Comfort Inn San Diego Airport at the Harbor
One price covers the night, breakfast, 7 days of parking and the shuttle to B Street and back: from $209 with tax, for two.
Pre-Cruise Hotels · San Diego
Twenty hotels for a cruise from San Diego, scored on what gets you to the ship, not on reviews. Pick yours, and let the trip start the night before.
Three taps and we’ll show your best three hotels.
Change any answer and the picks change with it. They’re built from the same published facts as the ranking below. Nobody pays to be here.
Matching weighs your answers against each hotel’s published shuttle, parking, breakfast, pool, beach, kitchen and pet policies.
Five answers, and the page builds the whole thing: the hotel, the ride in, the ride to the ship, what happens to the car, what time to leave, and how you get home. Every figure is one the hotel, the port or the company publishes. Where nobody publishes a number, you’ll see that instead of a guess.
Who’s coming and the mood come from Your Match; the plan uses the same answers.
Partner links (transfers, rental cars, luggage storage, lounges) may earn Seabound Journeys a commission at no extra cost to you. They don't change the plan, which is built only from what each company publishes.
One package with everything in it, then two walks. The Comfort Inn prices the night, 7 days of parking and the shuttle together; the Bayside Inn and the Wyndham are a walk from B Street, with parking packages.
Filter by what matters for your night. Save the ones you like, or tick up to three to compare side by side — the order is ours, the shortlist is yours.
Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
All 20 hotels
One price covers the night, breakfast, 7 days of parking and the shuttle to B Street and back: from $209 with tax, for two.
Five blocks from the cruise terminal, with a Park & Cruise package that keeps the car in a covered lot for 7 nights.
Across the street from the B Street terminal, with a balcony on every room and Park n' Go packages for 3, 4 or 7 nights.
A free shuttle to the cruise terminal and the airport, a free hot breakfast, and a rooftop tequila bar in Old Town.
Next to the cruise port by Marriott's account, with free breakfast and a rooftop bar over the bay.
A free shuttle that goes to the airport and the cruise terminal, 5 AM to midnight, with free breakfast in Old Town.
The closest printed distance on our list, 0.15 miles to the terminal, with free hot breakfast and Little Italy on the doorstep.
All suites across from Seaport Village, with free breakfast, an evening reception and Hilton's Park, Stay & Go.
AAA Four Diamond, a 10-minute walk from the terminal, with a rooftop pool and Vistal for dinner.
Full kitchens, free breakfast and a free airport shuttle at Liberty Station, with Hilton's Park, Stay & Go and $21 parking.
Full kitchens and free breakfast at the top of Little Italy, 1.1 miles from the terminal by Hilton's count.
Full kitchens and free breakfast on the Embarcadero, in the same building as the SpringHill Suites next to the cruise port.
Full kitchens and a free American breakfast in Little Italy, a mile from the airport.
Full kitchens, free breakfast and a bourbon bar in the Gaslamp. For the cruise, you're on your own.
Free breakfast and a pool at the north end of downtown, a walk from Balboa Park. Nothing for cruisers.
A free airport shuttle, a pool and a restaurant on Harbor Island, with Hilton's Park, Stay & Go. The terminal is 4 miles off by Hilton's count.
Free parking, free breakfast and a heated pool across from the Old Town trolley. The cruise details are yours to sort.
Two pools and a bar at the top of Little Italy. Hilton's two hotels in this building disagree on how far the port is.
Free breakfast and a free airport shuttle at the airport's edge. Nothing for cruisers.
Free breakfast and a pool on the bay in Point Loma. A free cruise shuttle is claimed elsewhere, not by the hotel.
No hotel on the list has all of those. Try dropping one filter.
Booking.com lists airport taxis you can book ahead. Check the pickup point, the price and the cancellation terms before you book.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.
Pick how you’re arriving. The board counts what each hotel publishes, the table lights up that column, and the companies below run from the airport to the port.
The airport is about 2 miles from the terminals by the port’s count, so most of the ride is short. Five of the twenty run a free airport shuttle, all out by the airport in Old Town, Liberty Station and Harbor Island, and two of those, the Hacienda and the Holiday Inn Express in Old Town, run to the ship as well. Downtown it’s a cab, a rideshare or the 992 bus.
San Diego International · 1–3.8 miles from these hotels, by their own counts
Those are MTS's maximum meter rates; cabs with a card reader can add 6%. Holland America puts a taxi or rideshare to the pier at "Starting at USD $25", and the port says the airport is about 2 miles and under 10 minutes away.
At Terminal 1, cross at the crosswalk after baggage claim; at Terminal 2, rideshare is in the second lane of the Transportation Plaza, per the airport. At the port, your driver drops you past the gate, on the pier.
Runs from both terminals to Kettner Boulevard and West Broadway, across from Santa Fe Depot, in about 15 minutes, every 15 minutes. The port puts Santa Fe Depot two blocks east of the terminals. Tap a contactless card or use PRONTO.
Viator's San Diego port-transfer list mixes in harbor cruises and tours. A private arrival transfer from SAN starts at about $48, and a private one-way ride to the cruise port at $96 per group of up to three.
Royal Caribbean sells airport transfers at every port and suggests buying two weeks ahead; Norwegian sells them until 4 days before sailing (800-327-7030); Disney's are an extra fee. None publishes a San Diego price.
Driving? The column to watch is “While you sail”. Compare hotel parking with the port-listed lots on San Diego cruise parking, compared, or price it out in the parking math below.
| Hotel | To the ship | While you sail | From SAN |
|---|---|---|---|
| Terminal shuttle both ways, in the package | Room, shuttle, 7 days parked: from $209 | Not stated | |
San Diego (SAN)The hotel doesn't mention an airport shuttle. It puts San Diego International one mile away. To the shipThe Cruise & Snooze package includes a "Shuttle to/from cruise ship terminal on Harbor Drive for 2", there and back. The hotel doesn't publish shuttle times. | |||
| Walk to the ship: 5 blocks | 7 nights parked in a package | Not stated | |
San Diego (SAN)Best Western doesn't mention an airport shuttle. It puts San Diego International 2.7 miles away. To the shipFive blocks to the terminal, by the hotel's count. Its Park & Cruise page promises "the ease of getting to and from the Cruise Ship Terminals" without naming a shuttle; only the page's search blurb mentions one, so we don't count it. | |||
| Walk across the street | 3, 4 or 7 nights parked in a package | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
San Diego (SAN)"The hotel does not offer an airport shuttle," says the FAQ; it's a 10-minute drive from the airport. To the ship"The hotel does not shuttle to the cruise terminal. The terminal is just a short walk across the street," per the FAQ. | |||
| Free shuttle to the terminal | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Freehotel shuttle | |
San Diego (SAN)A free shuttle to and from San Diego International, 6:30 AM to 9 PM; call 45 minutes ahead for a pick-up, per the hotel. Best Western puts the airport 3 miles away. To the shipThe hotel's free shuttle serves "the Cruise Line Terminal", along with the airport, the Old Town Transit Station and the Marine Corps Recruit Depot. It runs 6:30 AM to 9 PM, leaving on the hour; book drop-offs 24 hours ahead and pick-ups 45 minutes ahead, subject to availability. | |||
| Walk to the ship | Cruise parking unconfirmed | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
San Diego (SAN)Marriott lists no airport shuttle. It puts San Diego International 2.3 miles away. To the shipNext to the cruise port, per Marriott. There's no shuttle and you shouldn't need one. | |||
| Free shuttle to the terminal | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Freehotel shuttle | |
San Diego (SAN)A free airport shuttle, 5 AM to midnight daily, per IHG. IHG's pages put the airport both less than a mile and about 3 miles away. To the ship"You will appreciate our free local area shuttle service to the airport, San Diego Convention Center, Cruise Ship Terminal, the Amtrak Train Station, as well as the Marine Corps Recruit Depot," per IHG. IHG lists shuttle hours of 5 AM to midnight. | |||
| Walk to the ship: 0.15 mi | Cruise parking unconfirmed | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
San Diego (SAN)Hilton lists the airport shuttle as not available. It puts San Diego International 2 miles away. To the ship0.15 miles to the Cruise Ship Terminal, per Hilton. No shuttle, and you won't need one. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Park, Stay & Go: ask terms | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
San Diego (SAN)Hilton lists the airport shuttle as not available. It puts San Diego International 3 miles away. To the shipHilton lists no cruise shuttle of the hotel's own. Park, Stay & Go mentions a shuttle to "select airports and cruise ports" without naming San Diego's, so it isn't scored. | |||
| Walk to the ship: 0.4 mi | Cruise parking unconfirmed | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
San Diego (SAN)IHG lists no airport shuttle, from SAN or from Tijuana. It puts San Diego International about 2.7 miles away. To the ship0.4 miles, a 10-minute walk, per IHG. "No local area shuttle." | |||
| No shuttle stated | Park, Stay & Go: ask terms | Freehotel shuttle | |
San Diego (SAN)A complimentary airport shuttle, 4:30 AM to 9 PM, per Hilton. The airport is a mile away. To the shipHilton lists no cruise shuttle of the hotel's own. Park, Stay & Go mentions a shuttle to "select airports and cruise ports" without naming San Diego's, so it isn't scored. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
San Diego (SAN)Hilton lists the airport shuttle as not available. It puts San Diego International 2 miles away. To the shipHilton lists no cruise shuttle. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
San Diego (SAN)"This hotel does not provide shuttle service," says Marriott. It puts San Diego International 2.3 miles away. To the ship"This hotel does not provide shuttle service," says Marriott. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
San Diego (SAN)Marriott lists no airport shuttle. It puts San Diego International about a mile away. To the shipMarriott lists no shuttle. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
San Diego (SAN)"This hotel does not provide shuttle service," says Marriott. It puts San Diego International 3.8 miles away. To the shipMarriott lists no shuttle. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
San Diego (SAN)IHG says there's no complimentary local area shuttle. It puts San Diego International about 3.2 miles away. To the ship"No, there is not a complimentary local area shuttle available," says IHG. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Park, Stay & Go: ask terms | Freehotel shuttle | |
San Diego (SAN)A complimentary airport shuttle, 4:30 AM to 11:30 PM daily, per Hilton. The airport is a mile away. To the shipHilton lists no cruise shuttle of the hotel's own. Park, Stay & Go mentions a shuttle to "select airports and cruise ports" without naming San Diego's, so it isn't scored. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | FreeSan Diego Flyer (MTS) | |
San Diego (SAN)No hotel shuttle. The hotel points to the free San Diego Flyer to the airport, across the road at the Old Town Transit Center. To the shipNo hotel shuttle. The hotel points to the free San Diego Flyer across the road for the airport; nothing runs to the port. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | No shuttlethe hotel says so | |
San Diego (SAN)Hilton lists the airport shuttle as not available. It puts San Diego International 2 miles away. To the shipHilton lists no cruise shuttle. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Freehotel shuttle | |
San Diego (SAN)A complimentary airport shuttle, 5 AM to 10:30 PM; call the hotel, per Hilton. To the shipHilton lists no cruise shuttle. | |||
| No shuttle stated | Cruise parking unconfirmed | Not stated | |
San Diego (SAN)Best Western doesn't mention an airport shuttle, and the airport distance it lists can't be right. To the shipBest Western lists no shuttle. A third-party cruise site says it runs a free shuttle to the terminal; Best Western's page doesn't, so it isn't scored. | |||
These twenty are ranked for an easy sail morning, not for the room. San Diego’s nicest hotels mostly skip the cruise details: the InterContinental, AAA Four Diamond and a 10-minute walk from the terminal, is the only one in our top twenty. The US Grant is the only downtown hotel that’s both Four Diamond and Forbes Four-Star, and our one Five Diamond pick is up the coast in La Jolla.
San Diego keeps it simple: the B Street Pier & Cruise Ship Terminal is on the Embarcadero at 1140 North Harbor Drive, and the Port Pavilion on Broadway Pier is just down the road at No. 1000. The airport is about 2 miles north, by the port’s count.
Nine of the twenty are by the terminal, on the Embarcadero or in Little Italy, from the Wyndham across the street to the Homewood Suites 1.1 miles off by Hilton’s count. Three are elsewhere downtown, and eight are out by the airport, in Old Town, Liberty Station, Point Loma and on Harbor Island. Nothing in Mission Valley or on Coronado made the twenty.
Numbers are the ranking. Each pin sits where the hotel is — the bands group them by distance, the way we score it.
Five things decide how easy the night before is, and each one is scored only from what the hotel publishes on its own site or its brand’s.
If a hotel doesn't say it, it scores zero there — not a guess, zero. Cruise blogs, tourism-board lists, parking resellers and expired offers don't count, and when a hotel’s own pages contradict each other, we score the claim as unconfirmed and tell you. Each page lists exactly what we couldn't confirm.
By band, from the B Street terminal: the Embarcadero, Little Italy and Columbia 30; the rest of downtown (Seaport Village, the Gaslamp, East Village) 25; Harbor Island, Point Loma, Liberty Station and Old Town 20; Mission Valley 15; Coronado 10.
Hotel-run shuttle, free or with a published price, 25. A ride only inside a package or offer 20. The hotel’s own ride with no published fare 15. The hotel says you can walk: across the street, a few blocks, or half a mile or less, 15. A partner shuttle 10.
Published rate to leave the car 20, including a package with a published price. Offered, price unpublished 14.
Sail mornings start early. A free breakfast on site scores 10.
On the beach 6, pool 3, food or a bar on site 3, a kitchen in the room 3. None of the twenty is on a beach.
Ties are broken in order: the lower published parking rate (a weekly rate counts at its daily equivalent), any stated way to the ship, free breakfast, parking on site, the closer stated mileage, the lower guest parking price, then the alphabet. That’s why the Bayside Inn sits above the Wyndham ($30 guest parking against $50), the Holiday Inn Express in Old Town above the Hampton downtown (a shuttle against a walk), Homewood Suites Downtown above the Residence Inn Bayfront (it prints a distance), and the Old Town Inn above the Hilton Garden Inn (free breakfast). At 33, free breakfast puts the Hampton at Liberty Station and the Best Western Yacht Harbor into the twenty ahead of the Porto Vista and Hotel Republic.
What's left out is deliberate. Room rates change daily, so they aren't scored. Neither are guest-review scores — they measure a stay in general, not a sail morning.
The ranking tells you which hotel makes the morning easiest. Your dates and your budget decide the rest, so price your own night before you book the winner.
Set your cruise length. Only one hotel prints a price for parking while you sail, the Comfort Inn at the Harbor, and it’s inside a room rate. Here it is next to Park, Shuttle & Fly, the port-listed lot at $24.95 a day.
| #1 Comfort Inn at the Harbor | — |
| Park, Shuttle & Fly, a port-listed lot, $24.95 a day with its shuttle | — |
The Comfort Inn’s Cruise & Snooze rate, from $209 a night with tax for two, already includes 7 days of parking and the shuttle both ways, so its row shows only the $10 a day past 7 days, counting your hotel night as one of the 7. It isn’t eligible for “Lowest”, because the parking is inside the room rate, not on top of it. The port row is San Diego’s Park, Shuttle & Fly at $24.95 a day, counting the day you park and the day you leave, with its free shuttle. Hotels that sell parking only inside a package without a price aren’t priced. Room rates aren’t included.
For every port-listed lot, the operators’ own rates and the Embarcadero garages, see San Diego cruise parking, compared.
We checked 47 hotels. These came closest to the top twenty, with their scores and the reason each fell short. Pendry, the Marriott Marquis and The US Grant scored in the same range; they’re on the splurge list instead.
| Hotel | Score | Why it missed |
|---|---|---|
| Porto Vista Hotel | 33 | Little Italy, with GlassDoor on the fourth floor and the terminal 0.8 miles away by its count. Tied on 33 and behind on breakfast; parking is valet only, $55 a night. |
| Hotel Republic San Diego, Autograph Collection | 33 | A rooftop bar on West B Street. Tied on 33; no free breakfast, no pool listed and $75 valet. |
| Kona Kai San Diego | 32 | A private beach and an adults-only pool on Shelter Island, with a $48 nightly resort fee and nothing for cruisers. |
| Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego | 31 | A 40th-floor bar and heated pools by Seaport Village, with a $47 nightly destination fee. Free luggage storage, but no cruise details. |
| Hilton San Diego Bayfront | 31 | A pool club and firepits on the bay by Petco Park. No free breakfast and no cruise details. |
| Alma San Diego Downtown | 31 | AAA Four Diamond, with a rooftop pool. Valet $70 and nothing for cruisers. |
| AC Hotel San Diego Downtown Gaslamp Quarter | 31 | A rooftop bar and a pool in the Gaslamp. No free breakfast, $72 valet. |
| Humphreys Half Moon Inn | 29 | Marina suites with kitchens and a live-music club on Shelter Island. A $20 nightly pass fee, and nothing for cruisers. |
| Hampton Inn San Diego/Mission Valley | 28 | Free breakfast and $27 parking on Hotel Circle. No airport shuttle and nothing about the cruise. |
| Courtyard by Marriott San Diego Downtown | 28 | A historic bank building on Broadway with the Gold Reserve bar. Valet only, $70. |
Not ranked: Holiday Inn San Diego Bayside. Now the DoubleTree by Hilton San Diego Bayside, which we checked: a free airport shuttle, but nothing for cruisers.; Sheraton San Diego Hotel & Marina. Renamed the Sheraton San Diego Resort, which we checked: three pools and a free airport shuttle, nothing for cruisers.; Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego. Third-party sites tie the old name to 1047 Fifth Avenue, which Marriott now lists as Alma San Diego Downtown, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, above.; Kimpton Hotel Solamar. Third-party sites now list 435 Sixth Avenue under another name; we couldn’t confirm it on an official page.; Hyatt Place or Hyatt House downtown. Hyatt’s San Diego page lists neither downtown.
Five of the twenty run a free airport shuttle, all out by the airport, and two of them go on to the ship: the Hacienda and the Holiday Inn Express in Old Town. Homewood Suites and the Hampton at Liberty Station and the Hilton on Harbor Island run the airport leg only.
Downtown, SAN is close. The port puts it about 2 miles from the terminals, the 992 bus runs to Santa Fe Depot in about 15 minutes, and Holland America puts a cab to the pier from $25. The Getting There table shows what every hotel publishes, and the planner turns your answers into a morning.
Tours, tickets and things to do are on Booking.com. Book the day before, not sail day.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn’t change what we recommend. Affiliate disclosure.
On our scoring it's the Comfort Inn San Diego Airport at the Harbor. Its Cruise & Snooze rate, from $209 a night including tax for two, covers the room, breakfast, 7 days of parking and the shuttle to the terminal and back. The Best Western Plus Bayside Inn, 5 blocks from the terminal, and the Wyndham San Diego Bayside, across the street, come next, both with parking packages. Best on paper, not best for everyone: the matcher above weighs your own answers.
Five of our twenty say so on their own pages: the Wyndham, across the street; the Hampton Inn Downtown, 0.15 miles; the InterContinental, 0.4 miles or a 10-minute walk; the Bayside Inn, 5 blocks; and the SpringHill Suites, next to the cruise port. The Residence Inn in the SpringHill's building says only "near the Port of San Diego", so we don't count it.
Three publish one. The Hacienda Hotel Old Town and the Holiday Inn Express Airport-Old Town run free shuttles that serve the terminal, and the Comfort Inn at the Harbor includes the shuttle both ways in its Cruise & Snooze package. Hilton's Park, Stay & Go, listed at three of our hotels, mentions a shuttle to "select airports and cruise ports" without naming San Diego's, so ask. Third-party lists name more; we count only what the hotel itself says.
At one, with a published price: the Comfort Inn at the Harbor's Cruise & Snooze includes 7 days, then $10 a day. Two more sell parking in packages without a price, the Bayside Inn (7 nights) and the Wyndham (3, 4 or 7 nights), and the Embassy Suites, Homewood Suites Liberty Station and the Hilton on Harbor Island list Hilton's generic Park, Stay & Go. The rest publish nothing for cruisers.
The port runs no long-term parking of its own; it lists nearby operators. San Diego's Park, Shuttle & Fly is $24.95 a day with a free shuttle, $199.60 for a 7-night cruise counting the day you park and the day you leave. The Comfort Inn's package puts 7 days of parking, the night, breakfast and the shuttle into one rate from $209 with tax. Run your own numbers in the calculator above.
Of our twenty, these run a free shuttle from SAN: Hacienda Hotel Old Town, HIE Airport-Old Town, Homewood Liberty Station, Hilton Harbor Island and Hampton Liberty Station. All five are by the airport, and two, the Hacienda Hotel Old Town and the HIE Airport-Old Town, also run to the cruise terminal. None of the hotels by the terminal runs an airport shuttle; the port puts the airport about 2 miles away, a short cab or rideshare.
On the port's 2026-27 schedule: Disney Cruise Line (Disney Magic and Disney Wonder), Holland America, Royal Caribbean's Serenade of the Seas, and Norwegian Star from December to February, with visits from other lines. Royal Caribbean, Holland America and Norwegian name the B Street Pier, and Disney gives the same address, 1140 North Harbor Drive.
Hotel rates move every day and spike on busy sailing days, so any number we printed would be wrong by the time you read it. We rank on what doesn't change daily — shuttles, parking policies, breakfast — and leave the live rate to the booking site for your exact date. Price it for your own night before you assume the No. 1 is the cheap one.
Tell us your sail date and we'll match the hotel, the ride and the cruise itself. A real advisor does the legwork. No obligation.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
Tell us the sailing and who’s coming. A real advisor checks rates for that night and replies within one business day.
We’ll check rates for your night and reply within one business day.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.