Splurge Hotels · Brisbane

A Grand Night Before the Ship

Brisbane’s grand hotels sit in the CBD, at Queen’s Wharf, in Fortitude Valley and at South Bank, and none of them is at the cruise terminal in Pinkenba. Each of the eight has one real thing going for it, from a pool open all night to a tennis court, and every one means arranging your own ride on sail morning. Each card sets what the hotel offers against what you’ll sort out yourself.

7with a pool
4name a restaurant
2price an airport car
Pick Yours

Pick the kind of night you want

Eight places made this list, and none of them is in our twenty — each gets a page of its own. Tap the kind of night you’re after, and its hotel lights up.

We print no star class or guide rating for any of the eight, because none turned up in our research. Where a hotel calls itself five-star, that is its own wording, and we say so.

The Eight

Eight grand hotels, none with a ride to the ship

Over Central StationRead Oct 6, 2026 · hotel page
~11.5 road mi to the cruise terminal, our routing

Sofitel Brisbane Central

Bistro Suzette, a rooftop pool and spa and 182 indoor spaces, all above Central Station. Sofitel calls it five-star luxury, which is its own claim.

You’re paying for

  • Above Central Station
  • Bistro Suzette
  • Rooftop pool and spa; Stephanie's Spa Retreat

Watch for

  • No ride to the ship printed
  • About 11.5 road miles to the cruise terminal
Booking.com Full review →
A pool open all nightRead Oct 6, 2026 · hotel page
~13.5 road mi to the cruise terminal, our routing

W Brisbane

WET, the heated outdoor pool, is open 24 hours, and breakfast is a buffet at The Lex. Marriott lists pets as welcome.

You’re paying for

  • A pool open 24/7
  • The Lex (breakfast buffet)
  • WET heated outdoor pool, 24 hours

Watch for

  • No ride to the ship printed
  • About 13.5 road miles to the cruise terminal
Booking.com Full review →
A swim-up barRead Oct 6, 2026 · hotel page
~11.9 road mi to the cruise terminal, our routing

The Westin Brisbane

The draw is the swim-up bar at the Nautilus Pool. The page ties breakfast to Westin Club lounge access and names no restaurant.

You’re paying for

  • A swim-up bar
  • Nautilus Pool
  • Swim-up bar at the Nautilus Pool

Watch for

  • Breakfast not stated
  • No ride to the ship printed
  • About 11.9 road miles to the cruise terminal
Booking.com Full review →
On the river, with a free poolRead Oct 6, 2026 · hotel page
~11.2 road mi to the cruise terminal, our routing

Brisbane Marriott Hotel

Queen Street, facing the river, with a complimentary outdoor pool and whirlpool. A car company named on its fact sheet charges A$85 (about US$60) to the airport.

You’re paying for

  • Riverfront on Queen Street
  • Outdoor pool and whirlpool, complimentary

Watch for

  • Breakfast not stated
  • No ride to the ship printed
  • About 11.2 road miles to the cruise terminal
Booking.com Full review →
A tennis courtRead Oct 6, 2026 · hotel page
~11.8 road mi to the cruise terminal, our routing

Hilton Brisbane

An outdoor heated pool, a fitness room and a tennis court, per its page. Parking is valet only, at A$58 (about US$40).

You’re paying for

  • A tennis court
  • Outdoor heated pool; fitness room

Watch for

  • Breakfast not stated
  • No ride to the ship printed
  • About 11.8 road miles to the cruise terminal
Booking.com Full review →
A rooftop infinity poolRead Oct 6, 2026 · hotel page
~13.4 road mi to the cruise terminal, our routing

Emporium Hotel South Bank

143 suites on Grey Street, with a rooftop infinity pool, a sauna, the Healing Stone Day Spa and Firma for Italian. The page says nothing about check-in or parking.

You’re paying for

  • Rooftop infinity pool
  • Firma (Italian); The Terrace
  • Rooftop infinity pool; Healing Stone Day Spa
  • The Reserve Wine Bar; Belle Epoque

Watch for

  • Breakfast not stated
  • No ride to the ship printed
  • About 13.4 road miles to the cruise terminal
  • Check-in and parking not printed
Booking.com Full review →
Free bag storageRead Oct 6, 2026 · hotel page
~10.8 road mi to the cruise terminal, our routing

The Calile Hotel

Bags are stored free before or after your stay, and a transfer to the airport runs about A$79 (about US$55). Hellenika and SK Steak & Oyster are on site.

You’re paying for

  • Free bag storage
  • Hellenika; SK Steak & Oyster; Sushi Room
  • Lobby Bar

Watch for

  • Breakfast not stated
  • No ride to the ship printed
  • About 10.8 road miles to the cruise terminal
Booking.com Full review →
Three pools at Queen's WharfRead Oct 6, 2026 · hotel page
~12.8 road mi to the cruise terminal, our routing

The Star Grand Brisbane

340 rooms and three pools on a leisure deck, all from the Queen's Wharf precinct page. We found no hotel booking site or policies.

You’re paying for

  • Three pools
  • Leisure deck with three pools

Watch for

  • Breakfast not stated
  • No ride to the ship printed
  • About 12.8 road miles to the cruise terminal
  • Thin page: little published
Booking.com Full review →
On the Map

The eight on the Brisbane map

Tap a pin for the hotel’s card, then open the review. The numbers follow the list above.

Brisbane International Cruise Terminal1 Cruise Terminal Drive, Pinkenba 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1 5 km · 3.1 mi N
Splurge pick, numbered as belowCruise terminalReal geography: NOAA’s GSHHG shoreline, generalised, so piers and quays aren’t drawn. Map pins from the Esri World Geocoder: address matches, except that Pullman and ibis Brisbane Airport share one pin at 2 Dryandra Road and the Pullman pin is a name match. The terminal pin is Esri’s street point for 1 Cruise Terminal Drive, not a berth, and the airport pin is a name match inside the international terminal.
Side by Side

Eight hotels in one grid

Each hotel’s name lights up its column when you point at it. Green is on the page, gold comes with a cost or a condition, and grey is something nobody says.

FeatureSofitel CentralW BrisbaneThe WestinBrisbane MarriottHilton BrisbaneEmporium South BankThe CalileThe Star Grand
The standoutAbove Central StationA pool open 24/7A swim-up barRiverfront on Queen StreetA tennis courtRooftop infinity poolFree bag storageThree pools
RestaurantBistro SuzetteThe Lex (breakfast buffet)Not statedNot statedNot statedFirma (Italian); The TerraceHellenika; SK Steak & Oyster; Sushi RoomNot stated
Bar or drinksNot statedNot statedSwim-up bar at the Nautilus PoolNot statedNot statedThe Reserve Wine Bar; Belle EpoqueLobby BarNot stated
Spa or poolRooftop pool and spa; Stephanie's Spa RetreatWET heated outdoor pool, 24 hoursNautilus PoolOutdoor pool and whirlpool, complimentaryOutdoor heated pool; fitness roomRooftop infinity pool; Healing Stone Day SpaNot statedLeisure deck with three pools
BreakfastBistro Suzette; price not printedThe Lex buffet; price not printedClub lounge access, not standard roomsNot statedPackages and executive lounge onlyNot statedNot statedNot stated
Airport or ship transfer—Private transfer, reservation needed; no priceConcierge arranges private transfers; no priceCentury Limousines A$85 one way, A$170 (about US$120) return——Private transfer about A$79 each way—
Parking182 indoor spaces, valet; fee not statedValet A$70 (about US$50) a day, 2.2 m limitSelf-park or valet, A$60 (about US$40) a dayValet A$59 (about US$40) a day, 2.15 m limitValet A$58; no self-parkingNot statedSelf-park A$50 (about US$35), valet A$70 a dayNot stated
Distance to the terminal~11.5 road mi to the cruise terminal, our routing~13.5 road mi to the cruise terminal, our routing~11.9 road mi to the cruise terminal, our routing~11.2 road mi to the cruise terminal, our routing~11.8 road mi to the cruise terminal, our routing~13.4 road mi to the cruise terminal, our routing~10.8 road mi to the cruise terminal, our routing~12.8 road mi to the cruise terminal, our routing
The Trade

Spend on the night; the morning is a taxi to Pinkenba

No hotel here prints a ride to the terminal, and none is beside it. By our routing The Calile is about 10.8 road miles from the cruise terminal, Emporium South Bank about 13.4 and W Brisbane about 13.5 — the drives run 25 to 31 minutes with no traffic.

The Port of Brisbane says no public transport and no scheduled shuttle buses serve the terminal, which opens only on cruise ship days.

Two print an airport car price — the Brisbane Marriott and The Calile — and both go to Brisbane Airport, not the terminal.

W Brisbane and the Westin mention a private transfer by reservation or through the concierge and print no fare.

Parking is a patchwork. Five hotels print a nightly rate, from A$50 to A$70 — Sofitel lists 182 spaces and no fee, and two print nothing.

For the cruise itself, Wilson Parking's terminal lots are the documented option, with P2 at A$34 (about US$25) for a day prepaid as of Oct 6, 2026, and prepaying gives no reserved space.

Two pages are thin. Emporium prints no check-in time or parking, and The Star Grand has only a precinct page with a room count and three pools.

Where they say nothing, we say “not stated” rather than guess.

Airport taxis
Need a ride from the airport?

Booking.com lists airport taxis you can book ahead. Check the pickup point, the price and the cancellation terms before you book.

Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.

Also Considered

Two we left off the eight

HotelWhy it isn’t in the eight
Mantra South Bank BrisbaneNot splurge-grade: it's the 21st hotel we scored, in the table on the ranked list, with a lap pool and apartments for five.
Dorsett Brisbane, Rosewood Brisbane and Treasury Hotel BrisbaneThe Queen's Wharf precinct page lists them, and we found no dated page showing them open, so none is on the list.
Renting a car? The terminal is at Pinkenba, about 12 km from the airport, with no public transport and no scheduled shuttle buses. Brisbane rental cars · Should you rent at all? · Airport to the ship, by car or not
Ratings and Prices

Stars and dollar signs: how to read them here

Read October 6, 2026
Ratings on this list
We print no star class and no guide rating for these hotels. Sofitel calls itself five-star luxury and the precinct site calls The Star Grand five-star; both are the hotels' own claims, and the research didn't check them against an official classification.
As the hotels print them
Dollar signs on Marriott and Hilton pages
Marriott pages print a plain dollar sign, and Hilton prints AU$58. We read the plain signs as Australian dollars. Every price here is as of October 6, 2026.
FAQ

Brisbane splurge questions

Which grand hotels are closest to the Brisbane cruise terminal?

None of the eight is near it. The Calile in Fortitude Valley is the shortest drive, about 10.8 road miles to the Brisbane International Cruise Terminal by our routing, and Emporium South Bank and W Brisbane are the longest at about 13.4 and 13.5.

So budget about half an hour for the taxi — and book it the night before.

Do Brisbane's grand hotels run a shuttle to the cruise terminal?

None of the eight prints a ride to the terminal. The only hotel we found that publishes a free shuttle to it is The Kingsford at Hamilton, which is in our twenty — its page prints no times.

That holds whichever hotel you pick: nothing public runs to the terminal.

Which of the splurge hotels prices an airport transfer?

Two do. The Brisbane Marriott lists Century Limousines at A$85 one way or A$170 round trip, and The Calile lists a private transfer at about A$79 each way, a taxi or Uber at about A$35 (about US$25) and the train at A$18 (about US$13).

Brisbane Airport's own page puts a taxi to the city at A$67 to A$82, so treat the A$35 as the hotel's figure. W Brisbane lists a private transfer by reservation with no fare, and the Westin says the concierge can arrange one.

Prices are as of Oct 6, 2026.

Can I park at a Brisbane grand hotel while I cruise?

Five print a rate: W at A$70 a day, the Westin at A$60, the Marriott at A$59, the Hilton at A$58 and The Calile at A$50 self-park or A$70 valet. Sofitel lists 182 indoor spaces and no fee, and Emporium and The Star Grand print nothing.

For the cruise itself, Wilson Parking’s terminal lots are the documented option, with the P2 price in the section above.

Which of the eight allow pets?

At W Brisbane pets are allowed, one per room up to 18 kg, at A$150 (about US$105) a stay or A$30 (about US$20) a night. The Westin, the Brisbane Marriott and the Hilton don't allow them, though the Hilton allows service animals.

Sofitel, Emporium, The Calile and The Star Grand print no pet rule on the pages we read.

Do these hotels have star ratings or guide ratings on your list?

No. We found no guide rating for any of the eight and print no star class. Sofitel and the Queen's Wharf site call their hotels five-star, which is the hotels' own wording.

Sydney and Melbourne have splurge lists of their own (Sydney, Melbourne), along with ranked hotels (Sydney, Melbourne) and airport pages (Sydney, Melbourne). Australia and New Zealand cruises covers the circuit around them. If you’re hiring a car, start with Brisbane cruise-port car rental.

Want us to book the splurge?

Tell us the hotel you’re considering and when you sail, and we’ll price the night and line up the taxi to the terminal.

No obligation.

No obligation — a real advisor reviews every request.

Prefer to talk? Book a free 30-minute call or call (407) 312-0306.

Compare 0 of 3