Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
Eighth, and the most complete cruise package on the island. Stay, Park and Sail bundles the night, parking for the cruise and a round trip to the port for up to four, at a AAA Four Diamond hotel.
There's a spa, an indoor and an outdoor pool, and Shearn's for dinner.
It's not on the beach, the package price isn't published, and a $20 nightly resort fee starts September 28, 2026.
A strong pick for families who drive in. Ask for the package rate, and whether the car is valeted or parked under cover.
Book it if
- Families who want the ride for four handled
- Anyone who wants a spa and two pools
- Dog owners
Look elsewhere if
- You want the beach.
- You want the price before you book.
- You'd rather not pay a resort fee.
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what Moody Gardens Hotel publishes.
AAA Four Diamond since 2004, next door to the Moody Gardens pyramids, with Shearn's Seafood and Prime Steaks, a lobby bar and a pool bar. There's a tropical outdoor pool, an indoor lap pool, a full-service spa and a sauna.
The Stay, Park and Sail package includes round-trip transportation to and from the port for up to four guests, on any embarkation day. The price isn't published.
Not included; breakfast packages are sold when you book direct.
The hotel gives no distance to the terminals. It's at Moody Gardens on Offatts Bayou, west of downtown. Your cruise line’s documents name your terminal and check-in window.
The same package covers your car while you sail, at a price that isn't published: covered parking for up to 8 days per the FAQ, or valet per the packages page. A second car is $60 for up to 7 nights.
Night-Before Score: 60 of 100
Scored only from what the hotel publishes. Here’s how the Night-Before Score works.
Getting here, and on to the ship
Pick where you’re coming from. Solid lines are rides the hotel publishes; a question mark is a leg you’ll arrange yourself.
Moody Gardens doesn't mention an airport shuttle.
The Stay, Park and Sail package includes round-trip transportation to and from the port for up to four guests, on any embarkation day. The price isn't published.
The hotel gives no distance to the terminals. It's at Moody Gardens on Offatts Bayou, west of downtown.
From HOU without a hotel shuttle
The Galveston Shuttle (Galveston Limousine Service) is $28 a person one way when you book online, from Curb Zone 4; Royal Galveston Shuttle is $35 a person shared. Neither Hobby nor the port publishes a taxi fare to the island. Rideshare picks up at Curb Zone 5.
Moody Gardens doesn't mention an airport shuttle.
The Stay, Park and Sail package includes round-trip transportation to and from the port for up to four guests, on any embarkation day. The price isn't published.
The hotel gives no distance to the terminals. It's at Moody Gardens on Offatts Bayou, west of downtown.
From IAH without a hotel shuttle
IAH is about 1.5 hours from the port, the port says. The Galveston Shuttle charges the same $28 a person online as from Hobby; Royal Galveston Shuttle is $35 shared. No taxi fare to Galveston is published. The rental cars are at the Consolidated Rental Car Center, a five-minute shuttle ride.
The same package covers your car while you sail, at a price that isn't published: covered parking for up to 8 days per the FAQ, or valet per the packages page. A second car is $60 for up to 7 nights.
Parking for your stay: Free self-parking, in the resort amenities fee; premium covered $30.
The Stay, Park and Sail package includes round-trip transportation to and from the port for up to four guests, on any embarkation day. The price isn't published.
The hotel gives no distance to the terminals. It's at Moody Gardens on Offatts Bayou, west of downtown.
Landing on sail morning instead? Some cruise lines and shuttle companies run straight to the terminals; compare the airports and the landing guidelines.
Distance
No mileage statedThe hotel gives no distance to the terminals. It's at Moody Gardens on Offatts Bayou, west of downtown.
Source: moodygardens.comShuttle departures
Not publishedThe hotel doesn’t publish set times. Ask at check-in, and leave slack on a busy sailing morning. Your cruise documents give your terminal check-in window.
Source: moodygardens.comParking while you sail
Cruise parking
Parking in the packageThe same package covers your car while you sail, at a price that isn't published: covered parking for up to 8 days per the FAQ, or valet per the packages page. A second car is $60 for up to 7 nights.
Source: moodygardens.comThe port’s own lots
No rate publishedThe port doesn’t publish a rate. Its reservation page says prices depend on the lot, covered or uncovered, and how close it is to your terminal, and shows a number only once you enter your ship and date. MSC’s own Galveston FAQ quotes the port’s surface lots at $23 a day and its covered garage at $28.
Lots open at 9 AM on most sailing days and take cards only. Some are a walk to the terminal; the economy lots run a free shuttle every 5 to 7 minutes. Compare every parking option.
Source: portofgalveston.comThe evening and the morning
The evening
Pool · Food or bar on siteAAA Four Diamond since 2004, next door to the Moody Gardens pyramids, with Shearn's Seafood and Prime Steaks, a lobby bar and a pool bar. There's a tropical outdoor pool, an indoor lap pool, a full-service spa and a sauna.
Breakfast
Not freeNot included; breakfast packages are sold when you book direct.
Address
Moody Gardens, on Offatts Bayou1 Hope Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77554
Hotel website
The fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as Moody Gardens Hotel publishes it. Where it says “not stated”, the hotel doesn’t say, and a quick call will settle it.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
Not stated by the hotel.
Resort fee
From Sept 28, 2026: $20 plus tax a night (parking, Wi-Fi, pools, gym, bikes, a 10% spa discount)
Wi-Fi
In the resort amenities fee
Parking for your stay
Free self-parking, in the resort amenities fee; premium covered $30
Cruise parking is in the parking section above.
Breakfast
Paid; breakfast packages when you book direct
Pool
A tropical outdoor pool and an indoor lap pool
Pets
Dog-friendly, for a fee the FAQ doesn't state; dogs can't go into the attractions.
Food and drink on site
- Shearn's Seafood and Prime SteaksThe restaurant
- Cafe in the ParkCasual
- Moody Brews MarketplaceCoffee and grab-and-go
- Lobby bar and pool barOn site
Rooms
Guest rooms, junior suites and suites.
Accessibility
The hotel’s pages don’t detail accessible rooms. Call before you book if you need one.
On site
- EV chargingYes
- Guest laundryNot stated
- Fitness centerYes
- Pets allowedYes
Also worth knowing
- AAA Four Diamond since 2004
- Stay, Park and Sail: one night, parking for the cruise and a round trip to the port for up to four; price not published
- A second car is $60 for up to 7 nights
- Full-service spa and sauna
Before you book
Worth knowing
- The Stay, Park and Sail price isn't published; a second car is $60 for up to 7 nights.
- The FAQ says covered parking for up to 8 days; the packages page says valet.
- A resort amenities fee of $20 plus tax a night applies from September 28, 2026. Check-in 4 PM, check-out noon.
What we couldn’t confirm
- The package price
- Whether the car is valeted or self-parked under cover
Rates and policies are as the hotel published them on September 25, 2026. Confirm anything you’re counting on when you book.
Worth a look alongside it
Wake up on the West End, the far end of the Seawall.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check Moody Gardens Hotel for the night before. No payment on the form.
Moody Gardens Hotel FAQ
Does Moody Gardens Hotel have a cruise shuttle?
Only with a package or offer. The Stay, Park and Sail package includes round-trip transportation to and from the port for up to four guests, on any embarkation day. The price isn't published.
Does Moody Gardens Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Not that it publishes. From William P. Hobby: Moody Gardens doesn't mention an airport shuttle. From George Bush Intercontinental: Moody Gardens doesn't mention an airport shuttle.
Can I park at Moody Gardens Hotel while I cruise?
Yes, but the price isn't published. The same package covers your car while you sail, at a price that isn't published: covered parking for up to 8 days per the FAQ, or valet per the packages page. A second car is $60 for up to 7 nights.
How far is Moody Gardens Hotel from the Galveston cruise terminals?
The hotel gives no distance to the terminals. It's at Moody Gardens on Offatts Bayou, west of downtown. It sits in our West End band.
Can I check in early or check out late on cruise days?
Check-in is 4:00 PM and check-out 12:00 PM. The hotel doesn't publish early or late terms, so ask when you book, not on the day.
Will the hotel hold my bags?
The hotel doesn't say. Most hotels will hold bags between check-out and a late shuttle, but that's a call to make, not an assumption.
Does the port shuttle come back for me after the cruise?
The Stay, Park and Sail package includes round-trip transportation to and from the port for up to four guests, on any embarkation day. The price isn't published.
What's the breakfast timing on sail morning?
Paid; breakfast packages when you book direct. Plan coffee on the way if you're leaving early.
Can I park an oversized vehicle or charge an EV?
EV charging: on site, per the hotel. Clearance and oversized parking aren't published. The port's two garages, the SMP garage and the Terminal 16 garage, have 6'8" clearance. RVs park in the economy lots, sometimes across two spaces.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
