Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
Fourteenth. Full kitchens, a free hot breakfast, a heated pool and the Toasted Barrel's bourbon flights, in the middle of the Gaslamp.
The terminal is across downtown, and Marriott prints no distance or shuttle.
Parking is valet only from $75 a night, the priciest on our list.
Book it for a night out in the Gaslamp, and a cab to the ship.
Book it if
- A night out in the Gaslamp before the cruise
- Families who want a kitchen
- Pet owners
Look elsewhere if
- You're driving: valet is from $75 a night.
- You're under 21.
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what Residence Inn Gaslamp publishes.
All suites with full kitchens and a heated outdoor pool. The Toasted Barrel bar does cocktails, bourbon flights and grilled cheese, and the Gaslamp is outside the door.
Marriott lists no shuttle. A taxi or rideshare covers the trip.
Free hot breakfast, 6 to 9 AM weekdays and 6:30 to 9:30 AM weekends.
Marriott gives no distance to the terminal. The hotel is in the Gaslamp Quarter, on the far side of downtown from B Street. Your cruise line’s documents name your terminal and check-in window.
Valet only, from $75 a car a night. Its Park, Stay & Play package includes valet for one car and breakfast; it doesn't mention cruises.
Night-Before Score: 44 of 100
Scored only from what the hotel publishes. Here’s how the Night-Before Score works.
Getting here, and on to the ship
Pick where you’re coming from. Solid lines are rides the hotel publishes; a question mark is a leg you’ll arrange yourself.
"This hotel does not provide shuttle service," says Marriott. It puts San Diego International 3.8 miles away.
Marriott lists no shuttle.
Marriott gives no distance to the terminal. The hotel is in the Gaslamp Quarter, on the far side of downtown from B Street.
From SAN without a hotel shuttle
Taxis run on MTS's maximum meter: $3.80, then $4.10 a mile, plus a $3.56 airport surcharge. Rideshare picks up at the Terminal 1 crosswalk and in the second lane of the Terminal 2 Transportation Plaza. The 992 bus runs to Santa Fe Depot, two blocks from the terminals, every 15 minutes.
Valet only, from $75 a car a night. Its Park, Stay & Play package includes valet for one car and breakfast; it doesn't mention cruises.
Parking for your stay: Valet only, from $75 a car a night.
Marriott lists no shuttle.
Marriott gives no distance to the terminal. The hotel is in the Gaslamp Quarter, on the far side of downtown from B Street.
Landing on sail morning instead? Some cruise lines and shuttle companies run straight to the terminals; see the airport page and the landing check.
Which terminal
B Street PierRoyal Caribbean, Holland America and Norwegian name the B Street Pier, and Disney gives the same address, 1140 North Harbor Drive. The port’s second terminal, the Port Pavilion on Broadway Pier, is at 1000 North Harbor Drive; your cruise documents name yours.
Source: portofsandiego.orgDistance
No mileage statedMarriott gives no distance to the terminal. The hotel is in the Gaslamp Quarter, on the far side of downtown from B Street.
Source: marriott.comShuttle departures
No shuttleThere’s no hotel shuttle to time, so a taxi or rideshare leaves when you’re ready. Your cruise documents give your terminal check-in window.
Source: marriott.comParking while you sail
Cruise parking
Cruise parking unconfirmedValet only, from $75 a car a night. Its Park, Stay & Play package includes valet for one car and breakfast; it doesn't mention cruises.
Source: marriott.comThe port-listed lots
From $24.95 a dayThe port has no long-term parking at the terminals, and passengers can’t park on the pier. It lists nearby operators instead. San Diego’s Park, Shuttle & Fly, 2.8 miles away on Pacific Highway, charges $24.95 a day with a free shuttle to the terminals around the clock; its coupon isn’t valid for cruisers. Aladdin, 1.4 miles away on Kettner Boulevard, runs a free cruise shuttle too.
Source: sdparkshuttlefly.comThe evening and the morning
The evening
Pool · Food or bar on site · KitchenAll suites with full kitchens and a heated outdoor pool. The Toasted Barrel bar does cocktails, bourbon flights and grilled cheese, and the Gaslamp is outside the door.
Breakfast
FreeFree hot breakfast, 6 to 9 AM weekdays and 6:30 to 9:30 AM weekends.
Address
Sixth Avenue, the Gaslamp356 6th Avenue, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel website
The fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as Residence Inn Gaslamp publishes it. Where it says “not stated”, the hotel doesn’t say, and a quick call will settle it.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
To check in, per the hotel.
Resort fee
None stated
Wi-Fi
Free for Marriott Bonvoy members booking direct
Parking for your stay
Valet only, from $75 a car a night
Cruise parking is in the parking section above.
Breakfast
Free hot breakfast; 6–9 AM weekdays, 6:30–9:30 AM weekends
Pool
Heated outdoor pool
Pets
Up to two pets, 50 lb each, $150 a stay.
Sail morning, on the clock
From the hotel’s published hours. Your cruise documents set your check-in window at the terminal.
Food and drink on site
- Toasted BarrelCocktails, bourbon flights and grilled cheese
Rooms
All suites with full kitchens and separate living areas.
Accessibility
Accessible rooms with roll-in showers.
On site
- EV chargingNot stated
- Guest laundryYes
- Fitness centerYes
- Pets allowedYes
Also worth knowing
- Park, Stay & Play package: valet for one car and breakfast; no mention of cruises
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Valet only, from $75 a night.
- Minimum check-in age 21. Check-in 4 PM, check-out 11 AM.
- No airport shuttle; Marriott puts SAN 3.8 miles away.
What we couldn’t confirm
- The distance to the terminal
- Whether you can park while you cruise
Rates and policies are as the hotel published them on September 26, 2026. Confirm anything you’re counting on when you book.
Worth a look alongside it
Wake up downtown, a short cab from the ship.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check Residence Inn Gaslamp for the night before. No payment on the form.
Residence Inn Gaslamp FAQ
Does Residence Inn Gaslamp have a cruise shuttle?
Not that it publishes. Marriott lists no shuttle.
Does Residence Inn Gaslamp have an airport shuttle?
Not that it publishes. "This hotel does not provide shuttle service," says Marriott. It puts San Diego International 3.8 miles away.
Can I park at Residence Inn Gaslamp while I cruise?
The hotel doesn't say. Valet only, from $75 a car a night. Its Park, Stay & Play package includes valet for one car and breakfast; it doesn't mention cruises.
How far is Residence Inn Gaslamp from the cruise terminal?
Marriott gives no distance to the terminal. The hotel is in the Gaslamp Quarter, on the far side of downtown from B Street. It sits in our downtown band. Royal Caribbean, Holland America and Norwegian name the B Street Pier, and Disney gives the same address, 1140 North Harbor Drive. The port's second terminal, the Port Pavilion on Broadway Pier, is at 1000 North Harbor Drive; your cruise documents name yours.
Can I check in early or check out late on cruise days?
Check-in is 4:00 PM and check-out 11:00 AM. The hotel doesn't publish early or late terms, so ask when you book, not on the day.
Will the hotel hold my bags?
The hotel doesn't say. Most hotels will hold bags between check-out and a late shuttle, but that's a call to make, not an assumption.
Does the port shuttle come back for me after the cruise?
There's no hotel shuttle to the port. From the pier it's a taxi, a rideshare from Harbor Drive outside the terminal gate, or the 992 bus from Santa Fe Depot. No line publishes a San Diego transfer price.
What's the breakfast timing on sail morning?
Free hot breakfast; 6–9 AM weekdays, 6:30–9:30 AM weekends. Your terminal check-in window is in your cruise documents, and the port asks you not to arrive before it.
Can I park an oversized vehicle or charge an EV?
EV charging: not stated. Clearance and oversized parking aren't published. Park, Shuttle & Fly takes no RVs or oversized vehicles, and the BRIC garages Ace sells on the Embarcadero have a 7-foot limit. The port says ABM's Harbor Island lot, 2.5 miles out, takes oversized vehicles.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
