Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. Booking.com doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
Crown Metropol is seventh of nineteen on 30 points, level with seven others and ahead of its neighbour Crown Promenade by name alone. Its angle is the Bell Desk: Crown's page says it stores luggage before the room is ready and after check-out, and it lists an indoor pool on the 27th floor.
Ports Victoria says there's no luggage storage at the pier, so the hold matters. Crown's page gives no distance to a cruise terminal, names no tram or train stop and lists no ride — we routed it ourselves: about 2.1 road miles (3.4 km), 5 minutes with no traffic, from the forecourt.
Check-in is from 15:00 and check-out at 11:00 — a late check-out may cost extra. Valet parking for guests is A$85 (about US$60), and we couldn't confirm the period it covers. The page mentions dining and bars across the complex but names none for this hotel.
I'd book it for the held bags and the pool, not for a restaurant — Crown names none.
Book it if
- Your room won't be ready when you arrive, or you'll check out hours before boarding — either way you want the bags held.
- An indoor pool on the 27th floor and a gym sound like your evening.
- A large complex, with car parks of more than 5,000 spaces, doesn't bother you.
Look elsewhere if
- You want to know the restaurant before you book. Crown's page names none for this hotel.
- Breakfast has to be in your rate, and Crown's page is silent on it.
- You want the hotel itself to say how far the pier is. We had to measure it.
Hand over the bags, then go up to the pool
The awkward hours are the ones either side of the stay, and the Bell Desk is how Crown covers them. The pier has no storage of its own — Ports Victoria says so.
Once the bags are gone, the 27th-floor pool and the gym are what Crown offers for the evening. Pick dinner before you arrive, since no restaurant is named for this hotel.
Book the taxi yourself the evening before — the drive is short by our routing.
Breakfast is the line to check on the booking screen, because Crown's page doesn't mention it.
Collect the bags from the Bell Desk when you're ready to leave, then call the cab from the forecourt.
If a car is coming, it adds the valet fee, so ask what the A$85 buys before you commit.
From Whiteman Street, the cab is the plan
Crown prints no cruise distance, so the distance on this page is our routing's, not Crown's. Plan a cab, not a shuttle.
Crown's own page mentions no airport transfer.
Nothing from Crown here either: the taxi from the forecourt is yours to book.
From MEL without a hotel shuttle
By our routing Melbourne Airport is about 15.2 road miles from Crown Metropol, roughly 25 minutes with no traffic. From the SkyBus stop at Southern Cross, it's a short taxi to the Crown forecourt.
The page names no tram or train stop, so we count no rail link for Crown Metropol.
Driving in? The valet fee, and the part of it we couldn't confirm, is further down the page.
Sail morning works the same way — a cab from the forecourt.
Flying in on sail day? Skip Crown Metropol altogether and read the airport page for the landing check.
Which terminal
Station PierStation Pier is the one cruise terminal in Melbourne, and Ports Victoria says each line sets its own embarkation times. Check yours in the Melbourne cruise guide.
Source: ports.vic.gov.auDistance
~2.1 road mi, our routingThe figure is ours, not Crown's: it's the short drive set out at the top of the page.
Source: crownmelbourne.com.auBy tram
Tram link not documentedNothing to score here, so the rail link earns zero.
Source: crownmelbourne.com.auTo the ship
No shuttle statedLeave the bags with the Bell Desk until the cab arrives, rather than carrying them around the complex.
Source: crownmelbourne.com.auWhere Crown's 30 points come from
Distance earns 25 of 30 and the 27th-floor pool earns 5. Food scores zero — Crown names no restaurant for this hotel. The scale tops out at 100.
A$85 of valet, with no period attached
Guest parking
Guest parking from A$85Crown prints A$85 for guest valet parking. The period is the missing piece — so ask whether it's per night or per day.
Source: crownmelbourne.com.auAt Station Pier
Limited, charged, no rateThe complex has car parks of more than 5,000 spaces, though valet is the only price we found on Crown's page.
Parking at the terminal instead? Waterfront Place has limited charged spaces and no published rate, and the pier has no luggage storage either. The Melbourne parking page has the pier lot, and our tram notes cover the rail side.
Source: ports.vic.gov.auThe evening: one pool, no named restaurant
The evening
PoolThe 27th-floor indoor pool and the gym are the facilities Crown lists. Dining and bars are mentioned for the complex as a whole, with none named for this hotel.
Free breakfast
Not statedRead the rate for breakfast before you pay; Crown's page doesn't mention it.
Address
Whiteman Street, Southbank8 Whiteman Street, Southbank VIC 3006
Hotel website
Missing from Crown's page: rooms, rates, restaurants
On the page
- Check-in from 15:00, check-out at 11:00, and a late check-out may cost extra.
- The Bell Desk stores luggage before the room is ready and after check-out.
- Valet parking at A$85, with car parks of more than 5,000 spaces across the Whiteman Street complex.
- Same address as Crown Promenade and Crown Towers.
- No room rate is printed, so confirm the total, GST and any late check-out fee when you book.
Not on the page
- Breakfast terms
- Room count and sizes
- Any named restaurant at this hotel
These facts come from Crown's page, read October 6, 2026. The valet period is the one thing we couldn't confirm, so ask Crown, not a forum.
Times, parking and pets, as Crown lists them
Crown's own wording, summarised. Where the page is silent, we say so.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
Crown gives no minimum age.
Extra fees
Not stated
Wi-Fi
Not stated
Parking for your stay
Valet, A$85 for guests; period unconfirmed
Breakfast
Not stated
Pool
An indoor pool on the 27th floor, and a gym
Pets
We found nothing on pets for Crown Metropol.
Rooms
No room types are listed on the pages we read.
Accessibility
Crown doesn’t detail accessible rooms in the pages we read, so call before you book one.
On site
- EV chargingNot stated
- Guest laundryNot stated
- GymYes
- Pets allowedNot stated
Two more lines from the page
- Luggage held at the Bell Desk on both sides of the stay
- Car parks of more than 5,000 spaces across the complex
The Hamptons, Novotel and Crown Promenade, compared
Next, after Crown Metropol: the cruise guide for the lines, parking for the car, the splurge list for Crown Towers next door.
Bags held, then a cab.
Tell us your sail date, and we'll check Crown Metropol for the night before. The form takes no payment.
Questions about the Bell Desk and the valet
Will Crown Metropol hold my luggage?
Yes, on Crown's say-so: the Bell Desk stores bags before the room is ready and after check-out. It isn't a pier service, so collect them before you leave.
Is the Crown Metropol pool indoors?
Yes, indoors: Crown puts it on the 27th floor, and there's a gym too.
Is Crown Metropol's A$85 valet per night?
We couldn't confirm it; Crown's A$85 comes with no period. Ask at booking, not at the valet stand.
Are Crown Metropol and Crown Promenade the same hotel?
No, though they share the 8 Whiteman Street address, and Crown Towers is on it too.
Does Crown run a shuttle to Station Pier?
Crown lists none, so book a taxi — our routing puts the pier about 5 minutes away.
Cruise booked yet?
Send your line and sail date — we'll check Crown Metropol and the ride to the pier. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
