Pre-Cruise Hotels · Port of Galveston

2Second of 20 · Mid-island, 36th to 69th Street

The San Luis Resort, Spa & Conference Center

AAA Four Diamond on the beach, a Gulf-view balcony on every room, and a Stay, Park & Cruise package that covers the ride to the terminal and back. No price on the page.

Shuttle in the cruise packageParking in the cruise packageNo free breakfast
Booking.com rates

No payment on the form. We check rates for your night and reply within one business day.

71of 100
Night-Before Score
The verdict

Second, tied with the Holiday Inn Resort on 71 and behind it only because the Holiday Inn prints its guest-parking rate. The San Luis is AAA Four Diamond, every standard room has a Gulf-view balcony, and its Stay, Park & Cruise package includes the ride to the terminal and back.

It's the nicest room in our twenty. There's a spa, three restaurants, and an adults-only floor with free valet.

The package price isn't published. A third-party site lists a $28.75 nightly resort fee that the resort's own pages don't mention.

Book the package by phone, and ask about the resort fee.

Book it if

  • Couples who want a balcony over the Gulf the night before
  • Drivers who want the ride and the car handled in one package
  • Anyone who wants a spa and a proper dinner

Look elsewhere if

  • You want the package price before you book.
  • You're under 21.
  • You want breakfast included.
Sail Morning

Your night before, from here

From check-in to the gangway, using only what The San Luis publishes.

Evening
Check in and settle

A 32-acre resort on the beach, where every one of the 250 standard rooms has a Gulf-view balcony and Club Ten, the adults-only tenth floor, adds free valet. The Cove pool has cabanas, there's a spa and salon, and Blake's Bistro, Grotto and The Steakhouse are on site.

Before bed
Confirm the package ride

The resort's Stay, Park & Cruise package includes "pre- and post-cruise transportation to and from the Galveston Cruise Ship Terminal". Its specials page doesn't publish the price, how many ride, or the times.

Sail morning
Breakfast, your call

Not included; the resort sells a Bed & Breakfast package with breakfast at Blake's Bistro.

Heading out
To the terminal

The resort gives no distance to the terminals. Your cruise line’s documents name your terminal and check-in window.

While you sail
Your car

Parking comes in the same Stay, Park & Cruise package; the rate and the number of nights aren't on the resort's pages. A third-party booking site lists extended parking at $108.25 a week, which isn't the resort's figure.

Score

Night-Before Score: 71 of 100

71No. 2 of 20

Scored only from what the hotel publishes. Here’s how the Night-Before Score works.

To the Ship

Getting here, and on to the ship

Pick where you’re coming from. Solid lines are rides the hotel publishes; a question mark is a leg you’ll arrange yourself.

? miles not stated no mileage stated HOUNo. 2The ship
Leg 1 · William P. Hobby to the hotel
Not stated

The resort doesn't mention an airport shuttle.

Leg 2 · Hotel to the ship
Shuttle in the cruise package

The resort's Stay, Park & Cruise package includes "pre- and post-cruise transportation to and from the Galveston Cruise Ship Terminal". Its specials page doesn't publish the price, how many ride, or the times.

The resort gives no distance to the terminals.

From HOU without a hotel shuttle

The Galveston Shuttle (Galveston Limousine Service) is $28 a person one way when you book online, from Curb Zone 4; Royal Galveston Shuttle is $35 a person shared. Neither Hobby nor the port publishes a taxi fare to the island. Rideshare picks up at Curb Zone 5.

? miles not stated no mileage stated IAHNo. 2The ship
Leg 1 · George Bush Intercontinental to the hotel
Not stated

The resort doesn't mention an airport shuttle.

Leg 2 · Hotel to the ship
Shuttle in the cruise package

The resort's Stay, Park & Cruise package includes "pre- and post-cruise transportation to and from the Galveston Cruise Ship Terminal". Its specials page doesn't publish the price, how many ride, or the times.

The resort gives no distance to the terminals.

From IAH without a hotel shuttle

IAH is about 1.5 hours from the port, the port says. The Galveston Shuttle charges the same $28 a person online as from Hobby; Royal Galveston Shuttle is $35 shared. No taxi fare to Galveston is published. The rental cars are at the Consolidated Rental Car Center, a five-minute shuttle ride.

your drive no mileage stated Your carNo. 2The ship
Leg 1 · Drive in and park
Parking in the cruise package

Parking comes in the same Stay, Park & Cruise package; the rate and the number of nights aren't on the resort's pages. A third-party booking site lists extended parking at $108.25 a week, which isn't the resort's figure.

Parking for your stay: Not stated on the resort’s pages; Club Ten includes free valet.

Leg 2 · Hotel to the ship
Shuttle in the cruise package

The resort's Stay, Park & Cruise package includes "pre- and post-cruise transportation to and from the Galveston Cruise Ship Terminal". Its specials page doesn't publish the price, how many ride, or the times.

The resort gives no distance to the terminals.

Landing on sail morning instead? Some cruise lines and shuttle companies run straight to the terminals; compare the airports and the landing guidelines.

Distance

No mileage stated

The resort gives no distance to the terminals.

Source: sanluisresort.com

Shuttle departures

Not published

The hotel doesn’t publish set times. Ask at check-in, and leave slack on a busy sailing morning. Your cruise documents give your terminal check-in window.

Source: sanluisresort.com
Parking

Parking while you sail

Cruise parking

Parking in the cruise package

Parking comes in the same Stay, Park & Cruise package; the rate and the number of nights aren't on the resort's pages. A third-party booking site lists extended parking at $108.25 a week, which isn't the resort's figure.

Source: sanluisresort.com

The port’s own lots

No rate published

The port doesn’t publish a rate. Its reservation page says prices depend on the lot, covered or uncovered, and how close it is to your terminal, and shows a number only once you enter your ship and date. MSC’s own Galveston FAQ quotes the port’s surface lots at $23 a day and its covered garage at $28.

Lots open at 9 AM on most sailing days and take cards only. Some are a walk to the terminal; the economy lots run a free shuttle every 5 to 7 minutes. Compare every parking option.

Source: portofgalveston.com
The Night Before

The evening and the morning

The evening

Pool · Food or bar on site

A 32-acre resort on the beach, where every one of the 250 standard rooms has a Gulf-view balcony and Club Ten, the adults-only tenth floor, adds free valet. The Cove pool has cabanas, there's a spa and salon, and Blake's Bistro, Grotto and The Steakhouse are on site.

Breakfast

Not free

Not included; the resort sells a Bed & Breakfast package with breakfast at Blake's Bistro.

Address

5222 Seawall, on the beach

5222 Seawall Boulevard, Galveston, TX 77551
Hotel website

Fact Sheet

The fine print, in one place

Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as The San Luis publishes it. Where it says “not stated”, the hotel doesn’t say, and a quick call will settle it.

Check-in and check-out

Check-inNot stated
Check-outNot stated

Minimum age

21+

To check in, per the hotel.

Resort fee

None on the resort’s pages; a third-party site lists $28.75 a night

Wi-Fi

Not stated

Parking for your stay

Not stated on the resort’s pages; Club Ten includes free valet

Cruise parking is in the parking section above.

Breakfast

Paid; a Bed & Breakfast package includes breakfast at Blake’s Bistro

Pool

The Cove pool, with cabanas

Pets

Dogs up to 40 lb, $150 plus tax, with a signed waiver. An older PDF on the resort's site says no pets; the current page wins.

Food and drink on site

  • Blake's BistroThe resort restaurant
  • GrottoOn site
  • The SteakhouseOn site

Rooms

250 standard rooms, each with a Gulf-view balcony; one- to four-bedroom suites; the adults-only Club Ten floor; the five Villas.

Accessibility

The hotel’s pages don’t detail accessible rooms. Call before you book if you need one.

On site

  • EV chargingNot stated
  • Guest laundryNot stated
  • Fitness centerYes
  • Pets allowedYes

Also worth knowing

  • AAA Four Diamond since 2000, per AAA’s 2026 list
  • Stay, Park & Cruise package: parking and the ride to and from the terminal; price not published
  • Spa and salon
  • A $100-a-night card hold at check-in
Worth Knowing

Before you book

Worth knowing

  • The Stay, Park & Cruise price, nights and riders aren't published.
  • A third-party site lists a $28.75 nightly resort fee, $32.48 self-parking and $48.71 valet; the resort's own pages don't show any of them.
  • Minimum check-in age 21. The resort holds $100 a night on your card.

What we couldn’t confirm

  • The package price
  • How many nights of parking it covers
  • Check-in and check-out times

Rates and policies are as the hotel published them on September 25, 2026. Confirm anything you’re counting on when you book.

Compare

Worth a look alongside it

Ready when you are

Wake up on the mid-island Seawall, a few miles from the ship.

Tell us your sail date and we’ll check The San Luis for the night before. No payment on the form.

Booking.com rates
FAQ

The San Luis FAQ

Does The San Luis have a cruise shuttle?

Only with a package or offer. The resort's Stay, Park & Cruise package includes "pre- and post-cruise transportation to and from the Galveston Cruise Ship Terminal". Its specials page doesn't publish the price, how many ride, or the times.

Does The San Luis have an airport shuttle?

Not that it publishes. From William P. Hobby: The resort doesn't mention an airport shuttle. From George Bush Intercontinental: The resort doesn't mention an airport shuttle.

Can I park at The San Luis while I cruise?

Yes, but the price isn't published. Parking comes in the same Stay, Park & Cruise package; the rate and the number of nights aren't on the resort's pages. A third-party booking site lists extended parking at $108.25 a week, which isn't the resort's figure.

How far is The San Luis from the Galveston cruise terminals?

The resort gives no distance to the terminals. It sits in our Mid-island, 36th to 69th Street band.

Can I check in early or check out late on cruise days?

Check-in is not stated and check-out not stated. The hotel doesn't publish early or late terms, so ask when you book, not on the day.

Will the hotel hold my bags?

The hotel doesn't say. Most hotels will hold bags between check-out and a late shuttle, but that's a call to make, not an assumption.

Does the port shuttle come back for me after the cruise?

The resort's Stay, Park & Cruise package includes "pre- and post-cruise transportation to and from the Galveston Cruise Ship Terminal". Its specials page doesn't publish the price, how many ride, or the times.

What's the breakfast timing on sail morning?

Paid; a Bed & Breakfast package includes breakfast at Blake’s Bistro. Plan coffee on the way if you're leaving early.

Can I park an oversized vehicle or charge an EV?

EV charging: not stated. Clearance and oversized parking aren't published. The port's two garages, the SMP garage and the Terminal 16 garage, have 6'8" clearance. RVs park in the economy lots, sometimes across two spaces.

Booking the cruise too?

Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.

No obligation — a real advisor reviews every request.

Prefer to talk? Book a free 30-minute call or call (407) 312-0306.

The San LuisNo. 2 of 20 · night before your cruise
Booking.com rates