Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. Booking.com doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
The Hamptons Apartments is first of nineteen on 45 points, and the only one of the nineteen whose own page gives a distance to Station Pier: 350 metres. Our routing says 0.3 road miles (0.5 km), so it clears our half-mile walk rule.
That's nearly the whole case. Ports Victoria says the pier has no luggage storage and no unattended bags, so you wheel your own cases the whole way.
The pages say nothing about a check-in time, reception hours, parking terms, breakfast, a pool or a restaurant. Guest reviews on the page mention a rooftop barbecue area, a gym and kitchens, which we don't score because a review isn't the hotel's own statement.
I'd pick it for the walk — and phone about everything else before you pay.
Book it if
- You want to walk to the pier, going by the hotel's own 350 metres.
- You'd rather have an apartment than a hotel room.
- A phone call about check-in, parking and bags doesn't bother you.
Look elsewhere if
- You need a pool, restaurant or breakfast that the hotel's own pages name.
- You want reception hours and a check-in time in writing before you book.
- You're counting on somewhere at the pier to leave luggage. There isn't anywhere.
After check-out: the walk, with your own bags
The walk is the easy part. What the hotel's page doesn't cover is the rest of the morning, from check-out to boarding.
No pool, restaurant or bar is named on the pages, and kitchens aren't mentioned. Phone for check-in and reception hours first — the page prints neither.
No transfer is listed and none is needed; the cases are the only reason to think twice.
The page doesn’t say whether breakfast is in the rate — and it names no restaurant to fall back on.
A cab is a fair call with heavy cases, since the pier has nowhere to leave them. Otherwise, walk.
Ask about parking by phone — the page prints no terms or price.
Where the 45 comes from: 30 for distance, 15 for the walk
Distance earns the full 30 and the walk adds 15. Everything else scores zero: no ride, no breakfast and no evening the hotel's own pages describe. The scale tops out at 100.
350 metres, by the hotel's own count
The hotel lists no transfer, and the pier is on foot. Melbourne Airport is about 16.6 road miles away on our routing — that's the leg where you'll want wheels.
The Hamptons’ own page mentions no airport transfer.
Nothing to book: it's a walk, bags in hand.
From MEL without a hotel shuttle
By our routing Melbourne Airport is about 16.6 road miles from The Hamptons, roughly 27 minutes with no traffic. SkyBus ends at Southern Cross, so the last stretch is a taxi or rideshare.
The pages we read name no tram or train stop. The pier's own tram, route 109, stops at Beacon Cove, 560 m from the terminal per Transport Victoria, and we can't say how far that stop is from Nott Street.
If you drive, parking at The Hamptons isn't stated.
The walk is the plan — with your own bags.
Landing the morning you sail? Skip the night here and use the airport page's landing check.
Which terminal
Station PierPorts Victoria says each line sets its own embarkation times, so check yours in the Melbourne cruise guide.
Source: ports.vic.gov.auDistance
350 metres from Station Pier, per the hotelThe hotel's own page says 350 metres from Station Pier. Our routing agrees: about 0.3 road miles (0.5 km), a 1-minute drive, inside our half-mile walk rule. It's the one hotel in the ranking where that rule applies — and the only one that can.
Source: thehamptonsapartments.com.auBy tram
Tram link not documentedWe can't place a tram stop for Nott Street. Route 109 stops at Beacon Cove, 560 m from the terminal per Transport Victoria, but the hotel's pages name no stop.
Source: thehamptonsapartments.com.auTo the ship
Walk to the shipPorts Victoria says unattended luggage isn't permitted on the pier, so you carry your own. Walk it rather than wait for a shuttle that isn't listed.
Source: thehamptonsapartments.com.auParking: what the hotel doesn't print
Guest parking
Guest parking not statedThe pages we read print no parking terms or price. Reviews on the hotel's page mention undercover parking — that's a guest's word, not the hotel's.
Source: thehamptonsapartments.com.auAt Station Pier
Limited, charged, no ratePorts Victoria says the parking at Waterfront Place is limited and charged, and prints no rate.
Driving to the pier instead? Compare The Hamptons with the pier parking, or see what the tram section says.
Source: ports.vic.gov.auA night with no pool, restaurant or breakfast on the page
The evening
Nothing we could countThe hotel's own pages name no pool, restaurant or bar and say nothing about kitchens. Review text on the page goes further, with a rooftop barbecue area, a gym and a kitchen with a washer and dryer, but we score none of it.
Free breakfast
Not statedBreakfast isn’t mentioned, so ask what the rate includes.
Address
Nott Street, Port Melbourne45 Nott Street, Port Melbourne VIC, per the hotel's homepage
Hotel website
Studios to two-bedrooms, and the blanks to fill by phone
The pages we read give apartment types and a phone number, but no check-in time. Each blank tile below is a question for the phone.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
No minimum age is given.
Extra fees
Not stated
Wi-Fi
Not stated
Parking for your stay
Not stated
Breakfast
Not stated
Pool
No pool or gym on the pages we read, so ask the hotel.
Pets
No word on pets on the pages we read.
Rooms
Studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom apartments in Standard, Deluxe and Premier tiers; the two-bedroom Premier has two bathrooms.
Accessibility
No accessible-room details appear on the pages we read, so ring before booking one.
On site
- EV chargingNot stated
- Guest laundryNot stated
- GymNot stated
- Pets allowedNot stated
Nearby, by the hotel’s count
- Station Pier350 metres, per the hotel
Distances as The Hamptons or its brand lists them, kept in its own units.
Two things to have to hand
- Phone 1300 426 786 in Australia, +61 3 9279 7250 from overseas
- Its Station Pier pages are written for the Spirit of Tasmania ferry as well as cruise
Phone before you pay
What the hotel prints
- Studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom apartments in Standard, Deluxe and Premier tiers, per the hotel's homepage.
- The hotel markets itself as cruise terminal accommodation, though its Station Pier pages also cover the Spirit of Tasmania ferry.
- Two Victorian addresses are listed; this review covers the Port Melbourne one on Nott Street.
- Phone 1300 426 786 within Australia, +61 3 9279 7250 from overseas.
- The Hamptons prints no rates in the text we read, so ask what the total includes before you pay.
What to ask on the call
- Check-in, check-out and reception hours
- Whether bags can stay after check-out
- Parking and its price
- Breakfast, a pool, a gym or a restaurant
Everything above comes from The Hamptons' own pages, read October 6, 2026. Reviews printed on the page aren't the hotel's statements, so none is used. Ring the hotel, not a review site.
If a pool matters more
Before you book The Hamptons: the Melbourne cruise guide, pier parking and the splurge list if the room matters more than the walk.
A walk to the ship, if the hotel confirms the rest.
Send your sail date and we'll ask about check-in, bags and parking at The Hamptons for you. Nothing is charged on the form.
The walk, the bags and the gaps
Is 350 metres to Station Pier right?
Yes on the hotel's word, and our routing agrees at 0.3 road miles (0.5 km). Ports Victoria's address for the pier is 6 Waterfront Place.
Where do the bags go between check-out and boarding?
The Hamptons' pages don't say whether it will hold them. Ports Victoria says there's no luggage storage on Station Pier, so ask the hotel before sail day.
Does The Hamptons Apartments have a kitchen?
The pages we read describe apartments but not their kitchens. Reviews on the hotel's page mention one, and we don't count a guest's word.
Is The Hamptons a cruise-only hotel?
It markets itself as cruise terminal accommodation, but its Station Pier pages also cover the Spirit of Tasmania ferry, so read them with that in mind.
What should I ask The Hamptons by phone?
Start with the check-in time, reception hours, bags, parking and breakfast. None is on the pages we read, and neither is a pool or restaurant. The number is 1300 426 786 within Australia.
Cruise booked yet?
Send your line and sail date. We'll confirm your terminal and ask The Hamptons about bags and check-in, and no obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
