Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
Twentieth, level on 26 with ten others: behind the Hampton and Embassy Suites on breakfast, and ahead of the other eight on Hilton's 2 miles to the cruise port — O:live says about 3, and the rest give none. The DoubleTree has an outdoor pool, Café Pierre and Silk, 2 miles from the cruise port by Hilton's count.
A daily resort charge covers a beach club with loungers, umbrellas and towels, bikes and a shuttle to Ocean Park, and there's EV charging on site.
The page we read didn't show the charge's amount, breakfast isn't stated, and Hilton doesn't name the pier — a distance to the port, not to your ship.
Take a short cab to your pier in the morning.
Book it if
- Swimmers
- Pet owners
- Drivers who want cheap overnight parking
Look elsewhere if
- You want breakfast included.
- You want to avoid a resort charge.
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what DoubleTree publishes.
An outdoor pool, Café Pierre, which "serves a crowd-pleasing selection of International cuisine all day", Silk for Asian food, Lily's Chocolatier and a Starbucks at Gallery Plaza.
Hilton mentions no shuttle to the ship and lists the cruise port 2 miles away. The resort charge covers a shuttle to Ocean Park, not the piers. A taxi or rideshare covers the trip.
Not stated; Café Pierre serves international food all day.
Hilton lists the San Juan Cruise Port and Old San Juan each 2 miles away, without naming a pier, and SJU 4 miles. Your cruise line’s documents name your terminal and check-in window.
Self-parking $25 a day, valet $30, per Hilton. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.
Night-Before Score: 26 of 100
Scored only from what the hotel publishes. Here’s how the Night-Before Score works.
Getting here, and on to the ship
Pick where you’re coming from. Solid lines are rides the hotel publishes; a question mark is a leg you’ll arrange yourself.
No hotel shuttle, per Hilton. It puts SJU 4 miles away.
Hilton mentions no shuttle to the ship and lists the cruise port 2 miles away. The resort charge covers a shuttle to Ocean Park, not the piers.
Hilton lists the San Juan Cruise Port and Old San Juan each 2 miles away, without naming a pier, and SJU 4 miles.
From SJU without a hotel shuttle
The port puts SJU about 10 minutes from the Pan American Piers and about 15 from Piers 1–4, around $24 to $30 by taxi or rideshare. Taxis run on zone fares and take cash only, per Discover Puerto Rico, and Uber and Lyft pick up at the airport.
Self-parking $25 a day, valet $30, per Hilton. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.
Parking for your stay: $25 a day; valet $30.
Hilton mentions no shuttle to the ship and lists the cruise port 2 miles away. The resort charge covers a shuttle to Ocean Park, not the piers.
Hilton lists the San Juan Cruise Port and Old San Juan each 2 miles away, without naming a pier, and SJU 4 miles.
Landing on sail morning instead? Some cruise lines and shuttle companies run straight to the terminals; see the airport page and the landing check.
Which terminal
Old San Juan or Pan AmericanSan Juan has two cruise districts, per the port: Old San Juan, with Piers 1, 3 and 4 on Calle Marina, and the Pan American Piers on Isla Grande, across the bay. Royal Caribbean gives Pan American Pier 2 as its address and Norwegian gives Pan American Pier 1 East, on their own pages. Your cruise documents name your pier.
Source: sanjuancruiseport.comDistance
2 miles to the cruise portHilton lists the San Juan Cruise Port and Old San Juan each 2 miles away, without naming a pier, and SJU 4 miles.
Source: hilton.comShuttle departures
No shuttleThere’s no hotel shuttle to time, so a taxi or rideshare leaves when you’re ready. Your cruise documents give your terminal check-in window.
Source: hilton.comParking while you sail
Cruise parking
Cruise parking unconfirmedSelf-parking $25 a day, valet $30, per Hilton. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.
Source: hilton.comParking in San Juan
No parking at the piers“There is no parking within San Juan Cruise Port,” per the port, which points drivers to the public Covadonga lot across from the Old San Juan piers; Royal Caribbean says the same for Pan American Pier 2, while Celebrity’s page says its terminal has a lot. The cheapest daily figure we found is the Isla Grande airport’s long-term lot, $8.56 a day on a local parking guide, not the operator, and a taxi from the Pan American side. None of the garages publishes a week-long cruise rate.
Source: sanjuanpuertorico.comThe evening and the morning
The evening
Pool · Food or bar on siteAn outdoor pool, Café Pierre, which "serves a crowd-pleasing selection of International cuisine all day", Silk for Asian food, Lily's Chocolatier and a Starbucks at Gallery Plaza.
Breakfast
Not statedNot stated; Café Pierre serves international food all day.
Address
Avenida De Diego, Condado105 Avenida De Diego, San Juan, PR 00911
Hotel website
The fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as DoubleTree publishes it. Where it says “not stated”, the hotel doesn’t say, and a quick call will settle it.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
Not stated by the hotel.
Resort fee
A daily resort charge, amount not shown on the page we read; covers Wi-Fi, beach club access, bikes, 10% off at the spa, water, a shuttle to Ocean Park and coffee
Wi-Fi
Free in-room and lobby Wi-Fi, per Hilton, which also counts it in the resort charge
Parking for your stay
$25 a day; valet $30
Cruise parking is in the parking section above.
Breakfast
Not stated
Pool
Outdoor pool
Pets
Pets up to 30 lb, $75 non-refundable.
Food and drink on site
- Café Pierre"serves a crowd-pleasing selection of International cuisine all day."
- SilkAsian
- Lily's ChocolatierChocolatier
- Starbucks at Gallery PlazaCoffee
Rooms
Room types aren’t published on the pages we could read.
Accessibility
The hotel’s pages don’t detail accessible rooms. Call before you book if you need one.
On site
- EV chargingYes
- Guest laundryNot stated
- Fitness centerYes
- Pets allowedYes
Nearby, by the hotel’s count
- San Juan Cruise Port2 miles
- Old San Juan2 miles
- SJU4 miles
Distances as the hotel or its brand lists them. Bars use a square-root scale so short walks stay visible.
Also worth knowing
- A shuttle to Ocean Park, inside the resort charge
- Pets up to 30 lb, $75 non-refundable
- AAA Three Diamond
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Check-in 4 PM, check-out 11 AM.
- Self-parking $25 a day; valet $30.
- A daily resort charge, amount not shown on the page we read, covers Wi-Fi, beach club access with loungers, umbrellas and towels, bikes, 10% off at the spa, water, a shuttle to Ocean Park and coffee, per Hilton.
- Free in-room and lobby Wi-Fi, per Hilton, which also counts Wi-Fi in the resort charge.
- EV charging on site and a fitness center.
- AAA Three Diamond, on AAA's San Juan list.
- Hilton puts SJU 4 miles away.
What we couldn’t confirm
- The resort charge's amount
- Breakfast
- Which pier Hilton's 2 miles is to
- Whether you can park while you cruise
Rates and policies are as the hotel published them on September 26, 2026. Confirm anything you’re counting on when you book.
Worth a look alongside it
Wake up in Condado or Miramar, a cab from the piers.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check DoubleTree for the night before. No payment on the form.
DoubleTree FAQ
Does DoubleTree have a cruise shuttle?
Not that it publishes. Hilton mentions no shuttle to the ship and lists the cruise port 2 miles away. The resort charge covers a shuttle to Ocean Park, not the piers.
Does DoubleTree have an airport shuttle?
Not that it publishes. No hotel shuttle, per Hilton. It puts SJU 4 miles away.
Can I park at DoubleTree while I cruise?
The hotel doesn't say. Self-parking $25 a day, valet $30, per Hilton. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.
How far is DoubleTree from the cruise terminal?
Hilton lists the San Juan Cruise Port and Old San Juan each 2 miles away, without naming a pier, and SJU 4 miles. In our ranking it's in the “Condado & Miramar” band. San Juan has two cruise districts, per the port: Old San Juan, with Piers 1, 3 and 4 on Calle Marina, and the Pan American Piers on Isla Grande, across the bay. Royal Caribbean gives Pan American Pier 2 as its address and Norwegian gives Pan American Pier 1 East, on their own pages. Your cruise documents name your pier.
Can I check in early or check out late on cruise days?
Check-in is 4:00 PM and check-out 11:00 AM. The hotel doesn't publish early or late terms, so ask when you book, not on the day.
Will the hotel hold my bags?
The hotel doesn't say. Most hotels will hold bags between check-out and a late shuttle, but that's a call to make, not an assumption.
Does the port shuttle come back for me after the cruise?
There's no hotel shuttle to the port. From the piers it's a taxi or rideshare to SJU, around $24 to $30, per the port.
What's the breakfast timing on sail morning?
Not stated. Plan coffee on the way if you're leaving early.
Can I park an oversized vehicle or charge an EV?
EV charging: on site, per the hotel. Clearance and oversized parking aren't published. None of the lots we found publishes an RV or oversized rate; ask before you drive over.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
