Add your sail date and the links open on the night before.
Booking.com links are affiliate links: Seabound Journeys may earn a commission if you book, at no extra cost to you. It doesn't change our rankings, which come only from what each hotel publishes. Affiliate disclosure.
First, and clearly. Hotel Rumbao, the former Sheraton Old San Juan, says it's "directly across from cruise piers 1 through 6", with a rooftop pool over the bay and Kueros for dinner.
Self-parking is on site at $26 a day, and two dogs up to 50 lb can stay for $125.
Breakfast isn't included, you must be 21 to check in, and the Pan American Piers, where Royal Caribbean and Norwegian board, are across the bay — a cab, not a walk.
Check your pier: walk across to Piers 1–4, or take a short cab to Pan American.
Book it if
- Anyone sailing from Piers 1–4
- Swimmers
- Dog owners
Look elsewhere if
- You're under 21.
- You want breakfast included.
- Your ship boards at Pan American and you want to walk.
Your night before, from here
From check-in to the gangway, using only what Hotel Rumbao publishes.
A rooftop pool with views of the bay, Kueros Island Bar & Kitchen, "curated by Chef Elvin Marrero", the Rumbao Market lobby café and lounge, and the Orenes Gran Casino.
"Directly across from cruise piers 1 through 6," per the hotel. "This hotel does not provide shuttle service," per Marriott, and the Pan American Piers are across the bay, a cab away.
Paid; the hotel's Wake Up to Something Good package adds daily breakfast at Kueros for up to two adults.
Rumbao says it's "directly across from cruise piers 1 through 6" and "steps from San Juan cruise piers 1-6"; Marriott says "Steps from cruise piers 1–6". The port's Old San Juan District is Piers 1, 3 and 4; the Pan American Piers, where Royal Caribbean and Norwegian board, are across the bay on Isla Grande. Your cruise line’s documents name your terminal and check-in window.
Self-parking $26 a day or $4 an hour, valet $36 a day, per Marriott. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.
Night-Before Score: 51 of 100
Scored only from what the hotel publishes. Here’s how the Night-Before Score works.
Getting here, and on to the ship
Pick where you’re coming from. Solid lines are rides the hotel publishes; a question mark is a leg you’ll arrange yourself.
"This hotel does not provide shuttle service," per Marriott, which puts SJU 7.3 miles away.
"Directly across from cruise piers 1 through 6," per the hotel. "This hotel does not provide shuttle service," per Marriott, and the Pan American Piers are across the bay, a cab away.
Rumbao says it's "directly across from cruise piers 1 through 6" and "steps from San Juan cruise piers 1-6"; Marriott says "Steps from cruise piers 1–6". The port's Old San Juan District is Piers 1, 3 and 4; the Pan American Piers, where Royal Caribbean and Norwegian board, are across the bay on Isla Grande.
From SJU without a hotel shuttle
The port puts SJU about 10 minutes from the Pan American Piers and about 15 from Piers 1–4, around $24 to $30 by taxi or rideshare. Taxis run on zone fares and take cash only, per Discover Puerto Rico, and Uber and Lyft pick up at the airport.
Self-parking $26 a day or $4 an hour, valet $36 a day, per Marriott. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.
Parking for your stay: $26 a day or $4 an hour, on site; valet $36 a day.
"Directly across from cruise piers 1 through 6," per the hotel. "This hotel does not provide shuttle service," per Marriott, and the Pan American Piers are across the bay, a cab away.
Rumbao says it's "directly across from cruise piers 1 through 6" and "steps from San Juan cruise piers 1-6"; Marriott says "Steps from cruise piers 1–6". The port's Old San Juan District is Piers 1, 3 and 4; the Pan American Piers, where Royal Caribbean and Norwegian board, are across the bay on Isla Grande.
Landing on sail morning instead? Some cruise lines and shuttle companies run straight to the terminals; see the airport page and the landing check.
Which terminal
Old San Juan or Pan AmericanSan Juan has two cruise districts, per the port: Old San Juan, with Piers 1, 3 and 4 on Calle Marina, and the Pan American Piers on Isla Grande, across the bay. Royal Caribbean gives Pan American Pier 2 as its address and Norwegian gives Pan American Pier 1 East, on their own pages. Your cruise documents name your pier.
Source: sanjuancruiseport.comDistance
Across from cruise piers 1–6Rumbao says it's "directly across from cruise piers 1 through 6" and "steps from San Juan cruise piers 1-6"; Marriott says "Steps from cruise piers 1–6". The port's Old San Juan District is Piers 1, 3 and 4; the Pan American Piers, where Royal Caribbean and Norwegian board, are across the bay on Isla Grande.
Source: hotelrumbaosanjuan.comShuttle departures
No shuttleYou leave when you’re ready: it’s a walk or a short cab. Your cruise documents give your terminal check-in window.
Source: marriott.comParking while you sail
Cruise parking
Cruise parking unconfirmedSelf-parking $26 a day or $4 an hour, valet $36 a day, per Marriott. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.
Source: marriott.comParking in San Juan
No parking at the piers“There is no parking within San Juan Cruise Port,” per the port, which points drivers to the public Covadonga lot across from the Old San Juan piers; Royal Caribbean says the same for Pan American Pier 2, while Celebrity’s page says its terminal has a lot. The cheapest daily figure we found is the Isla Grande airport’s long-term lot, $8.56 a day on a local parking guide, not the operator, and a taxi from the Pan American side. None of the garages publishes a week-long cruise rate.
Source: sanjuanpuertorico.comThe evening and the morning
The evening
Pool · Food or bar on siteA rooftop pool with views of the bay, Kueros Island Bar & Kitchen, "curated by Chef Elvin Marrero", the Rumbao Market lobby café and lounge, and the Orenes Gran Casino.
Breakfast
Not freePaid; the hotel's Wake Up to Something Good package adds daily breakfast at Kueros for up to two adults.
Address
Brumbaugh Street, across from the cruise piers100 Brumbaugh Street, San Juan, PR 00901
Hotel website
The fine print, in one place
Times, fees, rooms and the small stuff, as Hotel Rumbao publishes it. Where it says “not stated”, the hotel doesn’t say, and a quick call will settle it.
Check-in and check-out
Minimum age
To check in, per the hotel.
Resort fee
Not on the hotel’s or Marriott’s pages; Travelocity, a third-party site, lists a $42 nightly destination fee
Wi-Fi
Free for Marriott Bonvoy members
Parking for your stay
$26 a day or $4 an hour, on site; valet $36 a day
Cruise parking is in the parking section above.
Breakfast
Paid; the Wake Up to Something Good package adds daily breakfast at Kueros for up to two adults, and children 12 and under eat free
Pool
Rooftop pool with views of the bay
Pets
Up to two dogs of 50 lb each, $125 non-refundable a room.
Food and drink on site
- Kueros Island Bar & Kitchen"curated by Chef Elvin Marrero"; breakfast, lunch, dinner and cocktails
- Rumbao Market Lobby Café & Lounge"coffee to craft beers, light bites to tapas"
- Orenes Gran CasinoSlots, table games and a cocktail bar
Rooms
Rooms "2024 fully renovated", with bay, city or historic fort views.
Accessibility
Mobility rooms, roll-in showers and accessible parking.
On site
- EV chargingNo
- Guest laundryNot stated
- Fitness centerYes
- Pets allowedYes
Nearby, by the hotel’s count
- Cruise piers 1–6"directly across from"
- Isla Grande Airport2.9 miles
- SJU7.3 miles
Distances as the hotel or its brand lists them. Bars use a square-root scale so short walks stay visible.
Also worth knowing
- Formerly the Sheraton Old San Juan
- Up to two dogs of 50 lb each; $125 non-refundable a room
- The Eat, Drink, Stay Well offer includes self-parking for one car; tax is additional
- AAA Three Diamond
Before you book
Worth knowing
- Check-in 4 PM, check-out 11 AM.
- Minimum check-in age 21.
- Self-parking $26 a day or $4 an hour; valet $36 a day.
- No EV charging.
- Rooms "2024 fully renovated", per Marriott.
- AAA Three Diamond, on AAA's San Juan list.
- Older listings still call it the Sheraton Old San Juan.
- No resort or destination fee on the hotel's or Marriott's pages; Travelocity, a third-party site, lists a $42 nightly destination fee.
What we couldn’t confirm
- Whether you can park while you cruise
- Any resort fee
- Guest laundry
Rates and policies are as the hotel published them on September 26, 2026. Confirm anything you’re counting on when you book.
Worth a look alongside it
Wake up in Old San Juan, "directly across from cruise piers 1 through 6", in its words.
Tell us your sail date and we’ll check Hotel Rumbao for the night before. No payment on the form.
Hotel Rumbao FAQ
Does Hotel Rumbao have a cruise shuttle?
No, and you may not need one. "Directly across from cruise piers 1 through 6," per the hotel. "This hotel does not provide shuttle service," per Marriott, and the Pan American Piers are across the bay, a cab away.
Does Hotel Rumbao have an airport shuttle?
Not that it publishes. "This hotel does not provide shuttle service," per Marriott, which puts SJU 7.3 miles away.
Can I park at Hotel Rumbao while I cruise?
The hotel doesn't say. Self-parking $26 a day or $4 an hour, valet $36 a day, per Marriott. Nothing about leaving the car while you cruise.
How far is Hotel Rumbao from the cruise terminal?
Rumbao says it's "directly across from cruise piers 1 through 6" and "steps from San Juan cruise piers 1-6"; Marriott says "Steps from cruise piers 1–6". The port's Old San Juan District is Piers 1, 3 and 4; the Pan American Piers, where Royal Caribbean and Norwegian board, are across the bay on Isla Grande. In our ranking it's in the “In Old San Juan” band. San Juan has two cruise districts, per the port: Old San Juan, with Piers 1, 3 and 4 on Calle Marina, and the Pan American Piers on Isla Grande, across the bay. Royal Caribbean gives Pan American Pier 2 as its address and Norwegian gives Pan American Pier 1 East, on their own pages. Your cruise documents name your pier.
Can I check in early or check out late on cruise days?
Check-in is 4:00 PM and check-out 11:00 AM. The hotel doesn't publish early or late terms, so ask when you book, not on the day.
Will the hotel hold my bags?
The hotel doesn't say. Most hotels will hold bags between check-out and a late shuttle, but that's a call to make, not an assumption.
Does the port shuttle come back for me after the cruise?
You can walk back to the Old San Juan hotels from Piers 1–4, and none runs a shuttle to the ship. From the piers it's a taxi or rideshare to SJU, around $24 to $30, per the port.
What's the breakfast timing on sail morning?
Paid; the Wake Up to Something Good package adds daily breakfast at Kueros for up to two adults, and children 12 and under eat free. Plan coffee on the way if you're leaving early.
Can I park an oversized vehicle or charge an EV?
EV charging: not on site. Clearance and oversized parking aren't published. None of the lots we found publishes an RV or oversized rate; ask before you drive over.
Booking the cruise too?
Tell us your dates and we'll line up the ship, the hotel and the ride. A real advisor does the work. No obligation.
Got it — thank you.
Seabound Journeys will follow up within one business day. In the meantime, feel free to keep browsing.
Want to talk sooner? Book a free 30-minute call.
Journey further.
