The Hamptons Apartments
Studio, one- and two-bedroom apartments, with 350 metres to Station Pier printed on the hotel’s own page and about 0.3 road miles on our routing.
Pre-Cruise Hotels · Melbourne
Nineteen hotels for a Melbourne cruise, scored on what gets you to Station Pier, not on reviews. Only The Hamptons is within a walk of the pier; every other hotel is 1.9 road miles or more away, so distance, an evening to enjoy and what each page states decide the order.
Three taps, and nineteen hotels become three.
Change an answer and the picks change with it. They come from the same published facts as the ranking further down.
No hotel pays for a place here. Partner links, such as the airport taxis banner, can earn us a commission, and they don’t change the order.
Matching weighs your answers against each hotel’s published distance, rail line and breakfast, and what the evening offers.
Give it four answers and it builds the night end to end: the hotel, the ride in, the ride to the ship, when to leave and how you get home.
Every figure comes from the hotel, the port or the company, or from our own taxi arithmetic, and is labelled as such. Where nobody publishes a number, you’ll see that gap instead of a guess.
Who’s coming and the mood come from Your Match — the plan uses the same answers.
Partner links (transfers, luggage storage) may earn Seabound Journeys a commission at no extra cost to you. They don't change the plan, which is built only from what each company publishes.
The Hamptons is the only hotel inside our half-mile walk rule, and it says so itself: 350 metres to Station Pier.
Mantra Southbank sits 5 points back, with a pool, a restaurant and kitchens. Mercure Southbank, Movenpick on Spencer and The Sebel Docklands tie on 35, and Mercure Southbank takes third on road distance.
Station Pier is the only terminal — so there’s no second berth to weigh.
Not sure your ship starts here? Most entries on the 2026-27 schedule are transit calls.
Ask us and we’ll check your sailing before you pick a hotel.
Filter by what your night needs, then tick up to three hotels to set side by side. The order is ours; the shortlist is yours.
The list is nineteen long because nineteen open hotels were documented well enough to score. We read the pages of 30 — eight grander ones are on the splurge list, and Novotel St Kilda, Melbourne Marriott, Rydges and five others are listed below with the reasons.
Only one of the nineteen is within a walk of the pier, and none of them runs a ride to it.
Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. Booking.com doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
All 19 hotels
Studio, one- and two-bedroom apartments, with 350 metres to Station Pier printed on the hotel’s own page and about 0.3 road miles on our routing.
Level 18 has an indoor heated pool, and the one- and two-bedroom apartments have kitchens. The pier is about 2.5 road miles away by our routing.
Kitchenettes, 275 rooms and a river address. Accor counts six minutes on foot to Flinders Street, and the pier is about 2.5 road miles away.
Spencer Street, with an outdoor heated pool open to 22:00 and a gym that never closes. About 2.6 road miles to the pier by our routing.
Docklands apartments with full kitchens, plus an indoor heated pool and a gym. The pier is about 3.6 road miles off by our routing.
Accor’s own page puts the ferry terminal 3 km away — the 347 rooms and suites come with a 24-hour gym and Italian dining.
The Bell Desk holds bags before check-in and after check-out, and the indoor pool is on the 27th floor. About 2.1 road miles to the pier.
Shares a Whiteman Street address with two other Crown hotels, and has an indoor pool, a gym and a Bell Desk that stores bags.
Breakfast runs until 14:30 at this 162-room hotel with a lobby bar, a stone's throw from the Power Street freeway exit. About 2.2 road miles to the pier.
MOMAMI restaurant and a heated outdoor pool, 12 minutes on foot from Southern Cross station — the pier is about 3.0 road miles off.
Little Collins Street address with an indoor lap pool, a rooftop bar and a car-service option. About 3.5 road miles from the pier by our routing.
Part of the Pullman complex on Queens Road, with a swimming pool and Mortimer's gin bar. The pier is about 3.7 road miles away.
500 on-site parking spaces on Queens Road, 169 rooms and a heated indoor pool with a hot tub. About 3.7 road miles to the pier.
The Swanston Street trams are 30 m away, and the 204 rooms have a rooftop bar above them. About 3.2 road miles from the pier by our routing.
A skybridge links it to the terminals — inside are an indoor pool and a 24-hour gym. From the pier it’s 16.5 road miles.
Its 24-hour shuttle goes to the terminals and the front desk holds bags. From the pier it’s 16.2 road miles.
Free on-demand airport shuttle, an interconnecting family suite and, at 14.1 road miles, the shortest drive to the pier of the five airport hotels.
Book the 14-seat shuttle ahead. The pier is 16.4 road miles away.
Opened in July 2024 and within walking distance of the terminals — 16.4 road miles from the pier.
No hotel on the list has all of those. Try dropping one filter.
Booking.com lists airport taxis you can book ahead. Check the pickup point, the price and the cancellation terms before you book.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.
Pick how you’re arriving. The board counts what each hotel publishes, the table lights up that column, and the companies below cover the airport-to-pier run.
One of the nineteen runs a free airport shuttle, and none runs to the ship.
Melbourne Airport · about 16.5 road miles (26.5 km) to Station Pier, our routing — no fare worked out, because two official tariffs disagree
Taxis queue at Terminals 1, 2 and 4. The airport calls a taxi to the city about a 30-minute fare and prints nothing for the pier. The Essential Services Commission, effective 23 September 2025, lists a day flagfall of A$5.25 (about US$4) and A$2.037 (about US$1.42) a kilometre.
Safe Transport Victoria, effective 1 July 2026, lists two fare structures. One has flagfalls from A$5.40 to A$8.00 (about US$4–6) and A$2.10 to A$2.55 (about US$1.47 to US$1.78) a kilometre; the other has A$5.25 to A$7.80 (about US$4–5) and A$1.685 to A$2.07 (about US$1.18 to US$1.45). Both carry an A$1.25 (about US$0.87) levy on every trip that starts in Victoria.
We can’t say which tariff governs, so we print no fare — apply either one to a drive of about 26 to 28 km from the airport, then add tolls and airport fees, which are passed through.
Rideshare pick-up is at designated zones. The airport's page prints a charge of A$4.48 including GST per trip and says it may be passed on to you.
Private pick-up and drop-off moved on 6 October 2026 to the new T123 Transport Hub, off Exit 19 of the Tullamarine Freeway. SkyBus, taxis and rideshare now share the old forecourt with other commercial vehicles.
The charge page may predate that move, and we found no fare to the pier.
SkyBus ends at Southern Cross Station, not Station Pier, so you then need a tram, taxi or rideshare. Its fares page prints A$25.90 (about US$18) one way and A$43.40 (about US$30) return for an adult; its home page prints A$21.70 (about US$15), exactly half the return fare, which suggests the return price per leg. We haven’t confirmed that, so budget on the one-way fare.
The airport says buses run every 10 minutes, 24 hours a day — SkyBus says 4 am to 1 am, so plan around the shorter window.
Ports Victoria names SkyBus as the airport link but lists no pier service.
Only the airport hotels run shuttles, and those go to the terminals.
Mantra Melbourne Airport lists a free on-demand one. Holiday Inn's is on demand around the clock, A$3 a person to the airport and free back — Novotel and ibis Styles list shuttles without a fare; PARKROYAL is joined to the terminals by a skybridge. None goes to the ship.
Transport Victoria’s cruise-season page has tram 109 leaving from stop 129, Beacon Cove, a 560 m walk from the terminal. It takes about 18 minutes to the city, running every 5 to 6 minutes at weekday peaks and every 10 to 12 otherwise.
That page is for the 2025-26 season, and we found no 2026-27 version. Ports Victoria says a myki desk sits in the terminal.
Ports Victoria says bus route 109 runs express from Station Pier from 8 am to 5 pm on cruise days, about 15 minutes to the city, with staff at the pier in the morning and at stop 115 in the afternoon.
That detail is from the 2025-26 season page and we found no 2026-27 confirmation, so ask your line about the shuttle if you sail pre-dawn or late.
Ports Victoria says there are no luggage storage facilities on Station Pier and that unattended luggage isn't permitted. We found no porterage or storage service from any hotel to the pier — so carry your cases or ask your hotel to keep them until you leave.
Taking the tram? The column to watch is “By tram”. It would mark a hotel whose own page names a stop within about 0.4 mile and a line to Station Pier — none does, and the tram section below sets out what Ports Victoria and Transport Victoria publish. Driving instead? Melbourne cruise parking has the terminal lots.
| Hotel | To the ship | By tram | From the airport |
|---|---|---|---|
| Walk to the ship | Tram link not documented | Not stated | |
Melbourne Airport (MEL)None of the pages we read mentions an airport transfer. To the shipNo transfer is listed, and none is needed — Ports Victoria says the pier has no luggage storage and allows no unattended bags, so the walk is you and your cases. By tramThe pier’s own tram, route 109, stops at Beacon Cove, 560 m from the terminal per Transport Victoria. The hotel’s page names no stop, and we can’t say how far Beacon Cove is from Nott Street. | |||
| Shuttle not stated | Tram link not documented | Not stated | |
Melbourne Airport (MEL)Accor's page lists no airport shuttle. To the shipNo ride to the pier is listed. A taxi or rideshare from City Road runs about 6 minutes on our routing. By tramAccor's page names no tram or train stop within walking distance — so no rail link counts here. | |||
| Shuttle not stated | Tram link not documented | Not stated | |
Melbourne Airport (MEL)No airport shuttle appears on Accor's page. To the shipNo ride to the pier is listed; budget about 6 minutes by taxi or rideshare. By tramAccor puts Flinders Street station and its tram stop about 400 m off, a six-minute walk, with a Queens Bridge bus stop 300 m away. No line to Station Pier is named, so no rail link counts. | |||
| Shuttle not stated | Tram link not documented | Not stated | |
Melbourne Airport (MEL)Accor says Melbourne Airport is under 25 minutes by car and names no shuttle. To the shipNo ride to the pier is listed. A taxi takes about 6 minutes on our routing. By tramAccor says the hotel is in the free tram zone and Spencer Street station is a two-minute walk, yet the same page prints 1 km for it. It names no line to Station Pier, so no rail link counts. | |||
| Shuttle not stated | Tram link not documented | Not stated | |
Melbourne Airport (MEL)Accor's page names no airport shuttle. To the shipNo ride to the pier is listed, and a taxi or rideshare takes about 9 minutes. By tramAccor mentions the free city trams but gives no stop and no walking time, and nothing in it points at Station Pier. | |||
| Shuttle not stated | Tram link not documented | Not stated | |
Melbourne Airport (MEL)Nothing on Accor's page offers an airport shuttle. To the shipNo ride to the pier is listed; a taxi runs about 5 minutes on our routing. By tramSouthern Cross station is 1.1 to 1.2 km off on Accor’s page, a 10 to 15 minute walk and past our 0.4-mile line. It names no tram stop. | |||
| Shuttle not stated | Tram link not documented | Not stated | |
Melbourne Airport (MEL)We found no airport transfer on the pages we read. To the shipNo ride to the pier is listed. A taxi from the Crown forecourt is about 5 minutes on our routing. By tramThe page names no tram or train stop — so no rail link counts. | |||
| Shuttle not stated | Tram link not documented | Not stated | |
Melbourne Airport (MEL)No airport transfer appears on the pages we read. To the shipNo ride to the pier is listed, and a taxi is about 5 minutes by our routing. By tramNo tram or train stop is named — so no rail link counts. | |||
| Shuttle not stated | Tram link not documented | Not stated | |
Melbourne Airport (MEL)Accor's page mentions no airport shuttle. To the shipNo ride to the pier is listed. Expect about 5 minutes by taxi on our routing. By tramAccor calls tram route 58 a short walk away and gives no distance. That isn’t the pier’s tram, so no rail link counts. | |||
| Shuttle not stated | Tram link not documented | Not stated | |
Melbourne Airport (MEL)No airport shuttle is named on Accor's page. To the shipNo ride to the pier is listed, so allow about 8 minutes by taxi. By tramSouthern Cross station is 1 km off, a 12-minute walk, and a free tram stop sits at the hotel entrance, per Accor. It names no line to Station Pier, so no rail link counts. | |||
| Shuttle not stated | Tram link not documented | Ask the hotel | |
Melbourne Airport (MEL)Marriott says there's no hotel shuttle and lists a chauffeured Melbourne Star car on request. No price is printed. To the shipNo ride to the pier is listed. The hotel offers no shuttle, and a taxi is about 10 minutes on our routing. By tramMarriott names Parliament and Southern Cross stations as nearby without a walking time, so no rail link counts. | |||
| Shuttle not stated | Tram link not documented | Not stated | |
Melbourne Airport (MEL)Accor lists a hotel shuttle to Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino and St Kilda at an extra charge, and no airport shuttle. To the shipAccor lists a paid hotel shuttle to Botanic Gardens, Crown Casino and St Kilda but none to Station Pier. A taxi is about 9 minutes on our routing. By tramAccor says public transport is on the doorstep without naming a line, and Prahran station is 2.4 km off. No rail link counts. | |||
| Shuttle not stated | Tram link not documented | Not stated | |
Melbourne Airport (MEL)Accor lists a hotel shuttle to Eureka Skydeck, Crown Casino and St Kilda for a fee, and no airport shuttle. To the shipThe paid hotel shuttle on Accor’s page covers Eureka Skydeck, Crown Casino and St Kilda, not Station Pier. A taxi is about 9 minutes on our routing. By tramTrams to the city and St Kilda are mentioned without a route, and Prahran station is 1.3 km away. No rail link counts. | |||
| Shuttle not stated | Tram link not documented | Not stated | |
Melbourne Airport (MEL)Accor's page lists no shuttle to the airport. To the shipNo ride to the pier is listed; a taxi is about 9 minutes on our routing. By tramPer Accor, Swanston Street trams are 30 m away and Melbourne Central station is 480 m off, a five-minute walk. No line to Station Pier is named, so no rail link counts. | |||
| Shuttle not stated | Tram link not documented | Walk by skybridgeSkybridge | |
Melbourne Airport (MEL)A skybridge joins the hotel to the domestic and international terminals, so there’s no ride to book. The hotel calls itself the only one directly connected to Melbourne Airport. To the shipNo ride to the pier is listed. A taxi is about 27 minutes on our routing. By tramThe skybridge leads to the terminals, not the ship, and no rail link counts. | |||
| Shuttle not stated | Tram link not documented | A$3 a person to the airporthotel shuttle | |
Melbourne Airport (MEL)A 24-hour on-demand shuttle to the terminals: A$3 a person to the airport, and free from it. To the shipThe 24-hour shuttle goes to the terminals, not the pier, and no ride to the pier is listed. A taxi is about 26 minutes on our routing. By tramIts shuttle and the walk both serve the airport, so no rail link counts either. | |||
| Shuttle not stated | Tram link not documented | Freehotel shuttle | |
Melbourne Airport (MEL)A free on-demand shuttle to Melbourne International Airport, which Accor calls four minutes away. To the shipNo ride to the pier is listed; the free on-demand shuttle runs to the airport only. A taxi is about 24 minutes on our routing. By tramAccor’s page names no rail or tram stop, so no rail link counts. | |||
| Shuttle not stated | Tram link not documented | Fare not statedhotel shuttle | |
Melbourne Airport (MEL)Accor says guests can walk to the terminals, and it lists a 14-seat shuttle it suggests booking ahead. It prints no fare. To the shipNo ride to the pier is listed, since the 14-seat shuttle serves the airport. A taxi is about 27 minutes on our routing. By tramAccor names no rail or tram stop, so no rail link counts. | |||
| Shuttle not stated | Tram link not documented | On callhotel shuttle | |
Melbourne Airport (MEL)Accor says guests can walk to the domestic and international terminals and lists an on-call shuttle, with no fare. To the shipThe on-call shuttle goes to the airport, and no ride to the pier is listed. A taxi is about 27 minutes on our routing. By tramAccor names no rail or tram stop here either, so no rail link counts. | |||
The nineteen above are ranked for an easy sail morning, not for the room. Melbourne’s grand hotels sit on the Yarra at Southbank and South Wharf, on Collins Street and in the city’s east end, a taxi from the pier. We print only what each hotel’s own page states, so no star class and no award unless the hotel prints it.
Every distance here ends at Esri’s street point for 6 Waterfront Place, Ports Victoria’s address for Station Pier, not at a particular berth. Every hotel is measured by road with no traffic, and each page also gives the road miles to Melbourne Airport.
One hotel is in Port Melbourne: The Hamptons. Seven are in Southbank and South Wharf or on Spencer Street, about 1.9 to 2.6 road miles out.
Six are in the city, Docklands and Albert Park, 3.0 to 3.7 miles, and five are at the airport, 14 to 16 miles.
Nothing sits between 3.7 and 14.1.
The numbers on the pins are the ranking. Each pin marks a hotel, and the bands group them by distance, as the scoring does.
Five things decide a Melbourne night before, and the distance to Station Pier carries most of the weight. Every point comes from the hotel’s own site or its brand’s, and from nowhere else.
Silence scores zero, not a guess.
Booking sites don’t count, and a distance to a station, a casino or “the city” isn’t a distance to the pier. The method follows our Norfolk scoring, with RIDE where PARK was, because parking isn’t what decides a Melbourne night.
By band, from Station Pier by road: up to 1.0 mile 30 — 1.1 to 2.8 miles 25; 2.9 to 4.5 miles 20; the airport hotels 10. Nothing falls in a 15-point band.
Getting to the ship is scored in steps. A transfer the hotel runs or arranges, with a published price, earns 25, and a ride that comes only inside a package 20. The hotel’s own ride with no published fare earns 15, and so does a walk: the hotel’s page calls it a walk to the cruise terminal, or the pier is half a mile or less by our routing from a pin we checked. A named partner earns 10. Only The Hamptons scores here, on 350 metres by its own page and 0.3 miles on ours, because no hotel prints a ride to the pier.
The ride component takes the place of parking and carries the same 20 points. A transfer or luggage hand-off to the terminal that the hotel runs or arranges would score 20, and nobody has one. A tram stop within about 0.4 mile by the hotel’s own page, with a published line to Station Pier, would score 12, and nobody has that either: the pier’s own tram, route 109, stops at Beacon Cove, 560 m from the terminal, and no hotel page names a stop on it. Anything undocumented scores 0 and shows as “unknown”, which is where all nineteen land. Airport shuttles go to the airport, not the ship.
A breakfast the hotel says is included for the rate scores 10, and nobody scores. Pullman City Centre includes it only for Club Lounge guests and PARKROYAL only on its Wake Up to More offer — the rest sell it, or say nothing.
The evening is worth 5 each for a pool, for food or a bar on site, and for a kitchen in the room. A pool closed for works still counts if the hotel gives a reopening date, and Crown Promenade’s notice does.
Ties break in this order: a stated way to the ship, free breakfast, the shorter road distance to the pier by our routing, then the alphabet.
Three tie on 35: Mercure Southbank, Movenpick On Spencer and The Sebel, in that order by road miles to the pier (2.5, 2.6 and 3.6). Eight tie on 30.
Novotel South Wharf goes first at 1.9 miles, then Crown Metropol and Crown Promenade, which share an address and a distance — so the alphabet separates them. ibis Styles Southbank, Peppers Southern Cross and Sheraton Melbourne follow by distance.
Mercure and Pullman Albert Park share a site and a distance — so the alphabet puts Mercure first. Mantra Airport, ibis Styles Airport and Novotel Airport tie on 10, and ibis Styles goes ahead of Novotel on the alphabet, because they share a pin.
What’s left out is deliberate.
A room rate tells you nothing about another season, so rates aren’t scored, and neither are review scores. We print no star category because none of the nineteen pages states one. Distances come from the Esri World Geocoder and the OSRM routing service, read October 6, 2026, with each pin’s source recorded. The Hamptons, Pullman City Centre and the two Grants Road airport hotels are place or street matches, and their pages say so.
Parking isn’t what decides a Melbourne night, so it isn’t scored. A tram to the pier would count if any hotel documented one, and none does.
Station Pier. The pier’s tram is route 109 from stop 129 at Beacon Cove, set out in full in the Getting There section above. For the ranking, what matters is that no hotel page names a stop on it.
The cruise-day bus 109 shuttle, 8 am to 5 pm and about 15 minutes to the city, rests on the same 2025-26 season pages — we found no 2026-27 version.
You need a myki, and the fare wasn’t on the pages we read.
Luggage. There’s nowhere to leave it: Ports Victoria says the pier has no luggage storage and doesn’t permit unattended luggage. We found no porterage by line, so with cases a taxi is the plain answer, and the pier has a taxi rank on cruise days.
The hotels. What each page prints about its nearest tram or train stop:
| Hotel | What the page says |
|---|---|
| The Hamptons | No tram or train stop appears on the pages we read. The pier’s tram stops at Beacon Cove, 560 m from the terminal per Transport Victoria, and we can’t say how far that is from Nott Street. |
| Mantra Southbank | Accor's page names no tram or train stop within walking distance — so no rail link counts here. |
| Mercure Southbank | Accor puts Flinders Street station and its tram stop about 400 m away, a six-minute walk, and a Queens Bridge bus stop 300 m away. It names no line to Station Pier, so no rail link counts. |
| Movenpick on Spencer | Per Accor the hotel is in the free tram zone, with Spencer Street station two minutes away, though the page also prints 1 km. No line to Station Pier is named, so no rail link counts. |
| The Sebel Docklands | The free city trams get a mention from Accor, with no stop and no walking time, and nothing in it points at Station Pier. |
| Novotel South Wharf | Southern Cross station is 1.1 to 1.2 km off on Accor's page, a 10 to 15 minute walk and beyond our 0.4-mile line. No tram stop is named. |
| Crown Metropol | Crown Metropol’s page names no tram or train stop, so no rail link counts here. |
| Crown Promenade | The Crown Promenade page is the same: no stop named, so no rail link counts. |
| ibis Styles Southbank | Tram route 58 is called a short walk away on Accor's page, with no distance. It isn't the pier's tram, so no rail link counts. |
| Peppers Southern Cross | Accor says a free tram stop is at the entrance and Southern Cross station is 1 km off, a 12-minute walk. It names no line to Station Pier, so no rail link counts. |
| Sheraton Melbourne | Parliament and Southern Cross stations are called nearby on Marriott's page, with no walking time, so no rail link counts. |
| Mercure Albert Park | Public transport is “on the doorstep” per Accor, but no line is named and Prahran station is 2.4 km away. No rail link counts. |
| Pullman Albert Park | Trams to the city and St Kilda are mentioned with no route, and Prahran station is 1.3 km off, per Accor. No rail link counts. |
| Pullman City Centre | Per Accor, Swanston Street trams are 30 m away and Melbourne Central station 480 m, a five-minute walk. It names no line to Station Pier, so no rail link counts. |
| PARKROYAL Airport | The skybridge goes to the airport terminals, not to the ship. No rail link counts. |
| Holiday Inn Airport | The hotel's shuttle and walk are for the airport terminals, not the ship. No rail link counts. |
| Mantra Airport | Accor's page for this hotel names no rail or tram stop, so no rail link counts. |
| ibis Styles Airport | The ibis Styles page names no rail or tram stop either, so no rail link counts. |
| Novotel Airport | Novotel Airport's page is the same: no rail or tram stop, so no rail link counts. |
Parking at the pier, and driving in: Melbourne cruise parking, compared.
We read the pages of 30 hotels. Nineteen are ranked and eight are on the splurge list. Three more were held back, and five other names are listed here because we found no official page to read.
Eight grander hotels, from Park Hyatt to the Ritz-Carlton, are on the splurge list.
| Hotel | Why it isn’t in the nineteen |
|---|---|
| Novotel St Kilda | Accor's own page lists 80 refreshed rooms, 35 Fitzroy Street and an Urban Kitchen & Bar — but gives no reopening date. A trade report says it is reopening in October 2026, and we read its page days into that month. We couldn't confirm it's trading — so it stays off the list. It would sit 2.7 road miles from Station Pier. |
| Hilton Melbourne South Wharf | The site is now Pan Pacific Melbourne, on the splurge list — we found no Hilton listing there. |
| Hotel Lindrum | The search returned only redevelopment news and no official page — so we left it out. |
| Four Points Melbourne Docklands | The Marriott page returned a 404 — so we couldn't read it. |
| ibis Budget Melbourne Airport | Accor lists it open — but our research didn't read the page. |
| Melbourne Marriott Hotel | Open, in the city, and read only thinly: the page printed parking at A$60 (about US$40) a day and one ambiguous per-hour figure — so it isn't scored. |
| Rydges Melbourne | Open, on Exhibition Street, and read only thinly: parking A$65 (about US$45) a day, 6 am to midnight, subject to availability. Nothing else we could score. |
| Station Pier Condominiums and other Port Melbourne independents | Our research found only booking-site listings for them, and no official page — so none is ranked. |
Melbourne Airport is the only airport you need: about 16.5 road miles (26.5 km) from Station Pier by our routing from the terminals’ pin, roughly 27 minutes with no traffic. Other runs gave up to 28.3 km and 34 minutes, and we print no fare because two official tariffs disagree.
SkyBus stops at Southern Cross, not at the pier.
Rideshare carries an A$4.48 airport charge, per the airport. The Getting There table shows what each hotel publishes, and the airport page has the taxi, the bus and the new pick-up hub.
Tours, tickets and things to do are on Booking.com. Book the day before, not sail day.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.
The Hamptons Apartments, on 45 of 100. Its own page gives a distance to Station Pier (350 metres), the only one of the nineteen that does, and our routing agrees at 0.3 road miles.
Mantra Southbank is second on 40, with a pool, a restaurant and kitchens, about 2.5 road miles from the pier.
Mercure Southbank, Movenpick and The Sebel tie on 35, in that order by distance.
Station Pier, 6 Waterfront Place in Port Melbourne, is the one cruise terminal, and Ports Victoria runs its passenger information. The 2026-27 schedule, valid as of 12 August 2026, runs from Crown Princess on 11 October 2026 to Norwegian Spirit on 20 April 2027.
Most entries are transit calls: a day in port, not the start of a cruise.
The schedule marks full turnarounds for Silver Moon (2 to 3 January), Azamara Pursuit (4 January), Regatta (3 February), Coral Adventurer (9 February) and four Carnival Adventure sailings in March and April 2027, and partial turnarounds above 500 passengers for Crown Princess, Grand Princess, AIDAsol and Royal Princess. Your cruise documents name your terminal and your boarding window.
Only from The Hamptons, whose page says 350 metres and whose road distance on our routing is 0.3 miles. Every other hotel is 1.9 road miles or more away.
The pier’s own tram stop, Beacon Cove, is a 560 m walk from the terminal (route 109, stop 129). Transport Victoria’s page for it covers the 2025-26 season, and we found no 2026-27 version.
Nowhere at the pier. Ports Victoria says it has no luggage storage and doesn’t permit unattended luggage, and we found no porterage or storage service from any hotel to the pier, so a hotel that holds bags after check-out matters.
Crown Metropol, Crown Promenade and Holiday Inn Airport say they store bags — the other sixteen pages don't say.
There’s no train to the airport. Taxis queue at Terminals 1, 2 and 4, rideshare has its own zones, and private pick-up and drop-off has been at the new T123 Transport Hub since 6 October 2026.
The drive depends on where you start at the airport. Our main run is in the Getting There section above, and the airport page has the other two.
We print no fare, because the Essential Services Commission's tariff (September 2025) and Safe Transport Victoria's schedule (effective 1 July 2026) disagree and we can't say which is current.
No. SkyBus runs from the airport to Southern Cross Station, and Ports Victoria says the same — so you then take a tram, taxi or rideshare.
SkyBus’s fares page and its home page disagree on the one-way fare, A$25.90 against A$21.70, and the home-page figure is exactly half the A$43.40 return. The detail is in the Getting There section. The airport says every 10 minutes around the clock; SkyBus says 4 am to 1 am.
Mantra Airport runs a free on-demand shuttle, and Holiday Inn Airport's is free from the airport and A$3 (about US$2) a person to it. Neither goes to the ship. With no train, hotels away from the airport are reached by SkyBus to Southern Cross and then a tram or taxi, or by taxi or rideshare the whole way.
Australian hotel rates are normally quoted with GST included — but we say so only where a hotel's page prints it, and none of the nineteen did in the pages we read. We found no city accommodation tax on an official source, and we aren't saying there is none.
Movenpick On Spencer prints a 15% public-holiday surcharge and names the Melbourne Cup holiday.
Check the total at booking.
Ports Victoria's 2026-27 schedule lists Princess, Carnival, Celebrity, Viking, Holland America, Norwegian, Regent, Silversea, Azamara, AIDA, Oceania, Coral, Hapag-Lloyd, Crystal and Seabourn. Most entries are transit calls.
Our Melbourne cruise guide and Melbourne cruise port page have the detail.
We don't score parking. Hotel prices run from A$28 to A$85 (about US$20–60) a day at the hotels that print one, and none says a cruise car qualifies.
Ports Victoria says public parking in Waterfront Place beside the pier is limited and charged, and it prints no rate.
We read the pages of 30 hotels.
Nineteen are open and documented well enough to score — so they are ranked; eight grander hotels are on the splurge list. Novotel St Kilda is held back: a trade report says it is reopening in October 2026, Accor's page lists 80 refreshed rooms without a reopening date, and we couldn't confirm it's trading.
Melbourne Marriott and Rydges were read too thinly to score.
Rates move by the day and the season, and a ranking has to hold all year. Most of these hotels print no rate at all, so we score what stays put: the distance to the pier, the ride, breakfast and the evening.
Other Australian ports have their own lists: Sydney (splurge picks, airport) and Brisbane (splurge picks, airport). The wider trip is on Australia and New Zealand cruises.
Tell us your sail date and line, and we'll confirm your terminal, then match the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the legwork, with no obligation.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
Tell us the sailing and who’s coming. A real advisor checks rates for that night and replies within one business day.
We’ll check rates for your night and reply within one business day.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.