Splurge Hotels · Melbourne

Eight Grand Hotels for the Night Before the Ship

Melbourne’s grand hotels sit at Southbank and South Wharf, on Collins and Lonsdale streets, at Parliament Square and in South Yarra. None is beside Station Pier, and none of the eight prints a ride to it, so every one starts sail morning with a taxi. Each card sets what the hotel’s own page states against what it leaves out.

4list a pool
5print a parking price
2list bag storage
Pick Yours

Pick the kind of treat you’re after

Eight grand Melbourne hotels sit here instead of in our nineteen, and each has a page of its own. Tap the kind of night you want and the matching hotel lights up.

The list is eight because our research found eight grand hotels with an official page, and nothing more we could stand behind. We print no stars and no awards, because none of the pages we read states one.

The Eight

Crown Towers to Pan Pacific: what each of the eight costs you

2.1 road mi, our routing

Crown Towers Melbourne

Crown Spa and a 25-metre heated pool on the Yarra. Breakfast is free only for Crystal Club guests — the hotel does store bags before check-in and after check-out.

You’re paying for

  • 25 m heated pool — Crown Spa

Watch for

  • Breakfast only on one offer or club
  • The page prints no ride to the pier
  • About 2.1 road miles to Station Pier
  • A$85 (about US$60) valet, period not stated
Booking.com Full review →
2.6 road mi, our routing

The Langham, Melbourne

The Langham prints its own airport prices, a taxi from A$70 (about US$50) and a limousine at A$165 (about US$115), and it has an indoor pool and spa 450 metres from Flinders Street Station.

You’re paying for

  • Indoor pool — Langham Spa

Watch for

  • Page says nothing about breakfast
  • No ride to the pier printed
  • About 2.6 road miles to Station Pier
  • Valet rise to A$95 (about US$65) noted on the page
Booking.com Full review →
3.6 road mi, our routing

Park Hyatt Melbourne

East end of the city, with a spa on the ninth floor and a 25-metre heated pool. The page offers a Dog-Friendly Room and connecting rooms, and little else.

You’re paying for

  • 25 m heated pool — ninth-floor spa

Watch for

  • Breakfast not stated
  • No pier ride on the page
  • About 3.6 road miles to Station Pier
Booking.com Full review →
3.1 road mi, our routing

The Westin Melbourne

Marriott says there’s no hotel shuttle, prices a paid airport car at A$180 (about US$125) one way and lists valet at A$95 a day. The address is on Collins Street.

You’re paying for

  • Nothing named beyond the room: the page lists no pool, restaurant or bar

Watch for

  • No breakfast detail on the page
  • Nothing printed about a ride to the pier
  • About 3.1 road miles to Station Pier
Booking.com Full review →
2.9 road mi, our routing

The Ritz-Carlton, Melbourne

Parking is A$85 a day, self or valet, and there’s no hotel shuttle — a taxi or premium cab is on request. Marriott dates the opening to 2023.

You’re paying for

  • The page lists no pool, restaurant or bar — so nothing beyond the room

Watch for

  • The page leaves breakfast out
  • No ride to the pier is printed
  • About 2.9 road miles to Station Pier
Booking.com Full review →
3.3 road mi, our routing

Sofitel Melbourne on Collins

Accor’s page lists Station Pier at 5 km and a 15-minute drive, and our no-traffic routing says about 9 minutes. A shuttle is listed, with no price or destination.

You’re paying for

  • No pool, restaurant or bar on the page — so nothing named beyond the room

Watch for

  • Breakfast isn’t stated
  • The page offers no ride to the pier
  • About 3.3 road miles to Station Pier
  • Shuttle listed, destination not stated
Booking.com Full review →
4.1 road mi, our routing

The Como Melbourne

Check it’s open before you fall for it, because Accor’s page doesn’t say. South Yarra, an indoor heated pool under a retractable roof, apartments with full kitchens.

You’re paying for

  • Indoor heated pool

Watch for

  • Nothing on breakfast
  • No transfer to Station Pier printed
  • About 4.1 road miles to Station Pier
  • Page doesn't say if it is open
Booking.com Full review →
2.2 road mi, our routing

Pan Pacific Melbourne

Breakfast comes only with Wake Up to More, and luggage storage is listed. Parking is A$50 (about US$35) self or A$75 (about US$50) valet, on the old Hilton site at South Wharf, per our research.

You’re paying for

  • Beyond the room, the page names no pool, restaurant or bar

Watch for

  • Breakfast only on one offer or club
  • The page prints no pier transfer
  • About 2.2 road miles to Station Pier
Booking.com Full review →
On the Map

Eight pins, none beside the pier

Tap a pin to see which hotel it is, then open its page. The numbers follow the order above.

Southbank Docklands Albert Park Station Pier 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1 1 km · 0.6 mi N
Splurge pick, numbered as belowCruise terminalReal geography: NOAA’s GSHHG shoreline, generalised — the Yarra River and the bay piers aren’t drawn at this scale, so Station Pier’s pin sits at the shoreline. Map pins from the Esri World Geocoder: address matches, except Pullman City Centre and The Hamptons Apartments, which are place matches, and the Grants Road pin that Novotel and ibis Styles at the airport share, which is a street point. The Station Pier pin is Esri’s point for 6 Waterfront Place, not a berth, and the airport pin is a point at the terminals.
Side by Side

Pool, bar, breakfast and parking, eight ways

Point at a hotel’s name and its column lights up. Green means the page says it’s there, gold means it costs extra or has a catch, and grey means nobody says.

FeatureCrown TowersThe LanghamPark HyattThe WestinThe Ritz-CarltonSofitel on CollinsThe ComoPan Pacific
Rating on its pageNone printedNone printedNone printedNone printedNone printedNone printedNone printedNone printed
RestaurantNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Bar or drinksNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Pool or spa25 m heated pool — Crown SpaIndoor pool — Langham Spa25 m heated pool — ninth-floor spaNot statedNot statedNot statedIndoor heated poolNot stated
BreakfastFree for Crystal Club guests onlyNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedFull breakfast only on Wake Up to More
Airport or ship transfer—Taxi from A$70 — limousine A$165 for two—No shuttle — paid car A$180 one wayNo shuttle — taxi or premium cab on requestA shuttle is listed — price not stated——
ParkingValet A$85Valet A$80 (about US$55) a day, page notes A$95Not statedValet A$95 a dayA$85 a day, self or valetNot statedNot statedSelf A$50 a day — valet A$75 a night
Distance to Station Pier2.1 road mi, our routing2.6 road mi, our routing3.6 road mi, our routing3.1 road mi, our routing2.9 road mi, our routing3.3 road mi, our routing4.1 road mi, our routing2.2 road mi, our routing
The Trade

The morning after a splurge night

None of the eight prints a ride to Station Pier, and none is beside it. By our routing the drives run from 2.1 road miles at Crown Towers to 4.1 at The Como, 5 to 10 minutes with no traffic. The pier has no luggage storage, per Ports Victoria, so the cab carries your bags from the hotel to the gangway.

Sofitel is the only page that names the pier — its question further down sets Accor’s 15 minutes against ours.

The Langham prints airport prices, a taxi from A$70 and a limousine at A$165 for two (a page note on a rise to A$170, dated January 1, 2026, may already apply), and the Westin lists a paid car at A$180 one way. Neither is a ship transfer.

Parking is patchy. Five pages print a price and three print none. Crown Towers gives A$85 with no period, and the Langham’s own note raises valet from A$80 to A$95 from October 1, 2026, a date that has passed.

Down at the pier, Ports Victoria lists limited charged parking in Waterfront Place with no rate printed.

Several pages are short. The Westin, the Ritz-Carlton, Sofitel and Pan Pacific name no pool, restaurant or bar in the text we read, and the Como’s page doesn’t say whether it is open. We write “not stated” where a page does, rather than guess, so phone the hotel about anything you’d be paying extra for.

Airport taxis
Need a ride from the airport?

Booking.com lists airport taxis you can book ahead. Check the pickup point, the price and the cancellation terms before you book.

Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.

Also Considered

Two city hotels we left off

HotelWhy it isn’t in the eight
Melbourne Marriott HotelA city hotel at Exhibition and Lonsdale streets. We read its page thinly: A$60 (about US$40) parking a day, an ambiguous per-hour figure, 15:00 and 11:00, no pets. Not grand enough, on what we read, for this list.
Rydges MelbourneA city hotel on Exhibition Street. Parking at A$65 (about US$45) a day was nearly all its page gave us, so we left it off both lists.
Renting a car? There is no rental desk near Station Pier, and the pier has no luggage storage. Melbourne rental cars · Should you rent at all? · Airport to the ship, by car or not
Names You’ll Hear

Stars, awards and the old Hilton

None printed
Ratings on these pages
None of the eight pages we read states a star class or an award, so this list prints none. A hotel that holds one may not show it on the page our research tool summarised, so check the hotel's own site if a rating decides your booking.
Not found
Hilton Melbourne South Wharf
Our research found no Hilton at 2 Convention Centre Place today. The address is Pan Pacific Melbourne, which has its own page here.
FAQ

Questions about Melbourne’s grand hotels

Will a grand hotel get me to the ship?

Not on any page we read. Sofitel lists a shuttle among its on-site services with no destination or price, and the Westin and the Ritz-Carlton say they have none.

Book a taxi the night before. The drive is 5 to 10 minutes by our routing, so it’s the booking, not the distance, that needs planning.

Does any of the eight name Station Pier?

Only Sofitel Melbourne on Collins.

Accor's page lists the pier at 5 km and a 15-minute drive. Our routing says 3.3 road miles (5.4 km) and 9 minutes with no traffic — so Accor's time probably includes traffic.

Which of the eight will hold my bags?

Crown Towers says its Bell Service Desk stores bags before check-in and after check-out.

Pan Pacific lists luggage storage with no detail. Ports Victoria says Station Pier has none — so your bags travel with you from the hotel.

What would a car cost me at these hotels?

Crown Towers lists valet at A$85, with no period.

The Langham lists valet at A$80 for 24 hours and a page note of A$95 from October 1, 2026, plus A$26 (about US$18) per exit at the Eureka car park. The Westin lists valet at A$95 a day, the Ritz-Carlton A$85 a day, and Pan Pacific A$50 per 24 hours or A$75 a night for valet.

Park Hyatt, Sofitel and The Como print nothing.

Will I find star ratings here?

No. None of the eight pages we read states a star class or an award — so we print none. If a rating decides your booking, check the hotel's own site.

Is The Como open right now?

Accor's page for The Como doesn't say — so ring the hotel before you book it.

Why eight?

Eight.

Our research found eight grand hotels with an official page of their own that aren't among our nineteen ranked hotels, and no more we could stand behind. Two more city hotels were read too thinly to place on either list.

Sailing from Sydney or Brisbane? Their night-before lists are at Sydney (splurge picks, airport) and Brisbane (splurge picks, airport), and the wider trip is on Australia and New Zealand cruises.

Want us to book the splurge?

Give us the hotel you have in mind and your sail date. We’ll price the night and line up the taxi to Station Pier, with no obligation.

No obligation — a real advisor reviews every request.

Prefer to talk? Book a free 30-minute call or call (407) 312-0306.

Compare 0 of 3