Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
First, level on 48 with the SpringHill Suites at Newark and placed ahead because you can walk to your ship, not cab to it. Ink 48's own location page says you can walk to the Manhattan Cruise Terminal from Eleventh Avenue and West 48th, and it's AAA Four Diamond, on AAA's list since 2011.
It's the only hotel we scored whose own pages put the terminal on foot — no figure, just the word walk.
The car and the fee cost it points. Nothing covers parking while you sail, valet is $80 a day at a partner location, and a $40-plus-tax nightly amenity fee covers Wi-Fi, the gym and calls. You must be 21 to book.
Flying in with bags you can wheel? Book it, and walk over to Pier 88 in the morning.
Book it if
- Flyers sailing from Manhattan's Pier 88 with bags they can wheel
- Couples who want a proper dinner and a rooftop bar the night before
- Dog owners, up to 50 lb
Look elsewhere if
- You're driving and need to leave the car.
- You're under 21.
- You want breakfast included.
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what Ink 48 publishes.
222 rooms and suites in a former 1930s theatrical printing press, many with city and Hudson River views. Hudson Local, from Michelin-trained Chef Carlos Letonas, is the restaurant, and the Hudson VU Rooftop is a 21-plus bar by reservation only.
The hotel's location page says you can "walk to ... the Manhattan Cruise Terminal", with no distance or time. There's no shuttle, and its Stay and Cruise page lists no transport.
Not included. Hudson Local serves breakfast daily, 7 to 11 AM.
Ink 48's location page says you can walk to the Manhattan Cruise Terminal, and its Stay and Cruise page calls the hotel "just moments from" it; neither gives a distance or a time. It's on the corner of Eleventh Avenue and West 48th Street. The terminal is on Twelfth Avenue, with its car entrance at West 55th Street, per the port. Your cruise line’s documents name your terminal and check-in window.
Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise. Self-parking and valet are at a preferred partner location; valet is $80 a day for cars and $90 for oversized vehicles, and the FAQ mentions "A discounted parking package" without cruise terms.
Night-Before Score: 48 of 100
Scored only from what the hotel publishes. Here’s how the Night-Before Score works.
Getting here, and on to the ship
Pick where you’re coming from. Solid lines are rides the hotel publishes; a question mark is a leg you’ll arrange yourself.
The FAQ says the hotel "does not offer a free airport shuttle"; the concierge arranges paid car service.
The hotel's location page says you can "walk to ... the Manhattan Cruise Terminal", with no distance or time. There's no shuttle, and its Stay and Cruise page lists no transport.
Ink 48's location page says you can walk to the Manhattan Cruise Terminal, and its Stay and Cruise page calls the hotel "just moments from" it; neither gives a distance or a time. It's on the corner of Eleventh Avenue and West 48th Street. The terminal is on Twelfth Avenue, with its car entrance at West 55th Street, per the port.
From JFK without a hotel shuttle
The TLC's flat taxi fare from JFK to Manhattan is $70 plus surcharges, tolls and tip; to Red Hook it runs on the meter. AirTrain is $8.75 to the subway or the LIRR at Jamaica. Carnival's transfer to Pier 88 is from $44.99 a person if you land by noon.
The FAQ says the hotel "does not offer a free airport shuttle"; the concierge arranges paid car service.
The hotel's location page says you can "walk to ... the Manhattan Cruise Terminal", with no distance or time. There's no shuttle, and its Stay and Cruise page lists no transport.
Ink 48's location page says you can walk to the Manhattan Cruise Terminal, and its Stay and Cruise page calls the hotel "just moments from" it; neither gives a distance or a time. It's on the corner of Eleventh Avenue and West 48th Street. The terminal is on Twelfth Avenue, with its car entrance at West 55th Street, per the port.
From LGA without a hotel shuttle
A taxi from LaGuardia runs on the meter plus a $5 surcharge. The Q70 LaGuardia Link bus is free to the subway. Carnival's transfer to Pier 88 is from $44.99 a person if you land by noon, and Cunard puts LaGuardia about 20 minutes from Brooklyn.
The FAQ says the hotel "does not offer a free airport shuttle"; the concierge arranges paid car service.
The hotel's location page says you can "walk to ... the Manhattan Cruise Terminal", with no distance or time. There's no shuttle, and its Stay and Cruise page lists no transport.
Ink 48's location page says you can walk to the Manhattan Cruise Terminal, and its Stay and Cruise page calls the hotel "just moments from" it; neither gives a distance or a time. It's on the corner of Eleventh Avenue and West 48th Street. The terminal is on Twelfth Avenue, with its car entrance at West 55th Street, per the port.
From EWR without a hotel shuttle
A New York taxi from Newark runs on the meter plus a $20 surcharge and tolls. NJ Transit to Penn Station is $17.25, AirTrain included. For Cape Liberty it's a cab or car service: the port won't let you arrive on foot, per Celebrity, and Royal Caribbean puts Newark 9 miles away.
Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise. Self-parking and valet are at a preferred partner location; valet is $80 a day for cars and $90 for oversized vehicles, and the FAQ mentions "A discounted parking package" without cruise terms.
Parking for your stay: At a preferred partner location, price not stated; valet $80 a day, $90 oversized.
The hotel's location page says you can "walk to ... the Manhattan Cruise Terminal", with no distance or time. There's no shuttle, and its Stay and Cruise page lists no transport.
Ink 48's location page says you can walk to the Manhattan Cruise Terminal, and its Stay and Cruise page calls the hotel "just moments from" it; neither gives a distance or a time. It's on the corner of Eleventh Avenue and West 48th Street. The terminal is on Twelfth Avenue, with its car entrance at West 55th Street, per the port.
Landing on sail morning instead? Some cruise lines and shuttle companies run straight to the terminals; compare the airports and the landing guidelines.
Which terminal
Manhattan (Pier 88)It's placed for the Manhattan Cruise Terminal at Pier 88, which Norwegian and Holland America name and Carnival's transfers go to. Sailing Virgin, MSC or Cunard? That's Brooklyn. Royal Caribbean or Celebrity? Cape Liberty, in New Jersey.
Distance
A walk, per the hotelInk 48's location page says you can walk to the Manhattan Cruise Terminal, and its Stay and Cruise page calls the hotel "just moments from" it; neither gives a distance or a time. It's on the corner of Eleventh Avenue and West 48th Street. The terminal is on Twelfth Avenue, with its car entrance at West 55th Street, per the port.
Source: ink48.comShuttle departures
No shuttleYou leave when you’re ready: it’s a walk or a five-minute cab. Your cruise documents give your terminal check-in window.
Source: ink48.comParking while you sail
Cruise parking
Cruise parking unconfirmedNothing about leaving the car while you cruise. Self-parking and valet are at a preferred partner location; valet is $80 a day for cars and $90 for oversized vehicles, and the FAQ mentions "A discounted parking package" without cruise terms.
Source: ink48.comThe port’s own lots
$45 a night · $35 a dayManhattan and Brooklyn: both terminals’ own lots are $45 a night, taxes included, per Cruise NYC, which still dates that rate to April 1, 2023. Manhattan takes cards only, with an 8′3″ height limit; Brooklyn takes cash or cards, and big vehicles park on the main level.
Cape Liberty: $35 a day, taxes included, per Royal Caribbean; Celebrity’s FAQ says $30. No reservation is needed. The garage’s height limit is 7′4″, with an open lot beside it for taller vehicles, and oversized vehicles pay double. Compare every parking option.
Source: cruise.nycThe evening and the morning
The evening
Food or bar on site222 rooms and suites in a former 1930s theatrical printing press, many with city and Hudson River views. Hudson Local, from Michelin-trained Chef Carlos Letonas, is the restaurant, and the Hudson VU Rooftop is a 21-plus bar by reservation only.
Breakfast
Not freeNot included. Hudson Local serves breakfast daily, 7 to 11 AM.
Address
Eleventh Avenue at West 48th Street, Hell's Kitchen653 Eleventh Avenue, New York, NY 10036
Hotel website
The fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as Ink 48 publishes it. Where it says “not stated”, the hotel doesn’t say, and a quick call will settle it.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
To check in, per the hotel.
Resort fee
$40 plus tax a night, per room: standard Wi-Fi for 3 devices, the gym, local and long-distance calls and discounted parking; the amenities page also lists a 10% partner-restaurant discount
Wi-Fi
Standard Wi-Fi in the amenity fee; the homepage calls premium Wi-Fi complimentary
Parking for your stay
At a preferred partner location, price not stated; valet $80 a day, $90 oversized
Cruise parking is in the parking section above.
Breakfast
Paid; Hudson Local, 7–11 AM daily
Pool
No pool mentioned on the pages we read
Pets
Pets up to 50 lb, $150 plus tax a stay, non-refundable.
Food and drink on site
- Hudson LocalRestaurant from Michelin-trained Chef Carlos Letonas; breakfast 7–11 AM
- Hudson VU Rooftop21+, by reservation only; skyline views
Rooms
222 rooms and suites, including a penthouse, many with city and Hudson River views; soaking tubs and spa showers.
Accessibility
Accessible rooms are offered.
On site
- EV chargingNot stated
- Guest laundryNot stated
- Fitness centerYes
- Pets allowedYes
Nearby, by the hotel’s count
- Manhattan Cruise Terminala walk, per the hotel
- Hudson Yardsunder a mile
- Times Squareunder a mile
Distances as the hotel or its brand lists them. Bars use a square-root scale so short walks stay visible.
Also worth knowing
- AAA Four Diamond on AAA's 2026 list, since 2011
- A Stay and Cruise page, with no package price, inclusions or luggage terms
- Laundry valet
- In a former 1930s theatrical printing press
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Amenity fee $40 plus tax a night, per room: standard Wi-Fi for three devices, the gym, local and long-distance calls and discounted parking, per the FAQ. The amenities page also lists a 10% discount at partner restaurants.
- Reservations only for guests 21 and over. Check-in 3 PM, check-out noon.
- No free airport shuttle, per the FAQ; the concierge arranges paid car service.
- Its own site shows no brand name; older listings may still call it Kimpton Ink48.
What we couldn’t confirm
- The walking distance to Pier 88
- Whether you can park while you cruise
- What the Stay and Cruise page includes
Rates and policies are as the hotel published them on September 27, 2026. Confirm anything you’re counting on when you book.
Worth a look alongside it
Wake up in Hell’s Kitchen, a few avenue blocks from Pier 88.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check Ink 48 for the night before. No payment on the form.
Ink 48 FAQ
Does Ink 48 have a cruise shuttle?
No, and you may not need one. The hotel's location page says you can "walk to ... the Manhattan Cruise Terminal", with no distance or time. There's no shuttle, and its Stay and Cruise page lists no transport.
Does Ink 48 have an airport shuttle?
Not that it publishes. From John F. Kennedy International: The FAQ says the hotel "does not offer a free airport shuttle"; the concierge arranges paid car service. From LaGuardia: The FAQ says the hotel "does not offer a free airport shuttle"; the concierge arranges paid car service. From Newark Liberty International: The FAQ says the hotel "does not offer a free airport shuttle"; the concierge arranges paid car service.
Can I park at Ink 48 while I cruise?
The hotel doesn't say. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise. Self-parking and valet are at a preferred partner location; valet is $80 a day for cars and $90 for oversized vehicles, and the FAQ mentions "A discounted parking package" without cruise terms.
How far is Ink 48 from the cruise terminal?
Ink 48's location page says you can walk to the Manhattan Cruise Terminal, and its Stay and Cruise page calls the hotel "just moments from" it; neither gives a distance or a time. It's on the corner of Eleventh Avenue and West 48th Street. The terminal is on Twelfth Avenue, with its car entrance at West 55th Street, per the port. It sits in our by the piers band. It's placed for the Manhattan Cruise Terminal at Pier 88, which Norwegian and Holland America name and Carnival's transfers go to. Sailing Virgin, MSC or Cunard? That's Brooklyn. Royal Caribbean or Celebrity? Cape Liberty, in New Jersey.
Can I check in early or check out late on cruise days?
Check-in is 3:00 PM and check-out 12:00 PM. The hotel doesn't publish early or late terms, so ask when you book, not on the day.
Will the hotel hold my bags?
A Stay and Cruise page, with no package price, inclusions or luggage terms.
Does the port shuttle come back for me after the cruise?
You can walk to the terminals from here, and there's no hotel shuttle back. Carnival's transfer runs back to all three airports from $44.99 a person. From Manhattan, the TLC's flat taxi fare to JFK is $70 plus surcharges.
What's the breakfast timing on sail morning?
Paid; Hudson Local, 7–11 AM daily. Plan coffee on the way if you're leaving early.
Can I park an oversized vehicle or charge an EV?
valet $80 a day, $90 oversized.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
