Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
Hotel Grande Bretagne is the classic Athens night. MICHELIN gives it Two Keys, the hotel calls itself a 5 star, and it has three restaurants, four bars including the GB Roof Garden, and a spa with a thermal suite and a pool.
It's also the only splurge here that names Piraeus port in a transfer. Its site lists private transfers from the airport and Piraeus port, without a price — ask for the run to the ship when you book.
Our routing puts the Terminal A street point about 7.6 road miles and 14 minutes away with no traffic. As a 5-star, the climate fee is €15 (about US$17) a room a night from April to October.
Book it for Syntagma and the roof, and get the transfer fare in writing.
Book it if
- You want the classic grand-hotel night in Athens
- Dinner on the GB Roof Garden
- A transfer the hotel itself can book
Look elsewhere if
- You're bringing a pet — MICHELIN says they aren't allowed.
- You want a beach.
- You need the transfer price before booking.
What Grande Bretagne charges for, and what it leaves out
What the Grande Bretagne gives you for the money: green is on offer, gold costs extra or comes with a catch, grey isn't stated.
Your night before, from here
A Grande Bretagne night before the ship, from the hotel's site and MICHELIN's.
Three restaurants and four bars, among them the GB Roof Garden Restaurant & Bar, the Winter Garden and Alexander's Bar, with the GB Spa's thermal suite, a pool and a gym.
Ask the hotel for its private transfer to Piraeus, and agree the fare first.
The Grande Bretagne's site and MICHELIN don't say whether breakfast comes with the room.
About 7.6 road miles to Terminal A by our routing, 14 minutes with no traffic.
Valet parking, per MICHELIN, price not printed.
Getting here, and on to the ship
Pick where you start. The question marks are rides you arrange — here, the hotel will arrange one if you ask.
The hotel offers private transfers from the airport, price not printed.
The hotel lists private transfers from the airport and Piraeus port, price not printed — ask it to run you to the ship.
About 7.6 mi to Terminal A — our routing, no traffic.
From ATH without a hotel shuttle
The hotel offers private transfers from the airport, price not printed. Syntagma station, across the square, is on Line 3 to the airport; by our routing the drive is about 20.8 road miles. More on the airport page.
MICHELIN lists valet and off-street parking, price not printed; whether the hotel keeps a car through a cruise is a question for the desk.
Parking for your stay: Valet and off-street parking, per MICHELIN; price not printed.
The hotel lists private transfers from the airport and Piraeus port, price not printed — ask it to run you to the ship.
About 7.6 mi to Terminal A — our routing, no traffic.
Flying in on sail day? Check your landing time first.
Distance
No distance statedThe hotel gives no distance to Piraeus. Our routing gives about 7.6 road miles (12.2 km) and 14 minutes to the Terminal A street point, with no traffic.
Source: grandebretagne.grCruise shuttle
Port transfer, fee not publishedThe hotel lists private transfers from the airport and Piraeus port, price not printed — ask it to run you to the ship.
Source: grandebretagne.grParking while you sail
At the hotel
Cruise parking unconfirmedMICHELIN lists valet and off-street parking, price not printed; whether the hotel keeps a car through a cruise is a question for the desk.
Source: grandebretagne.grParking for the cruise
No pier parking; POLISPARK €35–60 (about US$40–65)Leaving a car for the week isn't something the Grande Bretagne mentions. At the port there's no public parking at the pier, per Holland America — our Piraeus parking page has POLISPARK's €35 and €60 packages, as sold in September 2026.
The gates are E11 for Terminal A and E12 for B and C — our Athens (Piraeus) cruise guide has the rest.
The night you’re paying for
The evening
Pool · Food or drinks on siteThree restaurants and four bars, among them the GB Roof Garden Restaurant & Bar, the Winter Garden and Alexander's Bar, with the GB Spa's thermal suite, a pool and a gym.
Breakfast
Not statedThe Grande Bretagne's site and MICHELIN don't say whether breakfast comes with the room.
Address
Syntagma Square, central Athens1 Vasileos Georgiou A' Street, Syntagma Square, 105 64 Athens
Hotel website
Ratings
Two MICHELIN KeysMICHELIN gives it Two Keys. Forbes Travel Guide rates it Recommended. Its official category, 5-star, is per the hotel.
Source: guide.michelin.comThe fine print, in one place
Times, dining and rooms from the hotel's site and MICHELIN's page. A blank means neither says.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
Not stated by the hotel.
Extra fees
Climate resilience fee for a 5-star (category per the hotel): €15 per room per night April to October, €4 (about US$4) November to March, per the Greek government's November 2024 answer to Parliament; Law 5177/2025 repeats the same amounts.
Wi-Fi
Not stated
Parking for your stay
Valet and off-street parking, per MICHELIN; price not printed
For the cruise itself, see Parking.
Breakfast
Not stated
Pool
GB Spa Athens with a thermal suite and a pool
Pets
Pets aren't allowed, per MICHELIN.
Food and drink on site
- GB Roof Garden Restaurant & BarRooftop
- Winter GardenRestaurant
- Alexander's BarBar
Rooms
320 rooms and suites; children up to 11 stay free in an existing bed, per MICHELIN.
Accessibility
Grande Bretagne’s pages we read say nothing on accessible rooms — ask before you book.
On site
- EV chargingNot stated
- Guest laundryNot stated
- Fitness centerYes
- Pets allowedNo
Also worth knowing
- Two MICHELIN Keys
- Forbes Recommended
- 5 star, per the hotel
- Private transfers from the airport and Piraeus port, price not printed
- Owned by Lampsa Hellenic Hotels, per Wikipedia
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Two MICHELIN Keys; Forbes Recommended.
- Check-in 2:00 PM, check-out 12:00 PM, per the hotel.
- Children up to 11 stay free in an existing bed, per MICHELIN.
- Climate fee for a 5-star: €15 per room per night, April to October.
What we couldn’t confirm
- The transfer price
- Whether breakfast is included
- The valet parking price
The Grande Bretagne's details as it and MICHELIN printed them on October 3, 2026 — the transfer fare is the one to confirm.
The other splurges near the ship
The Roof Garden tonight, Piraeus in the morning.
Send us your sail date and we'll price the Grande Bretagne and book its transfer to your gate. No payment on the form.
Grande Bretagne FAQ
Does the Hotel Grande Bretagne have a MICHELIN Key?
Two MICHELIN Keys — "An exceptional stay". Forbes lists it as Recommended.
Can the Grande Bretagne take me to Piraeus for my cruise?
Its site lists private transfers from the airport and Piraeus port, without a price. Ask for the ride to the ship when you book.
What time is check-in at the Hotel Grande Bretagne?
2:00 PM, with check-out at 12:00 PM, per the hotel.
Does the Grande Bretagne allow pets?
No — pets aren't allowed, per MICHELIN.
How much is the hotel tax at the Grande Bretagne?
As a 5-star, Greece's climate resilience fee is €15 per room per night from April to October and €4 from November to March, per the Greek government's November 2024 answer to Parliament; Law 5177/2025 repeats the same amounts.
Booking the cruise too?
Sailing from Piraeus? Send your dates and we'll pair Grande Bretagne with the cruise and the ride to the terminal. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
