a rental car. The companies below publish their fares.
William P. Hobby · 23.7–50 miles from these hotels, by their own counts
Shared shuttle from either airport; its stops include major Galveston hotels and the cruise terminals. Its schedule page says 6 AM to 10 PM daily, its airport page 24/7. Booked by phone it's $55 from HOU and $65 from IAH. Two 30-inch bags and a carry-on each, $20 per extra bag each way; a 50% cancellation fee. Hobby's airport site lists it at Curb Zone 4 and says book two days ahead.
Shared rides leave hourly, 8 AM to 5 PM daily; private cars run around the clock. It suggests an 8 or 9 AM departure on sail day and booking two to four weeks ahead, with a refund up to 48 hours out.
Runs 5 AM to 8 PM, seven days, from both airports to Galveston hotels and the cruise terminal. Its page summary says $30 one way; the page itself says from $45.
For Carnival guests. From Hobby your flight must land by noon; from IAH by 11:30 AM. Coming home, Carnival says not to book a flight before 1:30 PM.
For MSC guests: land at least 6 hours before the ship leaves, and fly home no sooner than 6 hours after it arrives. Book up to 7 days out, 877-665-4655.
Viator lists a handful of Galveston port transfers, all private: a car between the port and Hobby from about $151, an SUV for six from about $375.
Rideshare picks up at Hobby's Curb Zone 5, by baggage carousel 4. At IAH it's outside baggage claim: Door A-114, Doors C-103 and C-104, or Terminal E's Level 2, Zone 5. The port says Uber and Lyft are its rideshare providers.
Driving? The column to watch is “While you sail”. Compare hotel parking with the port’s own garages on Galveston cruise parking, compared, or price it out in the parking math below.
| Hotel | To the ship | While you sail | From HOU | From IAH |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Shuttle in the cruise package | Car parked in the package | Not stated | Not stated | |
Hobby (HOU)IHG doesn't mention an airport shuttle. It puts Scholes International, the island’s private-aviation airport, about 3.3 miles away. Bush Intercontinental (IAH)IHG doesn't mention an airport shuttle. It puts Scholes International, the island’s private-aviation airport, about 3.3 miles away. To the shipIHG says cruisers "must be booked on one of our cruise packages", which include a shuttle for up to four people; seats must be reserved. The price and the departure times aren't published. | ||||
| Shuttle in the cruise package | Parking in the cruise package | Not stated | Not stated | |
Hobby (HOU)The resort doesn't mention an airport shuttle. Bush Intercontinental (IAH)The resort doesn't mention an airport shuttle. To the shipThe resort's Stay, Park & Cruise package includes "pre- and post-cruise transportation to and from the Galveston Cruise Ship Terminal". Its specials page doesn't publish the price, how many ride, or the times. | ||||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking $10/day | No shuttlethe hotel says so | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
Hobby (HOU)Hyatt says the hotel has no shuttle. It puts Hobby, the closest airport, about 41 miles away. Bush Intercontinental (IAH)Hyatt says the hotel has no shuttle. To the shipHyatt's FAQ is blunt: "The hotel does not have a shuttle." It's a taxi or a rideshare, about 4.5 miles. | ||||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking $80 up to 7 days | $60 one wayGalveston Limousine Service | $160 one wayGalveston Limousine Service | |
Hobby (HOU)Marriott lists Galveston Limousine Service from Hobby at $60 one way, $120 round trip, reservation required. It puts HOU 41.9 miles away. Bush Intercontinental (IAH)Marriott lists Galveston Limousine Service from IAH at $160 one way, reservation required. It puts IAH 69.9 miles away. To the shipMarriott lists no cruise shuttle. The page mentions a "Perfect Cruise Experience" offer, but its terms page redirects to Marriott's general offers, so we can't tell you what's in it. | ||||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking $10/day | Not stated | Not stated | |
Hobby (HOU)The hotel doesn't mention an airport shuttle. Bush Intercontinental (IAH)The hotel doesn't mention an airport shuttle. To the shipThe FAQ says: "the hotel does not currently provide shuttle service to the cruise terminal." | ||||
| Hotel shuttle, fee unclear | One car free: ask how long | Not stated | Not stated | |
Hobby (HOU)Choice doesn't mention an airport shuttle. Bush Intercontinental (IAH)Choice doesn't mention an airport shuttle. To the shipIt runs its own cruise shuttle, two vans of ten seats each (six with a scooter): you sign up for a drop-off time, and on the way back they collect guests in the order they call. Choice's page calls it "a complimentary service" in one place and says "charges apply" in another, so ask. | ||||
| 0.2 miles: walk it | Cruise parking $160: terms differ | No shuttlethe hotel says so | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
Hobby (HOU)The hotel says it doesn't offer airport transportation. Marriott puts Hobby 41.6 miles away. Bush Intercontinental (IAH)The hotel says it doesn't offer airport transportation. Marriott puts IAH 72.4 miles away. To the shipThe hotel puts the port a 4-minute walk away, 0.2 miles, and also runs a cruise shuttle arranged at check-in. It's $25 a person round trip on its own FAQ and $15 on Marriott's page, so ask which is current. | ||||
| Shuttle for 4 in the package | Parking in the package | Not stated | Not stated | |
Hobby (HOU)Moody Gardens doesn't mention an airport shuttle. Bush Intercontinental (IAH)Moody Gardens doesn't mention an airport shuttle. To the shipThe Stay, Park and Sail package includes round-trip transportation to and from the port for up to four guests, on any embarkation day. The price isn't published. | ||||
| No shuttle stated | Free cruise parking | Not stated | Not stated | |
Hobby (HOU)The hotel doesn't mention an airport shuttle. Bush Intercontinental (IAH)The hotel doesn't mention an airport shuttle. To the ship"We do not offer a shuttle to the cruise terminals," says the hotel, and its cruise page lists taxi and shuttle companies, plus Uber and Lyft. A tourism-bureau listing advertises departure-day port transportation; the hotel's own page wins. | ||||
| No shuttle stated | Long-term parking $100/week | No shuttlethe hotel says so | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
Hobby (HOU)Hilton lists no airport shuttle. It puts Hobby 50 miles away. Bush Intercontinental (IAH)Hilton lists no airport shuttle. It puts IAH 75 miles away. To the shipHilton's pages list no cruise shuttle. The tourism bureau's listing mentions a Stay, Park & Go package with a port shuttle; Hilton's own pages don't, so it isn't scored. | ||||
| Port ride: add it at booking | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | Not stated | |
Hobby (HOU)The hotel doesn't mention an airport shuttle. Bush Intercontinental (IAH)The hotel doesn't mention an airport shuttle. To the ship"If you need a ride to and from, please add on when booking," says the hotel's FAQ. The price isn't published. | ||||
| Cruise shuttle: call for price | Cruise parking unconfirmed | No shuttlethe hotel says so | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
Hobby (HOU)Hilton lists no airport shuttle. It puts Hobby 43 miles away. Bush Intercontinental (IAH)Hilton lists no airport shuttle. It puts IAH 72 miles away. To the ship"Cruise shuttle available, call hotel to inquire," says Hilton. No price or schedule. | ||||
| No shuttle stated | Long-term parking: ask price | $45 round tripClear Lake & Galveston Shuttle Bus | $60 round tripClear Lake & Galveston Shuttle Bus | |
Hobby (HOU)Marriott lists the Clear Lake & Galveston Shuttle Bus from Hobby at $45 round trip, reservation required. It puts HOU 42.1 miles away. Bush Intercontinental (IAH)Marriott lists the Clear Lake & Galveston Shuttle Bus from IAH at $60 round trip, reservation required. It puts IAH 70.7 miles away. To the ship"This hotel does not provide shuttle service," says Marriott. | ||||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | No shuttlethe hotel says so | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
Hobby (HOU)Hilton lists no airport shuttle. It puts Hobby 47 miles away. Bush Intercontinental (IAH)Hilton lists no airport shuttle. It puts IAH 58 miles away. To the shipHilton lists no cruise shuttle. The tourism bureau's list says there is one; Hilton's pages don't, so it isn't scored. | ||||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | Not stated | |
Hobby (HOU)Choice doesn't mention an airport shuttle. Bush Intercontinental (IAH)Choice doesn't mention an airport shuttle. To the shipChoice lists no shuttle. | ||||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | No shuttlethe hotel says so | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
Hobby (HOU)IHG says there's no complimentary local shuttle, and puts Hobby about 49 miles away. Bush Intercontinental (IAH)IHG says there's no complimentary local shuttle. To the shipIHG says "there is not a complimentary local area shuttle available". | ||||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | Not stated | |
Hobby (HOU)Best Western doesn't mention an airport shuttle. It puts Hobby 41.7 miles away and IAH 66.8. Bush Intercontinental (IAH)Best Western doesn't mention an airport shuttle. It puts Hobby 41.7 miles away and IAH 66.8. To the shipThe hotel lists no shuttle. | ||||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | Not stated | |
Hobby (HOU)Wyndham doesn't mention an airport shuttle. It puts Hobby 42 miles away. Bush Intercontinental (IAH)Wyndham doesn't mention an airport shuttle. It puts Hobby 42 miles away. To the shipWyndham lists no shuttle. | ||||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking $80 up to 7 days | $110 one wayLimo service | $160 one wayGalveston Limousine Service | |
Hobby (HOU)Marriott lists a limo service from Hobby at $110 one way, reservation required. It puts HOU 41.9 miles away. Bush Intercontinental (IAH)Marriott lists Galveston Limousine Service from IAH at $160 one way, reservation required. It puts IAH 69.9 miles away. To the shipMarriott lists no cruise shuttle. It advertises a "Perfect Cruise Experience" offer, but the terms page redirects to Marriott's general offers. | ||||
| No shuttle stated | Free cruise parking: ask terms | Not stated | Not stated | |
Hobby (HOU)Best Western doesn't mention an airport shuttle. It puts Hobby 23.7 miles away and IAH 51. Bush Intercontinental (IAH)Best Western doesn't mention an airport shuttle. It puts Hobby 23.7 miles away and IAH 51. To the shipBest Western lists no shuttle. | ||||
These twenty are ranked for an easy sail morning, not for the room. In Galveston the two overlap: the island’s two AAA Four Diamond hotels, The San Luis and Moody Gardens, both sell a cruise package with the ride, and both make our top ten. No hotel here is Five Diamond or has a Forbes rating.
The terminals are on Harborside Drive, on the bay side of the island. Most hotels line the Seawall on the Gulf side, a few miles across town. Nine of the twenty are downtown or on the East End, the closest stretch, and one of them, the Tremont House, is a 4-minute walk. Six are mid-island, where the hotels that give a distance say 2.8 to 4.5 miles. Four are out west, Moody Gardens among them, and one is on the mainland in Texas City.
Harbor House at Pier 21 is closer to the ships than anything here, but its site wouldn’t let us read enough to score it. It’s under Just Missed.
Numbers are the ranking. Each pin sits where the hotel is — the bands group them by distance, the way we score it.
Five things decide how easy the night before is, and each one is scored only from what the hotel publishes on its own site or its brand’s.
If a hotel doesn't say it, it scores zero there — not a guess, zero. Cruise blogs, tourism-board flyers and expired offers don't count, and when a hotel’s own pages contradict each other, we score the claim as unconfirmed and tell you. Each page lists exactly what we couldn't confirm.
By band: downtown and the East End 30, mid-island from 36th to 69th Street 25, the West End 20, the mainland from Texas City to League City 15, Hobby and south Houston 10.
Hotel-run shuttle, free or with a published price, 25. A ride only inside a package or offer 20. The hotel’s own ride with no published fare 15. The hotel puts the terminals within half a mile, so you walk 15. A partner shuttle 10.
Published rate to leave the car 20, including a rate that starts when you check out. Offered, price unpublished 14.
Sail mornings start early. A free breakfast on site scores 10.
On the beach 6 (across Seawall Boulevard from the sand counts, when the hotel says so), pool 3, food or a bar on site 3, a kitchen in the room 3.
Ties are broken in order: the lower published parking rate (a weekly rate counts at its daily equivalent), any stated way to the ship, free breakfast, parking on site, the closer stated mileage, the lower guest parking price, then the alphabet. That’s why the Holiday Inn Resort sits above The San Luis, Comfort Suites above the Tremont House, Gaido’s above the Hilton, Hotel Lucine above the DoubleTree, and the Best Western Texas City above the Candlewood Suites, which just missed. Four East End hotels tie at 49: free guest parking puts the Comfort Inn first, and the last two split on the alphabet.
What's left out is deliberate. Room rates change daily, so they aren't scored. Neither are guest-review scores — they measure a stay in general, not a sail morning.
The ranking tells you which hotel makes the morning easiest. Your dates and your budget decide the rest, so price your own night before you book the winner.
Set your cruise length. The six hotels that publish a leave-the-car rate are priced next to the port’s own lots. The port prints no rate, so we use the $23 a day MSC quotes for them.
| #3 Hyatt Select | — |
| #4 TownePlace Suites | — |
| #5 Beachfront Palms | — |
| #9 Gaido's Seaside Inn | — |
| #10 Hilton Island Resort | — |
| #19 Courtyard Galveston | — |
| The port’s lots at MSC’s quoted $23 a day | — |
Parking only, at each hotel’s published rate before tax. None of these six runs a shuttle, so every row reads “+ ride” and no row gets “Lowest”: add a cab or rideshare both ways. The Hyatt Select and Beachfront Palms are free while you stay and $10 a day after; Gaido’s is free for the whole cruise with your night. The TownePlace and the Courtyard charge a flat $80 for up to 7 days and $120 for more. For the Hilton we count its $25 self-parking for the night you stay plus the $100 week, since Hilton doesn’t say when the week starts, and it publishes no rate past 7 days. The port publishes no rate at all, so its row uses the $23 a day MSC quotes for the port’s surface lots, counting the day you park and the day you leave. Hotels that sell parking only inside a package, or without a price, aren’t priced. Room rates aren’t included.
For the port’s lots, lot by lot, and the off-site options, see Galveston cruise parking, compared.
We checked 57 hotels. These came closest to the top twenty, with their scores and the reason each fell short.
| Hotel | Score | Why it missed |
|---|---|---|
| Candlewood Suites Galveston | 45 | Full kitchens, free laundry, and extended cruise parking priced at the front desk, on 61st Street. Tied with No. 20 and out on breakfast: the Candlewood serves none. |
| Tru by Hilton Galveston | 44 | Free breakfast, $10 parking and the Gulf across the street at 4302 Seawall. Nothing for cruisers on Hilton's pages. |
| Residence Inn by Marriott Galveston Island | 44 | Full kitchens, free breakfast and a lobby bar on Avenue U. Marriott says no shuttle and nothing about cruise parking. |
| Seabreeze Hotel, an Ascend Collection Hotel | 43 | Free parking and breakfast on the East End, a "short drive" from the terminals per Choice. Small rooms, and nothing for cruisers. |
| La Quinta Inn & Suites by Wyndham Galveston West Seawall | 41 | Free breakfast and parking, and a bar, four miles from the terminal by Wyndham's count. Nothing about cruise parking. |
| Home2 Suites by Hilton Galveston | 41 | Kitchens, free breakfast and $10 parking at 4302 Seawall. Nothing about the cruise. |
| Holiday Inn Express & Suites Galveston West-Seawall | 39 | Free breakfast and free covered parking across from the beach at 86th Street. IHG says no shuttle, and parking is for registered guests only. |
| Best Western Plus Galveston Suites | 39 | All suites across from the Gulf, free breakfast, 3.5 miles from the cruise terminal by Best Western's count. Nothing on cruise parking or a shuttle. |
| Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston | 38 | Free breakfast, 3 miles from the port by Hilton's count, but Hilton says plainly "cruise parking not available". |
| SpringHill Suites Galveston Island | 38 | Free breakfast and an indoor pool on Broadway. Marriott says "No Cruise parking available"; a third-party site claims a cruise package, which Marriott's page overrules. |
Not ranked: Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21. Right by the terminals at Pier 21, but almost every page of its own site loads its content with scripts we couldn’t read; its readable pages say only “near the Cruise Port”, so we can’t score it. Call it directly.; Fairfield by Marriott Inn & Suites Galveston. New at 2300 Seawall; Marriott’s room page says “Reservations are not yet available”, so it isn’t ranked yet.; La Quinta Inn Galveston East Beach. Now the Wingate by Wyndham Galveston Beachfront at Seawall, No. 18 here.; Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront. Now the Hyatt Select Galveston - Beachfront, No. 3 here.; Beachcomber Inn. Now the Motel 6 Classic Galveston Beach - Seawall.; Hotel Galvez & Spa. Now the Grand Galvez Resort, Autograph Collection, No. 13 here.
None of the twenty runs a free airport shuttle. Both Houston airports are 40-plus miles from the island: Hobby about 45 minutes by the port’s count, IAH about an hour and a half. The TownePlace and the Courtyard list a limo from Hobby, at $60 and $110 one way, and Marriott lists a shuttle bus from Hobby for the Grand Galvez at $45 round trip.
Most flyers take a shared shuttle. The Galveston Shuttle is $28 a person one way from either airport, booked online, and Carnival and MSC sell their own transfers. The Getting There table shows what every hotel publishes from each airport, and the planner turns your answers into a morning.
Tours, tickets and things to do are on Booking.com. Book the day before, not sail day.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.
On our scoring it's Holiday Inn Resort Galveston - On The Beach, tied on 71 with The San Luis and placed first because it prints its guest-parking rate. IHG says cruisers must book a cruise package, which covers a shuttle for up to four and parking for one car while you're aboard; the price isn't published. The San Luis, AAA Four Diamond, sells a Stay, Park & Cruise package with the ride both ways. The Hyatt Select is third: $10 a day to leave the car, free breakfast, and the port about 4.5 miles away. Best on paper, not best for everyone: the matcher above weighs your own answers.
Seven of our twenty publish a ride or a walk. The Holiday Inn Resort, The San Luis and Moody Gardens include one in a cruise package; Moody Gardens and the Holiday Inn say it takes four. Comfort Suites Beachside runs two ten-seat vans, Hotel Lucine adds a ride when you book, and the DoubleTree has a shuttle you call about. The Tremont House runs one too, but it's a 4-minute walk. None of them publishes a fare you can count on. Tourism-bureau lists name more hotels with shuttles; we count only what the hotel itself says.
At six, with a published rate: Gaido's Seaside Inn is free for the whole cruise with your night, the Hyatt Select and Beachfront Palms charge $10 a day, the TownePlace and the Courtyard $80 for up to 7 days, and the Hilton $100 for 7 days. Seven more offer it without a firm price: cruise packages at the Holiday Inn Resort, The San Luis and Moody Gardens; the Tremont House's $160 cruise parking, whose terms its own pages disagree on; one free car per room at Comfort Suites Beachside; a long-term parking listing at the Grand Galvez; and the Best Western Texas City's advertised free cruise parking.
Often, yes. The port publishes no rate; MSC quotes its surface lots at $23 a day, which comes to $184 for a 7-night cruise counting the day you park and the day you leave. The Hyatt Select's $10 a day comes to $70, the TownePlace's flat week is $80, and Gaido's is free. None of those runs a shuttle, so add a cab both ways. Run your own numbers in the calculator above.
None of our twenty publishes a free ride from Hobby or IAH; both airports are 40-plus miles from the island. TownePlace Suites, Grand Galvez and Courtyard Galveston list a paid car or limo from the airport. The Galveston Shuttle (Galveston Limousine Service) is $28 a person one way booked online, from either airport, and Carnival and MSC sell their own transfers.
Per the port: Royal Caribbean from Terminal 10; MSC and Norwegian from Terminal 16; Carnival from Terminal 25, which also takes some Disney and Princess sailings; Disney from Terminal 28. Our Galveston guide keeps the dated line-up of who sails when. Your cruise documents name your terminal.
The terminals are on Harborside Drive, on the bay side of the island; most hotels line the Seawall on the Gulf side. The Tremont House, downtown on the Strand, is the one that publishes a walk: 0.2 miles. On the Seawall, the hotels that print a distance say 2.8 miles (Gaido's, to Terminals 25 and 28) to 4.5 (the Hyatt Select). The West End hotels past 70th Street are farther out, and the one mainland pick is in Texas City, over the causeway.
Hotel rates move every day and spike on busy sailing days, so any number we printed would be wrong by the time you read it. We rank on what doesn't change daily — shuttles, parking policies, breakfast — and leave the live rate to the booking site for your exact date. Price it for your own night before you assume the No. 1 is the cheap one.
Tell us your sail date and we'll match the hotel, the ride and the cruise itself. A real advisor does the legwork. No obligation.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
Tell us the sailing and who’s coming. A real advisor checks rates for that night and replies within one business day.
We’ll check rates for your night and reply within one business day.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.