Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. Booking.com doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
Crown Promenade ranks eighth of nineteen, on 30 points, one place behind Crown Metropol at the same address. The pool decides this one: the hotel's page carried a notice that the pool and gym would close for maintenance from 13 July to 1 September, and it was still there when we read it on October 6.
We still score the pool, because the notice gave a reopening date — but a notice that old may be stale, so ring before you plan a swim and ask whether the gym is open too. The Bell Desk stores bags before check-in and after check-out, per Crown, which matters on a sail day.
Our routing puts Station Pier about 2.1 road miles (3.4 km) away, 5 minutes with no traffic. Check-in is from 15:00, check-out is at 11:00, and valet parking is A$85 (about US$60). The page names no restaurant, no room count and no breakfast terms.
I'd book Crown Metropol first — and come back to this one only if its room rate is clearly lower for your night.
Book it if
- You'll ring ahead and confirm the pool and gym are open.
- You'd rather leave bags with a Bell Desk, not carry them around Southbank.
- You want to be on Whiteman Street, next door to Metropol.
Look elsewhere if
- You're counting on a swim tonight and can't get a yes from the hotel.
- You want dinner in the building. The page names no restaurant.
- You want breakfast folded into the rate, and the page gives no terms.
A pool notice that outlasted its dates
The bags are sorted, because the Bell Desk holds them either side of your stay — the pool is the open question, so confirm the pool and gym before you pack a swimsuit.
Pool and gym, per the page, with the maintenance notice attached.
No pier run on Crown's page — book a taxi.
Ask whether breakfast comes with the rate you're quoted.
Bags can wait with the Bell Desk until your cab arrives. The distance is in the next section.
Valet is the only parking Crown lists; ask what the fee covers before you bring a car.
Five minutes to Waterfront Place, by cab
Crown prints no cruise distance, so the 2.1 road miles (3.4 km) is our routing — about 5 minutes with no traffic. Count on a cab, not a coach.
Nothing on Crown's page about an airport transfer.
No ride to the pier is listed, so the taxi is yours to arrange.
From MEL without a hotel shuttle
Melbourne Airport is about 15.2 road miles away by our routing, roughly 25 minutes with no traffic. Taxis and rideshare drop at the Crown forecourt, while SkyBus stops at Southern Cross.
Crown's page names no tram or train stop, so we haven't counted a rail link.
Driving? Valet is A$85, and the period behind that figure is covered further down.
Same on the way out: a taxi from the forecourt, since the page gives no pier run.
Flying in on sail day? Skip the hotel and read the airport page for the margin.
Which terminal
Station PierStation Pier on Waterfront Place is the only Melbourne terminal, so there's no second one to check. The Melbourne cruise guide lists who sails when.
Source: ports.vic.gov.auDistance
~2.1 road mi, our routingNo cruise distance on Crown's page, so this one's ours: about 2.1 road miles (3.4 km).
Source: crownmelbourne.com.auBy tram
Tram link not documentedNo tram or train stop appears on the page, so the cab carries the whole trip.
Source: crownmelbourne.com.auTo the ship
No shuttle statedRing the hotel about the pool first — the taxi can be booked any time.
Source: crownmelbourne.com.auIndoor pool, gym, no restaurant
The evening
PoolAn indoor pool and a gym are the draw, and both sit behind that notice. For dinner you're on your own, as the page names no restaurant.
Free breakfast
Not statedWhether breakfast is in the rate isn't on Crown's page.
Address
Whiteman Street, Southbank8 Whiteman Street, Southbank VIC 3006
Hotel website
Check-in at 15:00, out by 11:00
Times, parking and bags are on the page — a room count and a restaurant aren't.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
Crown Promenade gives no minimum age.
Extra fees
Not stated
Wi-Fi
Not stated
Parking for your stay
Valet A$85 for guests — the period it covers isn't confirmed
Breakfast
Not stated
Pool
An indoor pool and a gym, with a notice of maintenance closure from 13 July to 1 September that was still on the page
Pets
The pages we read for Crown Promenade don't mention pets.
Rooms
Crown Promenade doesn’t list room types on the pages we read.
Accessibility
Accessible rooms aren't described on the pages we read for Crown Promenade, so call first if you need one.
On site
- EV chargingNot stated
- Guest laundryNot stated
- GymYes
- Pets allowedNot stated
Also worth knowing
- A Bell Desk stores bags before check-in and after check-out
30, with a pool that may be shut
Distance takes 25 of the 30 — the pool adds 5 only because the notice gave a reopening date, 1 September, and food scores zero. The scale tops out at 100.
What Crown prints, and what to ask
Printed by Crown
- Check-in from 15:00, check-out at 11:00.
- The pool and gym notice was still showing when we read the page, so confirm both are open.
- The Bell Desk stores bags before check-in and after check-out.
- Valet parking, A$85.
- The page prints no room rate. Ask what the quote includes, GST and any fee, when you book.
Still to ask
- Breakfast terms
- Room count and sizes
- Whether the pool and gym have reopened
All of this is from Crown's page, as read on October 6, 2026 — notice included. Ask the hotel about the pool and gym, not a booking site.
Valet at A$85, period unknown
Guest parking
Guest parking from A$85Crown lists valet for guests at A$85. We couldn't confirm the period, so ask what it covers.
Source: crownmelbourne.com.auAt Station Pier
Limited, charged, no rateThat A$85 is Crown's hotel figure, not the pier's.
At the pier itself, Ports Victoria lists limited, charged spaces and gives no price — so if you're driving in, read Melbourne cruise parking before you commit to a car park.
Source: ports.vic.gov.auA pool, if it has reopened.
Send your sail date, and we'll ask Crown Promenade whether the pool and gym are open for your night. Nothing is charged on the form.
Metropol one place up, Hamptons at the top
Read next: the Melbourne cruise guide, parking at the pier and the splurge list.
The notice, the Bell Desk and valet
Is the pool open at Crown Promenade?
We can't say — the notice said the pool and gym would close from 13 July to 1 September, and it was still on the page on October 6, so ask before you book.
Does Crown Promenade store luggage?
Yes. The Bell Desk stores bags before the room is ready and after check-out, per Crown. Ask about a fee before you rely on it.
What is the difference between Crown Promenade and Crown Metropol?
Same address, different pools — Metropol's page lists a pool on the 27th floor, while Promenade's lists a pool and a gym plus the maintenance notice.
What does valet cost at Crown Promenade?
A$85 for guests, per Crown, with no period printed. Put the question to the hotel before you drive in.
How long is the cab from Crown Promenade to Station Pier?
About 5 minutes with no traffic, on our routing. Book the cab the night before.
Need the pool open?
Send your sail date — we'll ask Crown Promenade about the pool and gym and price the night. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
