Splurge Hotels · San Francisco

◆Splurge pick · The Nob Hill landmark · Mason Street, atop Nob Hill

Fairmont San Francisco

The Beaux Arts landmark atop Nob Hill, AAA Four Diamond, with the Tonga Room and a spa.

Shuttle unconfirmedCruise parking unconfirmedBreakfast not stated
Booking.com rates

No payment on the form. We check rates for your night and reply within one business day.

AAA Four DiamondNo Forbes rating · AAA list
The verdict

The landmark. The Fairmont is the Beaux Arts grande dame atop Nob Hill, AAA Four Diamond since 2001, with the Tonga Room & Hurricane Bar.

There's afternoon tea at Laurel Court and a spa, Chateau de la Beauté.

The fees stack up: $45 a night for amenities and $92 for valet. There's no pool, and nothing for cruisers.

Book it for the Tonga Room, and a cab to the ship in the morning.

Book it if

  • A celebration in a landmark
  • Tiki fans
  • Pet owners

Look elsewhere if

  • You want a pool.
  • You want to avoid a nightly fee.
  • You want the cruise logistics handled.
What You Get

What you’re paying for, and what you’re not

A splurge is worth it when you know exactly what the extra money buys. Green is on offer, gold comes with a cost or a catch, and grey isn’t there or isn’t stated.

AAA ratingFour Diamond, since 2001
Forbes Travel GuideNot rated
On the beachNo; atop Nob Hill
RestaurantLaurel Court
Bar or drinksTonga Room & Hurricane Bar
SpaChateau de la Beauté
BreakfastNot stated
KitchenNo
Resort fee$45 a night
Parking$92 valet
Shuttle to the portNone
Distance to the portNot stated
Sail Morning

Your night before, from here

From check-in to the gangway, using only what The Fairmont publishes.

Evening
Check in and settle

606 rooms in the Main Building and the Tower, the Tonga Room & Hurricane Bar, afternoon tea at Laurel Court, and the Chateau de la Beauté spa.

Before bed
Line up your ride

Fairmont mentions no cruise shuttle, and says it runs no airport shuttle. A taxi or rideshare covers the trip.

Sail morning
Breakfast, your call

Not stated as included.

Heading out
To the terminal

Fairmont gives no distance to Pier 27. It's the Beaux Arts landmark at the top of Nob Hill. Your cruise line’s documents name your terminal and check-in window.

While you sail
Your car

Indoor valet only, $92 plus tax a night ($102 oversized), unlimited in and out, 6'7" maximum height. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.

To the Ship

Getting here, and on to the ship

Pick where you’re coming from. Solid lines are rides the hotel publishes; a question mark is a leg you’ll arrange yourself. At a splurge hotel, that’s usually the morning ride.

?? 13.5 mi no mileage stated SFOSplurgeThe ship
Leg 1 · San Francisco International to the hotel
No shuttle

The hotel runs no airport shuttle, per Fairmont. It puts SFO 13.5 miles away.

Leg 2 · Hotel to the ship
Shuttle unconfirmed

Fairmont mentions no cruise shuttle, and says it runs no airport shuttle.

Fairmont gives no distance to Pier 27. It's the Beaux Arts landmark at the top of Nob Hill.

From SFO without a hotel shuttle

BART runs from the International Terminal to downtown in about 30 minutes for $11.15. A cab is metered, with a $6 SFO pickup fee; Princess puts it at $50 to $60 to the pier. Rideshare picks up on Level 5 of the Domestic Garage. Carnival's transfer is $34.99 a person if you land by noon.

?? 18.5 mi no mileage stated OAKSplurgeThe ship
Leg 1 · Oakland International to the hotel
No shuttle

No airport shuttle. Fairmont puts Oakland 18.5 miles away.

Leg 2 · Hotel to the ship
Shuttle unconfirmed

Fairmont mentions no cruise shuttle, and says it runs no airport shuttle.

Fairmont gives no distance to Pier 27. It's the Beaux Arts landmark at the top of Nob Hill.

From OAK without a hotel shuttle

The BART connector runs 9 minutes to Coliseum, then it's 21 minutes to downtown San Francisco; the fare is $12.65. A cab or a rideshare crosses the Bay Bridge instead; no fare from OAK to the pier is published.

?? your drive no mileage stated Your carSplurgeThe ship
Leg 1 · Drive in and park
Cruise parking unconfirmed

Indoor valet only, $92 plus tax a night ($102 oversized), unlimited in and out, 6'7" maximum height. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.

Parking for your stay: Indoor valet only, $92 plus tax a night, $102 oversized, unlimited in and out; 6'7" height limit.

Leg 2 · Hotel to the ship
Shuttle unconfirmed

Fairmont mentions no cruise shuttle, and says it runs no airport shuttle.

Fairmont gives no distance to Pier 27. It's the Beaux Arts landmark at the top of Nob Hill.

Landing on sail morning instead? Some cruise lines and shuttle companies run straight to the terminals; compare the airports and the landing guidelines.

Distance

No distance stated

Fairmont gives no distance to Pier 27. It's the Beaux Arts landmark at the top of Nob Hill.

Source: fairmont.com

Cruise shuttle

Shuttle unconfirmed

Fairmont mentions no cruise shuttle, and says it runs no airport shuttle.

Source: fairmont.com
Parking

Parking while you sail

At the hotel

Cruise parking unconfirmed

Indoor valet only, $92 plus tax a night ($102 oversized), unlimited in and out, 6'7" maximum height. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.

Source: fairmont.com

Parking by the pier

From $20 a day

If the hotel won’t hold your car, drive to a lot by the pier on sail morning.

There’s no parking at the terminal, overnight or temporary, per the port. It sends cruisers to Metropolis at 55 and 80 Francisco Street, which publishes no rate. Ace Parking at 1348 The Embarcadero, about an 18-minute walk, lists $20 a day for a compact car and $25 for a full-size one, plus a $2 fee, and calls itself a Princess partner.

Compare every parking option.

Source: sfcruiseshipparking.com
The Evening

The night you’re paying for

The evening

Food or drinks on site

606 rooms in the Main Building and the Tower, the Tonga Room & Hurricane Bar, afternoon tea at Laurel Court, and the Chateau de la Beauté spa.

Breakfast

Not stated

Not stated as included.

Address

Mason Street, atop Nob Hill

950 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel website

Ratings

AAA Four Diamond

AAA rates it Four Diamond. Forbes Travel Guide's San Francisco page doesn't rate it. AAA’s list is for 2026.

Source: newsroom.aaa.com
Fact Sheet

The fine print, in one place

Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as The Fairmont publishes it. Where it says “not stated”, the hotel doesn’t say, and a quick call will settle it.

Check-in and check-out

Check-in4:00 PM
Check-out11:00 AM

Minimum age

—

Not stated by the hotel.

Resort fee

$45 plus tax a night: a $10 Cirque Bar credit, a $10 minibar credit, a movie, seasonal programming and the gym

Wi-Fi

High-speed internet throughout

Parking for your stay

Indoor valet only, $92 plus tax a night, $102 oversized, unlimited in and out; 6'7" height limit

Cruise parking is in the parking section above.

Breakfast

Not stated as included

Pool

None mentioned

Pets

$100 a pet a stay, leashed; no weight limit stated.

Food and drink on site

  • Tonga Room & Hurricane BarThe tiki bar
  • Laurel Court Restaurant & BarAfternoon tea
  • Cirque BarCredit in the amenity fee

Rooms

606 rooms and suites in the Main Building and the Tower; skyline and bay views; the Tony Bennett Suite and the Penthouse.

Accessibility

The hotel’s pages don’t detail accessible rooms. Call before you book if you need one.

On site

  • EV chargingNot stated
  • Guest laundryNot stated
  • Fitness centerYes
  • Pets allowedYes

Nearby, by the hotel’s count

  • Cable cars, Chinatown and Union Squarenearby

Distances as the hotel or its brand lists them. Bars use a square-root scale so short walks stay visible.

Also worth knowing

  • AAA Four Diamond since 2001
  • The gym is $35 a day unless you pay the amenity fee or are a loyalty member
Worth Knowing

Before you book

Worth knowing

  • Amenity fee $45 plus tax a night: a $10 Cirque Bar credit, a $10 minibar credit, a movie, seasonal programming and the gym.
  • Valet $92 plus tax, $102 oversized; 6'7" height limit.
  • Check-in 4 PM, check-out 11 AM.
  • The hotel calls itself 5-star; AAA rates it Four Diamond, and Forbes doesn't list it.

What we couldn’t confirm

  • Breakfast
  • The distance to Pier 27
  • Cruise parking

Rates and policies are as the hotel published them on September 26, 2026. Confirm anything you’re counting on when you book.

Other Splurges

The other splurges near the ship

Ready when you are

Wake up atop Nob Hill, a cab across town from the ship.

Tell us your sail date and we’ll check The Fairmont for the night before. No payment on the form.

Booking.com rates
FAQ

The Fairmont FAQ

Is The Fairmont a luxury hotel?

AAA rates it Four Diamond. Forbes Travel Guide's San Francisco page doesn't rate it.

Does The Fairmont have a cruise shuttle?

Not that it publishes. Fairmont mentions no cruise shuttle, and says it runs no airport shuttle.

Does The Fairmont have an airport shuttle?

Not that it publishes. From San Francisco International: The hotel runs no airport shuttle, per Fairmont. It puts SFO 13.5 miles away. From Oakland International: No airport shuttle. Fairmont puts Oakland 18.5 miles away.

Can I park at The Fairmont while I cruise?

It doesn't say. Indoor valet only, $92 plus tax a night ($102 oversized), unlimited in and out, 6'7" maximum height. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.

How far is The Fairmont from the cruise terminal?

Fairmont gives no distance to Pier 27. It's the Beaux Arts landmark at the top of Nob Hill.

Booking the cruise too?

Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.

No obligation — a real advisor reviews every request.

Prefer to talk? Book a free 30-minute call or call (407) 312-0306.

The FairmontSplurge pick · night before your cruise
Booking.com rates