Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
The beach splurge. Shore House is AAA Four Diamond: residences of one to three bedrooms inside the Hotel del Coronado, with gourmet kitchens, direct beach access and a guest-only oceanfront pool.
Hilton puts downtown San Diego 6 miles away, across the bay.
The fine print is long: a 21-day cancellation window, parking of $50 to $79 depending on which page you read, and The Del's $50 nightly charge, which its policies page doesn't clearly apply to Shore House.
Book it for a family on the sand, and a car to the ship in the morning.
Book it if
- Families who want a kitchen and the beach
- A celebration with space to spread out
Look elsewhere if
- You might cancel late.
- You want to be close to the ship.
- You want the cruise logistics handled.
What you’re paying for, and what you’re not
A splurge is worth it when you know exactly what the extra money buys. Green is on offer, gold comes with a cost or a catch, and grey isn’t there or isn’t stated.
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what Shore House at The Del publishes.
Residences of one to three bedrooms with gourmet kitchens and ocean, bay or resort views, direct beach access, and a guest-only oceanfront pool with its own bistro and lounge. The Del's other restaurants and lounges, Nobu among them, and its Spa & Salon are next door.
Hilton mentions no cruise shuttle. The only shuttle listed goes to the San Diego Zoo, Friday to Sunday, at $20 a guest. A taxi or rideshare covers the trip.
Not stated.
Hilton lists "Downtown San Diego 6 miles" and doesn't name the cruise terminal. Shore House is set within the Hotel del Coronado, on the ocean. Your cruise line’s documents name your terminal and check-in window.
Self-parking is $50 a day and valet $75 on Hilton's Shore House page; the Hotel del Coronado's policies page says $59 and $79. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.
Getting here, and on to the ship
Pick where you’re coming from. Solid lines are rides the hotel publishes; a question mark is a leg you’ll arrange yourself. At a splurge hotel, that’s usually the morning ride.
Hilton doesn't mention an airport shuttle. It puts San Diego International 8 miles away and Tijuana's airport 23.
Hilton mentions no cruise shuttle. The only shuttle listed goes to the San Diego Zoo, Friday to Sunday, at $20 a guest.
Hilton lists "Downtown San Diego 6 miles" and doesn't name the cruise terminal. Shore House is set within the Hotel del Coronado, on the ocean.
From SAN without a hotel shuttle
Taxis run on MTS's maximum meter: $3.80, then $4.10 a mile, plus a $3.56 airport surcharge. Rideshare picks up at the Terminal 1 crosswalk and in the second lane of the Terminal 2 Transportation Plaza. The 992 bus runs to Santa Fe Depot, two blocks from the terminals, every 15 minutes.
Self-parking is $50 a day and valet $75 on Hilton's Shore House page; the Hotel del Coronado's policies page says $59 and $79. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.
Parking for your stay: $50 a day self, $75 valet (Hilton); $59 and $79 on The Del's page.
Hilton mentions no cruise shuttle. The only shuttle listed goes to the San Diego Zoo, Friday to Sunday, at $20 a guest.
Hilton lists "Downtown San Diego 6 miles" and doesn't name the cruise terminal. Shore House is set within the Hotel del Coronado, on the ocean.
Landing on sail morning instead? Some cruise lines and shuttle companies run straight to the terminals; see the airport page and the landing check.
Distance
No distance statedHilton lists "Downtown San Diego 6 miles" and doesn't name the cruise terminal. Shore House is set within the Hotel del Coronado, on the ocean.
Source: hilton.comCruise shuttle
Shuttle unconfirmedHilton mentions no cruise shuttle. The only shuttle listed goes to the San Diego Zoo, Friday to Sunday, at $20 a guest.
Source: hilton.comParking while you sail
At the hotel
Cruise parking unconfirmedSelf-parking is $50 a day and valet $75 on Hilton's Shore House page; the Hotel del Coronado's policies page says $59 and $79. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.
Source: hilton.comThe port-listed lots
From $24.95 a dayIf the hotel won’t hold your car, drive to a port-listed lot on sail morning.
The port has no long-term parking at the terminals, and passengers can’t park on the pier. It lists nearby operators instead. San Diego’s Park, Shuttle & Fly, 2.8 miles away on Pacific Highway, charges $24.95 a day with a free shuttle to the terminals around the clock; its coupon isn’t valid for cruisers. Aladdin, 1.4 miles away on Kettner Boulevard, runs a free cruise shuttle too.
Source: sdparkshuttlefly.comThe night you’re paying for
The evening
On the beach · Pool · Food or drinks on site · KitchenResidences of one to three bedrooms with gourmet kitchens and ocean, bay or resort views, direct beach access, and a guest-only oceanfront pool with its own bistro and lounge. The Del's other restaurants and lounges, Nobu among them, and its Spa & Salon are next door.
Breakfast
Not statedNot stated.
Address
Coronado, at the Hotel del Coronado1500 Orange Avenue, Coronado, CA 92118
Hotel website
Ratings
AAA Four DiamondAAA rates it Four Diamond. Forbes Travel Guide's San Diego page doesn't rate it. AAA’s list is for 2026.
Source: newsroom.aaa.comThe fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as Shore House at The Del publishes it. Where it says “not stated”, the hotel doesn’t say, and a quick call will settle it.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
Not stated by the hotel.
Resort fee
The Del's $50 nightly charge ($35 resort charge + $15 Historic Preservation Fund) may apply
Wi-Fi
Not stated
Parking for your stay
$50 a day self, $75 valet (Hilton); $59 and $79 on The Del's page
Cruise parking is in the parking section above.
Breakfast
Not stated
Pool
Guest-only oceanfront pool, plus The Del’s pools
Pets
Pets under 40 lb, some breeds restricted, with a $200 cleaning charge at Shore House, per The Del.
Food and drink on site
- Shore House bistro and loungeGuest-only, by the oceanfront pool
- The DelIts restaurants and lounges next door, Nobu among them
Rooms
One- to three-bedroom residences with gourmet kitchens and separate living areas; ocean, bay or resort views.
Accessibility
The hotel’s pages don’t detail accessible rooms. Call before you book if you need one.
On site
- EV chargingNot stated
- Guest laundryNot stated
- Fitness centerNot stated
- Pets allowedYes
Nearby, by the hotel’s count
- Coronado Ferry Landing2 mi
- Downtown San Diego6 mi
Distances as the hotel or its brand lists them. Bars use a square-root scale so short walks stay visible.
Also worth knowing
- AAA Four Diamond since 2025
- Cancel 21 days or more before check-in for a full refund
- San Diego Zoo shuttle Friday to Sunday, $20 a guest
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Most reservations cancel free only 21 days or more before check-in.
- The Del's policies page adds a $50 nightly charge ($35 resort charge and $15 Historic Preservation Fund); it doesn't say whether Shore House pays it.
- Parking: $50 self and $75 valet on Hilton's page, $59 and $79 on The Del's.
- Check-in 4 PM, check-out 11 AM. Hilton puts SAN 8 miles away and Tijuana's airport 23.
What we couldn’t confirm
- Breakfast
- Whether The Del's $50 charge applies
- Cruise parking
Rates and policies are as the hotel published them on September 26, 2026. Confirm anything you’re counting on when you book.
The other splurges near the ship
Wake up on Coronado, across the bay from the ship.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check Shore House at The Del for the night before. No payment on the form.
Shore House at The Del FAQ
Is Shore House at The Del a luxury hotel?
AAA rates it Four Diamond. Forbes Travel Guide's San Diego page doesn't rate it.
Does Shore House at The Del have a cruise shuttle?
Not that it publishes. Hilton mentions no cruise shuttle. The only shuttle listed goes to the San Diego Zoo, Friday to Sunday, at $20 a guest.
Does Shore House at The Del have an airport shuttle?
Not that it publishes. Hilton doesn't mention an airport shuttle. It puts San Diego International 8 miles away and Tijuana's airport 23.
Can I park at Shore House at The Del while I cruise?
It doesn't say. Self-parking is $50 a day and valet $75 on Hilton's Shore House page; the Hotel del Coronado's policies page says $59 and $79. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.
How far is Shore House at The Del from the cruise terminal?
Hilton lists "Downtown San Diego 6 miles" and doesn't name the cruise terminal. Shore House is set within the Hotel del Coronado, on the ocean.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
