Splurge Hotels · San Diego

The Nicest Night Near the Ship

San Diego’s best rooms are downtown, a cab from B Street, and none of them prints a word for cruisers. The US Grant is the one downtown hotel that’s both AAA Four Diamond and Forbes Four-Star. The InterContinental is the Four Diamond you can walk to the ship from.

4AAA Four Diamond hotels in our six
1Five Diamond, up the coast in La Jolla
10 minthe InterContinental’s walk to the terminal
Pick Yours

What kind of splurge is it?

We looked for the nicest places to stay before a cruise from San Diego. One of the six, the InterContinental, also makes our top 20, because it’s a walk from the terminal; the other five are the better rooms, and the morning is yours to arrange. Tap the night you’re after and the pick lights up.

Four are AAA Four Diamond for 2026 and one is Five Diamond; The US Grant is also Forbes Four-Star. Pendry has no AAA rating, and we say so rather than stretch.

The Six

Six splurges, and what each one costs you

Not on AAA's 2026 Diamond listsForbes Recommended · AAA list
No distance to the port stated

Pendry San Diego

A rooftop pool, Spa Pendry and six places to eat and drink in the Gaslamp, with noon check-out. Nothing for cruisers.

You’re paying for

  • No; in the Gaslamp
  • Fifth & Rose; Lionfish
  • Spa Pendry
  • Nason's Beer Hall; the Pool House

The catch

  • No free breakfast
  • A nightly amenity fee, amount not published
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
AAA Four DiamondNo Forbes rating · AAA list
6 miles to downtown to the port

Shore House at The Del, LXR Hotels & Resorts

Four Diamond residences inside the Hotel del Coronado, with kitchens, a private oceanfront pool and the beach at the door.

You’re paying for

  • Yes, direct beach access
  • The Del's restaurants, next door
  • Spa & Salon at The Del
  • Guest-only bistro and lounge

The catch

  • Breakfast not stated
  • The Del's $50 nightly charge may apply
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
AAA Five DiamondForbes Recommended; Four-Star spa · AAA list
No distance to the port stated

The Lodge at Torrey Pines

AAA Five Diamond on the 18th hole of Torrey Pines, with fireplaces and a Four-Star spa. It's a drive up the coast from the ship.

You’re paying for

  • No; clifftop golf course
  • A.R. Valentien; The Grill
  • The Spa at Torrey Pines

The catch

  • Breakfast not stated
  • A $60 nightly resort fee
  • No port shuttle
  • Cruise parking not stated
Side by Side

The six, side by side

Hover or tap a hotel to light its column. Green is on offer, gold comes with a cost or a catch, grey isn’t there or isn’t stated.

FeatureThe US GrantInterContinentalPendryMarriott MarquisShore House at The DelThe Lodge at Torrey Pines
AAA ratingFour Diamond, since 2007Four Diamond, since 2019Not on AAA's 2026 Diamond listsFour Diamond, since 1984Four Diamond, since 2025Five Diamond, since 2002
Forbes Travel GuideFour-Star—Recommended——Recommended; Four-Star spa
On the beachNo; downtown on BroadwayNo; on the bayNo; in the GaslampNo; on its own marinaYes, direct beach accessNo; clifftop golf course
RestaurantGrant GrillVistal; GaribaldiFifth & Rose; LionfishRoy's; Marina Kitchen; AgaveThe Del's restaurants, next doorA.R. Valentien; The Grill
Bar or drinksGrant Grill Bar & LoungeLayover, a rooftop barNason's Beer Hall; the Pool HouseLobby LoungeGuest-only bistro and lounge—
Spa——Spa Pendry—Spa & Salon at The DelThe Spa at Torrey Pines
BreakfastNot statedPaidPaidPaidNot statedNot stated
Kitchen————Gourmet kitchen in every residence—
Resort feeNone statedDaily amenities fee, amount not shownAmenity fee, amount not publishedNot statedMaybe The Del's $50 a night$60 a night
Parking$70 valet; cruise parking not stated$57 self, $69 valet$70 valet with tax$50 a day self, $70 valet$50–$79, pages disagree$55 self, $65 valet
Shuttle to the port—Walk: 10 minutes————
Distance to the portNot stated0.4 milesNot statedNot stated6 miles to downtownNot stated
The Trade

Splurge the night, and plan the morning

None of the six publishes a ride to the ship. The InterContinental is a 10-minute walk, and the downtown three are a short cab. Shore House and The Lodge are a proper drive, across the bay and up the coast.

The fees add up. The Lodge charges a $60 nightly resort fee, the InterContinental and Pendry add daily fees without printing the amount, and The Del’s $50 charge may reach Shore House. Downtown valet runs $69 to $70.

Driving and want a printed number? The Comfort Inn at the Harbor, No. 1 in our top 20, sells the night, 7 days of parking and the shuttle both ways from $209 with tax.

Also Considered

Five that didn’t make the six

HotelWhy it isn’t in the six
Alma San Diego DowntownAAA Four Diamond since 2023, with a rooftop pool and dogs welcome up to 50 lb. Valet is $70, the rooftop restaurant is seasonal, and there's nothing for cruisers.
The Westgate HotelAAA Four Diamond downtown since 2007. Valet only, $55 overnight, and no pets; its page points to the rooftop pool at AquaVie next door.
Fairmont Grand Del MarAAA Five Diamond and Forbes Four-Star, with a Five-Star spa, but 20 miles from the airport by its own count. Too far for a sail morning.
Hotel del CoronadoThe main hotel isn't on AAA's 2026 Diamond lists; its Shore House is. Its policies page adds a $50 nightly charge and $59 self-parking.
Andaz, Omni and the two Westins downtownAll four are AAA Four Diamond for 2026. We haven't checked their cruise details yet.
Names You’ll Hear

Two names you’ll hear, and where they stand

Now Alma, per third-party sites
Kimpton Hotel Palomar San Diego
Third-party booking sites tie the old name to 1047 Fifth Avenue, which Marriott now lists as Alma San Diego Downtown, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel. AAA lists Alma as Four Diamond for 2026.
Open
Hotel del Coronado
The main hotel is now Hotel del Coronado, Curio Collection by Hilton, and Shore House carries Hilton's LXR brand. We saw no closure or construction notice on its policies page.
FAQ

Splurge hotels FAQ

What is the nicest hotel near the San Diego cruise terminal?

By the ratings, The US Grant. It's the only downtown hotel that's both AAA Four Diamond and Forbes Four-Star, a 1910 landmark on Broadway. Marriott gives no distance to the terminal and nothing for cruisers. For the shortest walk, the InterContinental is AAA Four Diamond and a 10-minute walk from the terminal by IHG's count; it ranks ninth in our top 20.

Are there Five Diamond hotels near the San Diego cruise port?

Not downtown. AAA's 2026 Five Diamond list has four in the San Diego area: The Lodge at Torrey Pines in La Jolla, the Fairmont Grand Del Mar, Park Hyatt Aviara in Carlsbad and Rancho Valencia. The Lodge says it's a 20-minute drive from the airport; the Fairmont puts it 20 miles off. Downtown, the best AAA rating is Four Diamond.

Do luxury hotels near the San Diego cruise port have a cruise shuttle?

None of our six publishes one. The InterContinental doesn't need it: it's a 10-minute walk. From the others it's a cab or a car; the airport-to-port rides are on our Getting There table.

Can I leave my car at a splurge hotel while I cruise?

None of the six publishes cruise parking. The port has no long-term parking at the terminals; it lists nearby lots instead, such as Park, Shuttle & Fly at $24.95 a day with a free shuttle.

Is the Hotel del Coronado open?

Yes. The main hotel is now Hotel del Coronado, Curio Collection by Hilton, and Shore House, the AAA Four Diamond residences inside it, is one of our six. We saw no closure notice on its policies page.

Want us to book the splurge?

Tell us your sail date and the kind of night you want. A real advisor checks rates and lines up the ride. No obligation.

No obligation — a real advisor reviews every request.

Prefer to talk? Book a free 30-minute call or call (407) 312-0306.

Compare 0 of 3