Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
The big-pool splurge. The Marriott Marquis has been AAA Four Diamond since 1984, with two free-form pools, a 424-slip marina and balconies on many rooms.
There are eight places to eat and drink, Roy's among them, and self-parking tops out at $50 a day.
It's a convention hotel, pets aren't allowed, and Marriott prints nothing for cruisers.
Book a bay-view room, and a cab to the ship in the morning.
Book it if
- Families who want a big pool
- A room with a balcony on the bay
Look elsewhere if
- You travel with a pet.
- You want a quiet boutique hotel.
- You want the cruise logistics handled.
What you’re paying for, and what you’re not
A splurge is worth it when you know exactly what the extra money buys. Green is on offer, gold comes with a cost or a catch, and grey isn’t there or isn’t stated.
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what Marriott Marquis publishes.
Two free-form outdoor pools with a whirlpool, the largest pool in downtown San Diego by Marriott's account, a 424-slip marina, and eight places to eat and drink, from Roy's Pacific Rim dining with bay views to the Agave Bar and Grill. Many rooms have private balconies.
Marriott mentions no cruise shuttle. A taxi or rideshare covers the trip.
Paid: Marina Kitchen does a breakfast buffet, and breakfast is included with M Club access.
Marriott gives no distance to the cruise terminal. The hotel overlooks its own marina by the Convention Center, next to Seaport Village. Your cruise line’s documents name your terminal and check-in window.
Self-parking is $11 for the first hour and $7 an hour after, up to $50 a day; valet $70. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.
Getting here, and on to the ship
Pick where you’re coming from. Solid lines are rides the hotel publishes; a question mark is a leg you’ll arrange yourself. At a splurge hotel, that’s usually the morning ride.
Marriott says the hotel doesn't provide shuttle service. It puts San Diego International 3.3 miles away.
Marriott mentions no cruise shuttle.
Marriott gives no distance to the cruise terminal. The hotel overlooks its own marina by the Convention Center, next to Seaport Village.
From SAN without a hotel shuttle
Taxis run on MTS's maximum meter: $3.80, then $4.10 a mile, plus a $3.56 airport surcharge. Rideshare picks up at the Terminal 1 crosswalk and in the second lane of the Terminal 2 Transportation Plaza. The 992 bus runs to Santa Fe Depot, two blocks from the terminals, every 15 minutes.
Self-parking is $11 for the first hour and $7 an hour after, up to $50 a day; valet $70. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.
Parking for your stay: $11 the first hour, $7 an hour after, $50 a day at most; valet $70.
Marriott mentions no cruise shuttle.
Marriott gives no distance to the cruise terminal. The hotel overlooks its own marina by the Convention Center, next to Seaport Village.
Landing on sail morning instead? Some cruise lines and shuttle companies run straight to the terminals; see the airport page and the landing check.
Distance
No distance statedMarriott gives no distance to the cruise terminal. The hotel overlooks its own marina by the Convention Center, next to Seaport Village.
Source: marriott.comParking while you sail
At the hotel
Cruise parking unconfirmedSelf-parking is $11 for the first hour and $7 an hour after, up to $50 a day; valet $70. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.
Source: marriott.comThe port-listed lots
From $24.95 a dayIf the hotel won’t hold your car, drive to a port-listed lot on sail morning.
The port has no long-term parking at the terminals, and passengers can’t park on the pier. It lists nearby operators instead. San Diego’s Park, Shuttle & Fly, 2.8 miles away on Pacific Highway, charges $24.95 a day with a free shuttle to the terminals around the clock; its coupon isn’t valid for cruisers. Aladdin, 1.4 miles away on Kettner Boulevard, runs a free cruise shuttle too.
Source: sdparkshuttlefly.comThe night you’re paying for
The evening
Pool · Food or drinks on siteTwo free-form outdoor pools with a whirlpool, the largest pool in downtown San Diego by Marriott's account, a 424-slip marina, and eight places to eat and drink, from Roy's Pacific Rim dining with bay views to the Agave Bar and Grill. Many rooms have private balconies.
Breakfast
Not freePaid: Marina Kitchen does a breakfast buffet, and breakfast is included with M Club access.
Address
West Harbor Drive, by Seaport Village333 West Harbor Drive, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel website
Ratings
AAA Four DiamondAAA rates it Four Diamond. Forbes Travel Guide's San Diego page doesn't rate it. AAA’s list is for 2026.
Source: newsroom.aaa.comThe fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as Marriott Marquis publishes it. Where it says “not stated”, the hotel doesn’t say, and a quick call will settle it.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
To check in, per the hotel.
Resort fee
Not stated
Wi-Fi
Free for Marriott Bonvoy members booking direct
Parking for your stay
$11 the first hour, $7 an hour after, $50 a day at most; valet $70
Cruise parking is in the parking section above.
Breakfast
Paid; Marina Kitchen buffet; included with M Club access
Pool
Two free-form outdoor pools and a whirlpool
Pets
Pets aren't allowed.
Food and drink on site
- Roy'sPacific Rim dining with bay views
- Marina KitchenAmerican comfort food, breakfast buffet
- Agave Bar and GrillBaja-inspired, margaritas
- Exchange MarketplaceGrab-and-go
- StarbucksCoffee
- M Club LoungeFor lounge access
Rooms
City and bay views; many rooms with private balconies.
Accessibility
Mobility-accessible rooms with roll-in showers.
On site
- EV chargingNo
- Guest laundryNot stated
- Fitness centerYes
- Pets allowedNo
Also worth knowing
- AAA Four Diamond since 1984
- A 424-slip marina, for vessels of 25 to 125 feet
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Self-parking up to $50 a day; valet $70. No EV charging.
- Check-in 4 PM, check-out 11 AM. Minimum age 18.
- No airport shuttle; Marriott puts SAN 3.3 miles away.
- Wi-Fi is included for Marriott Bonvoy members booking direct.
What we couldn’t confirm
- The distance to the terminal
- Whether there's a resort fee
- Cruise parking
Rates and policies are as the hotel published them on September 26, 2026. Confirm anything you’re counting on when you book.
The other splurges near the ship
Wake up downtown, a short cab from the ship.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check Marriott Marquis for the night before. No payment on the form.
Marriott Marquis FAQ
Is Marriott Marquis a luxury hotel?
AAA rates it Four Diamond. Forbes Travel Guide's San Diego page doesn't rate it.
Does Marriott Marquis have a cruise shuttle?
Not that it publishes. Marriott mentions no cruise shuttle.
Does Marriott Marquis have an airport shuttle?
Not that it publishes. Marriott says the hotel doesn't provide shuttle service. It puts San Diego International 3.3 miles away.
Can I park at Marriott Marquis while I cruise?
It doesn't say. Self-parking is $11 for the first hour and $7 an hour after, up to $50 a day; valet $70. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.
How far is Marriott Marquis from the cruise terminal?
Marriott gives no distance to the cruise terminal. The hotel overlooks its own marina by the Convention Center, next to Seaport Village.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
