Pre-Cruise Hotels · San Diego

18Eighteenth of 20 · By the terminal

Hilton Garden Inn San Diego Downtown/Bayside

Two pools and a bar at the top of Little Italy. Hilton's two hotels in this building disagree on how far the port is.

No shuttle statedCruise parking unconfirmedNo free breakfast
Booking.com rates

No payment on the form. We check rates for your night and reply within one business day.

36of 100
Night-Before Score
The verdict

Eighteenth, level on 36 with the Old Town Inn and behind it on breakfast. An indoor pool and an outdoor one, a fire pit, and Bayside Kitchen and Bar downstairs.

Hilton puts the Port of San Diego half a mile away. Its Homewood Suites next door, same address, says the cruise terminal is 1.1 miles.

Breakfast is extra and valet is $65, with no cruise parking.

Book it for the pools, and a short cab to B Street.

Book it if

  • A pool night with a drink downstairs
  • Pet owners

Look elsewhere if

  • You want breakfast included.
  • You need to leave the car.
Sail Morning

Your night before, from here

From check-in to the gangway, using only what HGI Downtown/Bayside publishes.

Evening
Check in and settle

Both an indoor and an outdoor pool, a courtyard fire pit, and Bayside Kitchen and Bar for SoCal comfort food and cocktails, with a daily happy hour.

Before bed
Line up your ride

Hilton lists no cruise shuttle. A taxi or rideshare covers the trip.

Sail morning
Breakfast, your call

Paid: a full breakfast "available for a fee", and Hilton sells a Breakfast Included rate.

Heading out
To the terminal

Hilton lists "Port of San Diego: 0.50 miles". The Homewood Suites in the same building puts the Cruise Ship Terminal 1.10 miles away, so we don't treat it as a walk. Your cruise line’s documents name your terminal and check-in window.

While you sail
Your car

Hilton's offers page lists only Park & Stay, which covers parking each night of your stay, not while you're away. Valet is $65 a day; there's no self-parking.

Score

Night-Before Score: 36 of 100

36No. 18 of 20

Scored only from what the hotel publishes. Here’s how the Night-Before Score works.

To the Ship

Getting here, and on to the ship

Pick where you’re coming from. Solid lines are rides the hotel publishes; a question mark is a leg you’ll arrange yourself.

?? 2 mi 0.5 miles SANNo. 18The ship
Leg 1 · San Diego International to the hotel
No shuttle

Hilton lists the airport shuttle as not available. It puts San Diego International 2 miles away.

Leg 2 · Hotel to the ship
No shuttle stated

Hilton lists no cruise shuttle.

Hilton lists "Port of San Diego: 0.50 miles". The Homewood Suites in the same building puts the Cruise Ship Terminal 1.10 miles away, so we don't treat it as a walk.

From SAN without a hotel shuttle

Taxis run on MTS's maximum meter: $3.80, then $4.10 a mile, plus a $3.56 airport surcharge. Rideshare picks up at the Terminal 1 crosswalk and in the second lane of the Terminal 2 Transportation Plaza. The 992 bus runs to Santa Fe Depot, two blocks from the terminals, every 15 minutes.

?? your drive 0.5 miles Your carNo. 18The ship
Leg 1 · Drive in and park
Cruise parking unconfirmed

Hilton's offers page lists only Park & Stay, which covers parking each night of your stay, not while you're away. Valet is $65 a day; there's no self-parking.

Parking for your stay: Valet only, $65 a day, in and out; oversized extra.

Leg 2 · Hotel to the ship
No shuttle stated

Hilton lists no cruise shuttle.

Hilton lists "Port of San Diego: 0.50 miles". The Homewood Suites in the same building puts the Cruise Ship Terminal 1.10 miles away, so we don't treat it as a walk.

Landing on sail morning instead? Some cruise lines and shuttle companies run straight to the terminals; see the airport page and the landing check.

Which terminal

B Street Pier

Royal Caribbean, Holland America and Norwegian name the B Street Pier, and Disney gives the same address, 1140 North Harbor Drive. The port’s second terminal, the Port Pavilion on Broadway Pier, is at 1000 North Harbor Drive; your cruise documents name yours.

Source: portofsandiego.org

Distance

0.5 miles

Hilton lists "Port of San Diego: 0.50 miles". The Homewood Suites in the same building puts the Cruise Ship Terminal 1.10 miles away, so we don't treat it as a walk.

Source: hilton.com

Shuttle departures

No shuttle

There’s no hotel shuttle to time, so a taxi or rideshare leaves when you’re ready. Your cruise documents give your terminal check-in window.

Source: hilton.com
Parking

Parking while you sail

Cruise parking

Cruise parking unconfirmed

Hilton's offers page lists only Park & Stay, which covers parking each night of your stay, not while you're away. Valet is $65 a day; there's no self-parking.

Source: hilton.com

The port-listed lots

From $24.95 a day

The port has no long-term parking at the terminals, and passengers can’t park on the pier. It lists nearby operators instead. San Diego’s Park, Shuttle & Fly, 2.8 miles away on Pacific Highway, charges $24.95 a day with a free shuttle to the terminals around the clock; its coupon isn’t valid for cruisers. Aladdin, 1.4 miles away on Kettner Boulevard, runs a free cruise shuttle too.

Compare every parking option.

Source: sdparkshuttlefly.com
The Night Before

The evening and the morning

The evening

Pool · Food or bar on site

Both an indoor and an outdoor pool, a courtyard fire pit, and Bayside Kitchen and Bar for SoCal comfort food and cocktails, with a daily happy hour.

Breakfast

Not free

Paid: a full breakfast "available for a fee", and Hilton sells a Breakfast Included rate.

Address

Pacific Highway, Little Italy

2137 Pacific Highway, Suite A, San Diego, CA 92101
Hotel website

Fact Sheet

The fine print, in one place

Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as HGI Downtown/Bayside publishes it. Where it says “not stated”, the hotel doesn’t say, and a quick call will settle it.

Check-in and check-out

Check-in4:00 PM
Check-out11:00 AM

Minimum age

—

Not stated by the hotel.

Resort fee

None stated

Wi-Fi

Free

Parking for your stay

Valet only, $65 a day, in and out; oversized extra

Cruise parking is in the parking section above.

Breakfast

Paid full breakfast; a Breakfast Included rate is sold

Pool

An indoor pool and an outdoor pool; a courtyard fire pit

Pets

Dogs or cats, two at most, up to 75 lb: $75 for one to four nights, $125 for five or more.

Food and drink on site

  • Bayside Kitchen and BarSoCal comfort food and cocktails; daily happy hour
  • Candy CastleFast-casual, candy-themed

Rooms

King and two-queen rooms; some harbor views.

Accessibility

The hotel’s pages don’t detail accessible rooms. Call before you book if you need one.

On site

  • EV chargingNo
  • Guest laundryNot stated
  • Fitness centerYes
  • Pets allowedYes

Nearby, by the hotel’s count

  • Waterfront Park0.3 mi
  • Port of San Diego0.5 mi
  • USS Midway1.4 mi

Distances as the hotel or its brand lists them. Bars use a square-root scale so short walks stay visible.

Also worth knowing

  • Park & Stay listed; no cruise offer
Worth Knowing

Before you book

Worth knowing

  • Valet only, $65 a day; oversized vehicles extra.
  • Check-in 4 PM, check-out 11 AM. No airport shuttle.
  • Ace Parking, one of the operators the port lists, sells cruise parking in this building (Hilton Bayside Campus) at $20 a day, valet only; that's Ace's offer on its booking site, not the hotel's, so it isn't scored.

What we couldn’t confirm

  • The true walking distance to the terminal
  • Whether you can park while you cruise

Rates and policies are as the hotel published them on September 26, 2026. Confirm anything you’re counting on when you book.

Compare

Worth a look alongside it

Ready when you are

Wake up on the Embarcadero or in Little Italy, a short walk or cab from the ship.

Tell us your sail date and we’ll check HGI Downtown/Bayside for the night before. No payment on the form.

Booking.com rates
FAQ

HGI Downtown/Bayside FAQ

Does HGI Downtown/Bayside have a cruise shuttle?

Not that it publishes. Hilton lists no cruise shuttle.

Does HGI Downtown/Bayside have an airport shuttle?

Not that it publishes. Hilton lists the airport shuttle as not available. It puts San Diego International 2 miles away.

Can I park at HGI Downtown/Bayside while I cruise?

The hotel doesn't say. Hilton's offers page lists only Park & Stay, which covers parking each night of your stay, not while you're away. Valet is $65 a day; there's no self-parking.

How far is HGI Downtown/Bayside from the cruise terminal?

Hilton lists "Port of San Diego: 0.50 miles". The Homewood Suites in the same building puts the Cruise Ship Terminal 1.10 miles away, so we don't treat it as a walk. It sits in our by the terminal band. Royal Caribbean, Holland America and Norwegian name the B Street Pier, and Disney gives the same address, 1140 North Harbor Drive. The port's second terminal, the Port Pavilion on Broadway Pier, is at 1000 North Harbor Drive; your cruise documents name yours.

Can I check in early or check out late on cruise days?

Check-in is 4:00 PM and check-out 11:00 AM. The hotel doesn't publish early or late terms, so ask when you book, not on the day.

Will the hotel hold my bags?

The hotel doesn't say. Most hotels will hold bags between check-out and a late shuttle, but that's a call to make, not an assumption.

Does the port shuttle come back for me after the cruise?

There's no hotel shuttle to the port. From the pier it's a taxi, a rideshare from Harbor Drive outside the terminal gate, or the 992 bus from Santa Fe Depot. No line publishes a San Diego transfer price.

What's the breakfast timing on sail morning?

Paid full breakfast; a Breakfast Included rate is sold. Plan coffee on the way if you're leaving early.

Can I park an oversized vehicle or charge an EV?

oversized extra.

Booking the cruise too?

Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.

No obligation — a real advisor reviews every request.

Prefer to talk? Book a free 30-minute call or call (407) 312-0306.

HGI Downtown/BaysideNo. 18 of 20 · night before your cruise
Booking.com rates