Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. Booking.com doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
The Ritz-Carlton says outright that it has no shuttle — a taxi or premium cab on request is what you get instead. The hotel's page lists check-in at 15:00, check-out at 11:00 and parking at A$85 (about US$60) a day, by self or valet.
The 2023 opening year comes from a Marriott press release our research found, not from the hotel's own page. That page names no pool, restaurant or bar, so we won't guess at your evening — and pets aren't allowed.
By our routing Station Pier is about 2.9 road miles (4.7 km) off, roughly 7 minutes with no traffic. The one call to make is to the concierge, for a cab at your boarding window.
I'd book it if the newer building matters — and you don't mind asking about the rest.
Book it if
- A building that opened in 2023 matters more to you than a pool.
- You're happy to have the concierge book a premium cab.
- A$85 a day doesn't put you off parking, if you're driving in.
Look elsewhere if
- You choose hotels for the pool or the restaurant; the page names neither.
- A hotel shuttle is on your checklist.
- A pet is coming along, and the hotel doesn't allow them.
Ask the concierge for a cab
Tonight is a 15:00 check-in, an 11:00 check-out and a cab the concierge books for you.
With no restaurant or bar named, pick your dinner before you arrive.
Ask for the cab to be booked for your boarding window; there's no shuttle to fall back on.
Breakfast terms aren't printed, so ask at booking.
Then the cab, with the distance and minutes as given above.
A$85 a day, self or valet. For parking while you are at sea, use the pier parking page.
No shuttle: a taxi or premium cab on request
The page lists parking and a cab on request, and nothing about a pool, restaurant or bar.
What the page leaves unsaid: pool, food, breakfast
The evening
No pool, restaurant or bar turns up on the page, so put that question to the concierge before you plan a night around any of them.
Source: ritzcarlton.comFree breakfast
Not statedBreakfast isn't mentioned either — confirm what the rate includes before you pay.
Address
Lonsdale Street, in the city650 Lonsdale Street, Melbourne 3000
Hotel page
Ratings
None printedWe've printed no star class for The Ritz-Carlton; its page gives none.
Source: ritzcarlton.com650 Lonsdale Street to Station Pier, by cab
The route to the pier is a cab across the city, booked through the concierge rather than a shuttle you'd queue for.
No shuttle, per the hotel — a taxi or premium cab on request instead.
The page lists no ride to the pier; the cab is the answer again, and it's one to book ahead.
From MEL without a hotel shuttle
By our routing the airport is about 14.0 road miles (22.5 km), 23 minutes; the airport page covers SkyBus and the taxis.
If you drive, the rate is in the parking section below.
Sail morning is the same cab, so book it the night before.
Landing on sail day? Skip The Ritz-Carlton and see the airport page.
Distance
~2.9 road mi to Station Pier, our routingThe hotel gives no cruise figure, so the distances here are from our routing, not from Marriott.
Source: router.project-osrm.orgTo the ship
Shuttle not statedConfirm the cab before sail day; it's the one booking the whole morning hangs on.
Source: ritzcarlton.com15:00, 11:00 and no pets
The page gives times and a pet rule, and little past that.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
No minimum age is given.
Extra fees
Not stated
Wi-Fi
Not stated
Parking for your stay
A$85 a day, self or valet
For the cruise itself, see Parking.
Breakfast
Not stated
Pool
A pool isn't named on the page, so put that to the hotel.
Pets
Pets aren't allowed, per the hotel.
Rooms
No room types are listed on the page.
Accessibility
Nothing on accessible rooms in the pages we read, so put the question to the hotel before booking.
On site
- EV chargingNot stated
- Guest laundryNot stated
- GymNot stated
- Pets allowedNo
A note on the dollar sign
- The parking fee carries a plain dollar sign, which we read as Australian dollars.
The opening year is not on the page
Worth knowing
- The 2023 year rests on a press release alone.
- A plain dollar sign is all the parking rate carries, so we've read it as Australian dollars.
- No pool, restaurant or bar appears on the page.
What we couldn’t confirm
- Pool and gym
- Restaurants and bars
- Breakfast terms
- Luggage storage
Take the year as our research's finding and the rest as the hotel's own word.
A$85 a day, self or valet
At the hotel
Guest parking listedThe same A$85 a day for self-parking or valet.
Source: ritzcarlton.comParking for the cruise
Waterfront Place: charged, no ratePorts Victoria describes Waterfront Place as the pier's own lot — limited, charged, no rate printed.
Source: ports.vic.gov.auDriving in? Melbourne cruise parking sets out the pier options, and the cruise guide covers the lines.
If you'd rather have a pool: the other splurge hotels
A newer hotel, then a cab.
Send your sail date and we'll ask The Ritz-Carlton about the cab and the evening. Nothing is charged on the form.
The opening, the cab and the parking
When did The Ritz-Carlton Melbourne open?
2023, going by a Marriott press release; the hotel's own page leaves the year out.
Does The Ritz-Carlton run a shuttle to the pier?
No — the hotel says so itself, and points you to a taxi or premium cab on request. Ask the concierge to book it for your boarding window.
Is Ritz-Carlton parking priced in Australian dollars?
We read it as Australian dollars: the page prints a plain dollar sign beside A$85 a day, self or valet.
Are pets allowed at The Ritz-Carlton Melbourne?
No. A pet means another hotel.
How long is the cab from The Ritz-Carlton to Station Pier?
Roughly 7 minutes with no traffic, about 2.9 road miles (4.7 km) by our routing, and the hotel itself gives no cruise distance.
Booking the cruise too?
Your line and sail date go to us; the cab and bag questions go to The Ritz-Carlton. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
