Splurge Hotels · San Francisco

◆Splurge pick · Five Diamond since 1994 · Stockton Street, Nob Hill

The Ritz-Carlton, San Francisco

AAA Five Diamond since 1994 and Forbes Four-Star, on Nob Hill by the cable car, with Club Level and Parallel 37.

Shuttle unconfirmedCruise parking unconfirmedNo free breakfastForbes Four-Star
Booking.com rates

No payment on the form. We check rates for your night and reply within one business day.

AAA Five DiamondForbes Four-Star · AAA list
The verdict

The long-running Five Diamond. The Ritz-Carlton has been AAA Five Diamond since 1994 and is Forbes Four-Star, on Nob Hill with the cable car at the door.

Club Level serves food four times a day, breakfast among them.

Valet is $107 a day, check-in is 4 PM, and the pages list no pool, spa or shuttle.

Book Club Level for the night, and a cab down the hill to Pier 27.

Book it if

  • Anyone who wants a Five Diamond night
  • Club Level people
  • Owners of a small dog

Look elsewhere if

  • You want a pool.
  • You want to self-park.
  • You want the cruise logistics handled.
What You Get

What you’re paying for, and what you’re not

A splurge is worth it when you know exactly what the extra money buys. Green is on offer, gold comes with a cost or a catch, and grey isn’t there or isn’t stated.

AAA ratingFive Diamond, since 1994
Forbes Travel GuideFour-Star
On the beachNo; Nob Hill
RestaurantParallel 37
Bar or drinksBruma; The Lounge
SpaNone
BreakfastPaid; included on Club Level
KitchenNo
Resort feeNone stated
Parking$107 valet
Shuttle to the portNone
Distance to the portNot stated
Sail Morning

Your night before, from here

From check-in to the gangway, using only what The Ritz-Carlton publishes.

Evening
Check in and settle

Parallel 37 for Californian food, Bruma for cocktails and California food, and a Club Lounge with food four times a day, with the cable car at the door. Ritz-Carlton's pages mention no pool or spa.

Before bed
Line up your ride

"This hotel does not provide shuttle service," per Ritz-Carlton. A taxi or rideshare covers the trip.

Sail morning
Breakfast, your call

Not in the standard rate. Parallel 37 serves it 7 to 11 AM, and Club Level includes it among four food presentations a day.

Heading out
To the terminal

Ritz-Carlton gives no distance to Pier 27. The hotel is on Nob Hill, with the California Street cable car outside the door. Your cruise line’s documents name your terminal and check-in window.

While you sail
Your car

Valet only, $107 a day plus tax ($117 oversized). Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.

To the Ship

Getting here, and on to the ship

Pick where you’re coming from. Solid lines are rides the hotel publishes; a question mark is a leg you’ll arrange yourself. At a splurge hotel, that’s usually the morning ride.

?? 14.7 mi no mileage stated SFOSplurgeThe ship
Leg 1 · San Francisco International to the hotel
No shuttle

"This hotel does not provide shuttle service," per Ritz-Carlton. It puts SFO 14.7 miles away.

Leg 2 · Hotel to the ship
Shuttle unconfirmed

"This hotel does not provide shuttle service," per Ritz-Carlton.

Ritz-Carlton gives no distance to Pier 27. The hotel is on Nob Hill, with the California Street cable car outside the door.

From SFO without a hotel shuttle

BART runs from the International Terminal to downtown in about 30 minutes for $11.15. A cab is metered, with a $6 SFO pickup fee; Princess puts it at $50 to $60 to the pier. Rideshare picks up on Level 5 of the Domestic Garage. Carnival's transfer is $34.99 a person if you land by noon.

?? miles not stated no mileage stated OAKSplurgeThe ship
Leg 1 · Oakland International to the hotel
No shuttle

No shuttle service, per Ritz-Carlton.

Leg 2 · Hotel to the ship
Shuttle unconfirmed

"This hotel does not provide shuttle service," per Ritz-Carlton.

Ritz-Carlton gives no distance to Pier 27. The hotel is on Nob Hill, with the California Street cable car outside the door.

From OAK without a hotel shuttle

The BART connector runs 9 minutes to Coliseum, then it's 21 minutes to downtown San Francisco; the fare is $12.65. A cab or a rideshare crosses the Bay Bridge instead; no fare from OAK to the pier is published.

?? your drive no mileage stated Your carSplurgeThe ship
Leg 1 · Drive in and park
Cruise parking unconfirmed

Valet only, $107 a day plus tax ($117 oversized). Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.

Parking for your stay: Valet only, $107 a day plus tax, $117 oversized.

Leg 2 · Hotel to the ship
Shuttle unconfirmed

"This hotel does not provide shuttle service," per Ritz-Carlton.

Ritz-Carlton gives no distance to Pier 27. The hotel is on Nob Hill, with the California Street cable car outside the door.

Landing on sail morning instead? Some cruise lines and shuttle companies run straight to the terminals; compare the airports and the landing guidelines.

Distance

No distance stated

Ritz-Carlton gives no distance to Pier 27. The hotel is on Nob Hill, with the California Street cable car outside the door.

Source: ritzcarlton.com

Cruise shuttle

Shuttle unconfirmed

"This hotel does not provide shuttle service," per Ritz-Carlton.

Source: ritzcarlton.com
Parking

Parking while you sail

At the hotel

Cruise parking unconfirmed

Valet only, $107 a day plus tax ($117 oversized). Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.

Source: ritzcarlton.com

Parking by the pier

From $20 a day

If the hotel won’t hold your car, drive to a lot by the pier on sail morning.

There’s no parking at the terminal, overnight or temporary, per the port. It sends cruisers to Metropolis at 55 and 80 Francisco Street, which publishes no rate. Ace Parking at 1348 The Embarcadero, about an 18-minute walk, lists $20 a day for a compact car and $25 for a full-size one, plus a $2 fee, and calls itself a Princess partner.

Compare every parking option.

Source: sfcruiseshipparking.com
The Evening

The night you’re paying for

The evening

Food or drinks on site

Parallel 37 for Californian food, Bruma for cocktails and California food, and a Club Lounge with food four times a day, with the cable car at the door. Ritz-Carlton's pages mention no pool or spa.

Breakfast

Not free

Not in the standard rate. Parallel 37 serves it 7 to 11 AM, and Club Level includes it among four food presentations a day.

Address

Stockton Street, Nob Hill

600 Stockton Street, San Francisco, CA 94108
Hotel website

Ratings

AAA Five Diamond

AAA rates it Five Diamond, and Forbes Travel Guide gives it Four-Star. AAA’s list is for 2026.

Source: newsroom.aaa.com
Fact Sheet

The fine print, in one place

Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as The Ritz-Carlton publishes it. Where it says “not stated”, the hotel doesn’t say, and a quick call will settle it.

Check-in and check-out

Check-in4:00 PM
Check-out11:00 AM

Minimum age

—

Not stated by the hotel.

Resort fee

None stated

Wi-Fi

Free for Marriott Bonvoy members booking direct

Parking for your stay

Valet only, $107 a day plus tax, $117 oversized

Cruise parking is in the parking section above.

Breakfast

Not in the standard rate; Parallel 37, 7 to 11 AM; included on Club Level

Pool

None mentioned

Pets

Dogs only: up to two, 35 lb each, $200 a stay.

Food and drink on site

  • Parallel 37Californian; breakfast, lunch and dinner
  • BrumaCocktails and modern California food
  • The LoungeDrinks
  • Club LoungeFour food presentations a day, for Club Level

Rooms

City, courtyard and landmark views; the Ritz-Carlton Suite with bay views; Club Level.

Accessibility

The hotel’s pages don’t detail accessible rooms. Call before you book if you need one.

On site

  • EV chargingYes
  • Guest laundryNot stated
  • Fitness centerYes
  • Pets allowedYes

Nearby, by the hotel’s count

  • California Street cable carat the door
  • Union Square and Chinatownnearby

Distances as the hotel or its brand lists them. Bars use a square-root scale so short walks stay visible.

Also worth knowing

  • AAA Five Diamond since 1994; Forbes Four-Star
Worth Knowing

Before you book

Worth knowing

  • Valet only, $107 a day plus tax, $117 oversized.
  • Check-in 4 PM, check-out 11 AM.
  • No shuttle; Ritz-Carlton puts SFO 14.7 miles away.
  • Wi-Fi is free for Marriott Bonvoy members booking direct.

What we couldn’t confirm

  • The distance to Pier 27
  • Cruise parking
  • The room count

Rates and policies are as the hotel published them on September 26, 2026. Confirm anything you’re counting on when you book.

Other Splurges

The other splurges near the ship

Ready when you are

Wake up on Nob Hill, a cab across town from the ship.

Tell us your sail date and we’ll check The Ritz-Carlton for the night before. No payment on the form.

Booking.com rates
FAQ

The Ritz-Carlton FAQ

Is The Ritz-Carlton a luxury hotel?

AAA rates it Five Diamond, and Forbes Travel Guide gives it Four-Star.

Does The Ritz-Carlton have a cruise shuttle?

Not that it publishes. "This hotel does not provide shuttle service," per Ritz-Carlton.

Does The Ritz-Carlton have an airport shuttle?

Not that it publishes. From San Francisco International: "This hotel does not provide shuttle service," per Ritz-Carlton. It puts SFO 14.7 miles away. From Oakland International: No shuttle service, per Ritz-Carlton.

Can I park at The Ritz-Carlton while I cruise?

It doesn't say. Valet only, $107 a day plus tax ($117 oversized). Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.

How far is The Ritz-Carlton from the cruise terminal?

Ritz-Carlton gives no distance to Pier 27. The hotel is on Nob Hill, with the California Street cable car outside the door.

Booking the cruise too?

Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.

No obligation — a real advisor reviews every request.

Prefer to talk? Book a free 30-minute call or call (407) 312-0306.

The Ritz-CarltonSplurge pick · night before your cruise
Booking.com rates